Jeans Store Hier klicken b2s Cloud Drive Photos OLED TVs Learn More HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle Sparpaket Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,4 von 5 Sternen
11
4,4 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 25. Juni 2012
Das Buch ist ideal für den Ein- bzw. Umstieg auf FreeBSD. Für eine "komplette" Dokumentation fehlen dann aber doch zu viele BSD-spezifische Details, während der Autor detailliert auf plattformübergreifende Tools / Editoren a la vi usw. eingeht. Dennoch sehr zu empfehlen...
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Juli 2003
Greg Lehey hat sein bewährtes Werk ein weiteres Mal fortgeschrieben. Die hier besprochene 4. Auflage wurde an FreeBSD 5 angepaßt.
In den ersten Kapiteln wird die Installation beschrieben und eine Einführung in die Arbeit mit FreeBSD gegeben. Bereits nach wenigen Seiten hat man so ein funktionierendes FreeBSD -- zur Not auch parallel zu einem existierenden Windows -- auf seinem Rechner. In den folgenden Kapiteln wird dann genau auf die Konfiguration der traditionellen Unix-Subsysteme eingegangen. Hier fehlen weder die Feinheiten beim Einbinden neuer Festplatten noch die subtilen Stolpersteine bein Einrichten von X. Auch später ist dieses Buch als Nachschlagewerk von großem Nutzen.
Kurz: uneingeschränkt empfehlenswert.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. November 2003
Wer mit dem bereits hervorrangenden Online-Handbuch von FreeBSD nicht zufrieden ist oder einfach gern ein gedrucktes Buch in den Händen hält, und wer des Englischen mächtig ist, kann mit diesem Buch wenig falsch machen.
Greg Lehey, langjähriger Entwickler von FreeBSD, weiß genau, wovon er schreibt, das Buch deckt von den einfachen Unix-Grundlagen bis hin zur Konfiguration komplexer Systemdienste ein weites Feld an Themen ab, mit denen man beim Einrichten eines FreeBSD-Systems zu tun hat, bis hin zum Update des Systems und zur Konfiguration eines eigenen Kernels.
Ferner ist das Buch für techische Dokumentation ansprechend geschrieben. Das Buch empfiehlt sich daher in meinen Augen gleichermaßen als Leitfaden für Einsteiger wie auch als Referenz für fortgeschrittene Nutzer.
Auch Support-Foren wie Mailing-Listen werden angesprochen, so dass man in die Lage versetzt wird, auch zu Fragen Antworten zu finden, die im Buch nicht behandelt werden.
Der Autor veröffentlicht auch regelmäßig Updates und Errata im Internet.
Wer sich längerfristig mit FreeBSD befassen will und gedruckte Bücher mag, sollte den Kauf dieses Buchs erwägen.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Juni 2000
This is the only FreeBSD book. I found it pointed me in the right direction, and from there I had to make a few decisions. everything is covered, slightly. it doesn't hold you hand all the way, but puts you in the right direction. I prefer books like this, because I learn more when I have to do a little figuring out on my own. (and it's pretty well inclusive on everything you neeed to get up and running)
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Februar 2000
IMHO FreeBSD is the best server Operating System available and this book covers all of the details for both beginners and experienced Unix Admins alike. If you are considering using FreeBSD I strongly urge you to buy this book. The bootable CDs that come with the book make installation a breeze.
One of the truly great features of this book are the man pages that make up about half of the book. The ability to sit on the couch and study a man page for some task or other is simply wonderful and saves the paper that would otherwise be used to print it.
The book covers in step by step fashion the setup of all normally used aspects of the system and covers them in great detail. The section on compiling a custom kernel is simply fantastic and an excellent guide for beginners. Building a custom kernel is a vital part of a fully functioning Unix system and this book makes it as simple as a cookbook.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Dezember 1999
As far as I know it's the only FreeBSD book but it would deserve 4 stars even in a tough competition. It covers installation, networking and administration in all details. I also enjoy FreeBSD 3.3 on 4 CDs enclosed in the book.
I think the book lacks the description of coexistense with other operating systems (Samba coverage is shallow) and modern GUI desktop like KDE (I found it different in some details from Linux). It should also be more up-to-date.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Februar 2000
I bought this book after doing a network install of FreeBSD 3.3. At the time I had experience with Linux, but was still a little bewildered by BSD. With the help of Lehey's book, I've made sense of every aspect of FreeBSD that I deal with regularly, and picked up a lot of information about how computers and operatings systems work along the way. A must have for anyone who uses or is considering using FreeBSD.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Februar 2000
A good book for those who either need to know where to start to do something under FreeBSD, or those would already know most of what they need to and just need a reminder of something they might be forgetting.
However, the biggest shortcoming of this book is that it leads you into a topic, gets you going, and then drops you right at the point when you need it most.
Example: the book has a chapter on printing. The average home user probably has an inkjet printer, or a low-end laser. The author, though, has a fully PostScript-compatible printer, and goes on to set up printing as if everyone has this printer. No ground is covered for the every-day people, ie how to set up filters to allow PostScript printing to non-PS printers.
Also leaves other areas short, such as updating the operating system. The book has excellent coverage of how to rebuild the kernel, but if you compare the book's steps on how to update the rest of the system (ie using CVS to get from 3.2 to 3.4) with the docs provided with the operating system, or provided on the web (especially at the FreeBSD.org Handbook section) then the author misses a huge chunk of stuff that has the ability to kill a machine (yes, this happened to me but I was lucky enough to catch it before the reboot to let the system come up with the new rev of the OS).
I used the book for about the first two weeks of adding/configuring components, then realised I was getting better information off the web, provided I was willing to take the time to find it.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Februar 2000
A great reference to the best Operating System we ever used. Very detailed informations more than printed man pages. FreeBSD is a very stable an fast Operating System. Big compliments to Greg who wrote this book !! I was attend to FreeBSDconference last year, the FreeBSD Core Team are realy taff, good product and a good Book!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. März 2000
this book was extremely helpful and informative throughout the installation process. it would have been wiser to stick w/ this format when discussing other relevant OS topics (i.e File systems) -- unfortunately the author occassionally meanders off while drawing contrasts b/w Windows and UNIX systems. (eg. the discussion on the limitations of eight dot three file names vs no such stupid thing in UNIX) thanks but if you just tell me what to do in UNIX i can figure the differences out myself. Good book for the most part, sprinkles of UNIX rhetoric notwithstanding.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Benötigen sie kundenservice? Hier klicken