Hier klicken Sale Salew Salem Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Books Summer Shop 2017 Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More TDZ Matratzen Hier klicken Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle BundesligaLive AmazonMusicUnlimited longss17



Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 14. April 2017
Hätte ich mir die anderen Rezensionen zu Herzen genommen, hätte ich diese Ausgabe sehr wahrscheinlich nicht gekauft. Mein erster Eindruck des Schriftbilds war, dass irgendein unmotivierter Student als Nebenjob den Schriftsatz in MS Word durchgeführt hat und das Ergebnis dann direkt in den Druck ging. Etwas Recherche legt nahe, dass es wohl tatsächlich nur ein aus dem Internet kopierter Text ist, der dann diesen Prozess durchlaufen hat. Jeder, der schon einmal ein Textverarbeitungsprogramm auf seinem Rechner geöffnet hat, bekommt das vermutlich besser hin. Das wird auf dem Foto von Seite 2 sehr deutlich.

Vor allem der unterstrichende Link mit dem Sternchen beweist, dass es wirklich nur Copy & Paste ohne weitere Bearbeitung ist (in diesem Fall von Erowid, wo auch der Volltext frei verfügbar ist). Ich empfehle jedem Interessierten, sich einfach eine PDF-Ausgabe aus dem Internet auszudrucken (das geht im Copyshop sogar als Buch) oder einfach direkt den Text im Internet zu lesen.

2 Sterne, weil Huxley's Essay selbst natürlich überaus lesenswert ist und eine bessere Bewertung verdient hat.
review image
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. April 2017
Pixelated cover image, underlined web hyperlinks in the text. This isn't a book, it's a shoddy pamphlet. Shame on Amazon for a total lack of quality control here. Save your money, visit your local book store, and enjoy Huxley in decent print instead.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Juli 2000
I was turned onto Doors/Heaven and Hell by myPhilosophy/English Professor. Due to my extended research intodreaming and perception, this was as insightful as they come. This book goes beyond the use of drugs; identifying with religion, art, philosophies, etc., it explains that humans tend to be one sided, and are unable to look or percieve normalcy except by looking at things...normally. It's sad that it takes drug use to be able to percieve objects beyond what they really are, yet, Huxley explains, compares and vividly depicts, not only his experience with mescalin and LCD, but how and why people are not able to visualize things in ways other than they already are,(Out-There, In-Here). Huxley writes about experiences and perception when these drugs are being used--rationally, making Huxley a writer, and a "visionary." And he does so with panache.
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Dezember 2016
Terrible print, and the text is clearly not edited for print, there are hyperlinks in the text. The cover is a very low resolution JPEG on the front and a small picture of Huxley on top of a big picture of Huxley on the back. Sending it back to Amazon asking for a refund, a print of this quality should not be sold on Amazon.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. März 1999
In the first half of the book, DOORS OF PERCEPTION--originally a separate volume--Huxley offers a cogent and erudite argument for the use hallucinogens (specifically, mescaline) as a means for opening up the thinking mind to new ideas and perceptions, or even as a method for jumpstarting human creativity in the common man. Not only does he offer compelling historical precedents and sound medical research, but he also reveals positive details about his own personal experimentation with the drug. As is always the case with Huxley's essays, his various hypotheses are very articulately expressed and not easily dismissed.
The second part of the book, HEAVEN AND HELL--also originally published separately--Huxley introduces the idea that spiritual insight and personal revelation can also be achieved through the use of hallucinogens. (By the time he had written this volume, Huxley had added LSD to his psychedelic repertoire.) While just as articulately written and researched as the first volume, the idea that religious insight can be gained through drugs may offend some readers (theists and atheists alike), and the premise seems odd and contrived or expedient (was he trying to gain support of the clergy?) coming from a generally non-theist thinker-philosopher such as Huxley. Nevertheless, it is still thought-provoking reading for both professionals and amateurs interested in the positive potential of mind-altering drugs.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. März 2016
I personally enjoyed the book even though it was definitely a bit of a struggle for me to read since English is not my mother tongue.
The language Aldous uses is definitely a bit old fashioned, If I may say so. Overall he has some interesting ideas about how we humans perceive the wold. It is clearly visible that aloud is a well red person and also seems to have a big interest in art since he illustrates his ideas with many, and I am not exaggerating, references to famous art pieces.

The thing I do not like about this book is the print. The cover picture is very bad quality. Someone must have tried to upscale a jpeg that is way too small. The text itself also has some errors. There are a lot of hyphens where there should be none. Also a few mistakes, which I am fairly certain don't stem from Huxley himself. My guess would be that whoever was in charge of changing the formatting of the text for the print did a really bad job.

It's okay to read, though. it just takes a bit of thinking when one of those mistakes come up where one has to guess what the word was supposed to be. I would definitely not get this book if I would care a lot about the outside appearance.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. März 2000
Although this book is kind of... well, slow... it is relatively short and VERY INFORMATIVE. It gave me a whole new perspective on drugs from a scientific, philosophical, spiritual, and beautiful point of view. A must read for artists and writers.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. Juli 1998
Huxley's experiments with mescalin induced him to write these books about his experiences with that drug. The most fascinating thing about the book was his theory of the eliminative function of the brain and the idea of the "Mind At Large". The experiments were obviously a very spiritual experience for Huxley, who encourages the use of mescalin and LSD-25 as a method of attaining transcendental experiences. Not all of his notions were 100% convincing, but Huxley conveys all of them with a clarity and an honesty that very few authors ever reach. A must for anyone interested in the topic.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. März 2013
Just to note that Gertrude Stein never famously wrote "a rose is a rose is a rose" but "rose is a rose is a rose". It comes from her 1913 poem "Sacred Emily" from the collection Geography and Plays:
Rose is a rose is a rose is a rose
Loveliness extreme.
Extra gaiters,
Loveliness extreme.
Sweetest ice-cream.
Pages ages page ages page ages

Although she was trying to reinject life into the image in writing, it may well not be the same thing as intended by the author of the review.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Januar 2000
This book has shown me a way to place all my feelings and thoughts into a manifestation of intelligence that I can share with others. This book has also shown me a way to express feelings in word form, and has helped me to complete my own book, which is soon to be published.
For those who gave it low ratings: I would have to say you were too young, or too stupid (harsh but true) to get anything out of this book. Anyone who can't comprehend it can't get anything positive from it.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)