Jeans Store Hier klicken Neuerscheinungen Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle Soolo Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,5 von 5 Sternen
44
4,5 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 27. August 2012
Bill Bryson's 'A short history of nearly everyting' is most of the time very entertaining, at times digging deep into scientifical matters and frequently also quite humorous. This not so superficial voyage into the realm of geology, paleontology, meteorology, archeology and a lot of other -logy's tries to give answers to many questions which you and I probably also had but never found an answer to in a concise and understandable text.

Some episodes contained a little too many names and facts to keep me 100% interested. Unfortunately, most continental european discoverers and scientists are not very prominent in this work. Though not a scientist myself, I found several factual errors I think should have been corrected, at least in the Kindle version I read.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Mai 2015
bill bryson hat viele bücher geschrieben, alle sind gut. der mann reist in der welt herum, fliegt, durchquert mit dem auto die usa und australien, er durchläuft die appalachen (längs!), und er wohnt in einen englischen pfarrhaus: über all das scheibt er: informativ und lustig: äußerst unterhaltsam.
"a short history of nearly everything" habe ich nun zum dritten oder vierten Mal gekauft, die vorherigen kopien sind an familie und freunde verloren gegangen. diese buch ist ein MUSS! hervorragend recherchiert erklärt und bryson die welt und alles. wer dieses buch nicht gelesen hat, weiß nichts und hat auch keinen spaß gehabt.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Juli 2014
Das Buch ist vor allem eine unterhaltsame Einführung in die Geschichte des Planeten Erde und seiner Bewohner. Der Autor schreibt oft witzig, aber auch kritisch und zuweilen sarkastisch. Ein wahres Lesevergnügen!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. März 2006
I was first acquainted with Bill Bryson through his works on the English language and various travelogue types of books. In these books he proved to be an entertaining writer, witty and interesting, with just the right amount of I'm-not-taking-myself-too-seriously attitude to make for genuinely pleasurable reading. Other books of his, 'Notes from a Small Island' and 'The Mother Tongue', are ones I return to again and again. His latest book, one of the longer ones (I was surprised, as most Bryson books rarely exceed 300 pages, and this one weighs in well past 500), is one likely to join those ranks.
Of course, a history of everything, even a SHORT history of NEARLY everything, has got to be fairly long. Bryson begins, logically enough, at the beginning, or at least the beginning as best science can determine. Bryson weaves the story of science together with a gentle description of the science involved - he looks not only at the earliest constructs of the universe (such as the background radiation) but also at those who discover the constructs (such as Penzias and Wilson).
A great example of the way Bryson weaves the history of science into the description of science, in a sense showing the way the world changes as our perceptions of how it exists change, is his description of the formulation, rejection, and final acceptance of the Pangaea theory. He looks at figures such as Wegener (the German meteorologist - 'weatherman', as Bryson describes him) who pushed forward the theory in the face of daunting scientific rejection that the continents did indeed move, and that similarities in flora and fauna, as well as rock formations and other geological and geographical aspects, can be traced back to a unified continent. Bryson with gentle humour discusses the attitudes of scientists, as they shifted not quite as slowly as the continents, towards accepting this theory, making gentle jabs along the way (Einstein even wrote a foreword to a book that was rather scathing toward the idea of plate tectonics - brilliance is no guarantee against being absolutely wrong).
Bryson traces the development of the universe and the world from the earliest universe to the formation of the planet, to the growing diversity of life forms to development of human beings and human society. Inspired by Natural History (the short history refers more to natural history than anything else), this traces the path to us and possible futures. Bryson juxtaposes the creation of the Principia by Isaac Newton with the extinction of the dodo bird - stating that the word contained divinity and felony in the nature of humanity, the same species that can rise to the heights of understanding in the universe can also, for no apparent reason, cause the extinction of hapless and harmless fellow creatures on earth. Are humans, in Bryson's words, 'inherently bad news for other living things'? He recounts many of the truly staggering follies of species-hunting, particularly in the nineteenth century, calling upon people to take far more care of the planet with which we have been entrusted, either through design or fate.
Bryson's take on things is innovative and his narrative is interesting, but there is a point to it, just as there is with most of his writing. He writes not merely to entertain, or to inform, but to persuade. Bryson is intrigued by science, having a joy that comes across the page of someone who essentially did not know or understand a lot of the background of science and how it worked in the world until recently, and now wants to share that joy with everyone! He definitely has points to argue - for starters, the need for open-mindedness, even among (perhaps particularly among) those who are supposed to have the open and searching intellects, the scientists themselves. He also wishes others to know more about science, professionals and laypersons, and more about our own origins as a people, both in terms of where we've come from, and how we've come to know about it.
Unique among Bryson's writing in many ways, this is in some ways a travelogue through geology, paleontology, cosmology and evolution. A fun and fascinating read!
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Januar 2014
A Short History of Nearly Everything is an enlightening, educational, entertaining, and easy to read book for readers who have a natural curiosity about life. Coming from reading Disciples of Fortune, which is a book from a different culture that exposes and answers questions in a hilarious way, this book came as a further boost and made me feel like I was involved in the telling and listening of the story.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. August 2014
Genial idea! A lot of information. Plenty of new thing to learn. A super round trip about all people normally think we know but coming to the conclusion that we don't know any thing really.
I would and have recommended this book many times
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Februar 2013
Ich bin ein Liebhaber der Bücher "Down Under", "Notes from a small Island" und "Travels through Europe", leider fand ich diese Buch etwas zu trocken und habe nach der Hälfte aufgehört, obwohl es eine guter Ansammlung von Allgemeinwissen bietet.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Januar 2014
Ausgezeichnet und humorvoll geschriebene Geschichte der Naturwissenschaften, die auch für Fachleute interessant (und nützlich) ist, da sich nicht alle mit den Ursprüngen der Forschung auf ihrem Gebiet auskennen, und sich vor allem nicht mit der Geschichte anderer Gebiete auseinandergesetzt haben.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. März 2006
anschaulich und so spannend beschreiben, dass das Lesen nachwirkt. Es ist schwer, das Buch aus der Hand zu legen, bevor ein Kapitel beendet ist. Das genialste sind Bill Brysons Vergleiche. Es kann sein, dass etliche davon schon vorher veröffentlicht wurden, aber sicher nie in so amüsantem Kontext. Man zittert mit Aminosäuren, ob sie den Sprung zum "leben" schaffen, man wundert sich, dass noch kein Asteroid richtig voll getroffen hat, man fühlt mit den frustrierenden Erlebnissen früher Entdecker und Forscher: Kurz, es ist ein faszinierendes Erlebnis und mehr als Lesen. Sehr, sehr empfehlenswert, auch als GEschenk für Menschen, die heimlich "Wer wird Millionär" gucken und denken, sie lernen dabei etwas dazu... Wer die Geschichte/n gelesen hat, weiß vielleicht nicht wirklich mehr Abrufbares, aber hat definitiv ein großes Verstehen von Zusammenhängen--Ich empfehle-Giorgio Kostantinos-The Quest--
0Kommentar| 8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 16. September 2004
The author writes very well, no doubt about that. If you like black humour, that is.
He promises to teach the reader all the things he did not learn in school, but is that true? What did I learn after reading it? Tons of names I have never heard before and probably won't again (certainly don't remember them even now) and tons of gossip.
And, he keeps to repeat himself about how really small an atom is or how really large the universe (sometimes for pages nothing more that metaphers for this).
Did I learn something? Yes, I did, but hardly worth the time for the book.
11 Kommentar| 9 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)