Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Book Spring Store 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Mehr dazu HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle EchoPop BundesligaLive wint17

am 26. Mai 2009
This book is neither actually bad or good. It makes nothing wrong but could do much better. If you count it up, is has it tells everything a good book for programmers should tell. But it's boring, shallow. And for my taste not very precise. I read Clean Code before this one. Clean Code was almost exciting. The Author conveyed the same Emotions I experienced when programming. It didn't just tell me what to do, but how to do it against all (seeming) odds and against (seeming) good advice from co-programmers. It motivated me, to do the right thing for the right reason. But this one, feels too often like they inceased the font again and again to fill the pages. The Author seems to have a felt knowledge of programming, but he fails to give reason. The rote definitions are too many and too meaningless each one for it self.

If The Pragmatic Programmer could be condensed into half the words, it might get 4 or even 5 stars but not this way.

I'm 2/3 through and I don't know whether I should finish it. I'd say read Clean Code instead. It covers almost everything this book does, but much better.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 22. Oktober 2017
A collection of shallow platitudes and clichès. If ideas like "Think about your work" and "Finish what you start" are new to you, then get this book. Else better get "Code Complete 2" by McConnell or a similar book that goes to some depth.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 8. März 2015
A valuable book for every developer that is looking to improve on his professionalism & craftsmanship. Lots of good examples and in the end has a combined list of practices and recommendations.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 7. Dezember 2000
I like this book. It is fantastic. There are many things mentioned that I just overlooked in my 'programming life', but now they are clear and natural. I think this book is good for newbies as it is for experienced programmers. It helps very much to be more pragmatic, than before.
Experience it yourself.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 21. Januar 2014
Everything is fine, book is great package is great. Delivery time to another county is also great. Thank you very much
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 7. Januar 2013
Sehr geehrte Damen und Herren,
das Buch ist ein Geschenk und kam bei meinem Bekannten sehr gut an.
Ein gesundes neues Jahr
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 7. November 2005
As most other reviewers, I was drawn in by the glowing commentaries here on Amazon.
As background, I've been programming professionally for nine years now, on a variety of projects, but generally high-performance embedded stuff. I'm interested in improving my software development & management skills, and have read a number of other, better books (listed later) about these topics.
My first criticism is that the collection of 50-odd tips are simply too shallowly presented to be very interesting. Generally, if you agree, you say, "yeah, duh," and if you don't, there's no discussion of the point, and no attempt to address known difficulties with "good" practices. There also seemed to be no attempt to balance some of the points. For example, the authors repeatedly talk about writing your code so it's flexible. In general, a good idea. On the other hand, they really seem to think you should be writing everything, regardless of what sort of application it is, to run on different machines, under different operating systems, with and without concurrency, etc. This, to me, just seems foolish, extra work, extra code, extra bugs. The estimates I've seen (in other, better, books) say that just writing re-usable code takes three times more work than "normal" code, ignoring multi-platform complexities.
The old school comment (and I consider myself fairly old school) is there because they very obviously come from a Unix/command line environment. I will admit, they motivated me to improve my scripting skills, something I've been planning on doing for a while. But then they have inane advice, like "use only one editor *for everything*". This is perhaps nice, if you can, but on larger projects or organizations, this probably isn't possible. I use the IDE required by the project, a different editor for documentation (also required) and a third one for doing hex & advanced search and replace. Perhaps with emacs and 47 scripts this wouldn't be necessary, but I'm not convinced it would be efficient either.
All in all, the advice is generally good, but I think there are better books out there (e.g. Code Complete, Writing Solid Code, Rapid Development, The Mythical Man-Month, C++ Coding Standards). As a light book to get you thinking about your craft, it's not bad, but that's the best I can say about it.
33 Kommentare| 91 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 23. Juli 2000
I think almost any programmer can benefit from reading this book. The book is extremely well written and inspiring. Readers of Kent Beck and Martin Fowler will recognize much of their philosophy (see xprogramming.com). Much of the wisdom in the book is condensed into a set of rules listed at the end which makes a very good summary. So even if you have only 20 minutes you will probably walk away inspired and with new insights. What distinguishes this book from other books about programming that I have read (like the Refactoring book by Martin Fowler) is that this book generalizes principles about coding in a very convincing way (many of the principles could probably be helpful for any engineer, not only programmers). Take for example the well known principle of not duplicating code. The authors generalize this principle and say that information should never be duplicated. This means for example that you should write documentation, but the documentation should not duplicate information that is easy to extract from the code (the documentation could for example present the purpose of code and give an overview). Check out the book for many other equally interesting principles!
0Kommentar| 8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 25. Juni 2000
I bought this on a friend's recommendation, but expected yet another book rehashing the same standard rules: write comments, don't duplicate code, have plans for your projects, eat your vegetables.
Hunt and Thomas vastly exceeded my expectations. This book is never dry, often humorous, and always educational. They don't always say what you expect them to say (e.g., about commenting code), and I didn't always agree with them, but every sentence is full of thoughtful analysis.
One of the best features is their incredibly practical advice -- while yes, this book does teach philosophy and encourages thought, it also provides many immediately-implementable suggestions.
If you aren't a programmer with 10 years experience, buy it anyway -- it is not just for experienced programmers. While you will absorb less of the book, there is still enough to learn, and it's a great book to keep and re-read.
The book includes a pull-out card of the pithy sayings the authors use to sum up each section. Perhaps my mind just doesn't work the way theirs does, but I didn't find their summations to be helpful all the time -- I found myself frequently having to flip back to the section to remember what a particular phrase meant. But it's still useful.
0Kommentar| 7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 29. November 1999
The Pragmatic Programmer is a mixed bag. It attempts to cover a large number of broad topics, ranging from object-oriented design to algorithm speed to testing strategies. As a result, each topic gets a fairly superficial treatment, only skimming the surface before moving onto something else.
My other reservation about the book is that the authors are "Unix geeks", and view the world accordingly. They touch on Windows mostly to urge readers to put a Unix shell on top of it; other platforms like Mac OS are mentioned not at all. Personally, I am tired of "real programmers use the command line", or "Emacs is God" posturing (despite the authors' earnest but flawed attempts to justify these), and felt it detracted from an otherwise useful book. Worse, the authors fail to discuss any tools related to building complex interactive applications, a significant omission from the stated goals and scope of the book.
Those complaints aside, the book does contain useful information and ideas, especially for new programmers who often don't have a strong grasp on the bigger picture of software development. The authors offer good insights on topics like design by contract, documentation, and refactoring, which new programmers often fail to appreciate.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden

Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken

Gesponserte Links

  (Was ist das?)