Jeans Store Hier klicken Strandspielzeug b2s Cloud Drive Photos Learn More 8in1 Promotion Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle WalkingOnCars Summer Sale 16

Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 27. März 2013
Nachdem Rand al'Thor in der Küstenstadt Tear das Schwert Callandor aus dem Felsen gezogen hat und somit der Welt die Wiedergeburt des Dragon Reborn verkündet wurde, planen er und seine Gruppe das weitere Vorgehen. Der Dragon Reborn selbst beschließt, in die Aiel Waste zu ziehen, um die dortigen Kriegerclans der Aiel zu vereinen. Begleitet wird er dabei von Moiraine & Lan, Mat, der Rand mittlerweile sehr skeptisch gegenübersteht, und Egwene, die bei den weisen Frauen der Aiel ihr Träumertalent weiter ausbilden möchte.
Auf der anderen Seite des Kontinents ist das Heimatdorf der Leute aus den Two Rivers in Gefahr. Emond's Field wird von Whitecloaks und Trolloc-Horden bedroht. Perrin beschließt, so schnell wie möglich in seine Heimat heimzukehren, um das Schlimmste verhindern zu können - schließlich haben es die Whitecloaks speziell auf ihn und seine Familie abgesehen. Begleitet wird er von Faile und Loial.
Derweil kriegen Nynaeve und Elayne vom White Tower den Auftrag, in die Küstenstadt Tanchico zu reisen, um dort herauszufinden, was die restlichen Mitglieder des Black Ajah der Aes Sedai vorhaben und dies zu verhindern. Mit im Schlepptau sind Thom und Juilin. Min hingegen wird vom Amyrlin Seat persönlich dazu verdonnert, bei ihr im White Tower zu bleiben.

Mit dem vierten Band der Mammutreihe The Wheel of Time wird die Geschichte deutlich komplexer, was aber auf Kosten der Handlungsgeschwindigkeit geht. Robert Jordan frönt sich gradezu in Details, während die Geschichte deutlich langsamer voran kommt, als noch bei den Vorgängern. (welche auch schon ein eher gemütliches Tempo vorgelegt haben) Bestes Beispiel dafür ist Rands Handlungsstrang - der stark von Frank Herberts Sci-Fi Klassiker Dune inspiriert wirkt - in welchem das Volk der Aiel, ihre Bräuche, Kleidungsstücke, Rangordnungen, etc. haargenau beschrieben werden. Auch Perrins und Nynaeves Handlungsstränge, die anfangs sehr interessant wirkten und bei denen man es kaum erwarten konnte, mit dem Lesen loszulegen, enttäuschen leider mit teilweise sehr zähen und langatmigen Passagen, in denen nicht viel passiert. Lediglich Mins kurzer, in der zweiten Hälfte des Buches aufblitzender Handlungsstrang, konnte mich voll und ganz überzeugen.

Bei dem vierten Teil einer solch gigantischen Reihe treten zudem erstmals offensichtliche Schwächen deutlich hervor. Seien es die sich wiederholenden Metaphern und Redewendungen (Ein Grinsen, welches die Augen nicht erreicht ; Nynaeves ständiges Zupfen an ihrem Zopf ; ...) oder die repetiven Elemente in der Handlung. (Gruppe A reist zu Ort B um dort Auftrag C zu erfüllen ; Plötzliche Trolloc Überfälle, die in den ersten beiden Teilen noch interessant, im dritten schon ein wenig angestrengt wirkten, und hier beinahe schon auf die Nerven gehen) Der Konflikt zwischen dem weiblichen und männlichen Geschlecht nimmt hier auch seinen bislang (traurigen) Höhepunkt.

Das alles soll aber nicht die durchaus vorhandenen, positiven Aspekte des Buches niedermachen. Schließlich begleitet man seine liebgewonnenen Protagonisten, welche sich wieder weiterentwickeln. Insbesondere Rand und Perrin machen in diesem Band einen großen Sprung nach vorne. Man wird mit einer Menge Hintergrundwissen zu Jordans Welt geradezu erschlagen, seien es Informationen zu den Aiel, Seanchan, Forsaken, alte Zeitalter, usw. Die letzten 100 Seiten habe ich am Stück gelesen, weil Jordan hier endlich die Geschwindigkeit erhöht hat und so die Geschichte nochmal sehr spannend wurde. Die Ausgangssituation am Ende ist diesmal eine andere, weil die ehemalige Gruppe über den gesamten Kontinent verstreut ist, was bei dem Leser sofort das Verlangen nach dem nächsten Band weckt, um herauszufinden, wie es weitergeht. Nichtsdestotrotz ist der Schluss befriedigend und es werden die meisten, in der Handlung auftauchenden Fragen, beantwortet.

Als Fazit sei gesagt, dass der vierte Band mich persönlich eher enttäuscht zurückgelassen hat, weil ein klarer Bruch zum Stil der drei Vorgänger erkennbar ist und stattdessen der Fokus mehr auf Details und Komplexität liegt. Hätte man damals mehr Mut zur Lücke gehabt, hätte daraus ein hervorragendes, 600-700 seitiges Buch herauskommen können. Vom 5. Band erhoffe ich mir wieder ein höheres Tempo und weniger herumreiten auf unwichtigen Aspekten der Geschichte.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Juni 2003
Well, when You are interested in this book You will probably have read the first three volumes of this saga.
In his fourth book of the Dragon Reborn R.Jordan gives us first in deepth information about the Aiel, the dragon people. Rand al'Thor visits them in company with Lan, Moraine, Egwene and Mat. And they discover old and new informations about the proficies about the Dragon Reborn and the Aiel. Meanwhile Loial, Perrin and his Faile take the ways to the vallley of Two-Rivers to put an end to the presence of whitecloaks there. While there Perrin unravels more and more of his own destiny and fights all evils that threaten Two-Rivers.
Having cleaned The Stone from black sisters Nynaeve and Elayne hunt them down in Tanchico being accompanied by Thom and Juilin.
The story unfolds brilliantly and Jordan does a great job describing the Aiel and the City of Tanchico. The Journey of Perrin and his struggles along the way were great to read and to anticipate. The ending leaves You craving for the next volume of this still expanding saga.
Great work, fun to read and full of lively charakters the fourth volume of Wheel of Time fullfills all my expectations and goes a great deal further.
Have fun read it Yourself!
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. August 2016
Tolle Serie. Freue mich auch auf die letzten Bücher. Leider finde ich es unmöglich, dass ich hier schreiben soll, warum ich diese Bewertung gewählt habe. Die Bewertung ist einzig und alleine dafür, das genau das geschickt wurde, was beschrieben war.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. August 2013
Ich bin bekennender Fantasyleser, tu mich aber mit neuen Reihen immer wieder schwer. So war es auch beim WHEEL OF TIME, aber mittlerweile kann ich diese Bücher nicht mehr aus der Hand legen. Ich befürchte fast dass es darauf hinauslaufen wird, dass ich die komplette reihe am Stück lesen werde :-)
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Mai 2013
Obwohl die Reihe schon etwas in die Jahre gekommen ist und aus > 10 Büchern besteht, lohnt sich der Einstieg und das Weiterlesen.

Nur stellenweise gibt es manche Längen, da waren die ersten drei Bücher dichter. Trotzdem weiterhin spannend.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Juni 2000
After reading 4 books of a series that currently stands at 8 (with at least 2 more on the way), comprising more than 3000 pages thus far, it is perhaps time to take a step back and try and determine just what it is that Jordan is doing. This is no generational saga--the same basic set of characters is maintained throughout "The Wheel of Time," give or take the odd disappearance or even death (though, it should be noted, thus far no one of any importance, save a few of the bad guys, has bought it for good)--and there are no breaks in the flow of events to give the reader a chance to catch his/her breath (unless, of course, he/she simply becomes tired of it all and stops altogether). This is purely genre fiction, which is to say that it will appeal only to those who go for the sort of high/epic fantasy largely invented by Tolkien and practiced by countless more or less derivative, and more or less rewarding, writers in the decades since the appearance of "The Lord of the Rings." Unlike other such genre writers (Stephen R. Donaldson, for example) Jordan has nothing particularly new to bring to the high fantasy concept, so for fantasy aficionados "The Wheel of Time" provides at best another imaginary land to explore, another set of fictional "cultures" to experience, another reworking of commonly used myths and legends (the Arthurian legends in particular) to re-familiarize oneself with. In short, this is nothing groundbreaking, nothing to mistake for literature, and nothing that will be read decades from now, when future writers are busily rehashing Jordan's rehashes and are the more popular for it--assuming, of course, that high fantasy is a commercially viable enterprise then.
As I say this, I must admit that "The Shadow Rising" marks a turning point for this series, and one for the better. There are moments--most notably in the chapter entitled "The Dedicated"--when Jordan ceases being derivative long enough to be what seems to me genuinely inventive. While his central characters are spun to the four corners of his imaginary land in a manner similar to "The Dragon Reborn" or "The Great Hunt," for once Jordan is under no compunction to hastily arrange for their simultaneous meeting in one particular locale at the end. And it is no small thing that for once I was wrong in a prediction; Jordan's first in-depth exploration of the Aiel society surprised me, if only because I was very much expecting a simple copy of the Fremen from Frank Herbert's "Dune." Beyond such high points, most of the action amounts to the sort of wish-fulfillment that characterizes most of the genre; in other words, whether you imagine yourself in the place of Rand, of Perrin, of Elayne or anyone else, Jordan will make you feel good about what you...er, the characters...have accomplished.
Jordan is not the finest writer you will ever read, but he puts together a competent enough narrative. If you enjoyed the first three books in this series, you'll love this one; if you didn't enjoy them, you probably didn't make it this far, and you're not reading this review. Enjoy your new doorstop.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Oktober 1999
When I said that 'The eye of the world' was the best book ever, I was wrong. The first book was just outlining the plot, the second and third were good (Not as good as the first.), but this beats all. This is where it starts to get interesting. There's so much going on in this book, that when R.Jordan switched from one character to another, I didn't mind as much. The story was quite complex and there wasn't a great amount of travelling as in the first three books, more interaction between characters and a deeper plot. Having read the first three books, reading number four was a lot easier as I understood the societies and the background. (I do recommend reading the 'Robert Jordan's Wheel of time' for geater understanding.) There was less of 'what age is that? What on earth is a fade? and such, but more 'Perrin, you can't do that.' and 'Mat! Oh my God, I can't read on.' sort of thing. I thought the books would get less enjoyable as the series went on (As most series do), but this book totally turned it around. It made me laugh, it made me cry and at one point I refused to read it for a fear of what might happen. I enjoyed this book because no matter how the plot goes, all the characters are human. They aren't all innocent and pure, or all evil (except the 'Dark one'). They have faults and are not always right. Rand was much better in this book, I felt. He was less unsure and more determined. Mat was the same, but I love Mat they way he is and Perrin's character was more matured and defined (The interaction with Faile really made me smile, It was like 'Wow, couples really act like that, not always 'love struck' and romantic). This was the best book ever and all I can say is 'read it yourself, and all will become clear'.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Juni 1998
I've now re-read the entire Wheel of Time(WoT) series several times. This book is, in my opinion, the best of the ones he has written so far(through Crown of Swords). Jordan, as always, does a fantastic job of building up to events, and making you suspect how they will turn out... and then coming up with something completely different. His descriptions are phenominal. There are several parts of the series that, quite litterally, bring me to tears, not only once, but every time I re-read it. This is the only series that gets the reader that involved. For those who have not re-read the series, it is _well_ worth it. There are so many clues and hints of what is to come that you never pick up on the first time through. Small details, nasty and intricate plot turns that get skipped on the first read. I've bought the entire series in hard-cover because my paperback editions were, quite litterally, falling appart. The first 25+ pages of The Shadow Rising are now somewhere unknown, as they have fallen out. While it was all but impossible to put these books down when I first read them, by now that compulsion is gone since, obviously, I know what is to happen. However, I find the books even more emotionally gripping as I read through them again and again. There are some parts that, after reading them, you need to take a long pause, and run through it again in your mind. A fabulous writer. An incredible series. If you have never liked Fantasy, this is the book to start with. If you already enjoy Fantasy, there is so much that is new an original that you will constantly be surprised. In a final note, if you like Jordan, try Terry Goodkind's the Sword of Truth series... It's not as good as Jordan, but closer than anything else I have read.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Juli 2000
I read this book twice a couple years ago. I loved it; it's my second-favorite of the series (after Lord of Chaos). This is a VITAL book in the series, it answers many questions about Rand's background and the Forsaken. In fact, for the first time in this series, a book manages to tie up more loose ends than it leaves!
There are a couple parallel threads in this novel (Rand/the Aiel, Nynaeve/Egwene, and Perrin/Faile). All threads are independently resolved nicely at the end with no major cliffhangers, although the protagonists remain in different parts of the world throughout the book and at the end. The Rand/Asmodean and Nynaeve/Moghedien conflicts in particular were very well written, with outstanding portrayal of these characters' distinct personalities coming alive in their struggles.
The Two Rivers part with Perrin/Faile vs. the Whitecloaks was in my opinion weak compared to the adventures elsewhere. However, this narrative takes up so much of the book that it's impossible to ignore, and interesting questions are brought up (i.e. Who is Slayer? What is the significance of the Manetheren heritage in the Emond's Fielders?).
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. Juli 2000
Alright, I am 14 years old, and a girl mind you, and I've fallen in love with these books from the very first page of the very first book, and when I am not reading these books I am often thinking about them, they are impossible to put down once started, and it's often hard because they are so long. I started these books when I was 13, I learned about them from one of my older brother's friends who had been adicted to them for a while. I just finished this book, and I've been trying to get my mom to take me to the library ever since. But one tip, if you read this book make sure you put it down once in a while, a whole summer can be spent just reading trust me, I know.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden