Hier klicken Sale Salew Salem Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Sonderangebote studentsignup Cloud Drive Photos Learn More TDZ HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimitedEcho longss17



Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 4. November 2016
I liked it and I hated it. the style is rather simple, but the story is a strong one. the characters are compelling and the plot leaves you wondering what will happen next. I enjoyed being part of the story while reading it, and found myself hoping for a good end. It is a beautiful story, but it willhave you in tears at some point.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 6. Februar 2012
It took me a long time to find the courage to review this book. Me Before You was a very intense read for me. I picked it up and couldn't let go. I was glued to the pages till 5 AM in the morning and some more after to digest what I just read- or well to stop crying. It is a tearjerker like I never read one before. For all those romance lovers hereI want to make one thing clear: this is not a romance novel in my definition and I'm sure most of you will agree. I knew it wouldn't be before I started but still this book caught me off guard.

Meet Lou, she lives at her parents place has a job she loves in a coffee shop and well she is happy with her life for the most time. When out of nowhere she loses her job,she has to find something new to help her family. The jobcenter suggest a caring job for a local young man and Lou isn't sure she can do it. It is a temporary assignment which would only last 6 months so she takes the risk and takes it. When she meets Will and realizes what her real job is aka giving him back his will to life her determination to do just that is spiked and she gives her best.

Will is a quadriplegic and his life is ruled by his body's condition. He's dependant on outside help and he hates every second of it. His life before the accident was a very active one- he was always looking for the next adrenaline high. A life full of adventures and risks. Now he has lost all of this including his will to live and he actually only waits for his suffering to end. He knows what he wants- his plan is to visit a hospiz in Switzerland to do what he wouldn't be allowed to do in his home-country.

There are so many things I adored in this book. I loved to see how realistically the relationship between Lou and Will developed. The slow building up of their connection eases you into the story- you take this whole journey into a foreign world together with Lou. Ms Mojes seems to have researched Quadriplegia intensively and the background information we get piece by piece was eye opening for me. I also loved that actually not the things Lou plotted out to get Will back to enjoy life worked but that actually her character did. Her spirit and while demeanor is the key.She is not afraid to tell him the truth- bluntly and honest without hesitating of fear to hurt his feelings.
I also liked how the side cast and their stories were seamlessy woven into the story but never stole the spotlight from the main theme.

My biggest problem with the book is actually a bit of a spoilery topic. So skip this if you plan to read this book and want to be unbiased while doing so.

When I got the chance to receive this book I read a bit about it and I thought it would be an optimistic book. About finding the pleasure of life again, finding new hope and all. For me a 'romantic' read isn't this sad and the end seriously killed the book for me. I read for hours in the whee hours of the morning and then the end hit me so hard I couldn't take it. I was devasted and well here this book succeded- it really touched me deep inside and made me cry for hours. But sadly it also ruined the whole reading experience for me. Now when I think of Me Before You I remember the end and well not much of the rest. Perhaps it's just me being a pampered romance reader but I couldn't shake off the emotional intensity Ms Moyes build over the whole book so easily.

Me Before You will grab you and wrench every last tear out of your body. It didn't only make me cry though- there are also some very funny and sweet moments in this book. I really enjoyed the book but the romance reader in me is wishing that I would have never read the end. If you love the sweetness and happiness of romance novels this one might not be for you but if you love the emotional intensity no matter if good or bad grab this one- it is a wonderfully crafted emotional roller-coaster ride.
22 Kommentare| 26 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. Juli 2013
My first impressions after reading:
soooo sad but beautiful. Now the title makes sense. I don't know what to say. It's life changing.

Nachdem es nun einige Zeit her ist, dass ich diese wundeschöne traurige Buch gelesen habe,
möchte ich auch hier eine Bewertung dazu abgeben.
Dieses Buch ist wirklich besonders.
Ich habe es im Original/Englisch gelesen und empfehle es daher auch so weiter.
Sicher sind einige nicht alltägliche Bezeichnungen schwierig und man muss sie nachschauen, aber das schänkt das Lesevergnügen nicht ein.
Ich kann dieses Buch uneingeschränkt weiterempfehlen.
Es hat so eine besondere Stimmung und man ist danach definit ein anderer.
Das Thema des Buches ist so sensibel und unglaublich beeindruckend beschrieben, das mir immer noch die Worte dafür fehlen.
Haltet auf jeden Fall die Taschentücher bereit, denn es ist so unglaublich schön traurig.
Da bleibt kein Auge trocken.
Zögert nicht, sondern lest es, dann wisst ihr was ich meine.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Juli 2015
First it seems to be a nice novel.
But you will be led to the opinion, suicid is OK, even if you are against it.
It is a covert form of brainwashing
11 Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. August 2015
Ich habe gedacht, dies sei eine süße kleine Liebesgeschichte. Etwas, wo ich nicht denken muss während des Lesens? Was lag ich falsch!
Der Hauptcharakter Lou ist ein typischer Hauptcharakter. Sie ist ziemlich naiv, ihre Familie ist etwas missbrauchend (ernsthaft, sie machen sie so oft runter) and sie weiß nicht, was sie mit ihrem Leben anfangen soll.

Auf der anderen Seite haben wir Will, der eins ehr aktives Leben geführt hatte bis zu seinem Unfall und jetzt sehr verbittert ist. Normalerweise würde sie in sein Leben stolpern und auf einmal ist sie voller Selbstbewusstsein und er kann wieder lachen. Normalerweise.

Dieses Buch geht nicht den einfachen Weg. Es ist sehr realistisch und überspringt die 'ekligen' Teile nicht. Der Liebespart ist nicht so groß, stattdessen liegt der Fokus auf Entscheidungen; lernen, seine eigenen Entscheidungen zu fällen und andere Leute entscheiden lassen, was das Beste für sie ist.

Ich muss Triggerwarnungen anmerken: Es wird über Gruppenvergewaltigung und (Beihilfe zum) Suizid gesprochen.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. November 2015
To tell you the truth - I bought this book as kindle version and didn't see the girly cover so in all fairness: I don't like chick lit and I am not the focus group for this book. It's structured very purely, sometimes makes you cringe when you finde out life altering things about your main character very by-the-way more than halfway through the story. Events just happen, nothing is really following a novel structure. The writing is just the way your neighbour would write an e-mail from her holidays. It's not good, it's not original, it's not funny (not once!). The whole family story we have to live through is cliché after cliché. Everybody is poor but so loving and caring and sticking together as opposed to the rich dysfunctional family living in a castle. Wow.
BUT there has to be a third star in this feedback BECAUSE OF THE ENDING.
It's very daring, very real, not politically correct but human and honest. CUDOS!
It really impressed me and made sense.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. Dezember 2013
Wohl seit Ewigkeiten habe ich kein Buch mehr gelesen, was mich so berührte und auch im Nachhinein nachdenklich stimmt. Und weinen musste ich sowieso schon lange nicht mehr beim Lesen eines Buches. Dies aber....
Von der Beschreibung und Titelgestaltung her zu urteilen hatte ich so einen Inhalt nicht erwartet. Eher etwas seichtes, fluffiges, lustiges. Aber auch wenn es seine amüsanten Momente hat - leicht kann man diesen Roman wirklich nicht bezeichnen, denn er bringt einen zum Nachdenken über so einige wichtige moralische Prinzipien im Leben. 'Was würde ich an seiner Stelle tun? Was würde ich an ihrer Stelle tun?'
Ich bezeichne es definitiv als Liebesroman. Wie in einer anderen Rezension erwähnt, wird vorrangig aus Sicht der Ich-Erzählerin geschrieben und einige wenige Male aus Sicht anderer Personen. Auch wenn dies teilweise irritierend war und den Fluß ein wenig unterbrach - interessant war es trotzdem sehr. Man hatte dadurch das Gefühl, Louisa konnte mal entspannen beim Beschreiben ihrer Geschichte.;-) Auch mir kam anfänglich der Gedanke, nun auch mal Wills Sicht hören zu wollen, aber letztendlich war alles gut so, weil über seine Sichtweise und Gefühle nicht viel mehr gesagt werden musste als ohnehin schon ausgedrückt wurde.
Ich empfehle diesen Roman uneingeschränkt weiter - ob nun Männlein oder Weiblein. Also kein Frauenroman aus meiner Sicht.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. März 2012
The cover that this book comes with (kindle edition in 2012) is a complete disaster for me, because it makes you think this book is just another romantic chick lit easy read. I don't want to give away too much of the plot, but this novel does not give you easy answers or quick fixes.

The basic storyline is that Lou Clerk, 26, loses her job in her little hometown and the only new job she can get is that of the carer of Will, a 35-year-old depressed and very cranky quadriplegic. She finds it hard to connect with him and even thinks of quitting the job but her family's situation won't allow for this.
Lou soon finds out that her job is really to keep Will from inflicting harm on himself. The rest of the story revolves around this topic.

It may be marketed as a romance novel, because slowly there are the first stirrings of tender feelings between Lou and Will. But there are really many more topics and the novel speaks of the right of individuals to live up to their full potential and not to be held back: by traumatic experiences, by poverty in Lou's case. It speaks about the need to respect the will of an individual, even if that be against common morals, in Will's case.

It is a novel about two people giving to each other what each of them needs most and to help them to respect their wishes about how they want to live.

SPOILER ALERT - in the next part I'm going to discuss some aspects of the ending, without giving it away. I will tell you whether I think it is a sad or happy ending.
Another reviewer said she cried her eyes out at the end. I did feel a few tears roll down my cheeks too. But although this novel has no traditional happy ending, I had a good feeling reading the end: the sentiment of dignity and the right to one's own decisions and the sense of supporting someone you love even against your own wishes sometimes - all these things were well presented.

All in all, definitely worth reading. It comes along as a mere romance novel, but it is much better than the cover indicates. The language is nothing fancy and there is no attempt to make it sound poetic or super literary - but it is still absolutely decent, adequate, rather good language with a good flow and no blunders - modest language you might say that hides the literary quality of this novel with its well organized plot, the profound themes, and the very well rounded host of characters.
0Kommentar| 38 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Februar 2014
Das Buch ist einfach vom Inhalt her zu flach und zu simpel.
Wenigstens ist es auf Englisch, so dass man beim Lesen etwas lernt.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. März 2016
I really love this book but it has a cut in the back and also in some pages. Some pages in the middle were also broken.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

5,99 €
12,65 €

Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken