find Hier klicken Sonderangebote PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ Hier klicken HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Storyteller AmazonMusicUnlimited AmazonMusicUnlimited Fußball longSSs17



Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 3. Oktober 2005
I love many of Grisham's books. "A time to kill", "The Rainmaker", "The Runaway Jury" and the "Street Lawyer" are among my most favorite books and are certainly a must for everybody who likes fast paced law thrillers and brilliant dialogues in court rooms.
However, in his newer books Grisham can unfortunately not keep up with his earlier work. "The Broker" is another example which starts out with a promising setup, but then quickly drifts off and becomes a barely average story about a guy who is on the run and tries to hide from a number of evil, but stupid intelligence agents.
In the author's note Grisham writes: "My background is law, certainly not satellites or espionage". I think that's exactly the point. Maybe Grisham should simply return to his roots and write about the things he understands, instead of boring us with medium quality CIA stories.
0Kommentar| 12 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Februar 2005
Yes, finally Grisham is back as one of the most entertaining thriller writers. I skipped " Christmas " and " The Bleachers " because I had regretted buying quite a few of his previous novels, but thought I might give him another chance with this one. And was unexpectedly but pleasantly surprised!
" The Broker " is the story of a former Washington lobbyist who took his luck too far and gambled too high trying to sell highly classified information to several countries at the same time. When he notices he's up the creek without a paddle, he decides he'd rather spend a few years in an American jail than getting killed out in the streets. Alas, an outgoing president grants him an 11 o'clock pardon and he finds himself in Bologna, Italy, with a new identity and under close CIA observation. He thinks he's a free man but soon it dawns on him that he's just bait for a number of intelligence agencies who by trying to kill him might show that they are connected to the secrets that he tried to sell. And on it goes.
This is not exactly a legal thriller, more like something by Robert Ludlum. Grisham spends a lot of time trying to describe an American's attempts to understand - or even adapt to - the ways of life in " OLD " Europe. This is interesting, informative
( you get a free Italian language lesson ) and occasionally quite funny. And I have never known Grisham for his sense of humour, so far.
Anyway, if you thought Grisham was a " has-been ", you might want to give him another try.
0Kommentar| 9 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Mai 2005
There was a time long ago when Grisham was the master of storytelling. I was absolutely spellbound by "Time to Kill" and I loved "The Rainmaker". The concept of the little guy versus the establishment was one I loved. Then after a promising start came the stinkers ("Painted House" being the worst offender) and I was desperately hoping for a storming return by Grisham. But after reading the Broker, I am once again bitterly disappointed. How can Grisham take a great story idea and turn it into one big mess?
The start was quite promising but from the moment Backman arrives in Italy, the story instantly self-destructs. It becomes one big promotional puff-piece about tourism in Italy, Italian food and the Italian language. Characters such as Luigi are wooden and one-dimensional, sub-plots start and then quickly fizzle out and the bad guys are portrayed as stupid clowns. You are constantly waiting for the plot to suddenly take off and when it doesn't, you constantly get frustrated and annoyed. You end up skipping pages when the dialogue gets boring and rambling. Then it's the end - Grisham doesn't really end the story in the best way and you are wondering if the last 5 pages got accidently chopped off at the book printing factory.
Grisham does inject some humour at the start when the incumbent president loses every state in the election with the exception of Alaska. The winner decides he wants Alaska too and he challenges the election result to get the 3 remaining electoral votes! I thought that was amusing. But from chapter 2, I was extremely bored and there was no rescuing me.
People buy Grisham's books because they feel obligated to as a reader. It's like Jack Higgins' books - you feel you're missing out on something until you've read the book. Then when you finally read it, you wonder why you bothered because it was a load of rubbish. Grisham's appeal will probably fade and finally disappear. I mean, how many "greedy lawyers" stories & bad novels can he write?
To sum up, not a great book. Read by all means but don't expect a great story. This book would fall into the "read it then chuck it" category.
0Kommentar| 11 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. März 2006
When Washington power broker Joel Backman gets a presidential pardon after serving six years of his twenty-year sentence in federal prison for compromising national security, he is given a new identity and sent to Italy. He undergoes an intensive language and culture training program to integrate him into Italian life and hide him from danger... at least that's what he's told. What he doesn't know is that he has been set up by the CIA as a target for assassination in order to determine which foreign agency he tried to sell secrets to.
Joel Backman might be a former lawyer, but this is no legal thriller. There are no courtroom scenes, crime investigations, or legal maneuvers. It borders more on an espionage thriller, although the cloak-and-dagger action is minimal. The book consists mostly of Backman's struggles to keep a low profile in a foreign country and outfox his nameless pursuers. There is some amusing humor at the start of the book as the completely inept president, in his last hours in office, is bullied by the CIA into pardoning Backman. But that rapidly falls by the wayside as Backman goes into hiding. I found that the best part of the book was its delightful travel narrative, with Backman playing tourist and absorbing the local color of Treviso, Bologna, and other Italian cities. I imagined myself sitting with Backman in the cafes, drinking espresso and dining on fantastic local cuisine, learning Italian, and wandering the arched portico-covered sidewalks while absorbing the scenic panoramas of Bologna.
Although the first half of the book was fairly suspenseful, the ending was very disappointing. It seems that Grisham grew weary of Backman's predicament and decided to tie up the loose ends far too tidily. He brought the story abruptly to an unrealistic and naive conclusion. This is not one of Grisham's best efforts, but if you enjoy travelogues and want to practice your Italian 101, you might consider that the book's redeeming quality. You might also check out Giorgio Kostantinos--The Quest, another great thriller.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Januar 2006
So richtig begeistert haben mich in der letzten zeit nur die Bücher "A painted house" und "Skipping Christmas" von John Grisham, einfach, weil er sich hier mal auch von seinem sicheren Pfad herunterwagte und Themen anschnitt, die er nicht schon in seinen 10-20 Bestsellern breitgewalzt hatte.
Deshalb war ich auch vom neuen "The Broker" angenehm überrascht, wieder den Gerichtssaal vermieden und stattdessen ein spannendes Buch, das eher im Spionage-/Geheimdienstmilieu spielt. Sehr schön auch die Beschreibungen von Bologna, bei denen schon durchscheint, dass sich Grisham anscheinend in die Stadt verliebt hat (was er im Klappentext auch offen zugibt). also, ich würd sagen, sehr gelungener Titel, schreiben kann der Kerl sowieso!
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. März 2006
Ich habe die meisten Grisham-Bücher gelesen und fand sie immer eine sehr angemehme und kurzweilige Lektüre. "Der Broker" ist dagegen eine einzige Enttäuschung: Die Hälfte des Buches beschreibt, wie die Hauptfigur italienisch lernt, und wie schwierig er es findet, auf Italienisch Essen zu bestellen, Bahntickets zu kaufen oder was auch immer. Auch der Plot ist nicht sonderlich überzeugend, und die Details sind z.T. beschämend schlecht recherchiert (seit wann gibt es nonstop Lufthansa-Flüge von Mailand nach Washington? wieso dauert eine Taxifahrt von Zug nach Zürich 2 Stunden? Warum werden Hotelzimmer in der Schweiz in Euro abgerechnet und sind spottbillig?)
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Januar 2006
Ich habe dieses Buch in Bestzeit verschlungen, es hat mich regelrecht "hineingezogen". Es ist - was das Englische angeht - einfach geschrieben, so dass man auch mit mittelmässigen Englischkenntnissen nur wenige Wörter nachzuschlagen braucht. Die Story ist aber absolut spannend und gut geschrieben - wirklich zu empfehlen!
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Januar 2006
zu erst muss man auf jeden fall sagen, dass sich das buch absolut flüssig und ohne große probleme lesen lässt.
ich persönlich war erstaunt, wie schnell ich am ende des buches angelangt war und auch keinerlei probleme mit dem englisch hatte.
die story (idde) des buches finde ich sehr interessant und vielversprechend, leider habe ich während des lesens ein wenig die spannung vermisst. sicherlich gibt es die ein oder andere situation, in der man nicht genau weiß was passiert, aber das ist leider viel zu selten der fall.
gerade die zeit in bologna und den anderen italienischen städten zieht sich sehr, sehr in die länge ohne das dort wirklich "action" ist..
gerade das ende des buches ist wiederum sehr interessant und vor allem spannend. dieser teil kommt meiner meinung nach deutlich zu kurz.
nichtsdestotrotz lesenswert und vor allem für einen fairen preis.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. Oktober 2006
Nachdem einige der letzten Grisham-Bücher eher langweilige Südstaatenbetrachtungen waren (Der Richter, Die Liste), ist "The Broker" endlich wieder ein spannender Thriller.

Das Buch fesselt einen ziemlich schnell, da man schon gerne wissen möchte, wie es mit dem Protagonisten weiter geht. Das beste an dem Buch ist, dass der Sympathieträger eigentlich ein "Drecksack" ist, der eigentlich seine gerechte Strafe bekommen sollte. Da es aber auf der Welt Menschen gibt, die noch "dreckiger" sind, wird er einem nach und nach sympathischer. ;)

Ich kann das Buch nur jedem Grisham-Fan empfehlen, der auf die "Frühwerke" des Autors steht. Denn hier zeigt sich mal wieder, dass Grisham einfahc gute Geschichten schreibt, die endlich auch wieder spannend sind. :)
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Januar 2006
Ein in der Tat angenehm zu lesendes Buch, nur: Wo bleibt die spannungsgeladene Story, die uns bislang die Grisham-Bücher nicht aus der Hand legen ließ, bis die Bösen gefaßt waren? Das Buch gleicht dem Reisebericht eines interessierten Amerikaners (John himself), der mit der Handlung einen Rahmen schaffen möchte für die Bekundung seiner Zuneigung für die Italien. Nicht schlecht, aber auch nicht das, was ich erwartet habe.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

5,99 €
6,99 €

Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken