Fashion Sale Hier klicken reduziertemalbuecher Cloud Drive Photos Erste Wahl Learn More HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

3,9 von 5 Sternen
470
3,9 von 5 Sternen
Format: Audio CD|Ändern
Preis:16,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 4. Dezember 2001
In gewohnt satirischer Erzählweise beschreibt Bryson seine Expedition über den AppalachenTrail. Obwohl er Dinge wie Massentourismus, Naturzerstörung und American Way of Life kritisiert, wirkt das Buch nie langweilig, sondern unterhält den Leser mit unzähligen lustigen Episoden der Reise. Prädikat äußerst empfehlenswert.
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. März 2016
Das Buch ist vor allem auf den ersten zweihundert Seiten ganz unterhaltsam. Bill Bryson bestimmt durch seine reiche Wortwahl und eine schier unglaubliche Vermittlung von Hintergrundwissen. Auch liebe ich seine Selbstironie. Aber irgendwann läuft es sich tot.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Juli 2000
Typically, I read a lot of fiction. I'm an escapist, I guess. I read to get away from the world we are all here to occcupy, and often I find that the best escape is into a fictonal land where nothing is as it seems, or even plausable.
I took a chance on this book on a friends recomendation, and I was not dissapointed. Knowing my penchant for escapism, he steered me directly to this often hilarious account of a middle age writer and his drunk hippy college buddy hiking the appalchian trail. Two more mismached fellows I could not imagine.
This book details a hysterical tale of survivial that leaves you half wanting to call up that old college friend that you haven't seen in 10 years and pack your bags and hit the trail, and half glad to continue to lead your sedintary life writing book reviews on some web site.
The other great positive that this book offers is it's interesting history lessons. I don't think I've learned as much about american history since 10th grade social studies! Bryson has a little Charles Kuralt going on (well, maybe without the love affairs!) as he leaves the trail and gives frank, raucous descriptions of the little towns he finds food and shelter in along the way.
I highly recommend this book to anyone with a good sense of humor, a free weekend (it's a quick read) and an escapist personality.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Dezember 2014
Actually this book was really nicely written and easy to read. Some parts were just too romantic for my opinion and the nature that he described sounded a bit too made up. Although I can imagine that it looked like how the author described the places, he used too romantic speech and made it in the end sound like kitsch. Anyway, most of the book is really funny. Though, there are too many side informations and boring things that do disturb the reading flow.
That's why I think it is okay and nice to read.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. Juli 2013
What's not to like about that?!? Bryson is a master at writing about his life experiences with candor and gut-busting humor. I have never been disappointed by any of his books and this one is no exception. If you like the great outdoors or always wished to go on a loooooooong walk, then this book is for you!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. Februar 2016
Im Dezember gelesen, als ich mit einer Bronchitis im Bett lag. Wunderbares, vielseitiges, sprachlich einfach wunderschönes Englisch und herzerfrischender Humor. Bryson nimmt alle und alles aufs Korn, und zu allererst sich selbst. Köstliche Beschreibung amerikanischer Sitten, des National Park Forest Service, der eigenen beklagenswerten Kondition, ergänzt durch gut recherchierte Passagen über Geschichte und Umgebung des Trails. Sehr erfrischend. Und: niemals, niemals, niemals werde ich diesen Appalachian Trail gehen... ;-)
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. März 2011
jeden mann packt irgendwann die wanderlust. so auch bryson, der sich vornimmt, den appalachian trail zu begehen. dass es dort bären gibt, und dass er sich mit seinem verrückten freund katz auf die reise macht, erschwert den genuss der wanderung. auch das packen und vorbereiten ist eine prozedur, die dem leser schon tränen in die augen treibt, weil man einfach lachen muss.
mit unglaublich feinem humor und erlesener wortwahl beschreibt bryson die kleinen und größeren abenteuer, die sich den wanderern in den weg stellen.
ein buch, bei dem man so laut lacht, dass sich anwesende verwundert umdrehen.
das hörbuch dazu ist auch absolut empfehlenswert - die stimme der wanderkollegin, die die beiden zum wahnsinn treibt ist ein running gag.
"BIIIIG MISTAKE!" ist bei uns zu hause schon ein geflügeltes wort.
bill bryson ist eigentlich - für mich - immer eine garantie für lesegenuss abseits von tranigen romanzen oder knallharten krimis.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Juli 2015
This book was written in the style of John McPhee and even quoting him once in a while. It includes facts and people like "The Perfect Storm." Then Bill Bryson adds first hand personal experiences. You can identify with his comments that do not have to be funny to be familiar.

This book recounts Bill Bryson's experiences on the Appalachian Trail. The dry facts can be picked up through other material. However the personal experiences are just that, personal. If you have never been hiking then you still get a feel for what you have missed. However if you have hiked then you can really appreciate the people he met, and circumstances that he went through. There are hikers and then there are hikers. In the Boy Scouts you are usually in a well-organized group, in the military you have to be more cautious of objects and terrain, Sierra Club and Outward Bound have their unique points of view. So if his experience is different, it still makes for fun reading.

I even liked the sections on selecting and using the equipment. I am afraid if I had met Bill Bryson on the trail; I would have been one of those "equipment comparing" people.

Anyway do not expect an epic and you will enjoy the time you spend reading this book. Oh, and it does make me want to go hiking.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Juni 2003
This book was written in the style of John McPhee and even quoting him once in a while. It includes facts and people like "The Perfect Storm." Then Bill Bryson adds first hand personal experiences. You can identify with his comments that do not have to be funny to be familiar.
This book recounts Bill Bryson's experiences on the Appalachian Trail. The dry facts can be picked up through other material. However the personal experiences are just that, personal. If you have never been hiking then you still get a feel for what you have missed. However if you have hiked then you can really appreciate the people he met, and circumstances that he went through. There are hikers and then there are hikers. In the Boy Scouts you are usually in a well-organized group, in the military you have to be more cautious of objects and terrain, Sierra Club and Outward Bound have their unique points of view. So if his experience is different, it still makes for fun reading.
I even liked the sections on selecting and using the equipment. I am afraid if I had met Bill Bryson on the trail; I would have been one of those "equipment comparing" people.
Anyway do not expect an epic and you will enjoy the time you spend reading this book. Oh, and it does make me want to go hiking.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Oktober 2014
If you don't know Bill Bryson yet, read all his books, no matter where you start!
For years, I confess, I resisted this particular one, because I thought a walk in
the woods, how entertaining can that be? But now I've finally read it, and yes, it
is quite as good and hilarious as BB's other books! Wish I could write like that!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden