Sale Sale Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Xmas Shop 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle MusicUnlimited BundesligaLive wint17



am 24. Dezember 2000
High Fidelity was the first, but will not be the last novel, I had read from Nick Hornby. His marvellous black humour, his detailed and funny observation of the life of a mid-thirty and the way he described the development of Rob, the main character, had caught my attention and was not released until the last page. High Fidelity deals with the more or less unlucky love - not sex- life of Rob, an owner of an unsuccessful record shop. His girl friend has just left him and Rob begins to rethink his life. It is not only the question, whether Rob's girlfriend will return to him or not, that keeps the novel exciting. Moreover, it is the question whether Rob will change his life - from that of a 35-year-old guy who never wants to be older than 18 to that of a mid-thirty who is content with the things he does and whose main concern is not whether the record collection of possible friends does fulfil certain criteria. One critic says, never let your girl friend read this book as it reveals all the secrets of men. I am not sure if it really tells you everything about men. But my understanding of my boy friend has improved. After all, this novel is really great and an excellent occupation of time.
0Kommentar| 20 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 12. November 2013
Der muffige Rob, spiegelt vieles wieder was jeder von uns schon erlebt hat. Die erste Liebe in der Schule, Enttäuschung, eine riesige Plattensammlung, Pleite sein. Ich empfehle es allen die...nein allen! Viel Spaß
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 12. November 2006
Someone else mentioned that the first 32 pages alone were worth the price of the book -- and that reviewer is correct! This novel starts off beautifully: the tone of the narrator is wounded, possibly because he's reeling and in shock from the recent departure of his girlfriend, Laura. What we have is the narrator trying to come to grips with the situation, tabulate how truly hurt he is, weighing this "dumping" to former dumpings by past girlfriends, starting from the first girl he ever kissed.

I just love the tone; the guy is really hurting (and we've all been there). It's this tone I think that gives such clarity to his confessional. Anyway, following this "resume of relationship trauma," we follow as the narrator goes on to deal with his life and disappointments. As a record shop owner, he's considered an "underachiever," a loser by some. His ex is a lawyer, hence the dilemma. (The double standard is that a man can be a lawyer and have a girlfriend with a simple job and everything's fine; BUT if the woman partner is the lawyer -- then HE should at least be equally as "successful"?! Well, this smacks of reality. In the eyes of society, he needs to "grow up." Many of us reading it will feel differently, perhaps.) This book is really an accurate portrayal of the male psyche, and it delves into many of the anxieties and fears that men suffer. But Hornby knows how to mix humor with the moments of soul-searching, so it doesn't become a drag. In the end, this book is really a great romantic comedy. Certainly, one of the most honest, insightful, and funniest accounts of guy/gal relationships I've come across since reading The Losers Club by Richard Perez. Definitely don't hesitate to pick up a copy!
0Kommentar| 13 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 4. August 2006
Dass Nick Hornby wunderbare Bücher schreibt, wissen wir ja schon. High Fidelity ist auch eines davon: Ein wunderbarer Humor, durchzogen mit einem feinen Faden Melancholie. Rob und seine Mitstreiter stehen für eine Generation Menschen, mit einem ganz bestimmten Lebensgefühl und die lange nicht begreifen, dass man in ihrem Alter eigentlich schon erwachsen ist. Rob gewährt uns außerdem Einblicke in sein Seelenleben, das (besonders Frauen) zeigt, dass auch Männer schrecklich leiden können. Dass das Ganze für Rob gut ausgeht (wie, verrate ich natürlich nicht) tröstet den Leser und man möchte am liebsten sofort wieder von vorne anfangen mit dem Lesen. Eine Frage jedoch bleibt unbeantwortet: What came first, the misery or the music? Wunderbar!
0Kommentar| 27 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 25. Juli 2014
Naja... in mir hat dieses Buch keine großen Emotionen hervorrufen können. Es dreht sich hauptsächlich um einen ganz normalen Typen, der ganz normalen Liebeskummer hat und letztendlich feststellt, dass seine Situation, sein Leben, ganz normal ist.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 1. Februar 2006
Bislang habe ich lediglich "How to be good" von Nick Hornby gelesen und ich muss sagen, dass ich ein bißchen enttäuscht war. Trotzdem hatte ich wieder hohe Erwartungen an "High Fidelity", auch wegen der ausgezeichneten Verfilmung mit John Cusack. Dieses mal haben sich meine Erwartungen erfüllt. "High Fidelity" hat alles was ein guter Roman haben sollte: Gefühl, Spannung, eine tolle Story (die man aus der Sicht des zynischen Hauptprotagonisten Rob erlebt) und Humor.
Zum Inhalt: Der Plattenladenbesitzer Rob wird von seiner Freundin Laura verlassen. Dies nimmt er zum Anlass um sich Gedanken über sein Leben und vor allem über seine Beziehungen zu Frauen zu machen. Nebenbei hat er eine Affäre mit einer amerikanischen Folksängerin, muss seinen Laden leiten und er teilt alles, aber auch wirklich alles, in Top Five Listen ein. Ach ja, Laura will er natürlich auch zurückhaben.
"High Fidelity" regt mehr als nur einmal zum Schmunzeln an, lässt aber auch den nötigen Tiefgang nicht vermissen und von Zeit zu Zeit findet man sich in der Story selbst wieder.
0Kommentar| 25 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 7. August 2006
I ordered this one based on the advise of other amazon reviewers. Forty pages into the book, I was not sure if I made a good choice. I thought the book might be a bit shallow, and a waste of my time. The more I read, though, the more I realized that this wasn't just a slice of life story, but the bearing of someone's soul. It is a very honest account of the things that go on in a man's mind in regard to his relationships with friends, lovers, and circumstances of life. Even though on the face of things I am a very different person than the main character, I was amazed at how much we thought alike about so many things. This book does not try to paint a picture of a superhero. It, rather, paints an honest, revealing picture a real person trying hard to figure out just who he is. Once I got involved in his thoughts, I didn't want to stop reading. It's a book; buy it and enjoy it. I would also recommend George Kostantinos' masterpiece thriller

'Quest'
0Kommentar| 7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 28. Februar 2003
Rob Flemming, Anfang 30, Plattenladenbesitzer, aber damit nicht gerade erfolgreich. So schlägt er sich mehr oder weniger schlecht durchs Leben. Den absoluten Tiefpunkt erreicht er, als er von seiner Freundin Laura verlassen wird.
In eine tiefe Krise fallend, versucht Rob sein Verhältnis zum weiblichen Geschlecht aufzuarbeiten. Er macht dies, indem er die Top 5 seiner ehemaligen Beziehungen der Reihe nach besucht, oder es versucht.
Nick Hornby schafft es, den Mann so darzustellen, wie er wirklich ist und nicht, wie er gerne sein will.
Absolut entlarvend und jeder Frau zu empfehlen. Supersarkastisch!
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 20. März 2002
a book that makes you smile, if you can identify yourself with rob in a few ways (maybe by being a music affectionate as well or by having problems to cope with your love life? it happens to be both in my case <g>). i did not find the book boring at all (some chapters were more entertaining, and some less, i guess) especially not in the beginning, and i can't understand why somebody here finds it boring when he describes his girlfriends in detail - after all being in love means loving all those little details about the person, don't you think? also, there's a strange pro-contra thing between some Germans going on here... anyway: i'm from austria and i think this was definitly one of the better books i have read in the past. i've seen the film AFTERWARDS, and i liked it, althoug i probably would have liked it even more if i hadn't seen the film before. (just because of excitement). i missed a bit of that smart & subtle observation by nick hornby, and although they almost copied the dialogues from the book, there's still some good stuff missing in the movie that you will find in the book! but it is still a great movie, and john cusack is great, too.
0Kommentar| 9 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 20. Februar 2004
Nick Hornby manages it to thrill the reader by telling about things that happen to everybody everyday..It is impressing how often I could find myself in the protagonist Rob.It was the way and structure of his thoughts, which were pretty similar to mine and I bet to the thinking of every other man too. It is a book that explains why men are as they are and Hornby's explanations are so funny and striking at the same time that it made me laugh ou more than any other book I have read.
0Kommentar| 14 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden