Hier klicken Strandspielzeug reduziertemalbuecher Cloud Drive Photos Fashion Sale Erste Wahl Learn More Slop16 Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,0 von 5 Sternen
13
4,0 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:7,75 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 24. März 2016
Without knowing the first book in the series Old Man's War this one would have been quite good. It is better than the average sci-fi novel and offers some decent moments. But if you did read the first book (which I highly recommend by the way since it's absolutely fantastic!!!), this one is rather disappointing. In fact, I'm not even sure whether it was (entirely) written by John Scalzi. It just feels so different and offers so little humor... something I loved endlessly in the first book!

I recently started reading the third book in the series and can gladly say that it seems to be back on track :) ! You probably wouldn't regret reading the second part but in my opinion it isn't essential either.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. November 2015
If you read the first book, Old Man's War, you know the pretext. This story, as the title indicates, deals with the souless clones we were introduced to in part one. The other point of view, so to say.

Not wanting to spoil it, I can say the characters are mainly new and we get more background on alien races. Pacing is great and you really don't want to put it down, but do take time for some of the ideas to sink in. The psycological atmosphere can get a bit kitsch, yet it is believable for the characters. What projects the book further is the communication between the main parties.

Some may find the book a bit less demanding, but Scalzi is a gifted writer and may well produce a masterpiece. His style is very readable and his characters well fleshed-out. Stories are good, yet I get the feeling he can offer us more. Until then, enjoy the current harvest.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. August 2007
This is the sequel to "old man's war", which I would highly recommend to read as well (not as this is needed to understand the ghost brigades, but as it is maybe even better). I enjoyed reading it a lot.
The main character, Jared is kind of a modern Frankenstein's monster, artifically grown and improved, unquestioning commando, who has to play a very special role in an intergalactic cold (and sometimes not so cold) war. The book is very entertaining and full of suspense, the characters are convincing (although some of the military types tend to become sketchy), and Scalzi has a great way to mesh the psychological, political, and ethical implications of new technologies into a really gripping story.
Scalzi introcudes the main character very nicely, with a lot of love. The same holds true for the main support characters (I learned from the acknowledgements that the author has a little daughter - no wonder the parts related to Zoë, the daughter of Jared's mental father and antagonist, are so intense).
A really good SF novel, I look forward to read the third book in the sequence.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Februar 2013
Ghost Brigades expands upon the Old Man's War universe, following the adventures of Jane Sagan after her departure from the first book (she is, however, not _quite_ the star of this book). It provides more details about the world(s) the stories take place in and explaining several points which some readers complained about with regards to the first book (e.g. "why are all CDF soldiers Americans?"). This book has a slightly slower pace than the first book, but is in no way boring, and it brings up topics which leave doors open for new stories in different threads (e.g. a new form of human engineered to live in hard vacuum, and the in-development interplanetary coalition).

All in all a satisfactory sequel, providing enough new material that it doesn't feel like a re-hash, and it _almost_ keeps up with the snappy pacing of the first book.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. November 2009
Als der Wissenschafter Charles Boutin die Menschheit an gleich drei andere Rassen verrät, macht er einen Fehler: Er läßt eine Kopie seiner Persönlichkeit zurück. Die "Colonial Defense Forces" klonen Boutin und versuchen, diese Persönlichkeit in den Klon zu transferieren, um den Verräter so zu finden und zur Strecke zu bringen. Doch es schlägt fehl und statt eines zweiten Boutin bekommen sie einfach einen Klon mehr. Um auf Nummer sicher zu gehen und um nichts zu verschwenden wird dieser als "Jared Dirac" den "Special Forces" übergeben, den sogenannten "Ghost Brigades", die aus den Klonen verstorbener Rekruten gebildet werden. Jared wird also ein Elitesoldat, stets von den Argusaugen seiner Vorgesetzten Jane Sagan beobachtet. Doch eines Tages scheint Boutins Persönlichkeit doch durchzuschlagen und Jared muß eine Entscheidung treffen. Nicht das einfachste für einen von den Special Forces, der knapp ein Jahr alt ist und nichts kennt als dieses Leben.

"Ghost Brigades" erscheint mir als würdiger Nachfolger von "Old man's war", auch wenn John Perry, der Held des vorigen Buches, hier aussetzt. Statt ihm spielt Jane Sagan hier eine große Rolle und Perry wird gelegentlich erwähnt. Aber die Hauptperson hier ist Jared und gemeinsam mit ihm erfahren wir einiges mehr über die Special Forces. Das alles ist wirklich faszinierend ausgedacht bzw. umgesetzt, wobei die negativen Aspekte einer solchen Existenz nicht ausgeklammert werden. Man erfährt auch, daß Boutin nicht einfach aus kleinlichen Gründen zum Verräter wurde bzw. vielleicht gar keiner ist. Ich gehe davon aus, daß Scalzi diese kritischen Gedanken über die CDF in den folgenden Büchern fortsetzen wird.

Mit der Lebendigkeit der Figuren hatte ich in diesem Buch keine Probleme. Jared ist mir sehr ans Herz gewachsen und Jane fand ich ausgesprochen faszinierend und freue mich, mehr von ihr zu sehen. Aber auch die reinen Nebenfiguren wie ihre Kameraden, die Wissenschafter oder die kommandierenden Offiziere erschienen mir relativ lebendig.
Ich freue mich daher schon auf meinen nächsten Scalzi.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. April 2013
After reading the first book of the series, I was expecting an extremely funny science fiction book without too much philosophical depth. A quick fun read. What I got was a somewhat less funny than I expected (but still funny) science fiction novel with some more depth than the first book.

I liked the book, make no mistake, but it was kind of in the middle between a "serious" science Fiction book like Leviathan Wakes and a quick funny read like the first part of the series. And this whole "being in the middle"-thing does not suit the book.

I still enjoyed it very much, and I still read it within two days (although that might also be due to the relatively small length of the book, compared to the usual 1000+ pages of the fantasy books I mostly read), but it still fell short of the first book.

That being said, I will still keep reading the series, and would still recommend it.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. März 2011
Eine ordentlich gemachte Fortsetzung, allerdings ohne den Schwung des ersten Teils. Was in 'Old Man's War' erfrischend neu und unterhaltsam ist, ist hier schon bekannt. Dass der 'Bösewicht' die Menschheit vor sich selbst retten will, indem er sich mit einem seelenlosen Feind verbündet und die Hälfte der Kolonien menschenfressenden Vogel-Aliens überlassen will, wirkt wenig überzeugend. Es wird viel moralisiert, am Ende darf aber doch kein Zweifel an den Entscheidungen der eigenen, reichlich diktatorisch regierenden Führung bleiben. Die Soldaten sind alle Helden und sterben gerne für die gerechte Sache.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. November 2014
Gekauft und innerhalb 3 Tagen ausgelesen.
Wenn einem der erste Band gefallen hat, kann ich auch diesen empfehlen, obwohl es eine komplett andere Geschichte ist.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Juni 2015
Leider ist der Autor wohl unterwegs auf seinen Humor getreten, oder hat einen neuen schlechten Lektor erwischt. Kann nicht mit dem ersten Band mithalten
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Mai 2016
Wasn't as funny or as much action as the first, and had a lot more technical information. I liked it though. Now to buy the third one!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

8,66 €
7,51 €
7,30 €