Hier klicken Sale Salew Salem Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Bestseller 2016 Cloud Drive Photos Learn More TDZ HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimited longss17



Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 22. Mai 2000
As an autobiography, Lance's story is one of the best that I've read, although he plays a little fast and loose with the facts regarding bike racing and his career. I found a few inaccuracies, (such as when he stated he won the 1995 Clasica San Sebastian before the 1995 Tour, when in reality the Spanish race is in August or September, while the Tour de France takes place in July).
These minor inaccuracies do nothing to detract from the far more powerful and more important part of his story, which is his struggle with testicular cancer, how he met and married his wife, and fathered a child, in addition to overcoming his disease and callous French employers and journalists who first thought he was finished as a professional cyclist, and when he proved that he wasn't, accused him of using drugs. Lance overcame all of these to win the 1999 Tour de France, 10 years after Greg LeMond's (the only other American to win the Tour) own incredible comeback after being shot and nearly losing his life in a hunting accident.
Like the title says, "It's not about the bike." This story should prove to be inspiring not only for bike riders and racers, but for cancer patients and anyone who has overcome ultimate adversity to achieve a dream.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. August 2003
Dieses Buch ist nicht nur eine herkömmliche Biographie sondern ein sensationelles Motivationsmedium. Armstrong beschreibt seinen Aufstieg, den großen Fall durch seine Krankheit und seine "Wiederauferstehung". Durch dieses Buch habe ich gelernt motivierter, kämpferischer und noch zuversichtlicher durchs Leben zu gehen!
Danke Lance
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Juli 2000
Lance Armstrong in his book recounts the transformation that happened in his life out of finding out at age 25 that he had very advanced testicular cancer. Incredibly, he was able to beat very unfavorable odds and come through cancer free. The cancer in his case seems to have worked as a tool that helped him transform and wake up to the richness of his life. He discovered how loved and supported he was by his family and friends, he discovered and was able to appreciate the dedication and incredible talent of others who collaborated to save his life, he discovered his inner resources and his passion for living, he rediscovered his love for the Bike which he was taking for granted... Out of this experience he won the Big Price: Huge professional success and a very fulfilling and loving marriage. If you are interested in transformational experiences and in discovering the state of being where success, love, satisfaction, self expression and aliveness reside, I highly recommend that you also read the book WORKING ON YOURSELF DOESN'T WORK by Ariel and Shya Kane. This book is a gem and it delivers all the keys to personal transformation and enlightenment. I highly recommend it to anybody who, like Lance Armstrong, is willing to challenge the limits of what we think it is possible to make happen in our lives.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Mai 2000
This book offers so much brutal honesty that you will not be able to put it down (I finished it within 8 hours of starting it). I never much cared for Armstrong (and his over confidence) early on in his career, but I have to count myself among his many admirers now. His climb from cancer to to the top of the podium in Paris is remarkable, but that is a nearly insignificant portion of the story. If you are a fan of his work, though, you will granted some very candid and enlightening views into the maturing and development of a world class athlete.
In a time when superstar athletes get away with murder and have no appreciation for their good fortune, Armstrong sings a very different song. You may or may not become a fan of cycling after you read this book, but you can't help being a fan of the man. You might think, as I did, that this book was simply a well spun public relations event, but when you read the intimate and graphic accounts of his chemo treatments and the various medical procedures that were performed you quickly realize that this was not done to put the guy on a pedestal. It was done to show the devastating, human side of cancer. And yet despite all of that the message that prevails is that we, even in our worst times, still need to have hope and that we have so much to be thankful for. You will never look at this man or the disease in the same way again.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Juni 2000
Lance Amrmstrong and Sally Jenkins did a wonderful job sharing the pain of such a terrible disease, the truth behind what really happens, and how this disease can actually change you for the better!
I bought this book because I work in the dot.com world and needed to "get down to earth." Even though I used to cycle, my hope was to find a book that could help me create some balance in my life and provide some direction. That it did. What I did not expect, was to be so moved about this incredible relationship Lance had with his mother, coupled with the unbelieveable obstacles (even if you are a cycling fan, you will still be surpprised) he had to overcome not just to survive, but to be able to get back to a professional level of cycling.
I've always respected Lance as a cyclist. But learning more about him as a son, a father, a cancer survivor, a husband, and a human being has created a hole heck of a lot more respect (even bigger than Texas!)for the kind of man that he is.
You will never forget this book.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Juli 2000
I'm a physician and a bicycle racer and when I heard that LanceArmstrong had metastatic testicular cancer, my first thought, likemany in my field, was "He's dead." But Lance Armstrong's story has the happy Hollywood ending nobody expected four years ago. This isn't Shakespeare, but I found it to be compelling reading (a stay up til you finish it kind of read). I am especially appreciative of the insight into the human condition, how one responds to adversity by either giving up or fighting back. Many of his homilies such as "turning negatives into positives" struck a nerve with me, as I've come to expect setbacks to be followed by unexpected success because it's happened to me so many times. I'm pleased that the book is so popular, because maybe the rest of the world will stop thinking people like me aren't such freaks riding our bikes 50 miles in January. It offers a glimpse into our sport that most people don't get to see. But I mostly hope others find the human message of hope as inspirational as I did.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Mai 2000
I bought this book mainly because I am an avid cyclist myself and follow professional cycling very closely. But true to the title, this book is not about the bike. And it is so much better for it.
I found myself deeply moved by this book. I read the entire thing from cover to cover in a matter of hours. I got it in the mail around noon and couldn't put it down. I finished before I went to bed.
The frank honesty and candor with which Lance describes and chronicals his disease and recovery are amazing. I can only imagine the pain and endurance it took for him to go back and relive the events of the last four years, to put them all in print. Much less the courage to invite all of us in to share and take part in it with him.
I can't say just how strongly I recommend this book. Lance is an exceptional athelete, but more important he is the face of courage and strength in an abyss of insurmountable adversity. The inspiration and insight he offers are priceless.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Juli 2000
Here is truly a story that can inspire everyone regardless the hopelessness of their situation. I was held spellbound by this story and the way it was told. I could personally relate to it well, as my 28 year old son-in-law was faced with a similar situation and survived and succeeded against all odds. He was striken with a yet unknown illness that kept him on life support for an extended period, with little hope from the doctors for a successful recovery. As pointed out by Lance in his book, you should never give up. Give it all you've got and you will succeed. This book is a must read for all those with major problems and certainly for those without the problems, but feel depressed by minor issues that keep them from overcoming them to greater success. It is a well written work, full of enthusiasm, emotion, the will to survive and prosper and inspiration. Read it and share it with others. We'll all benefit with a better life.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Juli 2000
Having been on on again/off again fan of the Tour de France and knowing who Lance Armstrong is from his win last year, I purchased this book during this years race and read it while avidly following his progress.
Lance is not afraid to share the most intimate details of his experience with cancer and this book touched me in ways few books have in my lifetime. I would recommend this book to anyone with an interest in sports and a place in their heart for the abilities of man to overcome any obstacle and achieve.
I more fully appreciate the difficulty of bicycle racing and have more appreciation for the difficulties faced by those stricken with cancer having read this book. Well written, and thoughtful, even tear-jerking in spots, "It's Not About the Bike" has an important message for everyone. I highly recommend it.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Juni 2000
I bought the book before reading a review and decided to stop by and check out what people were saying after I read it. I LOVED the book! I've always known who Lance was, but I was interested to read his story, mostly for the story of his move into fatherhood. Well, I became engrossed in every word even though I've never been a cycling fan. I had tears in my eyes several times while reading about the Tour de France. I couldn't put it down, and recommend it for everyone! This is a book about an extraordinary human being, who beat the odds, and came out fighting! You don't even have to like cycling to be able to feel the emotions shared in this book, and if you're like me, you'll form a new view of bike racing and become a fan! I look forward to his future races and can honestly say I'll always be a fan of Lance Armstrong!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen


Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken