Sale Sale Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Book Spring Store 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More Hier klicken HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle PrimeMusic BundesligaLive wint17



am 28. Juli 2014
Der Titel klingt witzig, die Inhaltsbeschreibung versprach leichte Unterhaltung. Ich war erstaunt als ich merkte, dass der Plot einfach nicht in die Gänge kam, außerdem ist der Stil erstaunlich schlicht und die Handlungsentwicklung ein bisschen ungeschickt. Man hat das Gefühl dass sich hier ein Amateur versucht, vielleicht eine Oberstufenschülerin. Ich war nach einigen durchgehaltenen Kapiteln doch ziemlich enttäuscht und habe es weggelegt.
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 16. August 2014
The idea sounded good and promised plenty of humour, but the story just stayed flat and dull and never grabbed me.
The english is very simple (I can not say if this is because of the translation or not), the sentences generally short and straight forward.
For me there was not enough humour, hardly any suspense and I found too much, too unrealistic (my impression: in some respects the old age pensioners were thinking/reasoning like teenagers might do; also every one else not in the main group of "oldies" - guards, police, nurses - just seemed too stupid).
Managed to get half the way through the book, then gave up it as a waste of my holiday reading time.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 1. Mai 2014
It is fun to read the adventures of a group of elderly people, to see how creative and active they find a way to use their capabilitiesin spite of being in a home for elderly people. It shows what a loss it is to just shelve people in such homes and not search for ways to tap into their possibilities. That prison is seen as preferable to a home for elderly people is a strong statement and thought-provoking. And note, the story is set in Sweden with a strong well-fare system. How must it then be in countries with less of that?
Stretch-wise the story was a bit naive as if all the others (police, nurses, the Serbian mafia etc) were simple-minded and only this group of people smart and witty, but on the overall this aspect was not too disturbing.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 20. November 2014
I had hoped to find another novel along the lines of The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry or The Hundred Year Old Man..., but this novel had neither the depth of the former nor the humour of the latter. Instead, an assorted crew of poorly characterized pensioners break out of their badly-run nursing home in the hopes of landing in jail, where they would be better cared for. The not-so-veiled critique of the way Swedish nursing homes in particular are run and our elderly are cared for is a valid point, but rather clumsily made. The plot twists are reminiscent of 1970s sitcoms, leaving the reader wondering when the canned laughter will be cued.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 12. September 2014
Die Geschichte an sich könnte witzig und interessant sein, wenn sie von jemanden geschrieben worden wäre der schreiben könnte. Die ganze Geschichte ist sehr holprig mit zu wenig Details um sich hinein zu denken an anderen Stellen gibt es unnötig viele Aufzählung wo man sich fragt warum dies alles erwähnt wird. Ich weiß noch nicht was ich mit dem Buch mache nachdem ich mich fast durchgequält habe es zu lesen, nur einen Platz im Bücherregal wird es nicht erhalten
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 18. Mai 2014
Eine sehr amüsante Geschichte, die dennoch nachdenklich macht! Die unternehmenslustigen Senioren sind besonders liebenswert mit ihre kleinen Spleens. Und dass sie ihre kriminelle Fantasie ausleben, um aus dem Seniorenheim zu entkommen, ist geradezu genial. Klasse!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 6. September 2014
I've started this book. But just can't seem
To get into it al all. It has been cast aside and now collecting space in my kindle
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 9. November 2015
Very poor literature, as if written by a 12-year old. Still struggling to finish. Not worth the money or time wasted on it.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 31. Januar 2014
The plot is simple: A group of pensioners is about to launch its criminal career: Martha, Christina, Anna-Greta, Brains and Rake are fed up with their life in Diamond House (retirement home). The life there is boring: the pensioners are not allowed to go out, the meals are reduced due to costs etc. According to media documentary the five pensioners are convinced that life in prison is much better and more livable. So they try everything to be sentenced to jail. The big adventure begins...first the police doesn't take them serious when Martha go to confess the robbery...

The story is compelling, funny and out of the ordinary. A must-read!!!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 17. Februar 2014
I thought and hoped it would be as funny as "The old man who climbed out the window ... ", but it isn't, unfortunately.

Many unbelievable things happen, which are so far from reality that it is irritating.

However, it's not that bad a book. If you are really bored, you can always read it.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden


Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken