Fashion Sale Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Neuerscheinungen Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,4 von 5 Sternen
20
4,4 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 13. Oktober 1998
Fittingly, this was the last of Fitzgerald's novels that I read. And I apparently saved the best for last. In this enrapturing portrayl of young lovers who are attracted by their differences in the beggining yet destroyed by their similarities in the end (the need of wealth). I find this perhaps one of Fitzgerald's finest literary achievements. He has it all working for him in this novel, his character development is excellent, I feel as though I could recognize Anthony or Gloria on the street if they were to saunter my way. Fitzgerald truly breaks his own mold on this terrific literary achievement. He not only tells a wonderful story of two young lovers but he also parallels it with a very strong supporting cast of characters to Anthony and Gloria. Much can be understood of the lead characters by reading into the supporting characters, focus on Anthhony's grandfather for example. The rosy picture which is so commonly printed by the media of the rich has never been so wonderfully redone with vibrant color as Fitzgerald waves his "paint brush" through all the old misconceptions of the rich and into something truly brilliant: Real life. Fitzgerald was indeed touched with brilliance, and never has it ever been more evident than in his wonderful novel :The Beautiful and Damned." An absolute must read.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Juli 2007
"It is seven thirty on an August evening. The windows in the living room of the gray house are wide open patiently exchanging the tainted inner atmosphere of liquor and smoke for the fresh drowsiness of the late hot dusk. There are dying flower scents upon the air, so thin, so fragile, as to hint already of a summer laid away in time."

This is the story of a young couple Anthony and Gloria Patch living out their days to the hilt in New York City as they await the death of Anthony's grandfather, Adam Patch from whom they expect to inherit his massive fortune.

Gloria is a spoilt child from Kansas City turned into a sophisticated and most beautiful woman. Gloria does not intend to lift a finger to do any domestic work in the home, no matter how slight; while Anthony who considers himself an aesthete, finds it quite hard to get his act together and instead of buckling down to some work, prefers instead to hang with his wife and their friends on nightly binges. They drink and eat in the classiest restaurants and hotels, rent the most expensive apartments, travel out to the West in the spring time driving plush cars, wearing top-of-the-line clothing and just generally living it up high on the hog, as they wait.

Meet Maury Noble who is Anthony best friend who spends his time between New York and Philadelphia; Richard Caramel who has just completed writing a book and looking for new ideas for a second one. Joseph Bloeckman from Munich who started out small in America and is now a big shot in Show Biz. Also the quiet Jewess Rachael Barnes and Muriel Kane who is young, flirtatious and sometimes a bit too talkative and Tana the Japanese housekeeper of the Patches.

We are shown the Patches at their very best as the novel starts, with the world at their feet and loaded with cash with which they make very expensive choices. But, as we get further in, we see things begin to change gradually and we realize that those very choices will be their very downfall. It was quite a good read but it could be very heartbreaking at times as we put ourselves into the shoes of the main characters. All lovers of F. Scott Fitzgerald should read this book if you haven't done so already, and those of you who like reading about the ultra rich in the Roaring Twenties this one is for you. It is the kind of book that you feel you will want to read again. It is that good and I shall miss it.
Reviewed by Heather Marshall Negahdar (SUGAR-CANE 13/07/07)
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. September 2015
New York in den 1910er-Jahren: Junger Schnösel angelt sich hohle Nuss. Er sorgloser Erbe; sie selbstsüchtig, aber ultimativ dekorativ, ein must-have. Geld spielt keine Rolle, jedenfalls bald nicht mehr, wenn Opa hoffentlich den Löffel ab- und das Erbe freigibt. Der Trauerfall wird herbeigesehnt, denn die Göttergattin ist high maintenance.

Doch nach der Hochzeit kriselt die Beziehung der Jung-Egomanen. Sie leben über ihre Verhältnisse, während Opas Erbe etwas außer Sichtweite gerät. Zumal der alte Herr die alkoholschwangeren Exzesse seines Enkels nur begrenzt goutiert.

F. Scott Fitzgerald verarbeitet viele Motive aus der Beziehung zu seiner Frau Zelda, verteilt aber seine eigenen Eigenschaften auf mehrere Figuren im Buch: So erlebt die Hauptfigur die Liebesgeschichte, doch als Nebenfigur agiert ein Dichter mit Fitzgeraldschen Zügen, der seinen ersten Roman herausbringt und dann zum Geldverdienen Kurzgeschichten nachschiebt (das hatte Fitzgerald gerade hinter sich; schließlich produziert auch die Hauptfigur sebst ein paar betont seifenopernhafte Kurzgeschichten).

Stil:

Überwiegend erzählt Fitzgerald aus Sicht des jungen Mannes, Anthony Patch. Gelegentlich wechselt er jedoch die Perspektive, liefert mehrfach ein paar Seiten Theaterstück und eine erzählte Geschichte in der Geschichte. Das wirkt relativ heterogen.

Zudem ziehen sich die ersten 80 Seiten deutlich: Die Liebesgeschichte zeichnet sich erst vage ab, und drei junge Männer diskutieren blasiert über Theater und Literatur. Manchmal klingt es hier nicht nach Leben, sondern nach starrer Typenkunde und Name-Dropping.

Das garniert Fitzgerald noch mit abfälligen Randbemerkungen über arbeitende Klassen und Juden. Man kann das Buch trotzdem nicht einfach aus dem Fenster werfen, denn zwischendurch streut der Autor immer wieder exzellente Einzeiler und Beobachtungen ein – und ob nun aus Anthony und Gloria etwas wird, will man allmählich auch wissen.

Mix aus Stilen:

Dieser Mix aus Stilen und das kulturelle Namedropping erinnern deutlich an Fitzgeralds (bei Erscheinen erfolgreicheren) Romanerstling Diesseits vom Paradies (1920, engl. This Side of Paradise). In Die Schönen und Verdammten ufert das gelehrte Gerede weniger aus; es ödet zwar immer noch an, ist aber nach 80 von 350 Seiten halbwegs überstanden.

Dann kommt der Roman in ruhigere Fahrwasser, aber man fühlt sich bei diesem Autor nie so in sicheren Händen wie sagen wir bei Hemingway, Conrad, Greene oder bei Fitzgeralds eigenem Nachfolger, Der große Gatsby (1925). Oder auch wie bei Richard Yates, dessen alkoholisierte New Yorker Helden auf schiefer Ebene deutlich an Die Schönen und Verdammten erinnern (und die wie Fitzgeralds Figuren im aktuellen Kino Leonardo di Caprio verkörpert).

Etwa ab Seite 80 ist Die Schönen und Verdammten wirklich lesbar, etwa ab Seite 120 oft exzellent – sobald die Beziehung erstmals kriselt. Doch ein Teil des Reizes entsteht auch, weil so vieles aus dieser Zweierkiste mutmaßlich autobiografisch ist. Fitzgerald liefert packende Szenen einer Ehe und großspuriger Unvernunft. Er wechselt zwischen genauen Beschreibungen einzelner Szenen und analytischen, gleichwohl sehr flüssigen Zusammenfassungen. Der Ton stimmt nun immer, die Kapitelübergänge sind teils große Klasse. New York wird sehr lebendig, die einzelnen Stadtviertel stehen stets für bestimmte soziale Schichten.

Schön auch eine Phase, in der die Eheleute an getrennten Orten leben: Fitzgerald schildert die Zeit erst aus der Sicht des Mannes und dann mit einem sehr stimmigen Wechsel aus Sicht seiner Frau, mit interessanten Diskrepanzen.

Literaturwissenschaft:

Ich hatte die englische Taschenbuch-Ausgabe von Oxford World's Classics (kenne also die zwei deutschen Übersetzungen nicht). Mein Taschenbuch enthält eine gelehrte Einführung des Fitzgeraldologen Alan Margolies plus Literaturliste und lange Zeittafel.

Dazu viele Anmerkungen zu Romandetails. Knapp erläutert werden dort nicht nur die vielen Broadway-Shows, Restaurants und Gedicht- und Romananspielungen aus dem Haupttext, sondern auch so kryptische Dinge wie Central Park oder Atlantic City; was dagegen die Rolle einer "debutante" ist und was "coming out" hier konkret heißt, erklärt Margolies nicht.

Der Haupttext hat gleichwohl einige störende Tipp- und Sprachfehler. Laut "Note on the Text" liegt die "first edition, first printing" zugrunde. Allerdings nennt eine Liste bereits hier ein gutes Dutzend Romanwörter, die für das Oxford-Taschenbuch korrigiert oder aktualisiert wurden – warum dann nicht auch die unschönen Tippfehler? Margolies selbst macht in seinem Vorwort nicht nur Tippfehler, sondern auch inhaltliche: er schreibt das fiktive Buch Demon Lover der falschen Romanfigur zu.

Und offen bleibt eine Frage, die sich auch die Hauptfigur selbst stellt: Who was Mr. Crawford?

Verfilmungen:
1922: mit Kenneth Harlan and Marie Prevost
2010: modernisierte australische Fassung
2017: evtl. mit Keira Knightly, Gerücht

"Viel zu lang..." – deutschsprachige Kritiker:

FAZ:

... viel zu lang... "Die Schönen und Verdammten" war als einziger von F. Scott Fitzgeralds Romanen noch nicht ins Deutsche übersetzt worden. In diesem Jahr ((1993)) sind gleich zwei Übersetzungen erschienen: Renate Orth-Guttmann hat das Buch für den Manesse Verlag, Hans-Christian Oeser für Diogenes übertragen. Ein Vergleich der beiden Fassungen ist lehrreich. Am auffälligsten ist die unterschiedliche Tonlage... undiszipliniert und arm an ästhetischen Ideen

NZZ:

Ein bemerkenswertes Leseerlebnis... Der große Wurf eines Wunderkindes, drei Jahre vor The Great Gatsby.

Literaturkritik.de:

In der Tat wurde der Roman von seinen frühen Kritikern nicht zuletzt wegen der schonungslosen Darstellung der Alkoholsucht der beiden Hauptfiguren, Anthony Patch und seiner Frau Gloria, scharf angegriffen... Dabei ist ihm jede Wortakrobatik fremd... mit bestechendem Blick und bildhaft-lyrischer Sprache werden die winzigsten Erschütterungen von zwei auseinanderdriftenden Gefühlswelten beschrieben

"Well written..." – englische Kritiken:

New York Times 1922:

It would not be easy to find a more thoroughly depressing book than this... slow-moving narrative is the record of lives utterly worthless utterly futile. Not one of the book's many characters, important of unimportant, ever rises to the level of ordinary decent humanity. Not one of them shows a spark of loyalty, of honor, of devotion, of generosity, of real friendship or of real affection... So far as its style is concerned, much of the novel is well written, and Anthony's gradual loss of his mental curiosity, his gradual degeneration into "a bleak and sordid wreck" is convincingly depicted, though to the reader he never seems one-third as intelligent as the author apparently thinks him. The long conversations between Anthony and his two friends, Maury Noble and Dick Caramel, are often merely tedious and pretentious, in spite of the fact that now and then one of them does make a remark which is fairly clever. The general atmosphere of the book is an atmosphere of futility, waste and the avoidance of effort, into which the fumes of whisky penetrate more and more.

The New Republic 1992:

Gloria, admirably sharp at first, deliquesces and loses her personality as Mr. Fitzgerald grows intimate with her, until toward the end we find her speaking very little like her earlier self, and far too much like him... innumerable asides, semi-epigrammatic descriptions of or slaps at the times we live in... The book is alive with epigrams, so many that one half suspects that their origin is less in a perpetually ironic state of mind than in a facility and joy in turning them out. It is a lively and amusing talent but, infecting as it does many of the characters, it tends to epigrammania.

H.L. Mencken 1922:

...a hundred signs in it of serious purpose and unquestionable skill. Even in its defects there is proof of hard striving.

Goodreads: 3,75 von 5 Publikumssternen, 25.324 Stimmen
Amazon.com: 3,9 von 5 Kundensternen, 206 Stimmen (jew. August 2015)
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Februar 2014
A magnificent journey through the early 1920s. While following anti-hero Anthony and golden girl Gloria one takes a deep glance into the time and for everyone who wants to be introduced into Scot Fitzgeralds mentality I would rather recommend reading 'The Beautiful and Damned' than 'The Great Gatsby'.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. März 2016
Auf den Inhalt des Buches will ich hier nicht eingehen, da diese Bewertung sehr subjektiv wäre, was mich an dieser Ausgabe stört ist die Schrift. Sie ist meiner Ansicht nach viel zu klein und obwohl ich keinerlei Probleme mit meinen Augen habe fällt es vor allem bei schlechten Lichtverhältnissen schwer, sich auf die Schrift zu konzentrieren.
Die Schriftgröße ist in etwa zu vergleichen mit einem Text in Times New Roman, Schriftgröße 8 (!) bei Word 2013.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. November 1998
By no means his best novel (as others here suggest) but highly underrated. Often one hears of Great Gatsby as his best, Tender is the Night as his labored over lost classic, This Side of Paradise as his promising and famous debut, and The Love of the Last Tycoon as the classic that never was, but Beautiful and Damned is never mentioned. In my opinion this is the book that best describes the hedonistic society I have read of called the Roaring Twenties. As the reader watches all the characters lose their dreams and fall into a depraved, hollow existent based on alcohol I am reminded too fondly of my college years.
If you are a Fitzgerald fan read this one after This Side of Paradise. If you are someone with a passing interest in the Twenties read this. If you are someone with just a passing interest in Fitzgerald then read this one last, after any of the other Fitzgerald novels.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Mai 2000
F. Scott Fitzgerald is my favorite author, to get my bias out in the open. I have read all four of his novels and many of his short stories, and while this is not his best novel technically, I believe the plot and characters are perhaps more interesting than in some of his other novels. As with his other novels, it draws intensly on Fitzgerald's own life, foreshadowing his problems with Zelda, drinking, and a lack of money. The story of a beautiful young couple ruined by their greed and ambition is very compelling, and the scene where Anthony's grandfather, the Prohibition advocate catches the couple on a "binge" and disinherits them is very dramatic and interesting. By the end of the novel, the couple does retrieve their monetary wealth, but they have already lost their beauty and youth, which is in the end more important than money to Fitzgerald. The story is very moralistic, and perhaps even preachy, but if you are interested in tales of the "leisure class" as I am, you definitely should read this novel.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. April 2000
As a fan of Fitzgerald's writing, I was truly disappointed bythis book. Verbose and somewhat boring early on in the text, the bookhas none of the best qualities of his better works. His tendency to write the elegant sentence is taken too far too often in this text, having the effect of a continual stream of unnecessary adjectives normally associated with writers below his caliber. The work also seems thrown together, with pieces of stage script and overly-sentimental poetry splashed among the pages. I can't help but think, with respect to how unpolished the product was, that he had an idea and a deadline and the deadline won. Better books to read by Fitzgerald are The Great Gatsby, Tender is the Night, and even the unfinished The Love of the Last Tycoon. His collected short stories also offer enjoyable reading. I realize I am at odds here, but I cannot recommend this book.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. April 2000
fitzerald once again entertains us with the same basic plot but with different characters. it's amazing that an author can continually draw the reader into a story that sounds vaguely familiar with characters that have similar weaknesses. his magic is in bringing that golden era to the present. it's like reading an autobiography of the author himself. the emotions, the enjoy life at all costs attitude, the failures and successes. it's all there as in his other works. in his day some of fitzeralds works where met with minimal praise. we love him more today because he is one of the only authors that have described that era so intricately.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Juli 1999
Hmmm, just finished The Beautiful and the Damned and was sad to do so. It is the last of His novels for me - until I reread them ofcourse. Yes, F. Scott did it again in this novel - he wowed me - I am utterly amazed at Fitzgeralds use of language!Every other line is brilliant, or near enough. I feel silly "reviewing" this novel - it suffices to say that this is yet another fantastic story wrapped up in a glorious package of ingenious prose and crystalline images - topped off with the big velvet bow that are Anthony Patch and Gloria Gilbert. Glorious!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Benötigen sie kundenservice? Hier klicken