flip flip Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Xmas Shop 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle MusicUnlimited AmazonMusicUnlimited BundesligaLive wint17

Kundenrezensionen

4,2 von 5 Sternen
34
4,2 von 5 Sternen
The Invisible Man (Signet Classics)
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:4,07 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime


am 11. August 2017
Der Roman von H:G: Wells "Der Unsichtbare" ein Klassiker aus dem Jahr 1897, der nicht nur als Comic sondern zuvor auch als Verfilmung aufsehen erregte. Wells entwickelte dabei eine Vermengung von Horror und Science Fiction.
Der jungen Wissenschaftler Dr. Jack Griffin forscht an einem Serum, dass ihn unsichtbar machen soll. Er beginnt mit dem Selbstversuchen der sein Leben verändern wird.
Mehr soll nicht verraten werden.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. Januar 2000
I first read this in the 8th grade & have read countless times since then. The Invisible Man has to kill just to show how powerful he is. Of course, he's desperate to show being invisible is a worthy endeavor, because he can't figure out how to become visible again. Like his contemporary Verne, Wells was a visionary. Too many people were willing to use technology to the disadvantage of others. Maybe there's an "Invisible Man" analogy in the Stealth bomber: just because you can't see it doesn't mean it can't crash. This is Gothic horror after the Industrial Age: here, the character Griffin is Dr. Frankenstein AND the monster! A good, carefully written story.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Juli 2000
This is a very good book, and as another reviewer has stated, Wells gets the most out of his words, an astonishing amount of detail and plot is put into what is really a rather short story. One of the great things about this book is that Wells takes a seemingly impossible task (making humans invisible) and makes it seem possible. After we find out a lot about Griffin we learn about his adventures and difficulties as the invisible man. The main themes of the book seem to be the horrors that would abound if a major discovery was found by an evil person before a person who would use it for good causes. Also, it is a definite attack on egos and narcissism, as most of Griffin's terrible acts were spurred on by his needs and his disregard for others.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. Dezember 1999
The I.M.by H.G.Wells isn't a standar sci/fihorror book.He wrote in a different era of time,and used a different style that what youmigth noexpect. This book has benn wrote in the 18's,for this time wells does a masterful job by presenting each characters with their own style.The story begins on England.The I.M.man appears in a small village in England,called Iping.The I.M.present himself wearing bandages around all of his features to hide his invisibility.After he stays at a local inn,the I.M.begins to star his experiments all over againg,trying to found the way back to be visible.The people of the town were curius about what could be the reason,that griffin wears all those bandages.Mrs.hall who rented a room to griffin begins to senn odd situacions where him was envolp.Soon the man's secret us uncovered by the suspicious towns peolpe After a wild getaway sequencce,the I.M.must escape the angry people of iping.This novel take more atencion when the i.m.met his oldfriend dr.kemp After he told kemp how he got invisible heasked for help.Kemp promes to help him and try to found the way back to be invisible.But,kemp betrayed griffin for his own good,because he realize that griffin is a dangerous person who has benn killed several persons.finnaly,one element that caught my my attention was care should be taken so that valuable informationshouldn't be used for evil.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Dezember 1999
This Penguin Classics audiobook is actually a three-hour, two cassette UNabridged presentation of Wells' novel, despite Amazon's listing of it as "abridged".
Paul Shelly gives an excellent reading. His narration is eloquent and melodious, and his remarkable voice talent captures the individual essence and quirks of each character. This rendition preserves every bit of the suspense and drama of Wells' classic moral tale of science without scruples, and it bears up well under repeated listening. I keep my copy in the car, and at times it has left me reluctant to arrive at my destination. Very highly recommended.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. September 2013
I grew up on all the invisible man movies and still think of him as Claude Rains. I was surprised in the similarities and differences the book has to the movie. The scenes are rearranged from the book to make visual (or invisible) sense as a movie script.

A man all warped up in bandages except for his large pink nose requires a room at the inn and pays well. Slowly the Innkeeper and her companions suspect there is more to his than just a man with bandages. Everyone in a while they glimpse light where there should not be. And the stranger is so cranky that the money may not be worth the trouble of keeping him. Soon there are strange happenings and the cat is out of the bag sort of speaking.

The trail leads to murderer and a possible reign of terror. Read more to find out where the secret is reviled and how a man named Griffin got in this situation.

If I had read this story a year ago I would have said it was a fairly well put together sci-fi story. I would just enjoy the writing and wonder how H.G. came up with the idea. However now after reading much of H.G.'s political writings I see that this is a thinly veiled social commentary. We find that unlike the movie where Griffin goes mad in the invisibility process, that in the book Griffin was always amoral and anything stressful could set him off. Also, somewhere out there is a couple of floating eyes that belong to a cat.

Now one habit that .G. has in most of his tales is that just when you think he is finished on the subject, he will go off in another direction with some sub plot he has slipped in earlier. Therefore, what should have been a short story becomes a novel. Another good example of his witting style can be found in "The Food of the Gods."
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. Januar 2008
A stranger arrives in Iping, where he books a private room in the pub. His behaviour intrigues the locals. He is foul-tempered and rude, and never removes the bandages covering his face. He remains confined to his room, working on mysterious experiments. We gradually discover that he is a scientist called Griffin who has made himself invisible, and is now desperately trying to regain visibility. He fails, goes on the rampage, and terrorises the surrounding countryside. He kills, and in the end is killed.
Like in other stories by H.G. Wells, there is only one impossible hypothesis: that of invisibility which is then thrown into the ordinary world and the created fantasy becomes as real and vivid as a dream and inhabits the reader's mind. What matters to the author is probably the impact that a scientific invention would have on the world and the way in which people would react to it. In "The Invisible Man" he shows the unforgiving cruelty of the mob to the unusual, to the hunchback, the cross-eyed, the disfigured or the simpleton. The invisible man is just a powerful allegory for such people and that is why the novel has remained so powerful through time. It is also a clever study of character because Griffin strives to make himself unusual by becoming invisible and thereby placing himself above his fellow men and he becomes a man who sees in himself and in his uniqueness a power over others, a man possessed with the element that dictatorship is made of.
Edward Hardwicke's fantastic reading of the novel for BBC Audiobooks is highly recommended.
11 Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
This is a classic tale about a researcher who, while he was the equivalent of a graduate student in physics, discovers a treatment for making himself invisible (using chemicals and mathematical expressions containing four dimensions). He quickly discovers how dependent he is on others and that he doesn't have the power he thought he would. I had always thought, based on what I had heard about the film based on this book, that the invisibility process made the researcher (Griffin) mad. However, upon reading the novel, I find that Griffin is morally and ethically bankrupt long before he takes the treatment. His initial reasons for becoming invisible is to avoid paying his rent (as he sneaks out of the building, he sets it on fire as a "lesson" for his landlord). All he thinks about is himself and to have power over others. He steals from his father who, since it wasn't his money, commits suicide. Griffin goes to the funeral simply because it is expected of him; but, he feels no remorse. He is a man who feels that the end (his power) justifies the means. Wells clearly has Griffin as the villian.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. März 2015
I really enjoyed reading this novel. I liked the plot and the engaging way in which it was written. Personally, I hoped that the invisible man would win after all because I didn't think him evil or anything. Just a curious mind going new ways ;)
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. August 2004
Wer dieses Buch aufgrund des Filmes "The leage of extraordinary gentlemen" (2003) liest, wird erstaunt sein wie sehr die Geschichte und der Charakter der Hauptperson für den Film verändert wurde.
Das Buch liest sich leicht, ist nicht besonders lang, aber spannend, wenn auch einige Wendungen der Geschichte absehbar sind.
Übrigens war dieses Buch auch die Grundlage für die Filme "The Invisible Man" (1933) und dessen Remake "Hollow Man" (2000) mit Kevin Bacon.
Kurzzusammenfassung: ein Wissenschaftler macht sich unsichtbar. Anfangs geniesst er die damit einhergehenden Vorteile, doch mit der Zeit überwiegen die Nachteile und er sucht verzweifelt ein Gegenmittel um die Wirkung umzukehren. Die Formel treibt ihn fast in den Wahnsinn und er terrorisiert mordend eine ländliche Region.
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

Brave New World
6,99 €
Animal Farm
6,99 €

Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken