Amazon-Fashion Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Anki Bestseller 2016 Cloud Drive Photos TP-Link All-in-One-BOX Learn More led Mehr dazu Fire Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimited GC HW16

Kundenrezensionen

4,2 von 5 Sternen
84
4,2 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 24. Oktober 2014
Habe diese Edition von The Crucible als Vorbereitung für einen Theaterbesuch in London gekauft. Neben dem Text des Stücks sind jede Menge Hintergrundinformationen (auch für Theaterlaien) beinhaltet: Infos über Arthur Miller und die Zeit, zu der The Crucible geschrieben wurde, Charakterbeschreibungen und Interpretationen. Alles was man braucht, um das Stück gut vorbereitet genießen zu können.
Die Inszenierung in London war übrigens hervorragend und wurde von Digital Theatre gefilmt.... nur so als Tipp, für diejenigen, die mehr als das trockene Papier studieren und eine emotional mitreissende Inszenierung sehen möchten :-)
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Juli 2000
A considerable number of plays from the 50s come across as melodramatic, cynical and stilted today. In contrast, Miller's classic remains powerful and universal - but not for the usual reasons you'd expect. As a drama it has more in common with 19th century works in the tradition of Ibsen or even the novels of Hugo than with the 50s authors like Williams, Beckett, O'Neill, or even the Miller of Death of a Salesmen. Instead of the drab, pathetic, cowardly, sad, sniveling, or absurdist characters of some of his contemporaries we see people of moral stature. People in the mist of an irrational hysteria with normal human frailties but with moral sense. An interesting dimension is added in the portrayal of the villains. At one point in the play it seems expedient for the 'chief inquisitor' to temper or betray his crusade. He chooses to follow his vision (I am being vague to avoid giving away any plot). Compare this to Hugo's Javert in Les Miserables. By writing the villain in such a manner both authors create a drama that pits two moral codes - two views of reality. This elevates Miller's play to the level of a romantic realist drama.
Many of the other reviewers will point out the intended parallels to events of the 50s. However, Miller's play is more universal and can be viewed in relation to any fanatical hysteria. This is still timely today given the Politically Correct hysteria on college campuses.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. August 2001
Das Stück "The Crucible" habe ich zum ersten Mal im Zusammenhang mit dem Geschichtsunterricht gelesen, und es hat mich sehr beeindruckt, in welcher Weise die Geschehnisse des Salem Witch Trial dargestellt wurden. Der Leser ist zum Teil beinahe schockiert über die Gewissenlosigkeit, mit der einige Charaktere vorgehen, er schüttelt aber auch den Kopf über deren Ignoranz. Realistisch wird dargestellt, wie Verleumdung und Falschaussage zu den schrecklichsten Geschehnissen führen kann.
Beunruhigend ist, dass in "The Crucible" Kinder Anklage erheben und unschuldige Frauen als Hexen bezeichnen, wodurch letztere verurteilt werde.
0Kommentar| 11 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. Februar 2000
This is the first play by Arthur Miller I have read, and I inquired into mostly because of my interest with Witchcraft and the Salem trials. A wonderful play that shows the hypocrisy of a town threatened by purported withcraft. The cried of "witch" by anyone in this town aroused and scared everyone. The lead characters Abagail Williams along with Reverend Parris and John Proctor. I will not give any story here, for you should read it and be surprised and amazed. Nonetheless, the story lets one wonder how such a town and belief in the Bible (more so than God) can lead to such havok. The laws are simple: 1) You are not a witch until someone points the finger at you. 2) You can deny these charges, but you will be hung. 3) If you confess you are a witch, then the sentence is jail. 4) If you do not believe in withcraft you will be hung. These were the beliefs of the time, and it is demonstrated in this marvelous play. Arthur Miller tells an exciting story based on history (although he says its not literal history for there were some need for dramatic purpose), of a time when things were simple in America and Massachusettes, yet like all towns in the world, there is always something brewing in the minds of the good who want to banish evil from their homes. Highly reccomended!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Februar 2016
Inhalt: Arthur Miller's depiction of innocent men and women destroyed by malicious rumour, The Crucible is a powerful indictment of McCarthyism and the 'frontier mentality' of Cold War America, published in Penguin Modern Classics. Arthur Miller's classic parable of mass hysteria draws a chilling parallel between the Salem witch-hunt of 1692 - 'one of the strangest and most awful chapters in human history' - and the American anti-communist purges led by Senator McCarthy in the 1950s. The story of how the small community of Salem is stirred into madness by superstition, paranoia and malice, culminating in a violent climax, is a savage attack on the evils of mindless persecution and the terrifying power of false accusations. Arthur Miller (1915-2005), American dramatist, was born in New York City. In 1938 Miller won awards for his comedy The Grass Still Grows. His major achievement was Death of a Salesman, which won the 1949 Pulitzer Prize for drama and the 1949 New York Drama Critics' Circle Award. The Crucible was aimed at the widespread congressional investigation of subversive activities in the US; the drama won the 1953 Tony Award. Miller's autobiography, Timebends: A Life was published in 1987. If you enjoyed The Crucible, you might like Miller's Death of a Salesman, also available in Penguin Modern Classics. 'One of a handful of great plays that will both survive the twentieth century and bear witness to it' John Peter, Sunday Times (Quelle: Amazon)

Vor der Rezension: In Klassik Edition stelle ich euch Rezensionen zu etwas anderen Büchern vor. Bücher, die ich vielleicht im Zuge der Uni gelesen habe, vielleicht auch ein bisschen out-of-comfort privat und die eine Rezension wert sind. Ich spreche von Büchern, die viele unter euch als nervige Schullektüre bezeichnen würden. Mit der Ausnahme, dass die Bücher, die ich hier bespreche teilweise auch weg gehen von dem Lektürekanon. Ich möchte euch mit diesen Rezensionen zeigen, dass Klassiker auch toll sein können und da besondere Bücher auch besondere Rezensionen erfordern, werde ich die Rezensionen der Klassik Edition anders aufbauen als alle anderen. Schreibstil und Co sind bei diesen Büchern nicht wichtig. Der ist eh anders und meistens gewöhnungsbedürftig. Nein, ich möchte Literatur solcher Art kontextualisieren und weg gehen von „Was will der Autor uns damit sagen?“. Und wer weiß, vielleicht kann ich euch ja sogar dazu animieren den einen oder anderen Klassiker zu lesen und zu lieben.

Meine Meinung: Nicht nur das Cover der schönen Penguin Modern Classics-Edition hat mich angezogen. Arthur Miller sollte man meiner Meinung nach wenigstens einmal gelesen haben und The Crucible klingt so spannend, dass es ganz oben auf meiner Liste stand.
Die Weltgeschichte hat viele dunkle Kapitel geschrieben. Weltkriege, Kreuzzüge, Seuchen. Eines dieser Kapitel, eines, das mich gleichzeitig fasziniert und abschreckt, ist die Hexenverfolgung. Von historischer Genauigkeit kann man bei Millers Werk, welches dieses Thema behandelt, nicht sprechen. Die Schicksale sind ausgedacht, Namen erfunden aber den Wahnsinn zu dieser Zeit, den kann keiner erfinden. Und so hat dieses Werk seine ganz eigene Genauigkeit und Schrecklichkeit, die für uns heute kaum nachvollziehbar sind. Das Drama spielt 1692 im amerikanischen Salem und der herrschende Puritanismus damals, hat die ganze Situation dort sicher noch einmal verschlimmert oder sogar erst möglich gemacht.

Puritanịsmus

der, -, die Geisteshaltung der Puritaner. Im Mittelpunkt des Puritanismus steht das »studium purioris religionis« (Studium der reineren Religion); seinen Ausdruck findet er in einem biblizistischen Bibelverständnis (Biblizismus),der sabbatähnlichen Sonntagsheiligung, einer durch strenge Selbstzucht geprägten Ethik und der Ablehnung vonUnterhaltung, Vergnügungen und Zerstreuung im weitesten Sinn (z. B. Tanz,Theater, Kunst). Der Puritanismusstand mit seiner Innerlichkeit, die sich u. a. in einer eigenen, tendenziell weltflüchtigen Erbauungsliteratur darstellte, in Opposition zur anglikanisch-katholischen Politik und Kirchenstruktur und zeigte erst nach dem Ausbruch der Revolution 1642 das eigene politische Potenzial. Sein presbyterianisches Gesellschafts- und Kirchenverständnis hat England sowie die Einflussgebiete in Nordamerika bis in die Gegenwart stark beeinflusst. Seiner religions- und geistesgeschichtlicher Bedeutung entsprechend, fand der Puritanismus breiten Niederschlag in der angelsächsischen Literatur (amerikanische Literatur, englische Literatur). (Quelle: [...] )

Mädchen tanzen im Wald. Das ist im Puritanismus eine Sünde und da die Mädchen selbst nicht schuldig sein wollen, täuschen sie Krankheiten vor, die nicht anders erklärt werden können, als dass sie Teufelswerk sind. So denunziert bald jeder jeden, mit dem er noch eine Rechnung offen hat und die Stadt versinkt in Chaos. Aus diesem Chaos entstehen persönliche Schicksale von denen wir lesen. So ist The Crucible ein sehr ernstes und ja, irgendwie auch ein sehr trauriges Werk, was berührt und den Leser diese Zeit reflektieren lässt.

An dieser Stelle möchte ich nun auch noch einmal sehr gerne auf die Sprache eingehen. The Crucible ist kein alter Schinken aber dennoch ziemlich alt. Anspruchsvoll ist dieses Werk so oder so und das führt dazu, dass das Englisch nicht unbedingt leicht ist. Die Redewendungen sind alt, die Wortwahl größtenteils schwer und so eignet sich das Drama nicht unbedingt für den Anfang. Greift zu diesem Werk, wenn ihr ein sehr gutes und fortgeschrittenes Schulenglisch habt oder schon länger/häufiger englische Bücher lest.

