Fashion Sale Hier klicken Neuerscheinungen Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle Sparpaket festival 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,1 von 5 Sternen
13
4,1 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:12,01 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 12. Mai 2000
Once again, Ms. Sasson has shown us all how adept she is at writing exciting, fast paced, sensational fiction about the women of Saudi Arabia. I never cease to be amazed at the numerous factual errors and fallacies contained in her books about Islam and Saudi Arabia, and "Circle" is no exception.
I also never ceased to be amazed that so many are so willing to accept her claims hook, line, and sinker, simply because they are about Muslim women of the Middle East. As though if it is this horrible, it MUST be true. Unfortunately, the set up for Amazon.com review did not allow me to give this book less than one star.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Juni 2000
Having read the other two "Princess" books, I found this particular book quite disappointing. While the personal growth and maturation that has taken place within Sultana is quite obvious on the one hand, on the other hand, this book seems to be a self-indulgent journey into the plight of a "poor little rich girl." While Princess Sultana's concern about women still comes through in the book, it comes through as more of a subtext underneath the more overarching tale of her life within the incredibly wealthy royal family, and her struggles with alcoholism. It focuses more on *her* and much, much less on the plight of women in Saudi Arabia. For this reason, it's not a book that I would particularly recommend to readers who enjoyed the first two books.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. Mai 2000
Had this book been true, it would have been an interesting insight on the lives of women in another land. However, this author is capitalizing on the West's ignorance of Muslims and Arabs and our customs. In addition to entertaining her audience with these fabrications she claims to be true, she does one other very harmful and hurtful thing: Spread misinformation and perpetuate stereotypes about Muslims and Arabs. She makes a habit of misquoting the Quran in "Princess. This book and its predecessor "Princess" are tragic examples of how one person can perpetuate their racism and play on other people's ignorance in an effort to make money. It serves as a good example of on person's blatant disregard for responsibility in writing and for accurate portrayals of the people she claims to shed light on. If you had exposure the the people she was writing about, you might better understand my assertions.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. April 2000
This book completely captivates your attention in the way it exposes the shocking life of women in Muslim lands. What makes this book such a compelling read is the way it tugs at your sense of moral outrage for the attrocities leveled upon women in this land. But just as this feeling solidifies, the act of the central character causes your emotions to turn 180 degrees due to the absolutely spoiled behavior at these same women. As women, they have no rights, but as part of the Saudi Royal family have every material possession imaginable.
These competing forces which create a love/hate relationship with the central character (the Sultana)cause you identify with her. For all her childish faults, she is really trying to improve the lot of women in her land.
This is a must read, even for men.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Mai 2000
I've read all three books in the Princess trilogy and "Circle" is my favorite. Princess Sultana's growth as a woman, mother, and wife is evident, and I like the way she is presented with strengths and weaknesses. Some of the worries she faces as a mother and challenges as a wife are common to women throughout the world. But the glimpse into life inside the royal family is rather stunning. Jean Sasson has provided a glimpse inside of a world I find extremely interesting, but haven't had the chance to experience firsthand, as she has. I think it's great that Princess Sultana's voice was put in print by the author and I hope there will be another book, down the road, so that I can learn what happened to Sultana's daughters and the conditions inside the royal harem.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Mai 2000
I found this third book in the Princess Trilogy to be even more riveting than the first two. Again, Jean Sasson is able to tell not only the story of an incredibly wealthy yet enslaved royal princess, but to weave into her factual, historical account the atrocities committed against other women throughout Saudi Arabia and Afghanistan. Princess Sultana's Circle also nicely wraps up the three stages of life of this bold and courageous princess. We've already been introduced to her youth and young adulthood. This time we get a much more reflective look at her life as a mature adult and how she continues to cope with a lesser degree of conferred human dignity, but the resolve to fight on.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. April 2000
This latest book in the Princess trilogy kept me up all night, and I missed my stop on the subway...I was that absorbed!
If you loved Princess, you must read the third book in Jean Sasson's Princess trilogy. With Circle, Sultana achieves a welcome level of maturity. She balances the contraints of her life in Saudi Arabia with her desire to improve the lives of all women there and enlists the cooperation of her family.
A fast and exciting read, though the faint of heart beware: the stories of the needless suffering of women in Saudi Arabia is NOT a fairy tale, nor is it easy to read.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Mai 2000
Thank goodness for Princess Sultana and Jean Sasson to expose the truth about women's rights in Saudi Arabia and other Middle Eastern countries. Having lived myself for many years in Riyadh, I can attest to the customs and practices employed against women. I can also vouch for the fact that these inequities have nothing to do with Islam or the Koran. Instead these rules only point to the unyielding desire by men to have unlimited power over women. Until the rest of the world knows the truth and can exercise some sort of international pressure, these practices will continue.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Mai 2000
This is a gripping story of a courageous woman and her family. In spite of the wealth they have they are caught in the tragic grip of ancient and brutal customs toward women. A book you can't lay down and a book that points out the complexities of life in Saudi. It has intensified my appreciation for the freedom we, as women have in this country and opened my eyes to the differences in other countries. An inspiring story.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. April 2000
This is another profound and sad story of Saudi Arabia's women. If you stop and think that this is a book on the members of the royal family, can you imagine the kind of life of women of lesser degrees? I lived in Saudi Arabia and know that Jean Sasson's story is true. Ms. Sasson's book reveals the cruelty to women that should not happen in this modern age.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Benötigen sie kundenservice? Hier klicken