find Hier klicken Sonderangebote studentsignup Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More TDZ Hier klicken Mehr dazu Hier Klicken Shop Kindle Unlimited AmazonMusicUnlimited Fußball longss17

Kundenrezensionen

4,7 von 5 Sternen
26
4,7 von 5 Sternen
Format: Kindle Edition|Ändern
Preis:2,49 €


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 14. Februar 2014
Elizabeth Gilberts neues Buch war für mich persönlich zu Beginn durchaus zäh, gewinnt aber mit fortschreitender Handlung ganz deutlich an Fahrt und wird zu einer interessanten, da ungewöhnlichen und nicht vorhersehbaren Geschichte. Am Ende des Buches war ich doch sehr froh, dass ich am Anfang durchgehalten habe. Das Buch ist interessant für alle, die sich gerne intensiv in einen Protagonisten hinein versetzen oder in diesem Fall eine Protagonistin, denn hier lernt man eine sehr starke und autonome Frauenfigur kennen. Weitere Themengebiete sind Naturwissenschaft und Naturmystik sowie natürlich die Liebe.
Schön finde ich, dass die Autorin nicht eine Wiederholung ihres Bestsellers vorgelegt hat, sondern eine vollkommen andere und eigenwillige Story.
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. April 2015
So much knowledge and treasure of botany in this book i throughly enjoyed understanding and imagining them them. Although Alma claims to have lead a fortunate life i do think it is a sad story. I simply enjoyed reading all the details and the characters are did their roles although i wished it ended differently.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. März 2014
Fälschlicherweise machte ich meine Bewertung unter "Committed" !!!
Ich meinte The Signature of All Things!
Committed habe ich noch nicht gelesen.
Sorry!!!

M.Har-
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Januar 2014
A great read --- entertaining and I learned a lot about various parts of history as well as the history of the study of our natural world.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. April 2015
This book is well-written and extremely interesting. The story begins in the late 1700s with the first twenty years of Henry Whittaker's life, as well as the entire eighty years of his daughter, the main character, Alma. They are fascinating people, and the times as well as the settings are wrought in expert detail. I was astonished at the effort Gilbert put into it.

The subtext (if not the theme) of the book is evolution, both biological and sociological, and I think the reason Gilbert went into so much detail, however well-crafted and entertaining, was to demonstrate various aspects of evolution - or the resolute lack thereof - in of each of her characters. Thus we follow the lives of Alma, her father, her mother, Prudence, the insane friend, the insane husband, the Tahitian missionary, the Tahitian missionary's son, et. al. And I'm just getting started. Even Roger the dog evolves in order to triumph at life. Okay, I'm kidding about him. Sort of.

I'm not going to describe the entire book. Plenty of other readers will do that. However, I will say that there is a transcendent scene toward the end, when Alma and another scientist/big thinker debate the evolutionary logic of altruism. I was entranced by this unanswerable question and their discussion of it. However, that was just the icing on the cake. The main takeaway of the story, for me, was that we all have a chance to live our biggest life possible, if only we try as hard as we can and never, never let ourselves weaken. It's an empowering theme. I recommend this book, with the caveat that the evolved reader manage its length by discreetly skimming, thus saving her energy for the rest of life's battles.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. November 2013
The Signature of All Things is mainly set in the 19th century. Its numerous settings include places in Europe, North America and French Polynesia. Even though I have never visited most of the book’s settings, I was able to visualize all of them and Ms. Gilbert’s descriptions are great because when I googled one of the settings, it looked exactly like I imagined it.

The main character, Alma Whittaker, grows up to be a reasonable, intelligent, extremely well-read and well-taught woman. It is remarkable to see the world through her eyes. Alma grows up in a wealthy household and still lives a life so different to other wealthy young women. I felt how uncomfortable she felt in regard to having friends and doing things that didn’t fulfil any purpose. I also relaxed when Alma relaxed, sitting at the table, being surrounded by scholars and scientists. The secondary characters in The Signature of All Things are beautifully crafted. Each has their own story to tell and would be interesting enough to write a novel about.

The book’s plot spans Alma’s, plus a quick version of her father’s life. It is very detailed. You will learn much about botany (but I guess you figured that by reading the synopsis) but there are also long conversations about spirituality. Even though I really liked the overall story, The Signature of All Things has many passages that felt drawn-out. It was as if everything written had to stay in the book. My reading pace was an interplay of quick and slow. Nevertheless, I think you should read this book if you like the synopsis. The Signature of All Things might be drawn-out at times, but it is also absorbing, surprising, adventurous and different.

*A review copy of this book was provided by the publisher.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Januar 2016
My sister recommended this to me, and I was hesitant having started to read Eat, Love, Pray (which I absolutely hated). This is completely different (was it really the same author) - an ultimately likable and very realistic heroine, tied-together story lines, even informative without being overbearing. A love story of the most hopeless but beautiful sort, without being tragic -- this is a fine book for any that have been disappointed by life but still forge on in hopes of coming to terms with both what one has and what one will never have.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Januar 2014
Wenn Sie es mögen, tief in eine andere Welt einzutauchen und dabei Neues zu lernen, ist dieses Buch phantastisch. Die Welt der Pflanzen, die ganz andere Art von Reisen im 18. und 19. Jahrhundert, die faszinierende Lebensgeschichte der Protagonistin und ihrer Familie, und alles jenseits von seichten Gut-und-Böse-Erwartungen... Was für eine Welt, die sich hier eröffnet.

If you like to delve deeply into another world and learn new things, this book is fantastic. The world of plants, the very different kind of travel in the 18th and 19th century, the fascinating life story of the protagonist and her family, and all beyond shallow simple "good and bad"-expectations ... What a world is opened here. A marvellous achievement.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. April 2014
Ich habe das Buch kaum aus der Hand legen können. Eine spannende Geschichte über eine aussergewöhnliche Frau, die ihr Schicksal zwar allein meistern muss, die aber mit ihrer Passion für Moose und Pflanzen zu begeistern weiß. Die Charaktere sind gut gezeichnet und die Handlung ist spannend. Das Buch würde ich jederzeit weiter empfehlen!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Die Hauptdarstellerin ist im 19. Jahrhundert als Tochter eines reichen Pflanzenhändlers (dessen Geschichte im ersten Teil erzählt wird) aufgewachsen und widmet sich ganz dem Studium der Moose. Dann bekommt sie Besuch von einem ungewöhnlichen Mann... und eigentlich habe ich schon fast zu viel verraten und andererseits auch die erste Hälfte des Buches fast gar nicht zusammengefasst. Das Problem: Einen richtigen Handlungsfaden gibt es nicht in dem Sinne. Das Buch ist eine Studie der Hauptperson. Das klingt vielleicht nicht nach viel, liest sich aber sehr gut. Das Buch ist gut geschrieben und die Hauptperson so eigenwillig, dass man ihr gerne folgt und durchaus interessiert mitliest, wo es denn hingeht. Hinzu kommt die sehr dichte Beschreibung der Welt der Botaniker und Pflanzenforscher des 19. Jahrhunderts. Ein schönes Buch!
Allerdings muss man schon beachten, dass es sich hier weder um eine Liebesgeschichte noch um einen Krimi oder dergleichen handelt.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden