find Hier klicken Sonderangebote PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More TDZ Hier klicken HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Hier Klicken Storyteller Unlimited AmazonMusicUnlimited Fußball longss17

Kundenrezensionen

4,4 von 5 Sternen
132
4,4 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:11,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 9. Juni 2000
But I didn't. What does that say about me? Still, I was highly offended at all the unnecessary vulgarity.
That said, the book was quite readable, and interesting. Still, it was thrown together. Could have been much more informative. Not that great for someone really wanting to know how things work in the investment banking realm.
For the life of me though, I simply cannot imagine how one of those authors could tell the world he did what he did "in public view." It's one thing to do something so shameful. It's another thing to tell everybody about it.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. September 2008
Eines der genialsten Bücher, das Wallstreet hervorgebracht hat! ein echter Brüller - insbesondere der Zynismus, mit dem der Alltag des M&A beschrieben wird! ich kann das nur aus eigener Erfahrung bestätigen ;)
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. April 2000
As a recent refugee from one of the top investment banks, the two nicest things I can say are that you learn a lot about working with scary people ("managing upwards") and that you make enough to do nothing for a while. As for the book, it was hilarious in that it showed that the same bizarre stuff happens in all of these places, contrary to what I previously believed. They are places populated by very intense, generally bipolar, greedy people who make no bones about the fact that nothing is to be finished until they are asleep, which means that you never sleep. There is no such thing as private time, and any attempt to assert a boundary is taken as a supreme lack of dedication. The funny thing about the book is that I hope it doesn't have an unintended effect, like the movie "Wall Street" which unfortunately glamorized the Street for an entire generation of kids unable to comprehend that they were watching a morality tale. I suspect that the book will be understood to be a bit more direct in its condemnation of the business. I am a bit disappointed that they left out some of the more juicy DLJ scuttlebutt, like some of the open affairs between senior and junior staff, one of whom has gone onto a prestigious business school in Boston. Burning bridges is a bad thing. That being said, I can understand if people don't completely understand the book. It does try as hard as possible to convey the sheer agony of the job, the feeling of being a glorified document production guy with some Excel skills, that we just grind out sausage at the end of the day. But there is nothing like being there. But enjoy the book and understand this: nobody pays you a lot of money just because they like you - nothing is free.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Mai 2000
This book did a great job of describing what beginning I-bankers do. Unfortunately, the clear bias that they didn't like their jobs is too strong. Nothing good was said about any Managing Directors. Now surely, we could find some social, redeeming value in a person you worked for when you worked for so many? Or maybe controversy and criticism sells better.
The book goes into extreme detail of the mundane tasks of an I-banker, ie, copy duties, word processing duties. Do we really need a chapter on these subjects? They leave the impression that they never used their brain at all and the whole profession is a shame. Isn't that a little strong? I particularly like his comment in due diligence that beginning attorneys are lower than I-Bankers. I thought that was a little self-serving.
I don't underestimate the hard work the authors put in and while I think they could have included some positives of their job, I did learn how mundane the job can be and recommend this book to anyone interested in finance and particularly a career on Wall Street. Everyone knows the risk/reward of making big money on Wall Street. Yes, maybe you have to sacrifice horribly to have a chance to be a managing director. But the rewards are so great, it's understandable why so many people try. In the end, maybe these two guys were a little soft or just didn't want it bad enough. Irregardless, I enjoyed the read but just wish it had had more "meat" in the subjects.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 7. April 2000
As an attorney who represents several Wall Street clients, I couldn't wait to read this book, which promised to give me a glimpse behind the $2000 suits and formal demeanor of the men and women (mostly men) who sit in my conference room striving to convey an aura of power and prestige. The book was better than I could have hoped. Not only did it confirm one of my nagging suspicions-- that these men are deeply flawed-- but it made me laugh out loud. The sheer enormity of the egos and the psychological insecurities is almost beyond belief, and if it wasn't for the honesty of the authors, it would in fact be easy to dismiss this book as the ravings of disgruntled employees. But the stories told here have the ring of truth, and the authors don't shy away from skewering themselves in the process, no matter how embarassing their revelations may be. The men of power immortalized in this book reminded me of immature frat-boys engaging in ritualized debauchery, only these men now have the power and the money to do things that college kids could only dream of. This is a wonferful book about a bizarre world that is rarely seen in all its ugliness. I now see my clients in an entirely new light, and there are even times in meetings when I have to stifle a chuckle because I am thinking of a scene from the book and wondering if maybe one of these men has done the exact same thing.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. April 2000
This book was at times funny. It was pretty much accurate in terms of what a junior associate does in a large investment bank. I was a MBA at a Top Three business school who never had banking experience. Like one of the authors, I went into banking completely ignorant of what a banker does. Suffice it to say, the descriptions of the interview process and the day to day tasks of being a junior banker are pretty much right on the money. This book should be required reading for those who intend to go into the business but never had the analyst experience. The trade offs are simple: lots of money (more than your classmates who are going into consulting, marketing, strategic planning, etc.) for a crummy lifestyle (lots of all-nighters, processing documents, and waiting for documents to be processed). For those who are not in the business, the comments about the word processing and printing departments (believe it or not) were sadly true. Never having worked for DLJ, I'm not sure about all the sexually deviant behavior that supposedly went on. I've never seen it in the firms I've worked with (or at least to that extent). Overall the book's an eye-opener and much needed to demystify the aura around one aspect of the investment banking business.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Juni 2000
As a MBA student at a top B-School, the lure of the investment banking siren rings loud every day. I hear how much my friends are getting offered in banking and think, "What can be so bad?" Thanks to this book, I now realize why the big bucks are there!
If you are considering going into banking, this book is an absolute "must read". The book is entertaining, easy to read, yet full of content. You feel like you are sitting at the desks with them, getting screamed at. I found myself actually feeling stressed over the routine I saw these guys doing.
This book is great for anyone in B-school, banking, or business in general. However, if you are not a capitalist, you should probably save your money.
The language is fairly rough, but I felt it was important because it gave you a good feel for the atmosphere. The limited audience appeal dropped the overall rating a little, so I gave the book 4 stars. If you are interested in this subject, it is a full 5.
I must admit, the money sounds great, and I may in fact fall in the snare, but I go in with my eyes wide open! Thanks guys!
john.grounds@sirjohnathon.com
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. März 2000
Monkey Business is great! The book is well written and extremely entertaining. The story is lively and the overall cadence of the book makes it easy and fast to read. Rolfe and Troob have a nice style of writing and are two authors that the reader really likes. They seem like good guys. What I really like about the book is that it is not about deals. I was worried that when I picked it up to read that it would be about boring deals. It is just the opposite. It is a joy to read and I think I learned something in the process.
I have lots of friends who are bankers and I never understood why they never seemed happy. They made lots of money, but always seemed nervous and jumpy. This book allows the reader to "jump on board" and experience what junior investment bankers do. The stories are great and the characters are unforgettable. This book is not just for men. Monkey Business is a great read for anyone who wants to understand banking and laugh while reading and learning. It is perfect for a plane trip or while on vacation. It is lots of fun.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. April 2000
Monkey Business is the finest glimpse of life on Wall Street since Michael Lewis' Liar's Poker hit the shelves over 10 years ago. When I first got my hands on a copy of the book , I was contemplating a career as a veterinarian versus that of an investment banker. The book made my choice clear: I prefer to treat animals than be treated like one, which apparently is the norm in the investment banking industry. Not only did the book chart my future, it also entertained me along the way. Monkey Business is humor at its best and literally had me laughing out loud as the chapters rolled by. Delightfully descriptive, its unsanitized similes, metaphors, and allusions were so direct and honest that they became charming and sweet. In their prose, Rolfe and Troob give the reader that fly-on-the-wall feeling as they escort us around the confines of the investment banking powerhouse, DLJ. Monkey Business is a must read for anyone considering business school and a highly recommended read for anyone who can read and wants to be educated, informed, and entertained.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. April 2000
Monkey Business is the story of two investment bankers trying to make sense out of the career that they have chosen. As we all know, jobs can be stressful and it often helps to temper a little humor to keep one's sanity. However, investment bankers have never been known to be top comedians and Rolfe and Troob are no exception. This book is a whiny litany from two little rich boys from Ivy League schools who did not have the tenacity to put in the hard work it required to rise to the top of their chosen field. It is written in a vernacular that one can only call high school locker room and is about as funny as a fart joke. In their world, banking assistants are to be used as sexual toys, the word processing department is a group of "Christopher Street fairies" and the copy center is "a platoon of patriotic Puerto Ricans". The book is neither informative nor funny.If you want workplace humor, stick with Dilbert.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden


Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken