Herbst/Winter-Fashion Hier klicken Duplo Herbst Cloud Drive Photos OLED TVs Learn More Hier klicken Hier klicken Learn More Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic GC HW16

Kundenrezensionen

4,5 von 5 Sternen
31
4,5 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:14,10 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 31. Mai 2000
I tried to approach this book with an open mind. It is comprehensive, insightful, and well written, by one of the pioneers of the field. But essentially the message of the book is that optimists externalise failure, internalise success. If I fail, it is only a short term setback, caused by someone else; if I succeed, it is all due to my inherent, permanent qualities. Now I am sure that this is an effective strategy, and I have observed it with some envy and wonder in many "successful" people, but there is something deep within me that recoils from this mindset, that finds it dishonest, bordering on nauseating. But then I find many so-called "successful" people dishonest and nauseating. If you can stomach a strategy of self delusion, and buckpassing I would heartily recommend this book to you. It will surely aid your quest for "success", at least materially. It merely reaffirmed my position as an unreconstuctable pessimist, but then even Seligman acknowledges that pessimists are the only ones with real self knowledge.
11 Kommentar| 30 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. Oktober 1999
There's a reason this book is selling so well. Seligman has been able to whittle down the tremendous amount known about the subject into three fundamental principles. There is a test in the book so you can find out in what area you are weak. I did it, and so did my wife, and we both were able to pinpoint a specific change in our way of describing negative events to ourselves that really made a difference to both of us. The fact that Seligman narrows it down to a few very effective principles makes the material much easier to understand and apply. He doesn't try to tell you everything. He focuses on just what will make a difference.
I'm the author of the book, Self-Help Stuff That Works, and I'm an expert on optimism, and this book is the one I recommend more often than any other. Seligman is a careful, conscientious scientist and his conclusions are rock-solid.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Februar 2014
Ich hab schon verscheidene Psychologieratgeber gelesen. Dieses Buch scheint mir aber besonders hilfreich zu sein, weil darin auch die Forschungsarbeit, die zu den Erkenntnissen geführt hat, beschrieben wird. Das Buch hat mir geholfen, meinen negativen Denkmustern besser auf die Schliche zu kommen.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. April 2000
Learned Optismism is a different kind of book. In the past 10 years I've read at least 10 or 12 books that deal directly or indirectly with optimism. All of those books that I read about optimism frustrated me. Their advice dealt with "what to do", but not with "how to do it". Over and over again I heard: "be optimistic, because it will improve your life". None of them told how to be optimistic.
"Learned Optimism" is different. It explains what makes people optimistic or pessimistic. It backs up that explaination with scientific experiments and statistics. It gives you a test to take to measure your level of optimism. And it provides methods to improve your level of optimism.
I've read "Learned Optimism" three times, memorized and applied the techniques, given it to friends and tried to apply it to business. If you don't read this book, you are overlooking one of the best sources of wisdom available today.
0Kommentar| 7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Juni 2010
Dieses Buch hat nur einen Nachteil: Die deutsche Ausgabe (Titel s.o.) ist ständig vergriffen. Eine echte Marktlücke, finde ich. Allerdings ist es klar und einfach geschrieben, so dass auch die englische Ausgabe kein unüberwindliches Hindernis darstellt.

Was es bietet: einen empirisch gut abgestützten Begriff vcn 'Optimismus' und 'Pessimismus', der auf drei Dimensionen operiert, die leicht eingängig und nachvollziehbar sind. Und: eine ganze Reihe von Tests, in denen der eigene Optimismus bzw. Pessimismus messbar wird. Der Autor warnt vor: Auch wenn Sie selbst sich für optimistisch halten, wird Ihr Testergebnis vielleicht etwas ganz anderes aussagen. Und in der Tat, die Tests bergen Überraschungen und damit auch die Möglichkeit, sich selbst auf die Spur zu kommen an Stellen, die man sonst vielleicht gar nicht beachtet hätte. Dann folgen eine Reihe von Übungen, die darauf angelegt sind, die eigenen Optimismus-Werte zu verbessern - und die haben tatsächlich jede Menge Gute-Laune-Potential.

Dass der Autor ein berühmter Therapeut ist, hindert ihn nicht, seine eigenen Alltags-Abstürze offen und ehrlich zu schildern, was ihn für mich sehr sympathisch gemacht hat.

Insgesamt also ein erfreuliches Leseerlebnis, das deutlich mehr Energie gibt, als man anfangs investieren muss.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. März 2014
Dieses Buch ist in drei große Bereiche gegliedert. Der erste Teil bezieht sich auf die Forschung des Autors. Der zweite zeigt Beispiele und Vorteile des optimistischen Denkens auf. Im dritten Teil geht es um die Änderung von pessimistischen in optimistische Denkmuster.
Die Erkenntnisse im ersten Drittel waren für mich sehr spannend und die Ansätze zur Änderung der Denkweisen helfen mir deutlich weiter. Dennoch kommt man in diesem Buch häufig schleppend voran, an vielen Stellen ist es zu langatmig geschrieben und der Autor wiederholt sich häufig. Daher gibt es 4 Sterne von mir.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. September 1999
The thing that consistently surprised me about this book was the way that the author was able to provide extensive scientific verification for his claims. Most "self-help" books have anecdotal evidence at best to support their hypotheses. This book solidly supports its conclusions by means of numerous formal studies. Moreover, some of the material is very counter-intuitive. Attitudes one would have assumed were optimistic turn out to be pessimistic, and vice-versa.
Seligman shows repeatedly where actual, testable predictions have been made based on his notions of optimism/pessimism, and the predictions have turned out to be well-founded. This requires careful, systematic definitions of terms, which he provides.
Equally interesting was Seligman's analysis of the consequenses of optimism and pessimism, and his demonstration that optimism can be learned, with beneficial results that extend well beyond "feeling good."
I highly recommend this book.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. März 2016
Für meinen Mann war jedes Glas eher halbleer als halbvoll, deshalb wollte er das Buch zunächst gar nicht lesen. Nachdem er jedoch mit Lesen angefangen hatte, konnte er nicht mehr aufhören und war am Ende sehr beeindruckt. Auch wenn er nun kein überzeugter Optimist ist, hat sich seine Grundhaltung auf jeden Fall sehr zum Positiven geändert.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Dezember 2011
It is true, that the book contains a lot of details and therefore is not easy to read, but I would not go as far as to call it difficult.

In my opinion the information about certain psychological schools as well as the details about various psychological studies are directly connected to the understanding of the connection of pessimism and depression. The critique of the Freudian Psychoanalysis for example suggests, that this classical approach (among others) is probably not very effective when it comes to treat depressions, and I found this indeed to be helpful to "allow" myself to change my point of view on classical psychological approaches. This change of perspective then helped me to become more open to the concepts and ideas that followed, which in itself is a progress towards optimism. So I concluded that this details are not mere anecdotes but are specifically chosen to allow a gradual shift in perspective, that could not happen in less then ten pages.

I believe Martin Seligman intentionally presents a lot of scientific proof to help the readers build trust in his viewpoint. Or to put it differently: If you have a tendency towards pessimism and you are sceptical of "positive thinking" or optimism, in order to make a shift in thinking and allow yourself to built trust in the actual advantages of optimism and above all the ACTUAL POSSIBILITY of LEARNING to become optimistic, it really helps to know, that what you read is not just "pep talk" but is based on actual scientific research.

As far as "self diagnosis" is concerned, Seligman repeatetly urges readers who use the self testing questionaires and get the impression they might be severly depressive to seek professional help from trained psychologists, while making clear that a book is in no way a replacement for a professional psychological treatment. I think he even encourages his readers to take signs of depression more seriously.

I for my part enjoyed reading the book and it really helped me to get a more positive and hopeful outlook on optimisim and my life as a whole. I even found the book to be entertaining although of course I wouldn't expect a scientist to write as entertaining as a novelist to begin with.

So, if you have the feeling that the qualitiy of your life is getting limited by your pessimism and you are interested in changing that, this book will defenitly help you. If you seek help for severe psychological problems, you should not misunderstand this book as a replacement for professional help, but rather a hint in the right direction. A very useful hint nonetheless. At last, if you are looking for a simple, easy to read motivational book this is not the right choice.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Oktober 2015
... eine absolute Kaufemfehlung wer Optimist werden will, oder schon ist!
Emfehlung für Menschen die keine englischen Bücher gewohnt sind zu lesen... KINDLE-Version kaufen, App für Tablet runter landen (sofern man kein Kindle besitzt) und loslesen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden