Hier klicken May Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Book Spring Store 2017 Cloud Drive Photos Learn More TDZ HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle KatyPerry longss17

Kundenrezensionen

4,7 von 5 Sternen
89
4,7 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 7. März 2017
A must-read for all students of American literature. Even though Bukowski is still considered by some a "controversy", he is - after all - part of American written tradition, too, and no mistake.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. Mai 2003
Der Weg ist das Ziel, Henry Chinaskis Weg hat allerdings kein Ziel. Chinaski ist Bokowskis alter Ego, und in Ham on Rye schreibt Bukowski ueber sein eigenes Leben, im Zeitraum zwischen 0 und 20 Jahren. Er zeigt unverbluemt die Gewalt seiner Jugend, seinen rauen Umgang mit Mitmenschen und 'Girls', seinen Weg zum Alkoholiker. So lebendig, als stehe neber dir in der Kneipe und erzählt dir sein Leben. Einfache Sprache, viele Dialoge, Bukowski verliert nicht zuviele Worte, und die, die bleiben beschreiben sein Leben sehr eingaenglich.
Gespickt mit schwarzem Humor in einer Depressiven Welt. 'Buk' beschreibt seinen Vater, wie er die Frau seines Bruders wegen deren Armut verspottet (sehr lustig), und wie er selbst die Mutter eines Freundes ins Bett bringt ('i could tear you in half baby, if you gave me the chance to').
Fuer mich ist das Buch einer meiner Favoriten, weil es mir Einblicke in ein komplett anderes Leben gibt, ein Leben das kaum jemand selbst leben moechte. Das Englisch ist einfach, und ich glaube nicht, das dieses Werk zufriendenstellend uebersetzt werden koennte. Nichts fuer depressive Menschen, und vielleicht sogar bevorzugt fuer die maennliche Welt.
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Juni 2000
The first Bukowski novel I picked up, it left me wanting more. It's a funny, sad relatable story and absolutely a quick read. The subject matter? Alcoholism, gambling, women and the US Postal Service. All in all it's pretty standard Bukowski fare, but I enjoy standard Bukowski fare tremendously. This is an excellent starting point for newcomers, as it pulls no punches. For those of you who already love (or hate) Bukowski and have somehow failed to read this book... you're missing out.
0Kommentar| 7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. August 2005
Bukowski writes like no one else. His prose is blunt, unpolished, the antithesis of 'New Yorker' prose, yet somehow the humor and truth of this one individual's wretchedness shines through. Post Office is Bukowski's quasi-autobiographical account of his 12 years as a wage slave, and it points out the numbing, petty, small-minded bureaucracy that we all deal with, on some level, as compromising adults. Bukowski is the voice of the proletariat -- and as such he has a place the literary canon, however different and 'unpolished' his writing may appear at first. Set aside your expectations and give this book a chance. It's like a literary version of Edvard Munch's famous painting, "The Scream."
Similar books from Amazon I enjoyed: Ask The Dust by Fante, The Losers' Club by Perez
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Juni 2000
Frankly, I was expecting a bit more from this book. I had read a some of his short stories and heard like-minded people as myself rave about this book. Although the book was a quick, fun read, I walked away with little. Bukowski is a realist, but in this book, I feel he is a realist, lacking justification. I want to know the why's and the how's. Bukowski tells us the what's. Perhaps I am asking for too much. But I think not. I think this could have been a powerful book, but it seemingly falls short. I expected more from the writing itself as well as the story.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Juli 2000
This was the first Bukowski book I've ever read, and I don't plan for it to be my last. I picked up this title because I'd read that, at Christmas, Bukowski's books are among the most stolen from NY bookstores. I love to read books that end up banned or those that end up stolen, usually because they're astounding pieces of work, and this book was no exception. Henry utterly hates life (especially his father), and it's easy to see why. Through Henry's eyes, the reader sees and feels some terrible things -- Henry's beatings, the treatments for his skin, the repulsive traits of fellow characters. The book will leave you drained and angry because the images Bukowksi gives you are very vivid, some bordering on disgusting. It wasn't until after I read the book that I learned it's a thinly disguised bio. No wonder Bukowski's tone is bitter and fierce; if you read this, you'll see why. I couldn't help altering my feelings for Henry at almost every chapter. You get one side of Henry in one chapter, and in the next, you'd swear it was a whole new character. Henry isn't a very complex character, but his observations are. One of the saddest parts of the book comes when Henry's skin treatments end; the nurse who performs his therapy seems to be the only person in the entire book that cares about him, albeit in a medical capacity. Bukowski shows us a seamy side of life with rich descriptions and chracters that no fiction writer could create. Can't wait to try more of his books!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. November 1999
Most fans of the late, great Charles Bukowski, myself included, list Ham On Rye as their favorite Bukowski novel - and rightfully so. This novel is actually a thinly-veiled autobiography of the man we knew and loved as "The Bard of Booze and Broads." We see through the eyes of young Henry Chinaski as he comes of age in Depression-era America, the product of a dysfunctional and physically abusive household. From his early childhood as a desperately lonely, yet antisocial little boy to his adolescence (where he struggles with crippling acne and develops a love of literature), we see the genesis of a great writer. Bukowski pulls no punches (no pun intended) in his descriptions of abuse suffered at the hands of his father, a coldhearted, arrogant, sadistic SOB. The reader is drawn in to Bukowski's passionate determination to be the exact opposite of what proper society tries to mold its youth into. A powerful and heartbreaking read. Great work, Buk! R.I.P - you will be missed!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. März 2000
Bukowski was the best and worst all at the same time. At his worst he was a caricature of himself...a cruel, disgusting drunk...a wasted talent. His writing a useless desensitized trail of semantics. However, at his best, Charles Bukowski wrote with the urgency, honesty and clarity no other artist has achieved in the entire ludicrous history of literature.
Ham and Rye is an example of the latter...a thinly disguised auto-biography, it is the prose of a writer at the peak of his craft. Each sentence resounding with a voice and character that readers immediately recognize as Bukowski. It is sad and humorous at the same time and it is unimaginably good. Without a doubt, the best novel ever written by a man who you will find to be one of the most engaging authors of all time.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. Dezember 2007
While it is very much the norm in modern literature to focus on the self as the central theme of the writer's work, the novelist choses this motif at his own peril. Bukowski's grasp somewhat outstrips his reach; this is because his talent to describe a reality is so much more powerful than the material that he chooses to create that reality. Very few writers since Hemingway can set the scene and paint the stage with such remarkable economy of the written word. I see the main difference between a great writer and a good one (and Bukowski is a very good one)is the scope and breadth his material. But Hemingway's world was much larger while Bukowski binds himself too closely in his nutshell. He takes us into strange fields filled with enchanting flowers, only to describe, in breathtaking detail, a blade of grass. Bukowski's fearless approach to truth as a writer comes from (what one can only assume) is his relative poverty as a human being...however well he reveals to us in this novel the transcendental beauty of his blade of grass, we long to be able devour the scents and absorb the sunlight which we can only sense is just outside the writer's realm of experience!! I would also highly recommend reading Tino Georgiou's bestseller--The Fates--if you missed it!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. Januar 2000
Favoring prose over poetry I am a big fan of Bukowski's novels. Although all of them, other than Pulp, are exceptionally good, Ham on Rye is by far his best work. Autobiographical and concentrating on his childhood it is filled with a sense of sadness and wasted potential. Bukowski's prose has a wonderfully stripped down, honest quality to it; almost an antidote to the pretentious side of modernist writing.
As for Bukowski himself, he is one of those writers who never got over the basic stupidity of everyday life. His other novels are often a blurred cronology of odd jobs, troubled women, and near suicidal benders. This one is a departure from that pattern because it is about his childhood. Lets make one thing clear, Bukowski was a tough, unhappy, Alcoholic who just wanted to be left alone and also happened to be exceptionally talented at putting words together. He is an excellent writer and should be given due respect but I have no interest in reading work by other miserable drunks. Bukowski's writing works partially because his brutal self deprication compliments his writing style. I appreciate the fact that (in his novels) he avoids flights of fancy, flowery elaboration, heroism, and adventure. As I read his work I am very amused, saddened, and thankful I am not him.
This is a great book.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

8,19 €
7,69 €

Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken