Sale Sale Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Book Spring Store 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicAlexa BundesligaLive wint17



am 4. August 2016
I am a scientist and a professor and public speaking is a large part of my job. This book has re-confirmed some of what I have learnt before and gave me a few more new insights, too. Some of the advice is particularly relevant for popular science talks or sales talks, but not necessarily applicable to conference talks where the audience consists of other researchers and the presented material are scientific results (e.g., telling stories is one of these advices). The author uses many stories himself to explain the concepts. These stories are about other successful and popular TED speakers. While these stories illustrate the concepts and are often also quite entertaining, they also lengthen the book. Overall, I think the same material could have been presented in fewer pages.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 30. April 2017
Ich war von den anderen Rezensionen beeindruckt und wollte mich mit diesem Buch auf einen TEDtalk vorbereiten. Nach circa 50% des Buches stellte ich fest, dass ich schon sehr viel weiss und nichts Neues für mich drin stand. Die zweite Hälfte des Buches habe ich überflogen und hatte den gleichen Eindruck. Mein Fazit: Personen, die bereist vor Publikum gesprochen haben und dies mit Engagement machten, die brauchen dieses Buch nicht.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 17. Februar 2016
Occasionally I watch TED talks.
The author definitely has seen many and has many a good advice on how to present.
PowerPoint can be used in many ways, but presentations often are cluttered with details.
Make it simple, the audience is the audience, not the screen.
Some good advice on body language.
/Tom G-B
review image
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 2. Mai 2015
Incredibly inspiring, well structured book that really helps to understand how to structure your talk. Great TED talk recommendations are included too. Thank you so much for writing this.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 17. Februar 2016
The writer analyzed and distilled nine most important secrets for improving public speaking skills. Several examples, links to the selected TED talks, and name of books are provided for interested reader.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 7. Februar 2017
Ein 6/6-Buch – diese Wertung ist eine Seltenheit bei mir. Bei diesem Werk allerdings komplett rechtzufertigen. Es beinhaltet die 9 Geheimnisse eines gelungenen Auftritts. Wo bekommt man diese her? Am besten man sieht sich eine TED-Präsentation an. TED steht für Technology, Entertainment, Design und hier treffen sich die ‚klügsten‘ Köpfe um aktuelle Themen zu referieren und diskutieren. Ich selbst werde einen TEDx-Kongress in Wien am 22. Oktober 2016 besuchen. Das war auch der Grund, warum ich mir das Buch bei der Rückfahrt von Rügen am Flughafen von Berlin kaufte. Da das Buch in Englisch geschrieben wurde, werde ich es auf Englisch zusammenfassen und zu jedem Geheimnis ein passendes Zitat einfügen.

How should a Presentation be:
-Emotional
-Novel
-Memorable

1. EMOTIONAL
„The key part of the TED format is that we have humans connecting to humans in a direct and almost vulnerable way. You’re on stage naked, so to speak. The talks that work best are the ones where people can really sense that humanity. The emotions, dreams, imagination.”
Chris Anderson S. 13

#1: UNLEASH THE MASTER WITHIN
“Passion is the thing that will help you create the highest expression of your talent.”
Larry Smith S. 15
“It is our humanity, and all that potential within it, that makes us beautiful.” S.17
“The most popular TED speakers don’t have a ‘job’. They have a passion, an obsession, a vocation, but not a job. These people are called to share their ideas.” S. 18
TEDnote S. 37:
“Invite passionate people into your life. Starbucks founder Howard Schultz once told me, “When you’re surrounded by people who share a collective passion around a common purpose, anything is possible.” Identifying your passion is one step, but you must share it, express it, and talk about what motivates you with the colleagues, clients, and other people in your life. Most important, link yourself with others who share your passion. Leaders use passion as a hiring criteria. Richard Branson hires people with the Virgin attitude: they smile a lot, are positive and enthusiastic. As a result they are better communicators. It’s not enough to be passionate yourself. You must also surround yourself with people who are passionate about your organization and the field in which they are working. Your ultimate success as a leader and communicator will depend on it.” – erinnert mich an KsP ;)

#2: MASTER THE ART OF STORYTELLING
“Stories are just data with a soul.” Brene Brown S.41
3 simple effective types of stories:
1. Personal stories
2. Stories about other people
“When god puts a dream in your heart, you know you’re going to succeed. Every ‘no’ means you’re one step closer to ‘yes’.” S.59
3. Stories about Brand Success

#3 HAVE A CONVERSATION
Steve Jobs and the 10,000-Hour Rule S. 80:
“It’s a well known theory that it takes 10,000 hours of practice to master a particular skill – playing a piano, shooting baskets, hitting a tennis ball, etc. I strongly believe it applies to the skill of public speaking, too. A lot of people tell me they’ll never be as polished as Steve Jobs or other great business speakers because they’re simply “not good at it.” Well, neither was Steve Jobs at one point. He worked at it.”

HOW TO SAY IT SO PEOPLE LISTEN
-Rate: Speed at which you speak (150-160 words per minute for books & 190 words for presentation)
-Volume: Loudness or softness
-Pitch: High or low inflections
-Pauses: short pauses to punch key words

2. NOVEL
“Novelty recognition is a hard-wired survival tool all humans share. Our brains are trained to look for something brilliant and new, something that stands out, something that looks delicious.”
Dr. A. K. Pradeep S. 109

#4 TEACH ME SOMETHING NEW
“Increase novelty in a classroom and you increase the dopamine level of your students… Dopamine can be addictive – our goal as teacher is to our students addicted to learning.” S. 117
“Neuroscientists have found that only through bombarding the brain with new experiences do we force our minds to look at the world through a new lens. That means you need to get of the office once in a while. Experience new events, people, and places. Most important, incorporate those new experiences into your presentations.” S. 125

#5 DELIVER JAW-DROPPING MOMENTS
“Bill Gates just released mosquitos into the audience at TED and said: ‘Not only poor people should experience this.’” S.138

#6 LIGHTEN UP (don’t take yourself too serious and make people laugh)
1. Anecdotes, Observations and Personal Stories
168: “REMEMBER WHAT WORK. Think back to anecdotes, stories, observations or insights that have you or your colleagues smile in the past.”
2. Analogies and Metaphors
Example: “If Americans want to live the American dream, they should go to Denmark.” Richard Branson
3. Quotes
4. Video
5. Photos

3. MEMORABLE
“You have to really be courageous about your instincts and your ideas. Otherwise you’ll just knuckle under, and things that might have been memorable will be lost.”
Francis Ford Coppola S. 181

#7 Stick to the 18-Minute-Rule
Here you can take the quote from Bruce Lee: “Hack away the unessential.”

#8 Paint a mental picture with multisensory experiences
“The holy grail of a presentation is to transport the audience to another place.” S. 230

#9 Stay in your lane
“An inspiring speaker should move his or her listeners to think differently about their lives, careers or businesses. A great speaker makes you want to be a better person.” S.240

Ein wirklich spannendes Buch, das noch mehr Lust auf den kommenden Vortrag macht. Ich bin gespannt, was ihr davon hält bzw. Christian, wenn er es liest.

Absolute Leseempfehlung!!!

Talk like TED: Die 9 Geheimnisse der besten Redner
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 26. April 2015
Camine Gallo ist ein Autor, der Sichtbares in Regeln verwandelt und diese als Geheimnis oder Mythen darstellt. So wurde er key note Speaker und erfolgreicher Buchautor. Nach "The Presentation Secrets of Steve Jobs" nun "Talk like Ted".

Gallo ist ein guter Rechercheur und Schreiber. Viele Beispiele, Zitate, Auszüge aus Interviews und name dropping machen das Buch leicht lesbar und verschaffen eine vergnügliche Lesezeit.

Inhaltlich ist es wie eine TED Rede aufgebaut. Ein Thema wird auf neun Regeln durchdekliniert. Innerhalb der Regel wie "Geheimnis 2: Meister die Kunst des Geschichten-Erzählens" folgen Beispiele und Unterregeln. Einen Punkt Abzug gebe ich, weil der Anspruch, eine TD-Rede mit durchgestylter Performance und entsprechendem dramaturgischen und Trainingsaufwand ist für Redner im Tagesgeschäft denkbar und erstrebenswert, weit hergeholt erscheint.

Ich empfehle dieses Buch in englischer (!) Sprache Personen, die professionelle Reden auf TED-Niveau mit entsprechendem Aufwand wirklich anstreben
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 6. September 2014
Robert Gallo ist mit seinem Buch "Talk like TED" etwas Besonderes gelungen: Seine Analyse der besten TED-Vorträge führt nicht nur zu neun Kriterien, deren Beachtung hilfreich für die Gestaltung eigener Vorträge ist, sondern er führt uns auch in die faszinierende Welt des wegweisenden TED-Formats ein.

So beschreibt er seine Erkenntnisse nicht abstrakt, sondern illustriert sie mit Verweisen auf einzelne Vorträge, die man sich bei TED abrufen und so seine Thesen sofort überprüfen kann.

Auf diese Weise entsteht eine Art praxisnahes Trainingsmanual zur Optimierung von Vorträgen und zur Weiterentwicklung des TED-Formats, d.h. zu Vorträgen die den Rahmen von 20 Minuten nicht überschreiten und die geeignet sind, komplexe Wissenszusammenhänge so zu vermitteln, dass sie die Zuhörer ergreifen.

Dieses Buch ist für jeden, der Wissen oder seine Thesen so vermitteln will, dass er auch seine Zuhörer ergreift, ein Muss!!!

Fazit: TED verstehen: Ausgezeichnetes Grundlagenwerk für wirksame Vortragsgestaltung

Prof.Dr. Olaf-Axel Burow Universität Kassel
0Kommentar| 10 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 3. September 2014
ich muss gestehen ich habe dieses buch angefangen, bin bis zur helfte gekommen und hab dann wieder aufgehört. um ein halbes jahr später weiter zu machen.

ich muss aber sagen ich denke das es nicht umbedingt ein fehler war. wie in dem buch beschrieben ist viel learning by doing. und das buch ist eher ein leitfaden was für dinge sind wichtig udn wohin sollte ich mich bewegen.

das beschreibt es wirklich gut und kann jeden darin unterstützen ein besserer redner und presenter zu werden.

ich bin anunfürsich ein talent was solche dinge angeht aber ich habe trotzden viel über mentale vorbereitung gelernt.
bisher habe ich, aufgrund von unwissen, eher mäßig auf reden vorbereiten können und hab das dann alles eher aus dem ärmel geschüttelt, und ich hab auch viel lob dafür bekommen wie natürlich und talentiert ich in sowas dann immer war... aber wenn man sein game verbessern will ist das denke ich ein guter erster schritt.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 13. Mai 2015
Reluctantly, I confess that my intent to improve my speaking/communication skills coupled with my interest in joining one of the local Toastmasters inspired me to purchase Talk Like Ted; The 9 Public Speaking Secrets of The World’s Top Minds by Carmine Gallo. Additionally, this book purchase is inspired by a circumstance where someone who I admire diplomatically gave me some shocking but helpful feedback when they expressed how they can see me soar even more as a person if I could find a way to align my speaking style with my writing voice. Anyhow the following are some of the detailed features of Talk Like Ted; a public speaking profile about Colin Powells (pages 92-94 under Have A Conversation), a snapshot of a Pink Concert (pages 156-157 under Deliver Jaw Dropping Moments), and the 18 minute rule as it ties into creativity (pages 188-189). The book also features various arenas with pop culture subjects as it ties into the area of speaking ( a feature of Bono from U2 on page 218, the feature of 32,000 Barbie dolls on pages 220-221, and a discussion on kinesthetic touch with a person (Dr. Elliott Krane on page 235) using a blowtorch during their TED talk etc.).
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)