Hier klicken Amazon-Fashion Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Jetzt informieren Bestseller 2016 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ Badaccessoires Hier klicken Mehr dazu Fire Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimited Autorip WS HW16

Kundenrezensionen

3,4 von 5 Sternen
275
3,4 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:14,54 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 6. Februar 2012
Die Themen des Buches sind zwar wirklich breitgefächert, es hat aber offenbar den Anspruch, alles einmal ansprechen zu wollen - und es tut das dann meist eher schlecht als recht. Kaum einem tatsächlich wichtigen Thema werden mehr als ein paar Absätze gewidmet, was dazu führt, dass man entweder nur nochmal widerkäut, was man ohnehin schon wusste, oder - wenn man tatsächlich mal über etwas stolpert, dass einem noch nicht geläufig war - nur angeteasert wird und danach mehr Fragen hat, als vorher.
Manchmal wirkt es auch, als hätte die Autoren mit einem signifikant dünneren Buch angefangen und es dann Krampfthaft auf die aktuelle Seitenzahl aufblasen wollen - nur so ist zu erklären, warum einem lang und breit erklärt wird, dass man in der Schwangerschaft tatsächlich leichten Sport treiben darf (wer hätte das gedacht!) und dann weitere 26 bebilderte Seiten lang erklärt, wie man nun wirklich JEDEM geläufige Übungen und Dehnungen durchführt (eine halbe Seite für den Katzenbuckel im Vierfüßlerstand...), gleichzeitig aber die potenziell lebensgefährliche Postpartum Depression mit 2.5 Seiten abstraft.
Übrigens: Das Kapitel über Flaschenfütterung tippe ich hier mal ab: "Choose the bottle, or the combo? Getting started bottle-feeding is usually a lot easier than getting started breastfeeding (especially because formular comes with instructions, but breasts don't). But there's still plenty to learn, and you can read all about it in "What to Expect the First Year."" -- Ende. Ich bin wirklich Stillverfechterin, aber das ist nun wirklich unverschämt, immerhin hat das Buch einen dedizierten Wochenbett-Teil.

Das allein wäre ja noch in Ordnung gewesen, allerdings missfiel mir Stellenweise auch der Ton des Buches; in etwa so wie ein Arzt, der einem auf Fragen grundsätzlich nur kurze "Idiotenantworten" gibt.

Ich habe in der Schwangerschaft voller Inbrunst alles gelesen, was mir in die Finger kam und auch die unvermeidbaren Themenwiederholungen machten mir nichts aus, aber dieses Buch lag sehr schnell in der Ecke. Ich würde es mir definitiv nicht nochmal kaufen.
0Kommentar| 7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Oktober 2013
I didn't want to read a million books during my pregnancy and I found this one easy to understand, very well organized and not too overwhelming. Many common questions are answered and there are sections that are easy to manage.

I have felt completely informed throughout my pregnancy and feel ready for the next step!
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. April 2000
If there is one thing I wish I had been told when I first got pregnant and would share with any newly pregnant woman, it would be not to buy or read this book. This is a book full of "advice" which is designed to make any woman feel inadequate. The recommended "best odds" diet is just that, a diet. It is overly focused on avoding fats and sugars and establsihes ridiculous standards for the amount of food one "should" be eating. For example, the authors' idea of a "special" treat is to allow oneself a bagel once a week. It utilizes scare tactics which can give a new mother the feeling that if she does eat ice cream, white flour, or refined sugar, her precious baby will be forever damaged. The advice on washing fresh fruits and vegetables with dish soap is similarly ridiculous. In addition the advice on avoiding pollutants and other supposed but unproven toxins--preservatives, all cleaning fluids--is incrediably biased toward middle-class, suburban, married women. For example women are advised to exercise outside but to avoid all exhaust fumes; not practical for those of us who live in cities. Likewise we are advised to stay inside during high pollution days, also not practical for most people who have jobs/responsibilities. The same goes for the advice on leaving the cleaning to someone else; what about women who don't have partners and can't afford housekeepers? The worst aspect of the book is that it is written in a tone that suggests that if a woman does not follow the book's dictates that she is a negligent mother-to-be.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. März 2014
This book really helped me through my pregnancy. I preferred it over similar books in German. The only problem with reading this book when pregnant in Germany is that all the formalities are described how they work in the States and not how they work in Germany.
But still this book made pregnancy less scary for me, as it always answered all my questions that came up during pregnancy in regards to my body and the childs development.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. August 2013
I got this book as a present and it's been the only guide in my pregnancy besides magazines & the Internet. At the beginning I was a little disappointed that there isn't much in each week and so much general information instead as I was excited to read more about the development of my baby but with time and a lack of time I found the info sufficient, professional and appreciated also the general info on problems that can occur during those 9 months. I bought also the Taschenbuch version for the First Year now and I believe it will serve me just as well.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Mai 2000
Whatever you do, don't read it cover to cover. You'll be paralyzed with fear. However, it's good when you feel a pain, or have a rash, or anything else that makes you panic, because you can easily find your symptom, and see the benign problems that could be causing it. However, it also mentions several terrifying conditions that have that symptom, so be sure to keep in mind that it mentions many incredibly rare diseases.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Juni 2005
I don't quite understand what makes many of the reviews about this book so aggressive: I found it the best book available in my first pregnancy, and certainly outstanding compared to e.g. many books available in Europe in various languages (I was pregnant in Germany at the time). In particular I thought it medically very informative. I also by and large liked the style in which it was written. It goes without saying that grownups must make their own decisions and I did not for a moment consider following the suggested diet. Concerning the comments on breastfeeding, I think they are as bland as they are because breastfeeding does not work for everyone and there is no reason to be a "breastfeeding fascist" and impose a tremendous guilt-trip on those who can't do it for various reasons (and I say this as someone who breastfed my daughter for 2 years...). In sum, a very good buy for a first time mum and dad.
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. Mai 2012
In praktisch jedem US-Film über Schwangerschaft lesen die Protagonistinnen "What to Expect" - da hat mich natürlich interessiert, ob das Buch tatsächlich so gut ist. Und das ist es!

Von allen Schwangerschafts-Ratgebern, die ich kenne, ist "What to Expect" eindeutig das Beste. Ich nehme es fast jeden Tag zur Hand, da jedes schwangerschaftsrelevante Thema behandelt wird, passend zum jeweiligen Schwangerschaftsmonat. Auch Kapitel über Mehrlingsgeburten, Komplikationen, Ernährung und für den werdenden Papa fehlen nicht.

Im Gegensatz zu vielen anderen Büchern, die oft mehr verunsichern als helfen, informiert "What to Expect" ausführlich, ehrlich und vor allem unaufgeregt. Nicht umsonst nennt es sich "Americas Pregnancy Bible". Ich kann es jeder Schwangeren empfehlen und habe mir kurz vor der Geburt jetzt auch "What to Expect: The first year" zugelegt, von dem ich ebenso begeistert bin. Einziges Manko: alle Bücher der Serie sind auf Englisch, gute Kenntnisse sind also nötig.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. März 2000
I am SO glad that I read this book at a friend's house! It kept me from spending the money on something that would have gone straight into the trash can anyway.
This book is biased toward the "trust your doctor and the hospital blindly, no matter what insane procedures and interventions they want you to have" context, instead of listing and going over the pros and cons of every option, such as hospitals, birth centers, homebirth, pain meds versus natural childbirth, waterbirth, the Leboyer method, etc. Actually, she does mention home and water births briefly, but only to basically say that you shouldn't have either one. She actually says that you shouldn't have a waterbirth because of the risk of the baby drowning. I admit, when I first heard about waterbirth a few years ago, I thought the same thing, but now that I know more about the mechanics of birth and have seen and heard of many a safe, joyous waterbirth, my mind has been changed. The risk of the baby drowning is practically nil, and it's probably a lot safer for a baby to be gently born in a tub of warm water in a dimly-lit room and being handed right to the mother instead of being yanked by the head into bright flourescent lights with a pair of salad tongs and slammed onto a cold, metal scale. I'll bet Ms. Aisenberg didn't even do any research on the safety of waterbirth. It just differed too much from what she considers a "normal" birth, so it must be wrong, in her eyes. She also flat out says that a lay midwife will not give you optimal care, but doesn't even go on to say why she believes that. (Personally, I think a lot of lay midwives have more brains than OB doctors when it comes to the physiology and mechanics of birth. At least they aren't ruled by fear like many OBs are.) She makes you feel like you are selfish if you want to labor walking around instead of hooked up to an EFM for hours, as if you dare to step out of that belt for even a second, your baby will surely shrivel up and die and it'll be all your fault.
And she DOES mention the increasing C-section rate, but get this, she decries people who point out that bad medicine causes high C-section rates, and actually says that it is because of GOOD medicine that more C-sections are performed. Anyone who truly believes that 1 in 4 women cannot give birth the way God intended is insane. Period. In 1970, the C-section rate was 1 in 20, and the infant and maternal mortality rates then aren't much different from the ones now. And countries with LOW C-section rates actually have some of the LOWEST infant and maternal mortality rates in the world. What does that tell you? Obviously, there are very serious risks to having a C-section, but Ms. Aisenberg would rather not cover them. She'd rather just present a C-section as an alternative way for a baby to be delivered, and not as an emergency procedure to be used as a last resort and only when absolutely necessary. (A C-section is MAJOR ABDOMINAL SURGERY, by the way. You wouldn't think so from reading Ms. Aisenberg's presentation of it.)
First-time mothers, please, please, PLEASE leave this book on the shelf. The only reason that everyone buys it is because it has the catchiest title. If you are a first-time mother (like I am hoping to be soon), and you TRULY want to know ALL your options as far as birth goes, such as hospital birth, birth centers, homebirth, waterbirth, doctors versus midwives, pain meds versus natural birth methods, prenatal testing such as ultrasound and amniocentesis as well as the honest truth about the risks and benefits of each choice and procedure, get "The Complete Guide to Pregnancy and Birth" by Sheila Kitzinger. She has great details, and I thought that she was very unbiased. She also talks to you like you are a competent adult capable of making informed decisions. Another good book is Dr. Sears "The Birth Book".
Do yourself a favor. Stay away from this book. Pregnancy is not a disease (for most people), and childbirth is not a big disaster waiting to happen (95% of all births progress normally, IF you don't intervene with them). Enjoy your pregnancy, and the birth of your baby.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. März 1998
"What to Expect" was written for women who are hell-bent on finding a guide for "Doing Pregnancy Right." You know those women. They're also the ones that show up at exercise class with matching tights and leotards and extra weights around their ankles. They'll be the women who feed their children exactly 6 grams of protein and 9 grams of carbohydrates daily because that's what "What To Expect in the First Year" tells them to do. I've tried, but I'm just not one of those women. I found "What To Expect" generally helpful in the sense that it covered basic areas of interest and concern, but overall this book was just too rigid for me. It was also too repetitive...the sections that list what will happen in your monthly medical check-ups regurgitated the same 8 points over and over again. And in the chapter for Month 9 they're STILL telling you to abstain from bread, sugar and anything else you might take pleasure from eating...thanks for the reminder!! I _am_ a devoted fan of Pregnancy Week-by-Week by MacDougal. The content is relevant and to the point, the photos are reassuring (and much more realistic than that drawing of a woman in her granny coat dreaming away in a rocking chair), and you're spared the "author knows best" tone.

I also enjoy the Girlfriends Guide to Pregnancy by Vicki Iovine. It's not as practical as "Pregnancy Week-by-Week" but there's a great dose of reality and humor in the book, which is a welcome contrast to "What to Expect."

Good luck with your pregnancy!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden