flip flip Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Book Spring Store 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Mehr dazu HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle EchoPop BundesligaLive wint17


4,1 von 5 Sternen
Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:4,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime

am 3. Juni 2013
Kauft nicht dieses Exemplar, bzw. informiert euch nochmal genau beim Verkäufer, was das für eine Auflage ist!!!
Ich habe mich nämlich sehr geärgert, als ich irgendwann beim Lesen festgestellt habe, dass da doch irgendwas fehlt (ich kannte es schon vorher). Beim Vergleich mit einem anderem Exemplar sah ich dann, dass da tatsächlich ganze Szenen fehlten - und wie ich fand sehr wichtige Schlüsselszenen. Beim genaueren Hinschauen bemerkte ich dann, dass ich die "Revised Edition, printed March 2006" in den Händen hielt. Na super! Das war nicht ausgewiesen!!! Die Rückgabefrist war schon vorbei und da ich meine Diplomarbeit über das Werk geschrieben habe, habe ich darin auch bereits mehr als rumgekritzelt. Um so ärgerlicher das ganze, da ich mir deswegen natürlich noch extra ein Original besorgen musste.
Das Cover meines Buches sieht anders aus als das abgebildete, also fragt nach!!!!!
Ich hätte am liebsten nur 2 Sterne gegeben, der dritte ist nur für das Werk an sich, das wirklich toll ist (nicht umsonst Thema meiner Diplomarbeit).
Lieferung an sich ging auch schnell und rein äußerlich gab es keine versteckten Mängel.
Trotzdem, wie gesagt, sehr ärgerlich!!!
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 22. August 2016
Schnell versendet, ebenso schnell gelesen. Auch wenn das Stück sehr kurzweilig wirkt, so steckt im Nachhinein doch sehr viel Wahrheit und Tiefgang darin. Kurz gesagt ein perfekter Spiegel der amerikanischen Gesellschaft, ohne dabei den moralischen Zeigefinger zu heben.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 17. Juli 2016
Das Buch ist im guten Zustand, bis auf ein paar Ecken im Buchumschlag. Da das Buch aber gebraucht ist kann das schon vorkommen. Lieferung gut. Habe bisher gute Erfahrungen mit medimops gemacht. Kann ich nur empfehlen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 27. August 2013
Das Spiel kam schnell und sicher an.

Das Produkt ist ein Dauerbrenner und für jeden empfehlbar :-)

Ich würde jederzeit wiederbestellen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 8. Oktober 2015
Vielen Dank Ihnen, dass sie das Buch hatten und ich nun habe :-) und für die Absprache. Das war alles wirklich klasse :-)
Ich melde mich sicher wieder :-)
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 16. Mai 2000
This play takes place in the living room of George and Martha a(middle-aged couple)in a house on the campus of a small New England college. The play begins with George and Martha coming home from a falculty party drunk. They invite Nick and Honey over and the marriages begin to fall apart with all the arguing and confusion. Edward Albee gives a clear cut, honest picture of reality of marriage and the fears that go hand in hand with love and intimacy.Albee transforms social problems for which no solution is offered into sexual and family strife,problems for which he has a readily available solution.Albee takes questions of power,work, failure and success and privates them giving them status and value exclusively as family issues.Albee's style is beyond clever-often disturbingly immoral.The play is full of human emotions-distress,humiiiation, love and hate.The play emphasizes the men's social function at the play's end.The women's social function is to engage in reproduction and/or non- productive work.Both Honey and Martha had distorted these terms,by engaging in non-productive reproduction-that is not having children or by having a false child. The women are supposed to help husbands be successes and to remain tempting and non threatening subordinate partners in marriage.albee's women conform the stereotypical notions of women's place:that women take care of home and children while the men take care of the rest of the world. the women are seen as a sexobject, wife, cook, volunteer, semi-professional,hostess.The women are verbally abusive to the men precisely because the men do not suceed in the same stereo typical terms as do e women.The women fail to conform the sex role stereotypes only in their refusal to besilent about the already on-going failures of their men. However at the end of Who's Afraid of Virginia Wolf the humiliated,weak, unsuccesful man is shown to be stronger than the brutal, emasculating woman.The family problems are solved, not by investigating their ultimate source,which lies outside the home,but by regulating family relations in a highly normaive manner. George gains control over Martha by ridding the central family of all intruders and rivals to his power.In the end of the play the male child is killed because he is too tempting to his mother and imaginatively tempting in Virginia Woolf and sexually tempting in the American Dream.In conclusion George replaces the Daddy above him, subordinates the wife-child,and succesfully fights a reguard action against his own replacement by the son. This reversal is constructed by Albee's taking questions of power,work,failure or successand privatizing them, making social issues appear exclusively as family issuesand solving them as if they were family issues. Because of this the woman functions as a scapegoat. I thought that this play was great. This play captures the reader's attention and keeps it occupied guessing what will happen next until the end of the play.I would advise every one with a good sense of humor to read this play if it is possible.
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
This was Albee's first three-act play. It was also made into a film with Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton, George Segal, and Sandy Dennis. A cocktail party given by an unsuccessful history professor (George) and his wife (Martha) for a new instructor (Nick) with his wife (Honey) turns into a long session of arguments, verbal abuse, revelations, and catharsis. There are several references to George and Martha's 21-year-old son who we later discover to be nonexistent. The younger couple, who are having a child, turn out to have a sterile marriage as well, albeit for different reasons. This play won the 1962-1963 New York Drama Critics' Circle Award. This play is filled with great dialogue: witticisms, verbal abuse, sorrow, and even compassion. It is easily one of the top dramas of the twentieth century.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 9. Mai 2000
A play in three acts, a very simple setting, and only four characters who live in a small, university town in America: a middle-aged couple, Martha and George. And a "young and innocent" couple, Nick and Honey. They all meet in a room, in Martha and George's house, very late one night, for a nightcap. And then...all hell breaks lose.
The play tears apart both marriages: the middle aged couple, who seem to hate each other and in the end turn out to be much more devoted to each other as it would seem. The young, seemingly perfect couple, who turn out to have lots of problems of their own. In three heart-breaking scenes, using dialogue that cuts like a knife, Edward Albee has written a masterpiece. He manages to give a clear-cut, honest picture of the reality of marriage, the reality of love, and the fears that go hand in hand with love and intimacy. At some point, in act three, Martha talks about her husband- and it's probably one of the best pieces of literature I've read:
"...George who is out somewhere there in the dark...George who is good to me, and whom I revile; who understands me, and whom I push off; who can make me laugh, and I choke it back in my throat; who can hold me, at night, so that it's warm, and whom I will bite so there's blood; who keeps learning the games we play as quickly as I can change the rules; who can make me happy and I do not wish to be happy, and yes I do wish to be happy, George and Martha: sad, sad, sad."
What more can I say? just read the play, and if you get the chance, watch it performed in the theatre, too.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 2. Juli 2000
A Streetcar Named Desire, Death of a Salesmen, Angels in America, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern are Dead, Long Day's Journey into the Night. These are the plays that share the ground with Edward Albee's play Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf. These plays have reached the pinacle of excellence.
Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf centers around an all night drink-fest between two married couples: George and Martha, who have been married for sometime, and Nick and Honey, a relatively new couple. The first act sets all this up, but the way Albee sets this up is the stuff of high drama. The quips his characters throw back and forth prepares the reader for the action that will follow. And we want it to. The action is the verbal brawl that the four principals have. The second act, entitled 'Walpurgisnacht', is one of the most exhausting pieces of fiction. The reader feels drained by the end of the second act. However, it's the third act (correctly entitled 'The Exoricism'-which was Albee's original title) that provides the catharsis.
Edward Albee has written a brilliant, landmark play. The Pulitzers made the biggest mistake when overlooking it for the prize. Albee won for three other plays (Three Tall Women, Seascape, and Delicate Balance), none of which contain the power that is "Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf".
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 18. Juli 1998
This play is excellent! Edward Albee is a literary genius and deserves all of the praise for this piece of literature he can get. I've read four of his plays (The Zoo Story, A Delicate Balance, The American Dream and this one) and loved them all . Also, see the movie. Elizabeth Taylor, Richard Burton, George Segal and Sandy Dennis are absolutely chilling.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden