flip flip Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Jetzt informieren Xmas Shop 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle MusicUnlimited AmazonMusicUnlimited BundesligaLive longss17



am 27. April 2017
We learn from experience. We like to share our ideas in order to warn others, to teach them thinking differently. That is what Eric Ries an I have in common. I had first Start-Up experiences hands on in 1994 to 1996 and I rode my book about 10 years later because I saw the same mistakes occur over the years on so many start-ups. Eric is the next generation but he published his books also 10 years after his first start-up experience. This generation learned faster because the pace of innovation grew by the time.

now back to the book:
He gives us useful insights from his experiences that may teach you lessons on how to manage start ups and how to evaluate results different from standard business.

I found interesting his basic ideas about
- testing assumptions about customers behavior using minimal viable products (I call this market readiness check)
- product/market fit and growth engines that work in specific customer groups
- and how he tied it together giving good advice
This book helps to understand that the management of start-ups requires to think differently. From management perspective and from investor's point of view.

This book is piece of mind of an entrepreneur who wants to share his experience and insights, it is not a textbook on Management. But it might serve the same purpose with lots of success.
May be this kind of books teaches us better to learn from experience and stories told instead of reading text books, where we find engineered management techniques which result finally in "theatre KPIs" how Rice calls it.

His ultimate sentence to which I agree fully is where he talks about the attitude that the "lean start up" approach teaches:
"We would respond to failure and setbacks with honesty and learning, not with recrimination and blame."
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Juni 2017
One of the greatest books I’ve read. He is comparing his company and his mistakes with other companies and their mistakes. He explains you what you could do better and how to do it. He explains to you many different strategies and tricks which are very very helpful on running a business.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Mai 2017
Agil, agil, agil. Lernen, lernen, lernen. Das fasst es eigentlich zusammen. Finde den Ansatz extrem spannend und lehrreich. Wie das Cover schon sagt - der Autor gibt konkrete Methodiken mit für einen Bereich der vorher mehr Kunst als Wissenschaft war.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Oktober 2017
Dieses Buch sollte jeder lesen, der in den kommenden Jahren mit den Veränderungen Schritt halten will. Dieses Buch ist für mich der absolute Game Changer. 80% der anderen Literatur über startups kommen nicht entfernt an dieses Buch heran
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. März 2017
Very informative book and I can recommend to everybody, who's interested in startups. I'd also recommend it to software engineers willing to work at startups.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. August 2017
Very clear instructions with comprehensive illustrations and example. To be recommended for everybody who is interested into innovation management or entrepreneurial environment
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. August 2017
Every chapter is spot on. The book is worth a hundred books and fun to read. Beware though, you will increase your reading list again after reading this book ;)
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. Mai 2017
It's the first book you should read if you're into startups.
It's very easy to read,and there are a lot of examples.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. November 2011
"Now Moses wrote down the starting points of their journeys at the command of the LORD." - Numbers 33:2 (NKJV)

Having taught entrepreneurs for many years and studied many of the most successful ones, I am always struck by how differences in focus on learning seem to correlate with achieving more or less success. Those who believe that they just need to implement their business plan usually flop. Those, by contrast, who assume they don't know the "right" answer . . .but desperately want to find out . . . seem to do quite well.

My favorite saying about entrepreneurs is that their first business model is their worst one. Fail quickly, often, and inexpensively in seeking a better business model, and you will eventually find a profitable business model and offerings.

While this book covers lean operations as well as business model and offering development, I thought that its main value comes in the example of how a Web-based business should measure its performance and monitor how well potential improvements work out. If you have such a business, the book's contents are directly applicable by you.

If you want to apply the book's lessons to a different kind of business, you'll find the information here to be more difficult to apply.

I believe that this book will be most helpful to those who haven't tried to start a business before and are accustomed to making incremental improvements in existing, successful businesses.

If you already understand the importance of measuring performance in creating trial, turning trial into regular purchases, and regular purchases into loyalty to a product or service, you will probably wonder what all the fuss is about. In that regard, pay attention to Mr. Ries' ideas about how minimal an offering you can put together to test.

The book's biggest drawback is that Mr. Ries doesn't give very many clues about what to test if the current program isn't working. As such, his approach lacks enough depth to totally guide a startup to success.
0Kommentar| 28 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Juli 2014
Eric Ries, the founder of social network IMVU, promises to present a method, how to use lean principles inStart-Up-Companies, to increase their success rate.

CONTENT:
Keep Your fixed costs low via a short value chain plus a short Operating Cash Cycle, while You explore customer preferences with an iterative approach, based upon agile SCRUM-Methods, that ships a 'minimum viable product' asap, while you analyse customer responses with the cybernetic cycle listet below. The iterative approach uses the following stages:
(1) Define basic assumptions on customer preferences ( "Leaps of faith" )
(2) Define a set of system-dynamics key figures ( click-visitors, activation rate, viral rate, churn rate )
(3) Win customers buying GoogleAd clicks, that lead via the viral coeffcient to new customers, while you loose some customers due to a churn rate.
(4) Analyse sales with a cohort analysis, that uses key figures from step (2) ( activation rate, viral rate...)
(5) If Your findings from (4) contradict Your assumptions from (1); perform a split test, that presents 2 different offers to two similar customer groups
(6) Depending on split test results You either "Persevere" with Your current approach or You "Pivot" changing Your basic assumptions from (1). E.G: Change Your product, Your positioning or Your advertising.

That summarizes the entire book, which is extremely poorly structured, full of unconcise expressions, bragging, moralizing, life philosopy and salesperson speak. There is very little hands-on-advice such as "Never give discounts" or "prefer kickstarter over hedge funds" etc. The few real contents get lost in a suffocating babble. I prefer " Guillebeau - The 100 $ Start-Up"
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden