Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Hier klicken Jetzt informieren PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Mehr dazu Hier klicken Mehr dazu Hier Klicken Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimitedEcho AmazonMusicUnlimited BundesligaLive longSSs17



am 20. Februar 2017
Ich hatte lange nicht mehr so viel Spaß beim Lesen, wie bei diesem Buch.
Eine wunderbare Idee, Figuren, die herrlich selbstironisch manch stereotypes Klischee auf die Schippe nehmen (auch noch in Band 2 und 3 unterhaltsam ohne Abstriche, das ist selten !) und die englischen Ausgaben sind auch noch mit einigen Illustrationen ausgestattet.
Ich hoffe, die Reihe geht bald weiter !
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. Januar 2014
First of all, some background information: The author first published this story as a free serial on her web page. It was published as a book after numerous reader requests, and Ilona Andrews plans to publish the second book in the series on her web page for free again this year.

There’s a good plot summary given above, so I’m just going to skip that part and tell you what I liked (and didn’t like) about the book:

When I first bought this book I expected it to be straight-up fantasy: similar to the Kate Daniels series or the other books by this author. After the first chapter though, the author started adding some elements of science fiction. Spaceships are mentioned and so is nanotechnology. This works remarkably well, in my opinion. The two genres are blended skillfully and I found that I liked this book even more than the Kate Daniels series. The overall tone is more lighthearted, and the world building kept surprising me.
Another thing I really liked about the book was the humor. The interplay between Dina and her werewolf neighbor Sean made me chuckle in several places.

The focus of the story is definitely on the world building and on the action. The bad guy of the story is freaky and scary in true Ilona Andrews fashion. There is some light flirting but the romance takes a backseat to everything else that is happening in the story. That being said, the romance is still the only reason I didn’t give this book five stars. Not that it’s badly written or anything, but it seems like it’s developing into one of those annoying triangle situations. That’s really not my cup of tea. Nevertheless, I’m impatiently awaiting the second book and I’d still recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a lighthearted and exciting read.
0Kommentar| 7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Januar 2014
Synopsis [by Goodreads.com]

On the outside, Dina Demille is the epitome of normal. She runs a quaint Victorian Bed and Breakfast in a small Texas town, owns a Shih Tzu named Beast, and is a perfect neighbor, whose biggest problem should be what to serve her guests for breakfast. But Dina is...different: Her broom is a deadly weapon; her Inn is magic and thinks for itself. Meant to be a lodging for otherworldly visitors, the only permanent guest is a retired Galactic aristocrat who can’t leave the grounds because she’s responsible for the deaths of millions and someone might shoot her on sight. Under the circumstances, "normal" is a bit of a stretch for Dina.

And now, something with wicked claws and deepwater teeth has begun to hunt at night....Feeling responsible for her neighbors, Dina decides to get involved. Before long, she has to juggle dealing with the annoyingly attractive, ex-military, new neighbor, Sean Evans—an alpha-strain werewolf—and the equally arresting cosmic vampire soldier, Arland, while trying to keep her inn and its guests safe. But the enemy she’s facing is unlike anything she’s ever encountered before. It’s smart, vicious, and lethal, and putting herself between this creature and her neighbors might just cost her everything.

Review

I don't know, where to begin - I am still awed! Awed by the incredible new alternate world, Ilona Andrews [again] created with the "Innkeeper Chronicles", awed by the cool story that is only about 220 pages long, but still a whole story, awed by the overall story arc that keeps me wanting to know what will happen in the next installment[s] and last not least, awed by the characters, who are alien and real at the same time.

The Innkeeper-Chronicles are a free story the writing couple "Ilona Andrews" have on their website and continue there chapter-wise. Nevertheless, I bought the book and am glad I did: there are wonderfully drawn portraits of the characters included and they alone were worth every last Euro I paid.
But even more: this first story of what I hope will be a longer series, is just worth it.

As I wrote above, the world building is amazing. The premise of a "multiverse" is a great place for a story to take place in: a lot of different worlds and planets that are connected to each other through gates [the Innkeepers can open and close] and magical Inns throughout the worlds that are sanctuary to all creatures that abide by the laws of hospitability. Magic and technology exist side by side and the "normal" humans don't know about anything supernatural. So it is one of the many jobs of an Innkeeper to keep the secrets of other worlds and supernatural creatures. The magic system is explained wonderfully: how Dina, the Innkeeper, can and cannot work magic, the magic bonds between her and her Inn.... wow.

And I liked Dina. She is kicking a**, but at the same time is a young woman searching her parents in all worlds and struggling to keep her Inn running and striving. And it's so like Ilona Andrews to write her 1st person POV in a way that kept me cracking up laughing. She is very deadpan and her comments on everything are hilarious. As are the other characters we encounter: among them a werewolf and a vampire that are so unlike any of the guys we know from other PNR, UF or YA that it feels as if I have never read about those species before [and believe me, I have....sooo many times, they tend to blur into each other]. And: no way to deduce what turn Dina's story will take in the future!

I could go on gushing, but I guess, I brought my point across: great book - and if you like Wen Spencer's "Tinker" or Ilona Andrews's "Kate Daniels" series, you have to read this. I can't wait for the next chapters!
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. Mai 2017
...wird auch bei dieser Serie nicht enttäuscht werden! Ich finde die Charaktere überzeugend und liebenswert und freu mich ihre weitere Entwicklung lesend miterleben zu dürfen...
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Dezember 2013
Dina Demille aus Texas ist eine Innkeeper, was heißt, dass ihr magisches Gasthaus Reisenden aus dem gesamten Universum offensteht. Dinas geregeltes Leben läuft schlagartig völlig aus allen Bahnen als ein unbekanntes, offenbar außerirdisches Wesen Hunde in ihrer Nachbarschaft tötet. Dina kann nicht tatenlos zusehen und stolpert während ihren immer gefährlicher werdenden Nachforschungen über Sean, einen Alpha-Werwolf, der vor kurzem in ihre Nachbarschaft gezogen ist. Als dann auch noch der Vampir Arland in Dinas Inn auftaucht, verkompliziert sich ihre Mission zusätzlich. Dabei will sie doch nur eines: Die Bedrohung ausschalten und zu ihrem Alltag zurückkehren.

CLEAN SWEEP hat mir wieder einmal gezeigt, warum Ilona Andrews zu meinen absoluten Lieblingsautoren zählt. Bis jetzt hat mich das Autorenduo noch kein einziges Mal enttäuscht und auch CLEAN SWEEP kann voll punkten.
Dina, die Hauptfigur von CLEAN SWEEP, hat mir sehr gut gefallen. Sie ist sehr sympathisch und ihre Gefühle und Handlungen sind stets nachvollziehbar. Auch Werwolf Sean und Vampir Arland haben es mir angetan. Besonders gefallen hat mir, auf welche Weise Ilona Andrews die altbekannten Vampir- und Werwolfthemen auf den Kopf stellt und etwas ganz Neues daraus macht. Der Weltenbau insgesamt hat mir enorm gut gefallen. Ilona Andrews hat eine faszinierende Welt geschaffen, über die ich gerne mehr erfahren möchte.
Auch die Handlung von CLEAN SWEEP ist großartig. Ich möchte nicht zu viel davon verraten, um niemandem den Lesespaß zu verderben, aber Dinas Nachforschungen sind spannend und münden in einem befriedigenden Finale.
Alles in allem bin ich vollkommen von CLEAN SWEEP begeistert. Für Fans von Ilona Andrews ist der Kurzroman ein Muss und Freunde von Fantasy und Science-Fiction werden sicherlich ihre Freude an dem Buch haben. Und das Beste ist, dass es 2014 vermutlich eine Fortsetzung geben wird. Ich freue mich schon sehr darauf. Sehr empfehlenswert!
22 Kommentare| 11 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Februar 2014
The magic in this book is different. The magical creatures are different to what you came to know.
So no usual witches, glittering vampires or adoring werewolfes for you.
As usual with Ilona Andrews the girl is strong and witty and the males sometimes need be hit on the head to see straight.

The story itself is a detective story that leads from one case to a second connected one.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
TOP 500 REZENSENT VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 16. Januar 2014
Habe CLEAN SWEEP wirklich sehr rasch ausgelesen, denn es macht einfach Spaß. Die Autorin präsentiert hier ein durchdachtes Fantasybuch, das wunderbar glaubhaft und spannend geschrieben ist. Sie versucht nicht das Buch mit unnötigen Landschaftsbeschreibungen o.ä. in die Länge ziehen, beschreibt aber durchaus einmal eine Landschaft, wenn es an der Stelle sinnvoll ist. Als Leser tauchst du komplett in diese Welt ein und leidest/freust dich mit den Charakteren. Wirklich ein wunderbares Buch, das meine Erwartungen doch um ein Stück übertroffen hat. Kann ich bitte ein Fortsetzung haben?
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. Januar 2014
Ich habe diese Kurzgeschichte ja bereits auf der homepage der beiden Autoren im Auge behalten. Daher musste ich hier zuschlagen.
Die Kurz-Geschichte ist kurzweilig und amüsant geschrieben. Ich habe sie jedenfalls in einem Rutsch gelesen.

Zum Inhalt:
Die Hauptprotagonistin betreibt eine Herberge für Reisende zwischen den Welten, soweit so gut. Aber sie kennt sich auch in der Welt "da draussen" aus, so dass sie nicht so hilflos ist, wie es manchmal den Anschein hat. Ihre Einstellung sich nicht nur auf ihr kleines Stück Herberge (die ja von Haus aus schon eine ungewöhnliche ist) zu beschränken schafft ihr manchen Kummer. Letzten Endes wird sie aber für ihre Einstellung belohnt. Die beiden männlichen Hauptfiguren haben mich auch sehr zum Schmunzeln gebracht. Auf der einen Seite ein Werwolf, der seine Geschichte nicht kennt, und eigentlich auch gar nichts mit den Problemen um ihn herum zu tun haben will. Aber in sein Territorium niemanden herummorden lassen will. Auf der anderen Seite der nennen wir ihn "Vampir", weltgewandt und erfahren, der seinen Onkel retten muss. Die Auseinandersetzung der beiden jedenfalls war sehr amüsant zu lesen.
Ich kann nur sagen ich freue mich auf eine Fortsetzung der Geschichte und gebe gerne 5 Sterne
11 Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Oktober 2016
Dina ist jung, lebt in einer verschlafenen texanischen Kleinstadt, hat einen Shi-Tzu und führt eine eher dahindümpelnde kleine Pension.
Das klingt langweilig? Lädt zum Schnarchen ein?

In Wirklichkeit hat sie ein magisches Gasthaus, ihr einziger Gast ist eine galaktische Despotin, auf deren Leben mehrere Kopfgelder stehen und innerhalb Dinas Gasthauses sollte man sich vor ihr hüten: sonst gibt es statt dem perfekt auf den Gast abgestimmten Zimmer ein Tor in eine andere Dimension mit menschenfressenden Monstern. Ansonsten ist es friedlich, bis die Hunde der Kleinstadt getötet werden, der ansässige Werwolf sich blöd stellt und unter "Hilfe" Bäume markieren versteht.

Dina sieht die Menschen in Gefahr und beginnt, sich den hundefressenden Monstern entgegenzustelllen, denn sie ahnt, dass es nicht bei Hunden bleibt. Es kommen natürlich noch außerirdische Vampire, High-Tech und ein spannender Backround vor. Die Despotin, Caldenia, hat zwar Millionen geknechtet, wird zu Recht interplanetarisch gehasst, aber man muss auch sie mögen.

Ein must-read für die, die Vampire und Werwölfe mögen, aber es mal neu erleben wollen. (Keine Prägung, keine "Vegetarier", yeah!) Wer noch starke Heldinnen mag, die nicht an jeden männliche Brust sinken, die sich ihnen in den Weg stellt, dem sei dieses Buch empfohlen. Ja, es gibt eine Romanze, aber die bestimmt werder das Buch noch Dinas Leben. Ein immer-wieder-gerne-Buch, bei dem man oft lachen kann.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Juni 2014
As an unweavering fan of Andrews novels "Clean Sweep" had to be read.
The story of a magical inn in a quiet little town, it's supercool keeper, a gruesome ladyguest and some suprise visitors is fast and witty.
A beautiful, sensuous werwolve hero marking his territory comes across as a very funny introduction taking away some of the macho image most muscled heroes are to utter boredom stuck with.
He competes with an awesome warrior from another planet famed for ruthlessness and cruelty and yet tame as a kitten in the hands of the keeper.
She tries to keep her beloved victorian inn running on small means hoping that she'll get a recommendation star to brighten up business.
However things don't seem to come along as planned as some serious bloodthirsty monsters prowl the neighbourhood which tends to threaten the keepers aims.
Ok, so the lady shows she has more to show for as just some good cooking. She and most of all the inn itself kicks into action. Wow that shows some rich imagination on the author's behalf . The characters are lovable, descriptions vivid , the story full of suprises. Though there is quite some action the setting breathes something peaceful even homely. Well read for yourself.
For me it was a great reading experience from beginning to end.
With the result that hoping for the followup sneaked readings of "Clean Sweep" follow up chapters on Andrew's homepage makes waiting even worse.
Please, let 'Sweep in Peace' come up soon........................
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken