Sale70 Sale70w Sale70m Hier klicken Sonderangebote Book Spring Store 2017 Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More TDZ HI_PROJECT BundesligaLive Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimited BundesligaLive longss17

Kundenrezensionen

4,2 von 5 Sternen
10
4,2 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:8,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 18. Juni 2009
Super Ende der OldMansWar Reihe.

Wer Last Colony (dritter Teil der Saga) gelesen hat, wird sich daran erinnern, dass ein wichtiger Schritt zum Lösen des Problems einfach geschieht, ohne erklärung wo die Hilfe her kommt.
Diesen Teil erklärt Zoe's Tale nun, wobei die Geschichte kurz vor Last Colony anfängt und kurz vor dem Ende von last Colony aufhört.

Für jeden, der die Saga gelesen hat, ist die Geschichte ein muss, alle anderen sollten bei OldMansWar anfangen und sich darauf freuen, das die Geschichten von Teil zu Teil nur besser werden.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Juni 2009
Full Disclosure:
I prefer my Scalzi books about adults, not adolescents.

Unlike my co-reviewer, I think 'Zoe's Tale' can easily be read as a stand alone. You will probably not entirely get why human soldiers are green, nor will you understand many of the insider comments and remarks, or the relationship between the colony leaders (who are only secondary characters in this book).
But you will get everything that's important to the story - everything else is... well, fluff; nice to have, but not necessary.

In it's core this book is about one thing: Growing up.
There are aliens, and interstellar diplomacy, and fgihting and space battles and whatnot. But the focus remains on 16-year-old Zoe's struggle to make the transition from teenager to adult.

At times I found the 'banter' between the protagonis teenagers just too much, even if it is mostly (mildly) funny. And despite the more than ample descriptions of teenage angst in this book, neither Zoe nor any of her fellow adolescents felt entirely 'real' as characters to me.

Scalzi fans can read this book if they don't mind some nerve-grating teenager antics laid over his, as usual, impeccably plotted and competently told narrative.

Those who don't know Scalzi yet might not want to judge him by this book - Old Man's War offers a much more (sorry for the word play) mature version of his writing.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. Juni 2009
Zunächst eine Warnung: Es macht nicht viel Sinn, dieses Buch zu lesen, wenn man vorher nicht The Last Colony - und davor die beiden anderen Bücher der Serie - gelesen hat.
Denn hier wird dieselbe Geschichte erzählt, wie bei TLC. Nur diesmal aus der Sicht von Zoe, der 16-jährigen Adoptivtochter des Helden.

John Scalzi gelingt es aber durch Witz und Warmherzigkeit sowie ein paar Nebenplots, diese Perspektive so interessant zu gestalten, dass trotzdem keine Langeweile aufkommt sondern TLC wunderbar abgerundet wird.

Wie schon in den Vorgängern kombiniert John Scalzi (sarkastischen) Humor und angemessene Behandlung von ethischen Themen zu einer gelungenen Mischung. Bei 'Zoe's Tale kommt noch eine wunderschöne "Erste Liebe" hinzu. So enthält das Buch auch eines der schönsten Liebesgedichte, die ich je gelesen habe.

Unbedingt empfehlenswert.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. August 2015
I naively bought book number 4 after having (very happily) plowed through books 1-3 of Scalzi's Old Man's War saga while on vacation in Sardinia. I was very disappointed with this one. It largely re-tells what happened in the third book from a teenage perspective. While books 1-3 were full of action (great vacation reading), this one reads like I imagine the diary of 13 year old girl - stories about boys, growing up, etc... not what i expected (i expected the story to move on and more easy-to-digest action stuff), but that's probably my own fault of not having checked content before buying. Maybe this post can help others avoid falling into the same trap.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Januar 2012
When I started reading I was just happy there was something more about the Old Man's War universe and it would be interesting to hear the same story from a different perspective.

But it was more than just another perspective it extends it by tells a new story at the same time - not boring you with a lot of things you already heard. But you kind of see where the Scalzi tries to catch up with history.

At the beginning, the book does not read so fluently I must admit. Seeing the world from the eyes of a sixteen year old girl can be annoying - even if authentic. I kind of got the feeling even Scalzi had to get into writing from this point of view, assuming he even started with the beginning of the book. ;-)

After a while all of this vanishes and you build up a lot of sympathy with Zoe and resolving in a pleasing ending. I am usually disappointed by book's endings - being unspectacular - in this book there are no world ending battles to expect and the end is known anyway but there was kind of a showdown for me.

This book is a valuable part of Old Man's War with place for topics that might have come a bit short in the other books. Thank you John Scalzi.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. August 2014
Nachdem ich von dem ersten Buch der Reihe "Old Man's War" total begeistert war, habe ich natürlich alle nachfolgenden Bände gelesen. Und Zoe's Tale ist das genialste von allen. Obwohl man die eigentliche Story kennt, ist es zu keinem Zeitpunkt langweilig. Es ist - wie alle Bücher der Reihe - voller Action und Humor und dabei sehr intelligent geschrieben.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. November 2013
Hier wird Old Man's War und Last Colonie noch einmal aus der Sicht von Zoe geschildert. Eine spannende und in sich stimmige Geschichte.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. November 2009
After having read Old Man's War and another one of Scalzi's books, I did not want to read another one by Scalzi. The two books were too similar. I bought this one in desperation on an airport before an 8h flight. No good choice. While Old Man's War is full of action, this book has almost no action. The book nearly only contains dialogues. The story is extremely far fetched, because of the hard to believe political setup described. This is likely one reason why the dialogues are long and boring. Scalzi uses them in an attempt to reveal and explain the motivations of the characters as well as the political landscape used as a backdrop of the story. He fails. It all remains rather strange.
11 Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. September 2012
Habe das Buch verschenkt, scheint sehr spannend zu sein - wird gerne gelesen - Beschenkter hat sich sehr gefreut. Autor ist zu empfehlen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. April 2009
You like Science Fiction? Your know Ender Wiggin? You already know The Forever War?... and you love those books? So what are you waiting for??? Buy all Scalzi books you can get! Best newcomer! Highly recommended!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden


Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken