Sale Sale Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Xmas Shop 2017 Cloud Drive Photos Mehr dazu TDZ Hier klicken HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle Backparty BundesligaLive wint17



am 11. Januar 2016
Action packed right from the word go, it was difficult putting the book down and they grew a certain affection for the protagonist, but not for Stefan.

For me, the best part of the novel was the early part, where the characters came to life a lot more. In the second part, besting to be a lot more shooting, but without real analysis of what was happening although the people were.

The characterization in the early part of the novel was splendid, but the story lost too many of the characters along the way. This very point is one of the key elements in the personality of the protagonist, but I don't think it is exploited carefully enough. Nevertheless, the memory of the writing is vivid. Some rather sordid characters come into the book… Watch out.

The relationship between mother and son is not entirely convincing.

Spoiler: as far as a story on time travel is concerned, this one makes more sense than most, and Koontz analyses the nature of paradox to some extent. And where other books or stories on time travel have in the past just irritated me, this one at least makes the concept more plausible.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 21. Mai 2006
Im Nachwort erzählt Dean Koontz, dass sein Verlag nach Ablieferung des Manuskripts meinte, dass ein Buch wie dieses nicht funktionieren könne, unter anderem weil es mehrere Genres vermischt, den Leser überfordert usw. Nun, gewisse Vorurteile kennen wir z. B. auch von Harry Potter und was ist daraus geworden? Eben, was gut ist bestimmen immer noch wir Leser, die wie Dean Koontz es so treffend beschreibt keine Schafe sind, die immer auf der selben Weide grasen wollen sondern Wölfe mit Appetit auf etwas Neues.

Im ersten Teil des Romans wird die Kindheit der Hauptakteurin Laura erzählt, die bereits in frühen Jahren etliche Schicksalsschläge hinnehmen muss, dabei aber von einem geheimnisvollen Beschützer namens Stefan unterstützt wird, der in unregelmäßigen Abständen in ihrer Nähe auftaucht und eingreift wenn es brenzlig wird. Obwohl sie ihn nie näher zu Gesicht bekommt hat sie das Gefühl, dass er stets unverändert wirkt und nicht älter zu werden scheint, obwohl in ihrem Leben inzwischen weit mehr als 20 Jahre vergangen sind. Eines Tages erscheint er schwer verwundet vor ihrer Haustür und sie müssen gemeinsam mit Lauras Sohn fliehen, da es seine Gegner inzwischen auch auf sie abgesehen haben. Während ihrer Flucht erzählt er ihr sein Geheimnis: Er ist ein Zeitreisender aus der Vergangenheit. Aus welcher soll hier nicht verraten werden, nur soviel: Stefan und Laura müssen gegen einen übermächtigen Feind kämpfen und gleichzeitig versuchen das Rad der Geschichte wieder in die richtigen Bahnen zu lenken, da es sonst für die Welt verheerende Folgen hätte.

Das Buch erzählt aber auch von einer Frauenfreundschaft, die in einem Waisenhaus beginnt und alle Höhen und Tiefen übersteht. Einen Stern Abzug gibt's für die vielen Kampfszenen, die zwar dramaturgisch notwendig erscheinen, aber eben nicht mein Fall sind.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 31. Juli 2012
Die Antwort ist Nein! Das Buch hat Spass gemacht. Ich hab es nicht aus den Händen legen können und das hatte ich schon lange lange Zeit nicht mehr.
Habe meine Station in der U-Bahn verpasst und viele Gespräche am Mittagstisch, sind auf taube Ohren gestoßen (meinerseits). Dass ich in ein Buch so versinken konnte spricht entweder für das Buch, oder für ein leicht zufrieden zu stellendes Gemüt... ich hoffe das Erstere :D Vielleicht lese ich einfach auch zu wenig ;)

Das Buch zu kaufen wirkte zunächst etwas abschreckend, weil ein Leser geschrieben hat, dass man fast über einen kompletten Lebenszyklus der Hauptfigur liest. Ich muss zugeben, dass ich, wie der Herausgeber auch skeptisch war. Jedoch fließt alles wunderbar harmonisch ineinander. Ich habe mindestens an genauso vielen Stellen schmunzeln und lachen müssen, wie mir an anderen Stellen ein lautes Schniefen entfuhr. Ich kanns nur weiterempfehlen!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 13. April 2011
Dean Koontz is truly one of the best story tellers and the first half of the book deserves even more than 5 stars. Unfortunately, the second half is getting too complicated and, for my taste, with too much time traveling. Personally I got lost and also lost interest. 3 stars for the second half, therefore 4 stars for the whole book. Koontz should travel back in time and rewrite the second half.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 26. September 2016
The Story has many Twists and Turns, lovable characters and lots of Suspense.I read this Book the first Time in the Late 80s and it is still one of my favorite.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 28. Mai 2015
Zu empfehlen, spannend und kurzweilig zu lesen. Gute Story, mitreissend und auch in Englisch leicht zu lesen.
Koontz ist und bleibt einfach spannend!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 17. Juni 2000
I always tell friends that I started reading Dean Koontz just for curiosity and that he was one of these little miracles that happens during our lives.
When I started reading his books, I discovered a world unlike any other. By this time, I did knew other famous authors, like Sidney Sheldon or Grisham and even Stephen King. And I enjoyed all of them. But when I started reading LIGHTNING, my concept of real entertainment changed from one day to the other. I suddenly knew that I was missing the best author of this world. And I'm not kidding here.
Dean knows exactly how to make you so jumpy all the time that you almost feel you are there with all the characters. And all this with very powerful phrases that, compared to the writing of the others famous authors, is a triumph. And that's what Dean Koontz works on LIGHTNING: full emotions, horror, adventure, action - mixed in the best way of writing ever: his own. If you haven't read this book, you can't imagine what you're missing. If you already read this book and is here reading this just wondering, you know what I'm talking about and certainly agrees with me. LIGHTNING is one of his best pieces, along with THE SERVANTS OF TWILIGHT and THE BAD PLACE. I can't say nothing else about him. Nothing I can say could describe Dean's writing. Believe me.
Marco Aurelio - feel free to share your toughts with me at deankoontzfan@hotmail.com
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 4. Oktober 1998
I've had some pretty bad experiences with Koontz's novels, but this wasn't one of them. I found this book to be surprisingly interesting.
The major flaw with this book (as in many Koontz books) is the characters. The characters in this book are horribly unrealistic and horribly done in general. Koontz hesitates to let us into the character's mind and this becomes especially noticeable during the story's multiple traumatic events. The characters show barely any emotion at all, besides the passing mention of the deceased person.
The way the character's act is even worse. For instance, our heroine, Laura Shane, is initially the semi-softspoken novelist who seems to be quite normal and down to earth. Suddenly she becomes some kind of gun maniac, toting not one, not two, but three fully automatic, illegal Uzi's as well as about ten hand guns. That was completely out of character and Koontz could have handled it much better!
Then we have Thelma Ackerson the comedian. Koontz gets too carried away with the fact that she is a comedian. Thelma's dialog seems like nothing but a big comedy routine: wise-crack after joke after wise-crack. First of all, I am sure this is not how real comedians talk, second of all and more importantly this quickly becomes annoying (especially when none of the cracks are funny in the least bit).
Finally we have the eight-year-old kid who has to be the worst character in the whole book. He doesn't act like a kid, he doesn't talk like a kid, he doesn't think like a kid (when Koontz actually lets us know his thoughts).
The book started off slow and remained that way for the first half. This was especially hard to swallow because of the horribly done characters, but it did have its moments. Then near the middle the book suddenly gets much better. I thought I saw the direction this book was heading a mile away, but it ended up pulling some pretty good surprises. From there on out the book presents some pretty interesting situations and finishes off with a strong ending.
Despite the extremely bad characters, Lightning turned out to be a pretty good read.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 18. Juni 2000
This is one of my favorite Dean Koontz novel. I was immediately drawn in the story from the very beginning. From the little girl who finds her self in very bad situations to the "guardian angel" who always saves her in the nick of time. As she grows older, you find out more about how she thinks and who her guardian angel is. I was quite suprized and really give Koontz a thumbs up on how he changes the storyline. This is a book I pick up every couple of years and read over again, I seldomly do that with books, even one's that I enjoyed in the past. Highly recommended to Koontz fans and readers of a good mystery/sci-fi twist.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 30. April 2000
Lightning was my first Koontz experience. I'd never read anything remotely like it. Suspense, science-fiction, drama with a touch of romance. I thought Koontz was a genius and my opinion of him has just gotten better over the years.
Who among us wouldn't like to have a guardian angel who protects us and loves us? I fell in love with Stefan. And Laura has the strength of character all of Koontz's heroines seem to possess. That's another reason I love his books, they're so life-affirming for women. You simply feel good about yourself after devouring one of his novels. Of course that isn't to say that a male reader won't feel just as good!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden

Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken