Herbst/Winter-Fashion Hier klicken Duplo Storyte Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Hier klicken Learn More Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic GC HW16

Kundenrezensionen

4,7 von 5 Sternen
33
4,7 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:9,49 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 13. Oktober 2010
"You've always been my best friend, my soul mate, and now I've fallen in love with you too.
Why is that such a crime?"

Obwohl mir "Forbidden" praktisch die Sprache geraubt hat, gibt es genug Worte, um es zu beschreiben. Ein paar der passendsten sind wohl: Fesselnd, absolut schockierend, und dabei auf jeder Seite herzzerbrechend.

Das Thema Inzest ist ganz sicher nicht leicht umzusetzen, besonders in einem Jugendbuch nicht und wenn keiner der beiden Betroffenen etwas gegen die Beziehung hat. Ein Plot, in dem einer der beiden (in diesem Fall Bruder oder Schwester) offensichtlich an einem psychischen Problem leidet und den anderen zu sexuellen Interaktionen zwingt, wäre einfach nur tragisch.
Doch hier liegen die Dinge völlig anders. Lochan und Maja sind wirklich ineinander verliebt. Natürlich hat ihre absolut unverantwortungsbewusste Mutter psychische Spuren an den beiden hinterlassen, aber ich wäre niemals auf die Idee gekommen, sie wären nicht zurechnungsfähig oder wüssten nicht, was sie da eigentlich tun.
Im Gegenteil: Lochan und Maja sind sich voll und ganz der Illegalität und Abscheulichkeit ihres Handelns bewusst. Heben die ganze Problematik durch das beiderseitige Einverständnis zu ihren Handlungen auf eine Stufe, die auf noch größeres Unverständnis beim Leser trifft. Oder treffen sollte..

Gerade weil ich zuerst dachte, ich könnte Lochan und Maja niemals verstehen, hat es mich dann umso mehr schockiert, dass ich es doch konnte. Tabitha Suzuma beschreibt ihre Situation und ihre Gefühle derart nachvollziehbar, dass es mich als Leserin in einem moralischen Zwiespalt getrieben hat. Einerseits wusste ich auf jeder Seite wie falsch und ganz und gar unvorstellbar diese Beziehung ist, andererseits haben mir Lochan und Maja so Leid getan, dass ich ihnen jeden Moment der Freude von ganzem Herzen gegönnt habe!
Es gab Momente, da musste ich das Buch zuklappen, durchatmen, mich selbst fragen: Was fühlst du gerade? Wie stehst du zu dieser Situation?
Das ist es, was "Forbidden" so schwierig macht. Aber das ist auch, was es vom Großteil des Einheitsbreis, den wir Literatur nennen, unterscheidet.

Dieses Buch hat mich auf so vielen Ebenen schwer beeindruckt. Nicht nur die Handlung, sondern auch Sprache und Charaktere. Maja, Lochan und ihre Geschwister werden sehr realistisch geschildert. Gerade bei den Kleinen hatte ich immer Bilder im Kopf und teilweise sogar ihre Stimmen. Und irgendwie war da immer dieses Gefühl, als würde ich trotz aller Emotionalität eine Tatsachenschilderung lesen - womit ich nur verdeutlichen möchte, wie lebensecht das ganze Buch bei mir ankam.

Eine nicht sehr präsente aber auch nicht unwesentliche Rolle spielt dann noch die Mutter der fünf Geschwister. Ich habe mich vorher immer schwer damit getan, eine fiktive Figur wirklich zu hassen, weil ich fest davon überzeugt bin, dass jeder Mensch sowohl Licht- als auch Schattenseiten hat. Aber diese Mutter hat tatsächlich geschafft, was ich für unmöglich gehalten habe. Ich kann mit Sicherheit behaupten, dass ich noch nie einen Menschen (sei er jetzt fiktiv oder nicht) so verabscheut habe, wie diese Frau!
Ich habe lange darüber nachgedacht, trotzdem will und kann ich nicht verstehen, wie jemand seine eigenen Kinder so völlig von sich stoßen, so völlig vernachlässigen kann. Bei allen Wünschen nach Jugend und Spaß im Leben - wenn ich an diese Mutter denke will ich eigentlich nur ganz laut meine Wut in die Welt hinaus schreien.

Erzählt wird der Roman aus Sicht von Maja und Lochan. Dabei wechseln sie sich fast das ganze Buch hindurch regelmäßig ab, das ändert sich erst auf den letzten 30, 40 Seiten.
Das Ende und überhaupt der Punkt, auf den die Beziehung zwischen Lochan und Maja hinausgelaufen ist, hat mir gelinge gesagt überrascht zurückgelassen. Eigentlich sogar sehr schockiert. Im Großen und Ganzen ist es ein abgeschlossenes Ende, das jedoch auch einige Fragen offenlässt. Welche, das möchte ich hier nicht thematisieren, um eventuelle Spoiler zu vermeiden.

Ich habe "Forbidden" ursprünglich gekauft, weil mich brennend interessiert hat, wie die Autorin an ein derartig schwieriges Thema herangeht. Schlussendlich hat mir das Lesen dieses Buches aber viel mehr gegeben: "Forbidden" hat nicht nur reinen Unterhaltungswert, drückt den Leser vielmehr emotional an die Wand, wirft Fragen auf, bewegt einen dazu, das eigene moralische Denken aus verschiedensten Blickwinkeln zu betrachten.

--------------------------------------------------

Meinung

"Forbidden" ist ein ausgesprochen gutes Beispiel für anspruchsvolle Jugendliteratur, die auch auf den Aspekt der Unterhaltung nicht vergisst. Aufwühlend und gleichermaßen fesselnd!
0Kommentar| 40 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 20. Januar 2011
Ich habe noch nie ein Buch über das Thema Inzest gelesen und es hat mich einfach gereizt zu erfahren, wie die Autorin die Beziehung zwischen den Beiden umsetzten würde und ob man erfährt, wie ihre Umgebung darauf reagiert. An sich ist es schon ein schwieriges Thema, das leicht ins Unrealistische oder Morbide abrutschen kann. Was hier, Gott sei Dank, nicht der Fall war.

Selten habe ich ein Buch gelesen, welches mich so emotional zerriss und an die Grenzen meiner Gefühle brachte. Es ist nicht nur ein Buch über eine verbotenen Liebe, sondern auch ein schockierendes und realistisches Portrait einer kaputten Familie aus London.

Neben der eben genannten Liebe, spielen auch die Familienverhältnisse untereinander eine große Rolle. Die Protagonisten Maya und Lochan sind die 2 ältesten von insgesamt 5 Kindern. Da die Mutter nur mit ihrer Abwesenheit glänzt und sich lieber ihrem Lover und ein paar Flaschen Alkohol hingibt, müssen eben Maya und Lochan den Part der Eltern übernehmen. Dies beinhaltet, dass sie neben ihrer Schule die Kinder wecken, Frühstück machen, zur Schule bringen, wieder abholen und sich mit ihnen bis abends beschäftigen müssen, ehe sie ins Bett gehen. Mich überkam eine Welle der Wut auf die Mutter und großes Mitgefühl für die Kinder. Es gab Momente, da konnte ich nicht anders als verständnislos den Kopf zu schütteln und hätte der Mutter am liebsten das Buch um die Ohren gehauen. Selten ist mir eine so unsympathische Person in einem Buch untergekommen. Und wir könnten hier auch von Hass reden, denn ich habe sie gehasst.

Neben all dem Stress und Streit zu Hause und in der Schule passiert dasUnglaublichste: Maya und Lochan entdecken ihre Liebe zueinander. Eine Liebe, die schon immer da war, aber erst jetzt zum Vorschein kam. Eine Liebe, die schmerzvoller und sehnsuchtsvoller nicht sein kann. Eine Liebe, die so schön und doch so verboten ist. Maya und Lochan sind sich die Konsequenzen ihres Handelns durchaus bewusst und sträuben sich anfangs dagegen. Doch dies führte meistens zu seelischen,
ja fast körperlichen, Qualen. Denn Maya und Lochan konnten nicht ohne einander leben. Jede Trennung kam einer Hinrichtung gleich. Ihre Liebe war so stark, dass es einen selber schon weh tat.

Tabithia Suzuma schreibt abwechselnd aus der Sicht von Maya und Lochan. So kennt der Leser jeweils die Gefühle und Gedanken der beiden und leidet mit ihnen. Und wenn ich sage leiden, dann meine ich das auch. Ich habe zum Ende hin gezittert und ein paar Tränchen vergossen. Naja, eigentlich kommt es eher einer Pfütze gleich. Nachdem ich, Rotz und Wasser heulend, das Buch zugeschlagen habe, musste ich mich erst mal sammeln und das verarbeiten, was ich gerade gelesen habe. Suzuma beschreibt die Geschichte so realistisch, frei von jeglichen Kitsch und so schockierend ehrlich. Man musste sich beim Lesen auch jedes Mal ins Gedächtnis rufen, dass sie eigentlich Geschwister sind. Das Thema Geschwister war immer allgegenwärtig, jedoch empfand man beim Lesen nichts Perverses oder war angeekelt, obwohl es durchaus ein verwerfliches Thema ist. Tabithia Suzuma konzentrierte sich hauptsächlich auf die Liebe, die es niemals geben sollte. Sie geht dabei sehr zärtlich und sensibel auf das Thema ein, geht niemals ein Schritt zu weit und hat ein schönes Erzähltempo. Die Figuren hat sie dabei jeweils liebevoll herausgearbeitet. Jeder hatte seinen eigenen Charakter. Besonders Lochan und seine kleine Schwester Willa habe ich besonders ins Herz geschlossen. Vor allem Lochan war ein so lieber und süßer, aber auch verzweifelter und gebrochener Charakter.

Mein Urteil:

Unbedingt Lesen! Selbst wenn man die Letzte Seite umblättert und das Buch schließt, bleibt es doch im Hinterkopf hängen. Es ist erschütternd, traurig und herzerweichend.
0Kommentar| 9 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Dezember 2010
What starts as a story of an unconventional family turns out be even more difficult than thought.

The father gone off to Australia, the mother left behind with five children, which is obviously way to much on her plate to deal with so she leaves everything (from getting the smaller children ready for school, bringing them there, picking them up, playing with them and tuck them into bed in the evening and everything in between) to her two oldest children Lochan and Maya while she is going out and lives her life. Both Maya and Lochan take care of a household as if it were their own besides going to school and preparing for their A-Levels.

On one evening they discover they love each other, more than sibblings normally do. They both try to fight it at first because they know it is illegal and most people think it were disgusting. (They don't just dicover it there is more happening but I don't want to spoil the story)

While reading it you feel with them, you laugh with them and you cry with them and you can't stop to hope for their love to never end, even though they are sibblings.

Maya and Lochan keep telling the story alternately, so you know what each of them is thinking and feeling and why they act as they act. It's written in the present tense which I normally don't like at all but it is well done in this book. While reading it I felt like I was part of the story, I could understand their points of view and I felt how desperate they were to keep the family going, even if that meant to sacrifice their own dreams and futures and cover for their mother. I loved both caracters and could understand them.

I read the book in less than 24 hours, I couldn't stop reading and even after finishing the book I couldn't stop thinking about neither the book nor the topic. Which turns out not to be so black and white as you might think of it before you read it. In my opinion one of the best books I ever read.

Thank you Tabitha Suzuma for such a great story.
0Kommentar| 8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Juli 2016
I'm numb. Emotionally destroyed. It took me a while to form coherent thoughts. Rarely have I ever read a book that messed so much with my head and emotions as "Forbidden" by Tabitha Suzuma did.

It left me reeling, unable to process what I was feeling. Unable to justify my wish for Lochan and Maya to find happiness together. Because they shouldn't. Because it's wrong. Because they are brother and sister.

And yet, my heart ached for them. Their pain and despair was tangible and took my breath away.
It rocked me to the core. I wanted to throw the book against the wall and at the same time didn't want to put it down - too eager to see what will happen next.

Tabitha Suzuma made the impossible happen - she made me sympathize with characters and a situation that goes against my moral concept, against every moral standard, every law and every concept of what's right.
I love the book and at the same time I hate it - for it's poignancy, it's courage and for the obliteration of my emotions and my comfort zone.
A review can't do this story justice, but it lets me tell you how much it made my heart ache. For the neglect Lochie, Maya and their siblings suffered. For the lack of love from a mother who's little more than a waste of space. For kids so lost they never really had a chance at a normal life. And for Loch and Maya, who fall in love with the person they can never ever have.

But all that was overshadowed by how much my heart ached for Lochie.
I've never read a hero who was so tragically broken, so haunted, while having the most beautiful soul. I wanted to hug him, make him see he's worth more than he thinks. He was through and through a good guy. A lost, hurt and scared, but a good guy. His selflessness was admirable and at the same time scary. And at the end it was his downfall.

Maya on the other hand I have more conflicted feelings about. I can't really blame her because she was just as damaged as Lochie. She took care of her siblings to the point of despair and exhaustion. She's a good person. Yet, I'm mad because I blame her for how things ended. I blame her for what happened. If she hadn't pushed and pushed, if she had thought about the bigger picture and not just herself, things might've gone a different way. A part of me hates her, but overall, I just feel sad for her.

This book wasn't even in the realm of comfort zones, but I do believe it is a must read.

5 tell-your-comfort-zone-bye-bye stars.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Mehr durch Zufall bin ich auf diesen Roman, auf "Forbidden" gestoßen und man kann sagen, die Autorin hat mich völlig vom Hocker gehauen. Was im Klappentext als etwas sonderbar geartete Liebesgeschichte dargestellt ist, entpuppt sich als ein hochpsychologisches Bild von einer Familie, feinfühlig in Bildern eingefangen durch die Augen der beiden ältesten Geschwister Maya (16) und Lochan (17).

"Forbidden" fesselt, ohne dass wirklich Spannung da wäre. Die Kapitel setzen sich vor allem mit der Familie und ihren Mitgliedern auseinander. Lochan wird als der verantwortungsbewusste, älteste Sohn zum strahlenden Mittelpunkt des Geschehens. Eine sehr tragische Figur für die die Autorin viel Verständnis bei ihren Lesern hervorruft. Er ist schüchtern und zurückhaltend gegenüber gleichaltrigen, hat deshalb keine Freunde, muss aber Zuhause die ganze Verantwortung für die Familie schultern, als die Mutter sich immer mehr zurückzieht. Besonders durch die beiden unterschiedlichen Perspektiven gelingt dieser Roman. Tabitha Suzuma wählt immer genau die richtige Figur, um die jeweilige Situation zu betrachten.

Dieses Buch ist etwas ganz Besonderes, weil es sich in keine Schublade stecken lässt. Es ist mehr als "einfach nur eine Liebesgeschichte", ja, es geht der Liebe bis in ihre Tiefen auf den Grund und ist dabei sehr bewegend. Die Geschichte stimmt nachdenklich, die Figuren sind so eingängig beschrieben, dass man immer wieder Gefühl hat, man kenne die beiden jungen Menschen schon ewig. Ein sehr ausdrucksstarker Roman, der seinesgleichen sucht! Schon lange habe ich kein Buch mehr gelesen, das mich derart in seinen Bann gezogen hat.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Juni 2011
Lochan and Maya have a hard life and are just doing their best to keep their family together and social services away. Their mother, something she has no right to be called, is too busy with men and having a good time. She can't be bothered with things like putting food on the table, helping with homework or taking her two younger children to school. Lochan and Maya have always done everything parents should do for their children, which blurs the lines and contributes to them not seeing each other as brother and sister.

This book left my sense of what's right and wrong unhinged. I felt for the characters, which made me feel guilty for any hint of judgment and really messed with my mind. I thought if anyone knew them and what they have to deal with, they wouldn't be able to judge. It's emotionally draining and very well written. Tabitha Suzuma takes her time to set the stage for the story ' which in a lot of books tends to be rushed over. The ending isn't really an ending, it's more of a to be continued or question mark without any possibility of a sequel. Not the type of ending I'm use to, but perfect for this story. Any other ending would of felt forced.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. März 2012
Disgusting...

Shocking...

Disturbing...

Unnatural...

people might label a book about incest, a book like FORBIDDEN. I would have done the same, if I hadn't read it myself. I expected the worst and got the best and heartfelt book I could imagine when thinking of books that deal with taboo topics like incest. This book IS shocking, but in an intense and good way.

Being different...

In FORBIDDEN we meet the Whitley family, consiting of the children Lochan, Maya, Kit, Tiffin and Willa. Lochan is the troubled, but brilliant big brother, Maya, the brave and strong older sister. Abandoned by their mother they care for their siblings Kit, gang member, always angry and aggressive, Tiffin, the hyperactive and Willa, the youngest and most in need of care and affection. Every single character highly contributes to this novel's uniqueness.

What shouldn't be said: "I love you"

When I first read the summary of FORBIDDEN I imagined the two protagonists wouldn't know each other. I thought of their first meeting, them falling in love only to discover that they are brother and sister. I was shocked when I realised that they knew about being brother and sister when they fell in love!

But their love is so not about being rebellious or provocative, it's all about the circumstances their love develops in. They both care for three siblings and a constantly drunk mother (I could strangle that woman! A monther abandoning their family made me sad and so angry.How can a mother be that careless about her beautiful children?) so they are kind of forced into threir role as parents- mother and father, husband and wife- lovers. Maya and Lochan give each other the feelings of affection und support that are constantly missing in their lives.

Something wrong feels so right...

I am always a fan of love stories and reading romantic and steamy scenes. But I shouldn't be a fan of brother and sister falling in love, right? They are supposed to stay away from each other and I couldn't help but hope for them to get together, for their love to have a chance, a future. The whole time I knew I shouldn't cheer on their love, I shouldn't want them to touch, kiss or be together, but I DID.

If you decide to read FORBIDDEN you have to expect many love and sexual interactions. Suzuma gives us a lot of delicate details without degrading their love or turning their feelings into something disgusting or dirty. Their feelings are natural and therefore they deserve to be written about in detail. Again I craved for more, although I shouldn't!

"You can close your eyes to the things you do not want to see,but you cannot close your heart to the things you do not want to feel.'~Anonymous

Every tiny detail makes this novel perfect, what really touched me and connected me even further with the story was its initial quote.

The dual point of view, alternating between Lochan and Maya is the best Suzuma could have applied to tell their love story. Their voices are so unique and touching, fitting perfectly together to tell one of the most tragic love stories of all time.

This story is supported by a rich, complex and vivid language that adjusts to each situation like a chameleon, always highlighting each scene's highest potential. Suzuma has a talent for catching a mood and describing an atmosphere. Her language and writing is the rope that's tying you to the swaying boat of FORBIDDEN's story during a storm of emotions and impressions.

Tabitha Suzuma shows there's much more behind a term like incest, such labels created by society. There are humans, individuals with feelings like love, passion, shame and fear.

What I consider brave is that Suzuma also included a part of herself, of her past in the story of FORBIDDEN and so made it an even more personal and touching read. In an interview with Absolute Vanilla Suzuma tells us that Lochan and Maya's abusive and destructive mother was "in part [influenced] by [her] late father, who was physically absusive towards [her] when [she] was a child and rarely showed affection."

A constant named fear...

Fear is a constant in FORBIDDEN, the individual fear of social interaction, the shared of being discovered and the overall fear of being rejected as social outcast.

The fear of interacting with or meeting new people has always been a part of Lochan. But as much his life is ruled by the fear of being confronted by society, I see that he makes a confronting move himself. By starting the illegal relationship with his sister he only increases the potential of being involved in social conflicts. So his love with Maya might be his only way to get in contact with society. And the character that appeared so troubled and afraid might be stronger than anybody thought.

Beside the incestuous relationship between Lochan and Maya, we have to face other domestic problems and conflicts. Be prepared for various social and individual issues since this novel is highly about the difficulties of being a part of a family or society.

"These violent delights have violent ends." ~Shakespeare

Now that I finished FORBIDDEN( after two sleepless nights, crowded with thoughts) I will miss the characters so much. I know that words are not enough to desccribe what deep impact FORBIDDEN had on me and my feelings towards certain topics and opinions. Tabitha Suzuma made me realise that nobody should be judged by their feelings.

I couldn't stand the end, it killed me and made me sob badly. I cried a lot in the end, because this novel touched me so deeply it made my heart ache and left my thoughts constantly spiraling around this utterly sad love story. It's a tragedy! FORBIDDEN twisted my insides, wrenched them out only to dry my steady flowing tears with them! I never thought I'd like a story about incest, a taboo topic, that much. And I am in love with it, although I shouldn't!

Of course I can understand that some readers don't want to read a story about incest, but I think it's really important to take the FORBIDDEN adventure and learn that feelings do not always equal society's expectations and that there is more than labels like right or wrong to loving a person. I highly encourage everyone to give Tabitha Suzuma's fantastic work a chance!

THE VERDICT

5/5 ***** FORBIDDEN- A story so real, cruel and heartfelt and all about being absolute it hurts. I have never read a novel that touched me and that left me so shattered and shaken like FORBIDDEN !

One of the best books I've read so far! The setting, shockingly realistic characters and the glue-like atmosphere held me in a tight grip and didn't release me till the last page was turned. I never expected to be that touched. FORBIDDEN might not be an easy novel, but it should definitely find a reader in you!
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Juli 2011
Breathtaking. I have seriously trouble saying something about this book because it was simply ... magnificent. It certainly is not an easy subject matter - incest is something most people don't talk about. (Well, I didn't either).

Maya and Lochan live an extremely hard life. Their mother pretty much became an alcoholic when their father left when Lochan was 12. Since then, the two - as the oldest - took care of the three younger children, Kit (14 when the novel takes place), Tiffin (8) and Willa (5). They make sure they do their homework, have enough to eat and don't miss dental appointments, and so on. But mostly, Maya and Lochan make sure that social services does not notice that their mother is hardly ever home.

The novel is stunning. If you can wrap your head around the situation, I think it was to be expected that Maya and Lochan would fall in love. They have been the parental figures in the lives of their younger siblings for four years. And they depend on each other so much, everything else maybe would have been even weirder.

One thing I really like about this book: Nothing is bound to happen. For example, if the father hadn't left the family, the mother wouldn't have become an alcoholic, thus Maya and Lochan would not have been forced in parental roles. And those "if" situations make life real. Imagine you met your boyfriend/girlfriend in spring and because you wanted to spend so much time with him/her, you ended up not studying and failing a test. Then later in summer, you two have a fight which makes you late to your history class and you get a late slip, which in turn "forces" your parents to ground you. Now, if you hadn't met your boyfriend/girlfriend you wouldn't have failed the test and wouldn't have been late. Or if you had avoided the fight, you wouldn't be grounded. You get the idea. But back to the novel.

I had no problem with the incest. It wasn't even that for me. They love if each other so much it hurts me physically, mostly because their situation is so f-ed up that they could never ever be together. The pain of having to stay away, not even being able to kiss in public must be unbearable. There is so much heart and pain and love and despair in this novel, I couldn't sleep after finishing it (although the unspeakable ending may be a reason, too). I kept thinking and turning the idea around in my head. How cursed can two people be? So desperately in love and so close. Yet, not allowed to be in love and thus so much space between them.

I could talk for ages about this book. As soon as I have money again I'm going to buy it. It is most certainly the best contemporary novel I have ever read. Ever. In my whole life. So if you think you can adapt to the incest part of it all - and believe me, you should! - you need to buy it. It's an order!
22 Kommentare| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. November 2013
Das Problem, das das Hauptthema in dem Buch darstellt, ist, dass sich Lochan und Maya lieben, obwohl sie Geschwister sind. Und obwohl sie sich den Konsequenzen durchaus bekannt sind, können sie ihre Gefühle nicht leugnen.

Was an "Forbidden" wirklich lobenwert ist, ist die Tatsache, dass man das Thema Inzest hier wirklich manchmal aus dem Gedanken drängt. Die Gefühle, die Maya und Lochan füreinander haben, und wie es beschrieben wird, lässt den Leser vergessen, dass sie Geschwister sind, und ihre Liebe ist tatsächlich nachvollziehbar, obwohl ja die "natürliche" Reaktion das komplette Gegenteil davon darstellt (zumindest meistens)

Das Buch wirft dem Leser permanent die Frage in dem Kopf: "Dürfen sich Menschen, die verwandt sind, lieben?" Und damit ist das körperliche Lieben mit inbegriffen.
Der Leser wird zwischen Moral, Gesetzt und die tiefgründige, nachvollziehbare Liebe, die in dem Buch beschrieben wird, hin und hergezogen.

Auf jedenfall eine Empfehlung!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Juli 2013
... tiefgründig, erinnerungswürdig, und ohne Raum für Verbesserung!

Die Autorin wagt sich hier an ein riesiges Tabuthema heran - und schafft es fabelhaft, die Welt über eine Geschwisterliebe glaubhaft für andere "zugänglich" zu machen, als stünde man selbst mitten im Geschehen.

Die Charaktere werden nach und nach wunderschön aufgebaut - ihre Eigenschaften, ihre Ängste, ihre Probleme, und letztlich, wie es zu dieser Liebe kommt.
Trotz dieser unnachvollziehbaren Liebe schließt man die beiden Hauptpersonen und die anderen Geschwister sofort ins Herz und wünscht sich, dass es trotz dieser Liebe, die nicht sein darf, irgendwie zu einem glücklichen Ende kommt...

Achtung, Spoiler!!!

Leider hinterlies mich das Ende der Geschichte sehr bestürzt und die Geschichte ist definitiv eine, die sich in die Erinnerung brennt.

Spoiler Ende

Das Buch war durchgehend interessant und in einem flüssigen, gut lesbaren Schreibstil geschrieben.

Auch wenn das Thema vielleicht "abturnt", kann ich jedem dieses Buch nur wärmstens empfehlen. Eines der wenigen tiefgründigen Romane in der heutigen Zeit, die zum Nachdenken anregen und Vorurteile/ vorschnelles Verurteilen Anderer ins Wanken bringen!

Kurzum: ein höchst bemerkenswertes Buch, das aus der Masse heraus- und besticht - geschrieben von einer äußerst begabten Autorin!

10 Sterne für die Umsetzung dieser heiklen Thematik!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

7,99 €
7,99 €

Benötigen sie kundenservice? Hier klicken