Hier klicken Sale Salew Salem Hier klicken Sonderangebote Books Summer Shop 2017 Cloud Drive Photos Learn More TDZ Matratzen Hier klicken Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimitedFamily AmazonMusicUnlimited longss17



Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 11. März 2017
I didn't like the book. It has potential, as the storyline is interesting enough, but Legg's writing is just not good enough. Apart from obvious misspellings (shuttered instead of shuddered) there is too much useless information given and too less actual background on plot, people etc. Does not read like a book from an experienced author, rather the opposite.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. April 2015
I absolutely loved this book! Every part of it was fascinating and kept me engaged. Nate - first of all, what a tragic character! His story is so sad and just broke my heart. Lost his dad, then his mom locks up his brother in an asylum... nothing seems to want to go right for him. But watching his character evolve and grow from all this tragedy was a wonderful experience. I may have been sad with his story initially, but it also helped me connect with him and root for him all the way until the end.

The writing is superb and effortless. Every word flows into the next with a unique voice in writing. The plot kept the book moving and was different than things I've read before in many ways. Brandt Legg is on my authors to watch list and I will definitely be reading more from him in the future!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. November 2013
First I'm going to give you words and phrases that describe this page turner for me.... Conspiracy, discovery, trust, betrayal, mystic powers, terror, innocence, sibling love, friendship, family.
Outview is the story of a young teenager Nate who has this power (or curse; however you choose to see it). His father had it, his brother Dustin has it and his Aunt Rose does as well. Their gift is misunderstood - most likely by ignorance on the part of the 'normal folks'
After Nate's father dies (or is killed - you'll have to figure that out), Nate goes on a search to find the depth of these Outviews he experiences. I had never heard of an out view and I'll have to admit I was intrigued.
With the help of his good friends Kyle and Linh, Nate begins his search to find answers. He is steadfast in his search for answers. The depth of the innocent adolescent friendship between these three is another thing that amazed me. We see how unconditional love and trust abounds with them. We also experience Nate meeting up with his spiritual advisors along the way, the mystics who don't give him answers per se but encourage and teach him how to deal with his power; to look into himself for answers. I learned just how powerful the mind is....mind over matter I guess you could say.
Brandt Legg is the ultimate story teller. He takes us on the journey with Nate and I completely felt like a spectator. I WAS in the woods with Nate. I felt everything from the wind blowing in my face, to running through the woods with Nate, the sound of the water, the branches of the trees moving, the mountain lions and the vivid descriptions of each scene. I felt the sting of knife wounds, the piercing of a gunshot to the flesh and I was scared to death.
I also felt the anguish and heartache Nate's mom went through. As a parent I felt for her. I cried. She did what she thought was right at the time and I realized through her that as parents we don't always do what is right. Sometimes we make decisions based on what other people tell us is the right thing to do. We come to regret that later and her regrets tore at my heart.
The love between Nate and Dustin was incredible. These 2 boys had 'the gift' but one was institutionalized and labeled crazy. The other was tethering on believing he was crazy as well.
I cannot wait to read the second and third books in this series. I'm a romance reader but I can honestly say I am so happy I read Outview. I have recommended it to all my friends and I will be purchasing the trilogy as Christmas gifts for my friends.
Great Job Brandt Legg - you've given us three gifts:) THANK YOU!!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Oktober 2013
I've always been skeptical of books that place their characters into supernatural settings but decided to read this one because of all the good reviews. And it was a great decision. This book is much much better than I could have expected!

"Outview" makes the readers think about many philosophical concepts but presents them in a very accessible way. One such concept is that of awareness. The author Brandt Legg makes us question our own lives and consider how aware we really are of our surroundings, of others, and of ourselves - and that's a great issue to ponder for a person of any age, teenagers included. Many ideas in this book and the eloquent way that the author expresses them feel like pearls of ancient wisdom in the modern world, and that's incredibly appealing. Here's just one such idea (out of many more that I loved): "The unseen world is enormously deeper and much more exciting than the human world, but when the two were combined it was a million times more fascinating." This idea reminded me of the Little Prince, a character of one of my favorite childhood books by Antoine de Saint-Exupery, who said that "eyes are blind. You have to look with your heart." And isn't that a great lesson for all of us, teenagers or not.

"Outview" by Brandt Legg is a great book! You won't be disappointed.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Oktober 2013
"Outview (The Inner Movement)" by Brandt Legg is a book that works on many different levels.
It concerns mostly two teenagers, one of them in a mental institution, and his brother in the 'real' world.
Kept apart by their mother they manage to connect and start to uncover family secrets.
Book one in the trilogy shows them coming into their own, fighting for survival and growing in their personal power and awareness.

However, this book has much more to offer than the coming of age part and the action.
Disguised in the shape of fantasy and science fiction elements in this novel I recognise many modern spiritual, esoteric and supernatural concepts, explained to the youngsters by more experienced ones, giving the small picture a wider dimension.
Re-incarnation, psychic powers and astral travel, to name a few, are integral part of the story and influence the personal development and growth of our protagonists.

I am personally quite open to some of these concepts and so I found it very easy to relate to the characters and the story - which in itself also reads like a good fantasy thriller. Whether you see the concepts as real or only as mythical and slightly philosophical fantasy part of the story, they lend the characters additional depth and make the story more magical.
Awareness, good and evil and wisdom are basic concepts that everyone can relate to, whether they are supernatural or instinctive.

The trilogy has the potential of classics, such as the Celestine Prophecy or Conversations with God, only the book is more entertaining and can be seen as pure entertainment, too. The story ends rather abrupt and will be continued in the next book, which I already downloaded onto my kindle, eager to see where the story is leading
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. Februar 2014
"Outview (The Inner Movement)" by Brandt Legg is a book that works on many different levels.
It concerns mostly two teenagers, one of them in a mental institution, and his brother in the 'real' world.
Kept apart by their mother they manage to connect and start to uncover family secrets.
Book one in the trilogy shows them coming into their own, fighting for survival and growing in their personal power and awareness.

However, this book has much more to offer than the coming of age part and the action.
Disguised in the shape of fantasy and science fiction elements in this novel I recognise many modern spiritual, esoteric and supernatural concepts, explained to the youngsters by more experienced ones, giving the small picture a wider dimension.
Re-incarnation, psychic powers and astral travel, to name a few, are integral part of the story and influence the personal development and growth of our protagonists.

I am personally quite open to some of these concepts and so I found it very easy to relate to the characters and the story - which in itself also reads like a good fantasy thriller. Whether you see the concepts as real or only as mythical and slightly philosophical fantasy part of the story, they lend the characters additional depth and make the story more magical.
Awareness, good and evil and wisdom are basic concepts that everyone can relate to, whether they are supernatural or instinctive.

The trilogy has the potential of classics, such as the Celestine Prophecy or Conversations with God, only the book is more entertaining and can be seen as pure entertainment, too. The story ends rather abrupt and will be continued in the next book, which I already downloaded onto my kindle, eager to see where the story is leading
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. November 2013
Wow! Simply mesmerizing! I was so happy book 3 was finally released! I couldn't put it down. A perfect blend of entertainment, real world happenings and spiritual awakenings, elude to a world that really hits home. I simply love the portals, time control, the general style of how the story is told. Brandt Legg is by far among the top 5 of my favorite authors list! It would not be hard to admit that I would read anything this author releases! I'm not a big reader, so that is a huge compliment from me. I generally have a really hard time finding an author's writing style and story line captivating enough for me to get more than 3 or 4 pages into before I lose interest, and yes, that even includes world famous authors. He's also an amazing photographer as well. If you haven't yet, you should definitely look him up on Facebook and follow him!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. März 2016
Having read other books by this versatile author Outview was not what I expected. It is aimed primarily at a young adult audience – the main character, Nathan Ryder, is just sixteen. However, as an adult I loved it too as a fast-paced paranormal powers thriller that is definitely a page-turner.

The book is cleverly set against a background that uses a diversity of spiritual, psychic and paranormal beliefs regarding the possibility of untapped powers of the mind. The author blends teachings from a number of sources, blends them together, forms a coherent belief system and then places his main character in position as the personification of that belief system. He takes the incredible and allows us to believe in the possibility that such things exist.

I have had a lifelong interest in these subjects so this book was right up my street. I didn’t expect to like but ended up loving it as this clever author took me into realms of light and dark as seen through Nathan’s eyes. All credit is due to the author’s extensive research into psychic and paranormal matters.

Thoroughly recommended and I think the books in this series will appeal to both adults and teens alike, and the book is excellent in terms of writing skill, too.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. November 2013
***** Wow! I was blown away!!

Frankly, I am usually not a paranormal kind of person; that genre seems to go in one ear and out the other. Imagine my surprise when I started reading Brandt Legg’s Outview and was totally hooked from beginning to end!
I am, however, a sucker for great characters I can relate to, and this author certainly does not disappoint. Enter Nate, a teenager experiencing repeatedly violent visions/dreams and worrying he’s going insane. Added to the mix is a beloved dead father, a distant mother, a brother who’s been committed to a mental institution, two Vietnamese-born best friends, and a fatherly neighbor, Sam. Totally believable and, in the case of his best friends, extremely likeable, this cast instantly helps draw the reader into Nate’s life. More and more, Nate discovers that not only is he not insane, he actually possesses mystical powers. Now, normally, this is the point where I would jump off, but not so in this book, because the way these Buddhist-like, reincarnation-oriented powers are explained and demonstrated is totally authentic and plausible. Now, that takes talent!
In short, this book grabbed me—Legg’s beautiful, movie-like descriptions of different time-traveling, portal-based lands were wonderful; his philosophical take on the evils of corporate and political greed and power, riveting and spot-on, and his basic storytelling outstanding. A true, 5 star recommended read!

S. R. Mallery, author
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. September 2013
I'm not going to re-hash the plot (plenty of people have done that already, and if you're like me, you want to read the book for yourself anyway).

Things I liked about this book -

1. It features a cool YA main character who is a boy (for a change). From that respect, it made me think of Harry Potter several times as I was reading. This kid is smart. He has family issues, cool friends and isn't crushing on every girl in the book.

2. The writing is error-free (a HUGE bonus in kindle-land, as anyone who reads a lot of Amazon books can tell you).

3. There's some deep stuff here. As the main character tries to figure out why he keeps having these dreams that are scary-real, and end with him dying, he meets all sorts of interesting people and has discussions about life, death, time-travel, reincarnation and much more serious stuff than you find in a typical novel of this sort.

4. Even with all the serious stuff, there's plenty of action. Secret government organizations, plots to save people in the clutches of the bad guys, chases, near-death experiences and even hints of romance (though not as much as I've come to expect in books like this that feature a female lead character).

Things I didn't like about this book -

1. It went on a little long for me as it sometimes got bogged down with the airy-fairy stuff. When it went there for too long, the voice left that of a young boy, and the voice of the author started creeping in. Still, that's a very minor thing (and people who are into this sort of thing are going to LOVE it).

2. The book does end on a cliff-hanger, though the main plot points were wrapped up. Now, I'm going to have to get the next book!

All in all, this was a solid book written by someone I'll definitely read again.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken