flip flip Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Xmas Shop 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusic Fußball wint17



am 22. April 2017
Lot's of invite into how management get it wrong and how to do it right. However the content is let down by a poor writing style that's twee and boring. Clearly this was written as a training text, not as entertainment, but as it masquerades as a novel, it needs to be better written. I gave up reading it half way through as the style grates so badly.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Oktober 2017
"The Phoenix Project: A Novel about IT, DevOps, and Helping Your Business Win" was quite a hard one to pick up for me personally. I'm more than aware this sounds strange, even arrogant, but if a book has received 1900 reviews in Amazon.com alone, ranked really with 4.7 stars and also praised everywhere it just has to be something not for me. Has been pretty much the case every time so far. Only exceptions being of course some great ones like "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" which I really love as do many other folks as well. Now thinking the book has been said to contain some solid, informational and even educational content, the equation just seems to be impossible. But, eventually I ended up giving it a shot. As hard it could sometimes be to admit "what a jerk I have been!" it's time for the confession. Again.

The book really delivers what it has been said to deliver. And then some more. The content is just as solid as one could expect from a textbook. But, and this is a huge one, in a readable, no, in an entertaining format. The writers are really able to grab your attention not letting you go until the book ends and you are left with a feeling "I want more!". The experience, perspective and vision of the writers really shows through the book.

Personally I have been around long enough to really recognise the old, or traditional, IT world so well painted in the book. Also, not for the first time, there is a strong need and movement going on to renew and rework some fundamental things in IT. Cloud computing being of course the needed refresh and enabler for the business and for the industry which again raises the need for new methods, more agile moves in dev, in ops, in management, in security. Everything. And perhaps most importantly, it'll allow us to fail quickly and start over. With much less to lose than before. Oh, may or may not be important but think the Dev part of DevOps just with a little bit wider perspective. Although you might not be involved in "true programming", these days the Dev part is there, whether we consider it that way or not. And more likely than not there are some lines of code required here and/or there to stitch the things together into something functional. Even if you are able to avoid even that there is still lots to learn in the DevOps methods and mentality.

The more I think the content the writers are able to deliver, the more I seem to notice or distill out of it. Manager vs. Leader. Constraints, what might be holding us back? Most likely not the money even though money is of course important aspect... Importance of mentoring and to be mentored. Openness to new ideas, methods, solutions and willingness to try new solutions. Agility.
But, better stop praising the authors and the book so that I don't scare You too much... Go, Buy & Read this one! Do think about the story, the message.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. April 2013
I was actually wondering if the authors worked with my company. Everything that has been mentioned happened in the company I work with, therefore I do know what they talk about.

Also the solutions they provide are very useful and understandable. As one of the other critics already said, it is absolutely comparable to "the deadline" from tom demarco and "the goal" from Eliyahu M. Goldratt. Of course, not that well written as a james joyce novel but it does tell the story.

I will definitely read it again...and again...and again... until I know how to adapt to get things done in "my real life"
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Dezember 2013
Non-fiction books in this space have the problem that (in the best case) they leave the reader with knowledge, not with experience.
The fictionalized form of this book allows a kind of immersion that might translate to something that is almost as good as real-world experience. Since not everyone can take part in the turn-around of a failing company before making decisions at your workplace, this may be the best chance they have for getting the necessary experience.

(The book does have a small number of "Oberlehrer" events, but it is more bearable than I had imagined to be possible.)
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. März 2017
Wunderbare realitätsnahe Story über den Übergang einer chaotischen IT Abteilung in einen geordneten DevOps implementierenden Betrieb, der sich an Geschäftsanforderungen ausrichtet. Das ganze aufgehängt an der der Gefühls- und Gedankenwelt eines IT Managers, der gerade aufgestiegen ist. Schönes Akronym : CIO = Career is over :-)
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Dezember 2013
The Phoenix Project war wirklich eines der Bücher, welches man von Anfang bis Ende durchlesen in einem möchte. Die Geschichte ist sehr amüsamt, spannend und interessant geschrieben. Man fühlt mit der Hauptperson, man verfolgt ihr Leben und freut sich am Ende über das Happy-End. Ganz nebenbei werden natürlich viele - sehr bekannte - Alltagsprobleme der IT und deren Lösung angesprochen. Diese Lösungen wirken nicht lehrerhaft, im Gegenteil, sie werden wirklich sehr nachvollziehbar beschrieben. Es geht also nicht nur um das WAS, sondern auch gezielt und das WARUM und WIE man Dinge besser lösen kann. Nicht umsonst ein Bestseller.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Juni 2016
Das Buch ist als spannende Geschichte aus der Sicht eines frisch beförderten "VP of IT" erzählt welcher im Verlauf der Zeit mehr und mehr Management Prozesse in seiner IT Organisation implementiert. Das ganze ist spannend erzählt und man hat des öfteren ein "Déjà-vu" da man das ein oder andere schon selber in einer IT Organisation erlebt hat.

Alles in allem ein sehr gelungenes Buch welches.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. März 2015
Eine Firma steht kurz vor dem Kollaps, weil die IT Abteilung nicht den Stellenwert geniest, der ihr in dem geschilderten Fall zukommt. Zu ungeplant und chaotisch werden Aufgaben von Abteilung zu Abteilung 'über den Zaun geworfen' mit dem Resultat, dass nichts mehr vorwärts geht und kritische Systeme ausfallen. Die fast schon 'typischen' kontraproduktiven Verhaltensmuster von Geschäftsleitung, Verkauf, (Software-), Entwicklung und Betrieb führen zu einer immer schneller werdenden Abwärtsspirale. Das Buch zeigt Auswege aus dem Dilemma und liest sich (fast) so spannend wie ein Wirtschaftskrimi.

Einen Punkt Abzug gibt es für die Aussage "Unfortunately, I don't know the precise derivation of this graph" im Anhang. Die einzige Grafik in dem Text, die eine wichtige Kernaussage illustriert, sollte doch zumindest erklärbar sein.

Zu empfehlen ist das Buch allen, die meinen in einen Burnout zu laufen oder von der Firma verheizt zu werden, jedem Personalverantwortlichem im Betrieb oder in der Entwicklung, jedem Projektleiter, jedem C-Level Verantwortlichen der glaubt die IT Abteilung bremst.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Juli 2017
The realistic IT crowd. Could happen in every company out there in the world. Read it, enjoy it and lern from it. It's the best guide to see what's going wrong and how do it right!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Juni 2017
It took 2 pages of the first chapter to recognize that this was not a novel but a real life reportage from inside our company... We had a whistle-blower
I just can recommend reading the book, you do n't need to understand DEVOPS just use your own common sense...
A great, great Book how to make IT great again :)
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden