find Hier klicken Jetzt informieren PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ Hier klicken Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimited AmazonMusicUnlimited Fußball longSSs17



Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 25. Juni 2016
Habe es mir für meinen Englisch Unterricht gekauft und es ist wirklich anspruchsvoll....
Es ist für Menschen geeignet, die wirklich gut Englisch können :)
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. November 2016
Die Geschichte ist sehr spannend von der Konstellation, aber inmitten der Erzählung ist die Spannung partiell auch nicht vorhanden. Aber sonst ein gutes Buch
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. September 2014
Ein Klassiker der Science Fiction Literatur. zwar etwas altmodisch in der Wortwahl, aber spannend und lebendig geschrieben. durch etliche Verfilmungen geadelt.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. November 2013
Die Ware entspricht genau meinen Erwartungen. Preis- / Leistungsverhältnis ist gut. Die Lieferung erfolgte prompt und ohne Probleme. Den Lieferanten und den gekauften Artikel kann ich weiter empfehlen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. August 2017
After downloading there were only 2 pages: The cover and the following page, no more. Even at 0.99 EUR not really a good purchase ....
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. August 2014
War of the Worlds is one of the true Classics in Science Fiction literature. I've read this book a lot of times and always enjoy starting again.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Dezember 2011
Was soll man über ein Buch, welches Pflichtlektüre ist nur schreiben außer:
Schneller Versand und unkomplizierte Abwicklung, wie immer bei Amazon !
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. September 2015
We are in 1898 England. Yep we see something happening on the surface of Mars. Later what looks like a meteor comes to earth. Once we realize the significant of the situation (or think we do) Different people approach the situation in different ways. The true story is how the different people meet the situation.

Many people want to equate this story with real potential invasions others as the bad guys vs. the good guys. However from the very first we see that they are the greater (more evolved) intelligence and we are the equivalent of vermin or the ants that are being held under the magnifying glass. From our point of view they seem like cruel creatures, from theirs is indifference. Their way of consuming nourishment is appalling yet look at what and how we eat.

The writing its self is of the time in which Wells lived so the descriptions of our world may seem a little alien to today's younger readers. However, the suspense is still there and the story will hold their attention.

Do not miss the 1953 movie. Even thought it adds more religious overtones it is still pretty much the same story with similar characters. Of course, this one names the narrator and adds a love interest.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Januar 2014
„War of the worlds“, is not only the description of a fight between man and martians it is more a philsophical story which lets you think about life on earth.

In 1938 the New York Times wrote about Radio listeners who were in panic because they took a war play as fact. The panic might be more understandable with this things in mind. The world was on a verge of the second World War, most people did not hear the whole play and the director Orson Welles made a really good play which sounded absolut realistic like a special report with all the necessary ingredients: a professor explaning the unusual sights, a reporter live on the place were the action is, sounds of fighting and all this interupted by music and breakdowns.
It is nice to hear the play this days, but it is also nice to read the story on which the play based. „War of the Worlds“ was written in 1898 by H.G. Wells (1866- 1946). He studied Biology under Thomas Henry Huxley, so his novels e. g. „The Time Machine, The Island of Dr. Moreau“, are full of scientific and philsophical topics.
In this book he speculates about life on another planet long before man dared to travel to the stars. „No one would have believed that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligence greater that man’s…“ And the martians are not on a peace mission they are the predators.
But do not think this is a book just about war, it is more a book which lets you think about the coexistence of man and other creatures on our planet. „…pity for those witless souls that suffer our domination.“
So „War of the worlds“ not only means the war between creatures from different planets but also war of the worlds on our planet. There are other worlds with us that we do not really understand, like life in the deep of the ocean, life of bacteria and viruses or life of ants. Wells also describes what happens when an invasive species enters a balanced ecosystem and he speculates about man beeing no longer the crown of evolution the top predator, „…a sense of dethronement, a persuasion that i was no longer a master, but an animal among the animals…“
This statement is more than ever true. Man should act more responsible towards all creatures on earth. It is time to stop putting radio collars on animals to track them or making stupid experiments.
The narrative gets you from the beginning, you witness the couriosity we all have or a cat has when it checks on something it not knows turning to pure horror because, „Way! Way! The martians are coming!“ Maybe animals on earth are screaming: Way! Way! The human beings are coming!.
I think he end of the narrative should have a different ending, an ending that was possible for a time, , „There won’ t be any more blessed concerts for a million years or so…“
An devastating ending it would have been, yes, but an ending in which every single one had to think about the way man lives on planet earth.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Mai 2011
Über "The War of the Worlds" muss man nicht viel sagen. Dieses Buch ist ein Meilenstein der Science Fiction-Literatur, die zu zahllosen weiteren extraterrestrischen Invasionen inspiriert hat, die dem Original jedoch kaum das Wasser reichen können.

Ganz besonders ärgerlich ist jedoch diese "Penguin Pocket Classics" Ausgabe, die einfach den Text der kommentierten "Penguin Classics"-Edition reproduziert ohne wenigstens die Fußnoten im Text zu entfernen, die hier ins Leere gehen. Im Vergleich zur "Penguin Classics"-Ausgabe fehlen insgesamt stolze 50 Seiten (!), die biografische Informationen zu Wells, eine Einleitung von Brian Aldiss, ausführliche Informationen über die Textgrundlage sowie eine Liste von Stellenvarianten, eine vom Wells-Experten Patrick Parrinder kommentierte Liste weiterführende Lektüre (Stand immerhin 2005), eine kommentierte Karte der im Text vorkommenden Orte sowie rund 15 Seiten durchaus instruktiver Anmerkungen enthalten. Warum kostet dann die weniger attraktive, verstümmelte Version doppelt so viel?

Es ist nichts gegen eine reine Textausgabe einzuwenden, aber wenn der editorische Mehrwert existiert, dann sollte man nicht auch noch dafür bezahlen müssen, dass er weggelassen wird. Zudem wäre dann ein deutlich handlicheres Format, dass wirklich in jede Hosentasche passt angemessen.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)