Bewertung: The Crucible ist ein gefühlsgewaltiges und wundervoll geschriebenes Drama aus der Feder von Arthur Miller. Trotz einiger Längen überzeugt es und verdient von mir 4 von 5 Füchschen. Ein Klassiker, den jeder gelesen haben sollte. Falls ihr lieber zur deutschen Übersetzung greifen wollt: Sie ist unter dem Titel Hexenjagd bei diversen Verlagen erschienen.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Certainly Arthur Miller's The Crucible is a social play. Miller dramatically represents "the way men ought to live," a life of moderation. Social plays, according to Miller, must not destroy he who becomes cognizant as the curtain falls. The Crucible destroys neither Rebecca Nurse, nor John Proctor; this piece destroys those who seek to destroy. The drama is social because man must choose the middle ground; if not he destroys his fellow man. Contrary to conventional wisdom, Miller's play is not merely a parallel to the McCarthy era, but an additional reminder that moderation is the true path in life. Social dramas, as Miller defines, show man the way to live; The Crucible tells man that in order to prosper he must eschew dichotomy. Only he who obstinately clings to the dichotomy of right and wrong and good and evil will truly suffer, while inhibiting man's progress...Arthur Miller's The Crucible is a brilliant social drama. Miller brilliantly accounts that in 1692 and 1953 "the world is gripped between two diametrically opposed absolutes"(Miller 33). These absolutes are the Devils who haunt Salem, depriving the town of its life. Miller's social drama opens up to man the haunting historical fact that if man should stray from the center, he will destroy his polis, and his fellow man. "The concept of unity, in which positive and negatives are attributes of the same force," Miller elucidates, "in which good and evil are relative, ever-changing, and always joined to the same phenomenon - such a concept is still reserved to the few who have grasped the history of ideas"(Miller 33). Moderation is the key to man's happiness; with dichotomy present, so too is the evil of man.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. November 1999
This was a good. I think this because it was talking about real life, and what happened to the people that didn't confess that were accused. It showed the truth about how the witch hunts went and how the accused people got treated. Abigail Williams was very inconsiderate of others. She just was saying the lies so she wouldn't get in trouble. No one was listening to all the sides of the stories and so later if they found out that they were not witches they wouldn't care. So if they were to listen so many people wouldn't have been in jail. Also the characters were brave especially the one's that were punished. Thamas Putnam was very selfish in how he wanted the land for himself. I think he should have gotten hung, but not for witch craft but for killing for no good reason, but to help himself and his money. Also when the girls just started to yell out names everyone believed them. I couldn't believe the judges believed the girls when they were acting like they were getting witch craft fellings from Mary Warren. The judges were just believing anything that was brought to him that involved witch craft. Rev. Hale I thought acted very well and was trying to stay within what God thinks is right.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. September 2000
In Harris' "The Crucible", we are introduced to many interesting and complex characters fit in 1692, Salem. The antagonist, Reverend Parris, is a selfish, power-hungry, father and preacher. He shows his evil ways by using his status as a respected preacher, going around accusing any person who challenges his power. Another great character is the protagonist, John Proctor. A simple, heathen, farmer, he leads the revolt against the leaders of Salem, Reverend Parris and Judge Hawthorne. He saves the day by being martyred for his determination and morals, to save the women of Salem. The farmer is not an avid churchgoer he is accused by Parris, of course, of dealing with the devil. The other minor characters are the Abigail and Goody Putnam. The conniving Abigail plays little ms. innocent who at the start is perceived as a girl who was corrupted by Tituba. However in actuality, Abigail is the leader and instigator, who has a black name in the town because of her titillating encounters with John Proctor. The characters in "The Crucible" make this social drama a great one. It displays all the great characters: the antagonist, the protagonist, and the complex characters.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Januar 2012
Als Englisch-Lektüre gelesen und seit dem aus dem Lieblingsregal nicht mehr wegzudenken. Das Buch ist wie der Titel schon sagt als Theaterstück geschrieben, was manchen abschrecken mag, aber meiner Meinung nach ist es absolut flüssig zu lesen, mittreißend und bestürzend. Voller Emotionen und guter Charaktere. Wie in einer anderen Ausgabe so nett formuliert: in einmaliges Stück. Unbedingt lesen!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. März 2000
The Crucible is a book that we are reading in my class these days. I had been waiting for the book to reach my hands since the day the teacher agreed on reading this book as a class syllabus. It was a long wait for me before the book reached my hands.I was mainly interested in the witch craft. The day I got it I promised myself that I will read the whole book in the night before I got to sleep.Well it took me two nights instead to finish the book. But I was and still am very facinated by the book. I even managed to write a poem on the book.Mainly about John Proctor, Elizabeth Proctor and Abigail.The love story between them. It is very suprising that a group of young teenaged girls could be so effective in conspiring again the prominent figures of the Salem Village and be responsible for their crucification. The Crucible is a great book and very thought provoking.I was once haunted by the book in the night when I thought that I could hear something tapping on my window.Actually the book has nothing to do with real witches but it is all about the evil people. I guess I am running out of my word limits here.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden