Hier klicken Amazon-Fashion Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Book Spring Store 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Mehr dazu Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic WS HW16

Kundenrezensionen

4,2 von 5 Sternen
46
4,2 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:6,79 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

Sachlich und emotionslos berichtet uns die einunddreißigjährige Erzählerin des Romans Kathy H. von ihrer scheinbar idyllischen Kindheit in Hailsham, einer Art Internat. Doch ganz langsam wird dem Leser bewusst, dass sich hinter der Beschreibung einer sorglosen Kindheit ein grausames Geheimnis verbirgt, welches charakteristisch für eine schöne, neue Welt ist, die wir hoffentlich nie erleben werden.
Schon früh wird der Leser mit Begriffen wie "carer", "donor", und "completed" konfrontiert. Doch offensichtlich scheint dieses Vokabular so selbstverständlich zu sein, dass Kathy dieses in ihrem Bericht nicht erklärt. Sie konzentriert sich auf die Darstellung ihrer langen und innigen Freundschaft mit Tommy und Ruth auf Hailsham und in den Jahren danach. Durch die genaue Beschreibung dieser Beziehung zwischen den drei Personen schockiert das grausige Ende, dessen sich alle von Anfang an bewusst sind und es voll und ganz akzeptiert haben, um so mehr.
Auch wenn es wie eine billige Floskel klingt; in "Never let me go" geht es um nichts anderes als die Frage, was uns Menschen eigentlich zu Menschen macht. Mehr kann hier nicht verraten werden, da sonst zu viel von der Geschichte vorweggenommen werden würde. Unbedingt lesen!! Ein Meisterwerk, was wohl noch in Jahren faszinieren wird, wenn es bis dahin nicht von der Realität eingeholt worden ist.
0Kommentar| 37 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Mai 2006
Aims to make us question the ethics of science even though the author never directly raises the topic. The narrator of Never Let Me Go is Kathy H., a woman who introduces herself as a "carer" mere months away from becoming a "donor," as though we should know what these terms mean. This nearness to ending one stage of her life to entering another causes her to reminisce about Hailsham, the school in the English countryside where she grew up with her two closest friends, Tommy D. and Ruth. The three form an unlikely trio: Ruth is headstrong and imaginative; Tommy has an uncontrollable temper; and Kathy is steady and observant in the subtleties of human behavior. It is this last quality belonging to Kathy H. that sets the tone of the novel. Everything is precisely told in an even, matter-of-fact voice that never questions the strange terminology and conversations that alert the reader to something more grave lurking under what seems, on the surface, to be an ordinary story about three childhood friends. As the three grow up, they begin to face moments more important than the minor disagreements of childhood.

Ishiguro's richly textured description of the relationship among the three supplies all the details without confronting the larger issues. As Kathy tells us, the guardians at Hailsham both tell and not tell the students the truth about Hailsham and their lives--exactly what Ishiguro does to the reader. The truth is doled out in increments, over the course of the entire novel, requiring the reader to understand what is implied as much as what is told. The frightening side to all this is that the characters never question the course of their lives. No one runs, or questions why they are the ones to make the ultimate sacrifice. One of the most poignant moments comes near the end when Kathy says, "Why should we not have souls?" By this point, it has been apparent to the reader that Kathy, Tommy, and Ruth are human in every sense of the word, with talents and intelligence and foibles and complex emotions, and yet are regarded as both freaks and disposables by the "normals." For the reader, these characters are anything but expendable.

Ishiguro's literary style of examining small moments might disappoint readers who expect a strong plot. Although the premise may belong to science fiction, this novel is more concerned with characterization and theme. Also try Giorgio Kostantinos-The Quest, you'll be immediately swept into this alternate world where the past is also the future. Dank
0Kommentar| 30 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. März 2006
This isn't a book about moral principles or about whether or not we should have such principles.
It is rather about how we are losing or may well have lost already the ability to self determine our lives. Is the escape from an unpleasant status quo of one's life for us as beyond of all imaginable options as it is for Kathy, Ruth and Tommy?
Can we manage to maintain a human, independent and critical way of thinking and reflecting our actions? Do we have a chance to continue deciding for ourselves what is right and what is wrong by using our intelligence instead of following unquestioned rules established by the ones who only seek to increase their power?
"Never let me go" brings back these questions to the readers mind through an overwhelming story of love, friendship, youth, courage, fragility and helplessness.
11 Kommentar| 19 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. Mai 2006
This book is milestone in literature as books like Orwell's 1984, Huxley's Brave New World or Atwood's Handmaid's Tale are. Like other reviewers I am not going to spoil the book by describing its story. Be assured: It is a good one.

Ishiguro knows how to use his words and how to deliver beautiful descriptions. While reading you get the impression that something is wrong in this small perfect world and when you find out what is wrong, it does not hit you, but comes gradually. Too gradually to shock you enough. But continuing reading you will learn to understand what the central characters fail to see, because they would be unable to deal with the consequences of knowing.

This is a disturbing book, because it fails to shock the reader at any point. You wait and wait and wait for the characters to see the scandal and to fight it. But who will fight a small and perfect world?
0Kommentar| 13 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. März 2006
NEVER LET ME GO stands out as one of the most remarkable books I have ever read. It is difficult to say whether this book is sci-fi or plain fiction. Whatever, it is unique in the sense that it would satisfies any high-minded reader who is versed with present day developments and what could happen in the future. The lesson learnt is that the meaning of life is best achieved when we find joy, joy which comes from the soul. That joy from the soul surpasses blind faith, unsubstantiated materialism and an idealistic purpose of life that is based on discrimination. Ishiguro successfully weaved this story through characters that we can easily relate to, characters who in their pathetic states mirror man at the height of his false sense of achievement. In its portrayal of the futility of life, I got reminded of DISCIPLES OF FORTUNE, FRANKENSTEIN, UNION MOUJIKUN, CONSOLED. This is a recommended read for a deep-thinking person.
0Kommentar| 16 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. Januar 2017
I just love this book. The whole plot is just so exciting and unpredictable. Also I just love the style in which this book is written. I also read Kazuo Ishiguro's The remains of the day, which is completely different (and which unfortunately I didn't like a bit). I can recommend this book to everyone, also people who usually do not read science fiction will really enjoy this story!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. April 2006
I had expected something else. How could I not. I had never even thought about the theme in this book. But what I got was 10 times better than anything I could have been expecting. There is no other book even close to being like this.

The story is unique but so are the people in it. Kazuo doesn't force you to feel something about them. They are not packed with good or bad sides. He writes them honest and let you make up your own mind. I am impressed about the way he observes the people in this book. I cannot wait to read more from him. If this is the standard then it is good.

I gave the book to my sister right after I was done with it and she called it the book of the decade. So get it. It is worth every cent and much more.
0Kommentar| 12 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Februar 2014
As a love story, "Never Let Me Go" falls short with a worn-out retelling of the old teen love triangle. The secondary plot, which involves an alternate reality where cloning is commonplace, is gripping. (That is not a spoiler, supposedly, because the foreword already gives it away.) In fact, the concept of the novel is so intriguing that I suffered through almost 300 pages of the most monotone, insipid narrative that I have ever read. "Never Let Me Go" would have made a much better novella than a full novel, as not much goes on between the beginning and the end. The relationships between the characters progress in an entirely predictable manner. The narrative promises secrets to be revealed which, for the most part, are only revealed in the last few pages.

In a word: boring. I don't aspire to be a writer, but I found myself wishing that I had thought of the idea first (or, indeed, another author) because it would have been so easy to write the story in a more interesting way.

Finally, as this edition was apparently intended for German students, there is an appendix at the end which includes a FAQ on organ donation and a description of how cloning works. The FAQ and the description tells you in a very biased manner not to be worried because organ donation is almost always safe, states that many people in Germany die because there are not enough organ donors, and cloning humans will never work. Those who have read the novel hopefully will find the appendix extremely ironic.
11 Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Januar 2015
When you start to read "Never Let Me Go", you instantly have this feeling that there's something wrong. Words like "carer", "donator", or "completion" are introduced, but without giving you much information about what is going on and what they really mean to the people in this book. This feeling about something being wrong accompanies you throughout the story, and bit by bit disturbing details are being revealed. The ending is not as shocking as I thought it would be (at some point it was predictable), but it definitely leaves you with an uncomfortable feeling.

I really liked how the story was told, it felt so real… this all could have happened this way… and could possibly be happening like that in the future. The author knows how to create suspense, but he couldn't always uphold it. Some parts of the book were a bit tedious. But all in all, a very good book and an unsettling story which, well, will probably never let you go again!

(I watched the film a week after I've finished the book, and I really liked it! The film managed to convey some of the atmosphere I missed in the book, as it is written in a somewhat factual and levelheaded way. But on the other hand, I think that some important details were left out in the film.)
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. April 2007
Ich warne vor einem Spoiler!!

Wenn man den Namen "Ishiguro" hört, denkt man an "Remains of the Day". Ich habe nach dem Lesen von "Never Let Me Go" das Gefühl, man sollte lieber an dieses Buch denken - es ist ohne jeden Zweifel Ishiguros Meisterwerk, und ich würde es jedem empfehlen. Der Autor arbeitet über kleinste Andeutungen und Enthüllungen, und abgesehen von einer kleinen Szene ist der Leser auf sich allein gestellt. Ich selbst habe lange gebraucht, bis ich mir wirklich eingestanden habe, auf welche grausamen Wahrheiten Ishiguro anspielt. In jedem Fall ist dieses Buch ein ganz starkes Argument gegen die Klonforschung.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden