Hier klicken Sale Salew Salem Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Sonderangebote Book Spring Store 2017 Cloud Drive Photos Learn More TDZ HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle PrimeMusic longss17



Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 22. Dezember 2015
Now, I have to admit space opera is not quite my favorite genre, but of course that's not a reason to subtract stars... I'm going to try to be fair while judging this book. After all, I DID read it to the end, so it's far from horrible. Indeed it is, for fans of that particular genre, a perfectly acceptable book. It's actually quite well written - not a masterpiece of language, but a smooth narrative that's easy to read.

I even enjoyed the story quite a lot. The premise of the plot - sending a linguist on a first-contact mission - is perfectly okay with a lot of potential.

So, why only three stars for a perfectly nice book?

To put it bluntly: while this is not a "bad" book in any way, it's not an outstandingly "good" one either. It hardly re-invents the genre (hey, some scientists on a spaceship, I might have seen this... once or twice... haha), the alien is not particularly original (when I think first-contact story... um, this is no Solaris, 'nuff said) and, indeed, seems to act and think surprisingly human-like, and the main character is a classical Mary Sue (from a dramatic, tragic past to the super-skill that enables her to communicate with the alien in the first place). The secondary characters - including the main character's love interest - stay flat and uninteresting.

Actually, I believe this would work far better as a movie. It was clearly written with Hollywood in mind, anyway. (It even has the inevitable love story that is otherwise completely unnecessary for the actual plot.) So, I guess, three stars is about fair for a book that proved nice entertainment but is hardly genre-defining nor outstanding in any way.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
TOP 1000 REZENSENTam 20. August 2014
Was für ein Potential hätte dieser Science Fiction ! Was für Möglichkeiten! Und was hat die Möchtegern-Autorin daraus gemacht ?
Eine furchtbar kitschige, vorhersehbare und in ihrer Schilderung absolut kindische und platte Romanze mit Science-Fiction Einschüben (in der die Mitwirkenden aber Erwachsene sind), sprachlich wie für Teenies geschrieben, jedoch mit viel Einsatz von Sex.
Auf der Strecke bleibt natürlich die Story - unser Held Alex möchte endlich mit seiner Heldin schlafen, die aber erst einmal das mysteriöse Rätsel um das Alien-Raumschiff lösen will, dann natürlich die Welt retten will. Da ist keine Zeit für Sex - das hindert sie natürlich auch nicht daran, explizit und detailliert geschilderte Träume von ihrem Möchtegern-Lover zu haben. Dieser ist gefrustet und flucht wie ein Scheunendrescher, weil er will und nicht kann - und eifersüchtig auf den einzig interessanten Charakter des sogenannten Science-Fiction ist: "The squid" - ein hyperintelligenter, krakenähnlicher Pilot des Raumschiff. Unser Alex denkt halt nur eindimensional und flucht und schimpft recht rassistisch (für einen extrem lange und gutausbildenden Raumfahrer schon erschreckend, wie er "Aliens" sieht und bezeichnet" ).
Die ganze Story erinnert stark an Groschenromane mit einem Touch Konsalik und/oder Simmel - nur ohne deren durchaus vorhandene Qualitäten.
Fazit: Grundsätzlich gute Story, grundsätzlich gute Ideen, auch was das Technische angeht, diese Ideen gehen aber unter in seitenlangen Trivialitäten und erotischen Träumen. Vielleicht sollte sich die Autorin generell auf entsprechende Romance-Bücher beschränken. Große Enttäuschung!
0Kommentar| 20 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Februar 2017
I felt something was wrong on the first couple of pages already. There is a ship hiding out in the fringes of the solar system which is supposed to be a government secret, yet a NASA scientist is allowed to go around blabbing to potential recruitee? Then a crew of mostly, it seems, hostile people get send across the solar system, and the reports they make back to NASA, and the orders they receive back, are hilariously unprofessional. The rest of the book is mostly teenage drama about the two protagonists and whether or not they are going to have sex. And when.

Honestly, this is a sloppily written book with no value whatsoever. If you're looking for some awkward sex scenes, maybe you'll like it. But I doubt it.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. April 2016
the premise is exciting and has potential for great stories. instead of delivering these, the novell focusses on cardboard cutout stereotypes that pass for charcters because with all the conflict shoved in it is easy to find them more enticing than they are. as the world unfolds it becomes clear that beyond the premise it is an amalgamation of overused tropes and yet another fabricated language just doesn't cut it. i am sorry to be so harsh on a first work but the craftsmanship is just not up to scratch - there is fanfiction that is written in a more defined, exercised style than this. i read a lot of scifi and many new authors and i can not understand how this book got so many recommendations. sorry for the negativity.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. März 2015
Ich hab das Buch kaum aus der Hand legen können.
Klar, es gibt einige Schwächen, einige Charaktere erscheinen zum Beispiel etwas oberflächlich/standardschematisch bzw. bekommen einfach nicht genug Aufmerksamkeit um mehr zu sein als nur Plot-Devices, und wer schon einige ähnliche Stories kennt, dem ist auch durchaus nach einer Weile schon klar worauf es vermutlich hinauslaufen wird, aber das ändert nichts daran, dass es definitiv spannend genug ist einen bei der Stange und fokussiert zu halten. Ich warte jedenfalls jetzt schon auf Teil 2, weil ich definitiv wissen möchte wie es weiter geht.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. April 2015
I've always loved space opera. It's a sub-genre where writers can spill all their creativity and fantasy onto the page, and this sweet little novel by Jen Foehner Wells is one of those. She takes the idea of a first contact and turns it around in a brilliant twist that opens up a nearly limitless scope for sequels. I can see this on a movie screen! No–I WANT to see it on a movie screen!
Four out of five stars because I think her secondary characters need a little more personality, but otherwise…great book!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. März 2016
Spannend, aber insgesamt leichte Lektüre mit viel Stereotypen und wenig Überraschungen. Der Schluss wirkt etwas dünn, als hätte sich die Autorin keine Zeit und keine Seiten mehr gegönnt und schon auf den zweiten Teil geschielt. Trotzdem insgesamt unterhaltsam, auch wenn es kein Buch von grossem Format (4 Sterne) ist oder gar genial (5 Sterne) ist. Ich werde mal den zweiten Teil anfangen ...
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. September 2014
Habs kaum aus der Hand legen koennen;empfehlenswert! A real pageturner, can't wait for part 2. Story is closed but with an interesting outlook for more adventures...thank u very much fot writing this book
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. April 2016
Very likeable heroine, interesting alien ocupant of the starship, good story. Don t we all love to discover an alien starship? I just loved it. And now, right in to the next book.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. Oktober 2014
Adventure, thought provoking story line, I would put this in the classical sci-fi genre if I had to classify it.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden


Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken