Fashion Sale Hier klicken Sport & Outdoor reduziertemalbuecher Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

5,0 von 5 Sternen
8
5,0 von 5 Sternen
5 Sterne
8
4 Sterne
0
3 Sterne
0
2 Sterne
0
1 Stern
0

Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung
Sagen Sie Ihre Meinung zu diesem Artikel

Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 15. Juli 2014
I suppose it’s possible to use this book as a travel guide when travelling the first time to India, but primarily it’s very entertaining. It is very nice and funny to read and the stories are really amusing. I’ve never been in India so I can’t compare to my own travel experiences, but I’m sure the book isn’t just entertainment, you can really learn much about the country, the culture and the Indian way of life. Fascinating!

By the way: If english ist not your mother tongue don’t be afraid, it will be possible to read and understand the book too if your english skills are a little bit out of practice. Just like me.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Juni 2014
I have spent the last five years in India, and let me tell you this much: This woman shares stories that sound like she spent an entire decade in this crazy country! So many expats live in their air conditioned offices and enjoy being driven around by their drivers to fancy restaurants and clubs but have no clue what is really happening in ‘their’ country. Not so Aurelia. She immersed herself in this India experience like a naïve but curious girl. And her openness paid off: She was able to fill an entire book with crazy and funny stories about her travels and her life in India.

Just to be sure:
This is not a boring account about lame and uptight expat parties or hanging out on the beach. This is an expat memoir of a different kind.

Instead of bragging about her superior lifestyle, or lamenting about the ‘tragic’ deprivations she had to endure in India – as you can find in plenty other expat reports – Aurelia really took the plunge. She is telling us stories about REAL people: Bus drivers, coconut sellers on the street, Indian bosses, co-workers, dentists, tailors, and her hilarious interactions with them.

I was amazed at the humbleness with which she shares her stories in such an authentic and unassuming way. Lastly, I have to admit that I am impressed by her deep understanding of this complex country.

Totally worth a read.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Mai 2014
This book is not your average India travel guide, it’s more like an extremely fun to read personal memoir. I have been to India last year and ever since, I love reading everything about this country.
When I started reading India Unplugged, it was really eye-opening for me to realize how different someone who actually lives in India perceives this country as opposed to the starry-eyed (albeit at times weary) traveler. This book will give you a totally new perspective on this country’s many facets.
Aurelia Zoss is a very talented author and incredibly honest about her experiences and her cultural blunders. She relates really personal stories and I was right there with her, totally immersed in the story, sharing both her joy and confusion.
Her writing style is so refreshing, to the point, and at the same time entertaining that I couldn’t put this book down. It is nicely structured into short stories, and although I wanted to read only one or two stories at a time, I always ended up reading more.

Conclusion: This book is a great read for everyone who wants to taste the real India beyond the dry travel guide books that are out there. I can wholeheartedly recommend this book to everyone who plans to visit India and even to those who have been there before to get a deeper understanding of the new Indian culture.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. Mai 2014
I will be sent to India from my company in September and to prepare for the cultural differences, I picked up some books on Indian business culture. Just for fun, I thought I could also use a lighter read and downloaded “India unplugged”. Now that I have read several books on this subject of cultural differences between the US and India, I feel that this is the one book from which I have learned most!! Aurelia Zoss does not intend to be preachy about anything; rather, she relates her own experiences from working in an Indian office surrounded by Indian colleagues and bosses. These little stories have given me so much understanding of what to expect that I really want to thank the author for sharing her insights.

I was astonished by the detailed account of cultural nuances the author neatly weaves into entertaining stories from her real, everyday life in India as a foreigner.

This book is not only a fun read, but it also teaches you a lot about the intricacies of Indian behavior. I can recommend this book for the future expat as well as for people doing business with Indians.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. Juli 2014
Aurelia describes her experiences of the daily life in a very refreshing way. After six month travelling and staying in India by my own, so many of the short story's make me laugh, remind me how it really is and let me dreaming of going back.

For a first time traveller, this book could give you some impressions to see behind, gives you insight of the real life and help you to feel more comfortable in some situations.
If you are already back or experienced India traveller, Aurelias "India - unplugged" will wake up some of your memories and brings India directly back in your hands.

I hope you enjoy it, like i did and do.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Mai 2014
I really enjoyed reading this book. It is not an India travel guide, but a collection of personal stories that happened to the author. I would recommend this book to everybody who likes India and wants to get to know more details about life in India and what funny things can happy while you travel there.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Mai 2014
India Unplugged is a nice and easy to read book explaining various aspects of the Indian way of living and working. A great book to get started before going to India (for a longer time than just a short trip to Goa).
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Juli 2014
Laugh out loud funny, extraordinary interesting and thoroughly enjoyable. A great page-turner and a must-read for anyone fascinated by India!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

9,49 €
9,99 €

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)