Herbst/Winter-Fashion Hier klicken Duplo Herbst Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ sicherheitsbeleuchtung Hier klicken Learn More Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic GC HW16

Kundenrezensionen

4,7 von 5 Sternen
18
4,7 von 5 Sternen
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe|Ändern
Preis:18,49 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 27. Juni 2000
I've read the entire Border Trilogy at least three times now, and I've read each of McCarthy's other novels at least once. Now, I'm dying to see what he writes next.
The language is lyrical and poetic, sometimes short and choppy in the language of McCarthy's young cowboy protagonists, sometimes long and surreal in his descriptions of horses, landscape, and dreams. The language finally emerges as a living character of the novel, equally shaping the narrative and its power, separate from the plot line and journey motif.
His storytelling ability is unmatched as he weaves storytelling characters into the bildungsromanesque journeys of John Grady Cole and Billy Parham. These interlocutors relate intricate stories that allow us to witness tales being both told and witnessed, creating a double effect on us through our connectivity to the characters. McCarthy uses his own wonderful narrative to reflect on the power of the narrative event and the act of storytelling. He truly raises the standard for today's writers, for not only does his language transcend the pitter-patter of most so-called literature, his ability to weave marvelous stories and reflect on his role as narrator makes him a writer worth reckoning with. In fact, I just completed a thesis based on this set of three novels for my MA in English at BYU. Read them in order, or read them separately, "All the Pretty Horses" will draw you in with its sometimes intense sometimes comical language and bloody violence. "The Crossin" will captivate you in its complexity and depth, as well as its realistic, terribly moving portrayal of a young man alone and lonely. Finally, "Cities of the Plain" will make you laugh and cry as the protagonists are brought together in a domestic setting and move toward their destinies, each preset by McCarthy himself.
Read everything he has written. You will ache for more.
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Juli 2000
It was a privilege to read each volume of the Trilogy as it was published. Taken individually, each book has its strengths and weaknesses -- I find "All the Pretty Horses" the most even and satisfying, "The Crossing" the richest and most profound, "Cities of the Plain" a little less than either, except for its Epilogue -- but as a whole, it stands as one of the 20th century's last great masterpieces and I daresay an entry into the much-maligned but still useful "Canon" of Western literature. Taken as a whole, the structure and symbology of John Grady Cole and Billy Parham become coherent, and challenging, acquiring additional impact. I still think and will always think John Grady and Billy the two greatest heroes I've read in the postmodern world -- not that they were original, but because they weren't. Thinking about whose stories they echo is one of the deepest pleasures of the Border Trilogy.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. September 2013
Ich habe das Buch schon jahrelang "gehabt", bis ich, Leser vor allem von Krimis, mir Zeit nahm, dieses zeitaufwendige Buch zu lesen. Jetzt habe ich es geschafft und habe einen Sprachkünstler kennengelernt, der Sehnsucht nach Mexiko und Pferden hinterlassen hat, der die Psyche von Menschen kennt.
Um es kurz zu machen: Kaufen Sie dieses Buch, auch wenn sie keine Ahnung von Spanisch haben (so wie ich), es ist jeden Cent wert.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. März 2000
I read the third book of the trilogy (Cities of the Plain) first and it captivated me. Few books have left such a lasting impression- I recommend The Border Trilogy to anyone I know who reads. McCarthy's prose is word-perfect. It affected me as only certain images or pieces of music have been able to do in the past. I feel as though I have somehow experienced Cormack McCarthy's world, not just read about it.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Mai 2000
It is impossible for me to adequately describe Mr. McCarthy's style, but suffice it to say that my inability to offer sufficient insight is precluded by the fact that we simply don't speak the same language. In the hands of Mr. McCarthy, the english language utterly transcends its common and base usage, and instead becomes truly lyrical.
Anyone who's ever traveled the Trans-Pecos region, or been to the Border, will find themselves transported there once more as they follow the stories of John Grady Cole and Billy Parham. Mr. McCarthy describes the area perfectly, and with the expertise of a true native.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. Oktober 1999
This set of novels is an unbelievable adventure with characters that are finely drawn. I do not know how anyone could walk away from this set and not love John Grady Cole. He is an American folk hero of outstanding proportions. The author's use of language is a thing of beauty. Everyone should read these novels.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Dezember 1999
It is hard to know what to say about books such as these. They are beautifully written - though McCarthy's style takes some getting used to - and the characters, especially the young men who are central to the three books, are vividly drawn. The plot(s) seem almost incidental to the imagery of the landscape and internal psychological pain of the protagonists, however. One would have a hard time summarizing the 'story' of these three books, yet it is there. But within the story it is always the moment, as expeienced (though seldom understood) by the central characters, that is important.
These books have been characterized as 'coming of age' stories, and that is certainly what they are to some extent. But the overall feeling evoked by the author is not one of coming into something but of loss - not just of innocence but of hope, opportunity, an entire way of life. The contrast between the border country in America and the much more primitive conditions in Mexico serve, in all three books, to highlight the change that is coming to lives that used to be simpler.
Each of these books can be read alone. They don't continue a coherent storyline. But read together, with their slight differences in tone and image, the reader is left with a heavy sense that life will now be alientated from the land and the simple imperatives that individual survival demands will be replaced by order and artificiality. McCarthy's hero's sense of tragic loss is believeable and understandable.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Januar 2000
I read "The Sound and the Fury" and "Absalom, Absalom!" and "Their Eyes Were Watching God." Then I read "The Crossing" (my first McCarthy novel and favorite) and "All the Pretty Horses" and "Cities of the Plain." Like the three other works, the Borders Trilogy is sensational to me. The style the prose was executed with naturalness--the long sentences are like thoughts and seems to meander somewhere but unknown, some lost place or location or dream. The text makes you feel there is sense of lost with hard sigh and wish to return the thing that was lost. The text is beautiful because it sometimes complex and long and sometimes short, like human thoughts. I read "The Old Man and the Sea;" compared to the trilogy, the text of "Old Man" is baby talk, so simple as if humans are simple creatures incapable thinking deeply.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. März 2000
In many years of reading and writing, I have never read a novel by a contemporary author and then gone out and purchased five other novels of that same guy. And continued to be amazed, novel after novel. Cormac McCarthy is up there with Samuel Beckett as that unusual modern novelist. He dosen't give interviews, do books reviews, teach writing classes; he's isolated, serious, successfully creating an individual world no one ever dared dream of inventing, and where followers would get lost in his wasteland, just as with Beckett. And God does he have language. If "Art is reality seen through a unique perspective", then read this or any of his books. Other novelists seem to be playing it awfully safe compared to him.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. März 2000
In many years of reading and writing, I have never read a novel by a contemporary author and then gone out and purchased five other novels of that same guy. And continued to be amazed, novel after novel. Cormac McCarthy is up there with Samuel Beckett as that unusual modern novelist. He dosen't give interviews, do books reviews, teach writing classes; he's isolated, serious, successfully creating an individual world no one ever dared dream of inventing, and where followers would get lost in his wasteland, just as with Beckett. And God does he have language. If "Art is reality seen through a unique perspective", then read this or any of his books. Other novelists seem to be playing it awfully safe compared to him.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

10,84 €
7,99 €

Benötigen sie kundenservice? Hier klicken