Fashion Sale Hier klicken Jetzt informieren reduziertemalbuecher Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More sommer2016 HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,2 von 5 Sternen
9
4,2 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 25. April 2013
The conquest of the earth, which mostly means the taking it away from those who have a different complexion or slightly flatter noses than ourselves, is not a pretty thing when you look into it too much - Heart of Darkness

This is a book that is difficult to rate. On the one hand, it is very hard to read. The perspective of the book is a person listening to another person telling the story, which means that almost all paragraphs are in quotes, which can and will get confusing if the narrator starts quoting people, and gets worse once he starts quoting people who are quoting people themselves. Add to that the slightly chaotic narration, the long sentences and paragraphs, and an almost complete lack of chapters (the book is structured into only 3 chapters), and then add some jumps in causality in the narration for good measure, and you have a recipe for headaches.

On the other hand, the book has a good story. It has no clear antagonist, all characters except for the narrator are in one way or another unlikable idiots, brutal savages (and I am talking about the white people, not the natives). It is hard to like any of them, and, strangely, the character who is probably the worst of the lot was the one I liked best, just because he was honest about his actions and did not try to hide behind concepts like "bringing the civilization to these people". He was brutal, yes. He was (probably) racist, yes. But they all are. He seems to show an awareness of his actions, of the wrongness of it, in the end, while all the others remain focused on their personal political and material gain.

I am not a big fan of books that are considered "classics". They usually do not interest me, and being forced to read them by your teachers will probably not improve your view of the books. I am not sure if I liked this book, and that in itself is an achievement on the part of this book: I am unable to give it a personal rating compared to my other books, because it is so different.

There are many people who have liked the book. There are many who have hated it. I cannot recommend it, because I know that many people will not like it. Some would say that these people "don't get it", but that would be wrong as well. You need a special interest in the topics of the book, or a special connection to the book itself, to properly enjoy it. But I also would not discourage anyone to read it either.

It is part of the public domain, so it is free. If you are interested, start reading it. You can still shout "this is bulls***" and drop it at any point.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. August 2014
Es ist sicherlich kein einfaches oder unterhaltsames Buch. Die Sprache ist uns heutzutage fremd und vielleicht umständlich. Jedoch denke ich, dass es zu einer Reise in den Kongo zur Vorbereitung gehört. Ebenso für jene, die sich aus anderen Gründen mit dem Kongo befassen: woher die massiven Probleme des Landes ihren Ursprung haben und wie man sich einem besseren Verständnis für die gesamte Region annähern kann.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Februar 2014
It is well written. The idea of a storyteller in the story is not unique but very effective. We could ponder over the word darkness for quite some time. The best way to ponder is with Cliff's Notes. Personally I wanted him to get on with it. I guess I was a little impatient for the action and the conclusion. If it hadn't been for cliff notes I would have missed haft the things he was implying.

A merchant company is missing an agent Kurtz, and Marlowe must find him. Traveling though harsher environments than he imagined possible he may have found what he was seeking. As with many of this type of epic the physical distance or direction is not as important then the transformation it plays on ones soul.

I missed this book somehow in school. The reason I started to read this book before actually I actually became immersed in it, was to see how close it came to the movie. No not the movie you are thinking of. "Cannibal Women in the Avocado Jungle of Death" (1988) ASIN: 6305078599 . The film was shot primarily in the avocado groves maintained by the University of California at Riverside (UCR), which the university uses for horticultural experiments. Adrienne Barbeau is Dr. Kurtz.
The horror.....the horror.....

Cannibal Women in the Avocado Jungle of Death
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. Juni 2015
...das Buch zu lesen. Die an jedem Absatzanfang stehenden Anführungszeichen irritieren
aber die Erzählung ist eine der besten die je geschrieben wurde. Und sie beruht auf waren
Begebenheiten.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. November 2013
The classic novel about a white man not understanding what is going on in one of the most remote places of the time. Disturbing, still of some relevance. Great.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Januar 2013
Das Buch las ich schon vor Jahrzehnten während meines Anglistikstudiums. Fand es damals schon sehr spannend. Anläßlich einer Besprechung im WDR bin ich wieder darauf aufmerksam geworden. Lange vergessen, neu entdeckt.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Dezember 2015
Super Buch. Lässt sich gut lesen und sind verständliche Englische Wörter und Redewendungenbenutzt worden.
Cover sieht gut aus. Eben perfekt für die Schule.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Dezember 2012
Kann man lesen. Verändert vielleicht ein wenig die Sicht auf Dinge, wie z.B. was uns als Mensch verbindet. Stellenweise natürlich etwas zäh, aber es ist auch nicht all zu dick.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Ich hab' das Buch nicht gelesen. Vielmehr habe ich die deutsche Übersetzung bei Amazon gekauft und gelesen. Die englische Originalversion wäre mir sehr viel lieber gewesen, wurde aber von Amazon nicht angeboten. Oder ich war zu blöd oder nicht hinreichend motiviert, danach zu forschen.

Die übersetzte Version habe ich mit 5 Sternen rezensiert, das Original werde ich vielleicht irgendwann dann doch mal lesen. Zum Produkt (ich werde hier gefragt, wie mir dieses Produkt gefällt), muss ich leider sagen: Das gereicht Amazon nicht zur Ehre, dass da unter dem Suchbegriff fremdsprachliche Titel nicht angeführt werden. Ich hab' mir eigentlich gedacht, dass Bücher verkaufen die Kernkompetenz von Amazon ist.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)