Jeans Store Hier klicken Strandspielzeug Neuerscheinungen Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More Slop16 Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle Soolo Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,6 von 5 Sternen
333
4,6 von 5 Sternen
Format: Kindle Edition|Ändern
Preis:6,64 €
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 6. Februar 2012
It took me a long time to find the courage to review this book. Me Before You was a very intense read for me. I picked it up and couldn't let go. I was glued to the pages till 5 AM in the morning and some more after to digest what I just read- or well to stop crying. It is a tearjerker like I never read one before. For all those romance lovers hereI want to make one thing clear: this is not a romance novel in my definition and I'm sure most of you will agree. I knew it wouldn't be before I started but still this book caught me off guard.

Meet Lou, she lives at her parents place has a job she loves in a coffee shop and well she is happy with her life for the most time. When out of nowhere she loses her job,she has to find something new to help her family. The jobcenter suggest a caring job for a local young man and Lou isn't sure she can do it. It is a temporary assignment which would only last 6 months so she takes the risk and takes it. When she meets Will and realizes what her real job is aka giving him back his will to life her determination to do just that is spiked and she gives her best.

Will is a quadriplegic and his life is ruled by his body's condition. He's dependant on outside help and he hates every second of it. His life before the accident was a very active one- he was always looking for the next adrenaline high. A life full of adventures and risks. Now he has lost all of this including his will to live and he actually only waits for his suffering to end. He knows what he wants- his plan is to visit a hospiz in Switzerland to do what he wouldn't be allowed to do in his home-country.

There are so many things I adored in this book. I loved to see how realistically the relationship between Lou and Will developed. The slow building up of their connection eases you into the story- you take this whole journey into a foreign world together with Lou. Ms Mojes seems to have researched Quadriplegia intensively and the background information we get piece by piece was eye opening for me. I also loved that actually not the things Lou plotted out to get Will back to enjoy life worked but that actually her character did. Her spirit and while demeanor is the key.She is not afraid to tell him the truth- bluntly and honest without hesitating of fear to hurt his feelings.
I also liked how the side cast and their stories were seamlessy woven into the story but never stole the spotlight from the main theme.

My biggest problem with the book is actually a bit of a spoilery topic. So skip this if you plan to read this book and want to be unbiased while doing so.

When I got the chance to receive this book I read a bit about it and I thought it would be an optimistic book. About finding the pleasure of life again, finding new hope and all. For me a 'romantic' read isn't this sad and the end seriously killed the book for me. I read for hours in the whee hours of the morning and then the end hit me so hard I couldn't take it. I was devasted and well here this book succeded- it really touched me deep inside and made me cry for hours. But sadly it also ruined the whole reading experience for me. Now when I think of Me Before You I remember the end and well not much of the rest. Perhaps it's just me being a pampered romance reader but I couldn't shake off the emotional intensity Ms Moyes build over the whole book so easily.

Me Before You will grab you and wrench every last tear out of your body. It didn't only make me cry though- there are also some very funny and sweet moments in this book. I really enjoyed the book but the romance reader in me is wishing that I would have never read the end. If you love the sweetness and happiness of romance novels this one might not be for you but if you love the emotional intensity no matter if good or bad grab this one- it is a wonderfully crafted emotional roller-coaster ride.
22 Kommentare| 24 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. März 2012
The cover that this book comes with (kindle edition in 2012) is a complete disaster for me, because it makes you think this book is just another romantic chick lit easy read. I don't want to give away too much of the plot, but this novel does not give you easy answers or quick fixes.

The basic storyline is that Lou Clerk, 26, loses her job in her little hometown and the only new job she can get is that of the carer of Will, a 35-year-old depressed and very cranky quadriplegic. She finds it hard to connect with him and even thinks of quitting the job but her family's situation won't allow for this.
Lou soon finds out that her job is really to keep Will from inflicting harm on himself. The rest of the story revolves around this topic.

It may be marketed as a romance novel, because slowly there are the first stirrings of tender feelings between Lou and Will. But there are really many more topics and the novel speaks of the right of individuals to live up to their full potential and not to be held back: by traumatic experiences, by poverty in Lou's case. It speaks about the need to respect the will of an individual, even if that be against common morals, in Will's case.

It is a novel about two people giving to each other what each of them needs most and to help them to respect their wishes about how they want to live.

SPOILER ALERT - in the next part I'm going to discuss some aspects of the ending, without giving it away. I will tell you whether I think it is a sad or happy ending.
Another reviewer said she cried her eyes out at the end. I did feel a few tears roll down my cheeks too. But although this novel has no traditional happy ending, I had a good feeling reading the end: the sentiment of dignity and the right to one's own decisions and the sense of supporting someone you love even against your own wishes sometimes - all these things were well presented.

All in all, definitely worth reading. It comes along as a mere romance novel, but it is much better than the cover indicates. The language is nothing fancy and there is no attempt to make it sound poetic or super literary - but it is still absolutely decent, adequate, rather good language with a good flow and no blunders - modest language you might say that hides the literary quality of this novel with its well organized plot, the profound themes, and the very well rounded host of characters.
0Kommentar| 38 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. August 2016
Habe zuerst den Film gesehen und war gefesselt von der Geschichte zwischen dem gelähmten Will und der lebensfrohen Louisa. Da ich die Bilder nun im Kopf hatte, versuchte ich mich an der Originalfassung, um mehr Hintergründe zu erfahren und mein Englisch etwas aufzufrischen.
Jojo Moyes hat diese Romanze mit tragischem Hintergrund sehr humorvoll und mit viel Liebe zum Detail geschildert. Das Thema legale Sterbehilfe gab mir zu denken. Interessant fand ich die verschiedenen Sichtweisen der Personen, z.B. die der Eltern oder des Pflegers, so dass man eigentlich jeden Einzelnen verstehen konnte. Ein sehr schönes und berührendes Buch.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Juni 2016
... ich könnte mich spontan an kein Buch erinnern, dass mich in den letzten 5 Jahren so mitgenommen hat. Ich habe es innerhalbt kürzester Zeit durchgelesen und mich heute morgen in den schlaf geweint.
Das Buch handelt von Louisa Clark, die nachdem sie ihren Job verloren hatte in das Leben von Will Tourner geworfen wird, der seit einem Unfall im Rollstuhl sitzt.

SPOILER ALERT!!!!

Lousia kämpft sich durch alltägliche familiäre Probleme. Sie führte nie ein aufregendes Leben, doch durch Will lernt sie nicht nur über ihren eigenen Schatten zu springen, sondern auch was ihr eigenes Leben für sie Wert ist.
Auch wenn ich geweint habe wie ein Schlosshund heute morgen um 2Uhr ist es doch ein gutes Ende, dass sich eben nicht an die klassischen Lovestorys hält. Nein, er kann nicht plötzlich wieder laufen. Und nein, die beiden heiraten nicht und alles ist Friede, Freude, Eierkuchen. Es ist ein Buch über unkonditionelle Emotionen, ein Weckruf, dass nur man selbst entscheiden kann was man mit sich und seinem Leben anstellen kann, dass man andere so akzeptieren muss und jede Entscheidung respektieren muss...auch wenn das für einen selbst das schlimmste ist was man sich vorstellen kann.
Das Buch tat weh und es tat gut. Es war schön sich mal wieder so von einer Geschichte mitreißen zu lassen. Am Ende denke ich nicht an die letzten paar Seiten des Buches, sondern daran wie gut die Seiten vorher waren... und so sollte es meiner Meinung auch sein.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Juni 2016
There are two different types of books, I think, that one reads: The ones that you can lose yourself into. Or the books that you can take something from it. This book was, for me, the latter.

This book was not a type I would usually choose to read. I am very glad that I did as Jojo Moyes writes very well and does characterization exquisitely. I got a lot from this story, and although I cannot say that reading this was just pleasure I can say it made me think a lot. I am able to put certain thoughts that were foreign in the proper perspective.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. April 2016
Katzenvideos.
Normalerweise habe ich das nur, wenn ich wieder die besonders intelligente Idee hatte, einen Horrorfilm alleine zu sehen.
Aber hiernach?
Definitiv Katzenvideos.
Während die kleinen, flauschigen Viecher stolperten und mauzten, habe ich geheult wie ein Schlosshund und zwar 30 Minuten nachdem ich das Buch weggelegt habe. Als ich schon die letzte Stunde während des Lesens geflennt habe.
Und dieses Bekenntnis kommt von jemanden, der sonst nicht sehr nah am Wasser gebaut ist und über die meisten romantischen Geschichten zynisch die Nase rümpft.

Was kann so schrecklich sein?
Tja...
Das Fiese ist, es entwickelt sich schleichend. Die Geschichte spielt sich so realistisch ab, ist so nahe am Leben (kein Sie-haben-sich-drei-Sekunden-gesehen-und-waren-verliebt-für-alle-Ewigkeit) und beinhaltet so viele schwierige und kontroverse Themen, gemischt mit locker leichten Szenen und Dingen, die eben tatsächlich passieren können, dass ich einfach hineingesogen wurde. Jeder Charakter war nachvollziehbar und plastisch, auch wenn ich sie nicht alle mochte. Dazu kommt diese recht einfache, sehr direkte Art von Moyes zu schreiben (habe das Buch auf Englisch gelesen), dass ich keine Distanz mehr hatte und dem Ganzen vollkommen ausgeliefert war.

Tja und als das Ende kam...
Nun, das wird jeder für sich sehen.
Ich empfehle Taschentücher und das Lesen in einer ruhigen, privaten Umgebung, außer es macht euch nichts aus, im Bus oder Zug zu heulen.
Achja, und Katzenvideos. Flauschige, süße Katzenvideos.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Dezember 2012
ich liebe dieses buch.
die geschichte berührt auf so vielen ebenen.
es wühlt auf, regt zum nachdenken an und lässt einen durch so viele emotionen gehen. wie die zwei hauptcharaktere zusammenfinden und wie sich ihre geschichte entwickelt, ist einmalig. ich werde dieses buch irgendwann wieder lesen und bin mir sicher, dass es mich wieder so berühren wird. vor allem bringt es mich dazu, meine eigenen entscheidungen überdenken und hinterfragen.
außerdem beeindruckt mich, dass das buch nicht mit einem "happy end" endet, obwohl das vielleicht zu erwarten war. es bleibt authentisch und beschönigt nicht. wir leiden mit den charakteren mit und reflektieren unser eigenes denken und handeln.
ich kann dieses buch jedem ans herz legen. es ist wundervoll und traurig und spannend.
mit anderen worten: MENSCHLICH. unbedingt lesen!
0Kommentar| 17 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
"I just want to be a man who has been to a concert with a girl in a red dress. Just for a few minutes more."

Die 26jährige Louisa hat ihren Job verloren und der einzige neue Job, den sie bekommen kann - und auf dessen Geld sie dringend angewiesen ist -, ist die Pflege des 35jährigen Will. Dieser liebte seinen Job, Abenteuer, Reisen und Frauen - bis er vor zwei Jahren einen Unfall hatte und nun ab dem Hals gelähmt ist. Louisa ist konfrontiert mit einem Mann, der keine Freude mehr am Leben hat.

Allzu viel möchte ich gar nicht zur Story selbst verraten. Auf jedenfall ist das Buch keine Liebesgeschichte. Sicher ist Liebe ein Thema in dem Buch, da z.B. Louisas Beziehung mit ihrem Freund Patrick nicht so toll läuft, aber das ist nicht das Hauptthema. Vielmehr geht es um das Leben, die Erwartungen an das Leben und wann ein Leben nicht mehr lebenswert ist - sowie moralische Überlegungen zum Thema, ob man ein Leben selbst beenden darf, dies unterstützen soll, etc. ... also keine leichte Kost.

Die Charaktere sind liebevoll ausgearbeitet und ich habe das Buch wirklich gerne gelesen. Mitgefühlt und mitgelitten. Dennoch erschien mir manches etwas langezogen - das ist nicht total negativ gemeint, aber insgesamt hat mir etwas die Bindung zum Buch gefehlt.

Etwas störend fand ich es auch, dass das Buch zumeist aus der Ich-Perspektive von Louisa geschildert wird und es aber einige Kapitel aus der Sicht von anderen Charakteren gab (z.B. Camilla, Wills Mutter). Dies war für mich irritierend und hat mich aus dem Storyfluß geworfen. Wenn die Autorin schon Kapitel aus einer anderen Perspektive einfügen will, dann hätte ich mir hier doch Kapitel aus Wills Sichtweise gewünscht. Hiernach sucht man jedoch vergebens. Schade.

Insgesamt war ich von diesem Buch positiv überrascht. Es kann berühren und das gibt natürlich einen dicken Pluspunkt. Haltet die Taschentücher bereit - die kann man bei diesem Buch wirklich brauchen.

FAZIT: Für mich kein perfektes Buch, aber auf jedenfall ein Buch, das Emotionen wecken kann. Außerdem wird ein sensibles Thema behandelt und das macht das Buch ebenfalls lesenswert. 4 Sterne hiefür!
44 Kommentare| 16 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Januar 2015
In "Me Before You" by Jojo Moyes, Louisa Clark loses her job at a café and takes on a new one as a carer for 35-year-old William Traynor who's been in a wheelchair for two years after a motorcycle accident. Little does she know that taking care of Will will be way more time-consuming than any other quadriplegic: he's a raging cynic and does everything in his power to get rid of her.

This is your classical Wuthering-Heights-Style taming of the beast story and I really should feel cheated by Moyes. But she renders it possible that instead of rolling your eyes at the obvious blossoming romance the reader is forced to actually think about the situation Will is in by intertwining a clever, yet sad, side-plot that gives the whole story a bitter aftertaste.

To me, this isn't even a romance. The characters have little to no personal interaction on an intimate level for 3/4 of the novel. To be honest I also think that Will and Louisa have absolutely no chemistry. While I do understand what they see in each other (In Louisa: Something quirky and different, a new chance at being happy; In Will: Inspiration, somebody who truly cares about her), they only work as a couple in theory. I'm not sure whether this is due to Louisa's naive nature or due to bad research, but had they have gotten a chance at a longterm partnership, I think she would have at least thought about the fact that her beau is paralyzed for one second for Christ's sake! You can play understanding all you want but I'm pretty sure that no healthy human can possibly get what Will is going through and willingly be a part of this while knowing he just wants to die.

Louisa is in general very childish for being 27-years-old and at times I had the notion I was reading about a YA character instead of a grown woman. Considering the financial crisis her family is going through, it's a bit contraproductive to stay at their house and put a little money into the bad-times-jar. Every single one of her actions in the novel is questionable and yes, you might argue that it's because she's oh-so-quirky, but come on. Being with a man that you neither find attractive nor give a flying cow about for seven years? Come on. Moving into your work place after about three months?! COME ON. Sleeping next to your boss in his bed on your, like, third work day? Dude. For real? To top it all off, getting completely smashed at your boss' ex' wedding, taking into consideration that you're alone with a guy in a wheelchair that needs medical care?!! She's completely irresponsible.

Will on the other hand is a spoiled know-it-all brat that just wants to snap his fingers to get out of his wheelchair and walk again. He's used to getting all he wants, which is shamelessly stated multiple times in the novel and now that Mommy and Daddy can't buy him a new body, he just wants it all to end. Maybe I'm being harsh, but he's such an unlikeable character and goes through so unlikely character development that I can just shake my head. There's nothing loveable about a guy that can't keep up an appropriate employer/employee relationships the proper way, rejects everyone that loves him and pretends to have mental problems in order to get rid of people. He's overdramatic, he's cynic to the point that it becomes childish again, and he's a stubborn brat. Their romance solely (to me) bases on outer appearance and instant-love, which just makes me want to punch a wall. (Characters 1/5)

For whatever reason, Moyes has built in random shifts in perspective to random side characters. This isn't only utterly useless, a) because we could have guessed the supposedly slipped-in information ourselves at some point and b) it completely throws the reader out of the current storyline. Because Moyes is such a good writer and so talented with specific character voices I actually got sad when those characters only had one chapters on their own. I'm not a fan of POV changes that aren't necessarily needed and I'm very surprised that the editor didn't kick those chapters out. In general this novel is way too long for the little plot it has. (Writing 2/5)

The story is brought to life by the different situations the side characters are in and their lives seem even more interesting than Louisa's and Will's oh-so-dramaticly-tragic love story: His ex-girlfriend Alicia who married his best friend who's significantly less attractive and intelligent than him; Her sister Katrina who's got a child and decided to go back to university; His new-zealand carer Nathan who met fellow new-zealand Karen during their vacation and started dating her; Her neighbours who are going to couple therapy and constantly yelling at each other, practicly on the verge of a divorce. I'd rather have read about any of these people than Louisa and this should never happen. The reader should never think that the author chose the wrong protagonists. Especially not when they have quite the uncommon storyline. Still, it's not interesting, it's boring and surprisingly every-day-ish. (Plot 1/5)
11 Kommentar| 7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. September 2015
Thank you Jojo Moyes, for this breathtaking book. Had to stop a couple of times while reading, just to think about. To think about the characters, to think about life. An at the end of the book, I couldn't hold back my tears. What is it about? Will and Lou are very different persons. Lou lives a very simple life. She is very responsible toward her family and the only one in her family has a job. She never thought about another life, about other possibilities but gets stuck in the boring city. When she lost her job at the cafe one day, it seems the whole world shatter, because of her not very demanding job. She got a new job, due to a job center. But this job is very different to all the other things she has done and she is not really sure whether she should take it. But its good payed, so she does. And there it begins. She becomes a carer. And the one she had to look after, is a 35 year old quadriplegic. A man who had totally lived before his accident. who went to adventures, had good intense sex, made a lot of sports, travelled a lot. Lou got a 6 months contract. First, the tasks seems too difficult to her. Will was anything but easy. But after a time, she was the one and only person which got through to him since his accident. A story of ups and downs, about life, love and encouragement. About acceptance and letting go, about hurt and be hurt. Loved it.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

6,64 €
10,63 €

Benötigen sie kundenservice? Hier klicken