Hier klicken May May May Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Book Spring Store 2017 Cloud Drive Photos Learn More TDZ HI_PROJECT Hier klicken Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimited longss17

Kundenrezensionen

4,6 von 5 Sternen
643
4,6 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:7,39 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 11. Januar 2017
Before you start reading, keep in mind that the book itself was written more than fifty years ago, so some of the language may appear outdated or downright offensive. Still this is a wonderful book - one that I picked up because I thought, "You should really read some of the classics, why not start there?" The characters are portrayed in marvellous ways, rural US-town life in the early twentieth century is very much alive for the reader and the young age of the narrator keeps us from having the moral finger pushed in our face.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. Mai 2017
A timeless classic from which we can all take some life lessons. Written from a child's point of view, Lee's novel deals with themes of great importance presented through charming characters: innocence, accusation, civil rights, racism, prejudice and morality. The first chapters were tedious and took me some time, but starting from Tom Robinson's trial the story hook me.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 25. Juni 2016
The design of the cover is simple and stylish. The print is clear and well legible. One big flaw though: the spine bends easily, leaving a kink. 4 stars.

(The story of this book is truly a masterpiece. It transports one to the time and place of its 1930s Alabama setting. The social commentary is fascinating coming from an Alabama resident during one of the darkest times in US history. Everyone should read this.)
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. November 2016
It is always difficult to judge a book that is considered an undisputed masterpiece of modern fiction, a modern classic. I don’t even try. I just want to try to summarize in a few words what this book left to me.
It’s surprising that a book of fifty years ago “sounds” so modern while reading, especially if the events described are from decades earlier. It’s a quite short and uncomplicated novel that you can read and enjoy at any age.
The narrative voice is that of a little girl, and as she tells us the trivial facts of her daily life, she assists to events bigger than her, but she deals them with the simple wisdom and innocence that only a child can have. And so a racist incident in the thirties of the twentieth century, a racism that was still a sad reality in the time of the writing of the novel and that unfortunately partly still is today, becomes an opportunity to portray an overview of the southern United States, where things happen as everybody expects and where the little light of an almost heroic gesture at the end of the novel illuminates a resigned and disillusioned reality.

Rita Carla Francesca Monticelli, author of Red Desert - Point of No Return
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. Juli 2016
„To Kill a Mockingbird“ von Harper Lee ist vermutlich eines der Bücher, die am häufigsten in anderen Büchern erwähnt und zitiert werden. Besonders in der Young Adult – Literatur stolperte ich immer wieder über diesen Titel. Es kam, wie es kommen musste: ich wurde neugierig. Ich wusste, dass es sich dabei um einen modernen amerikanischen Klassiker handelt, der oft in Schulen besprochen wird. Ich wusste jedoch nicht, worum es darin überhaupt geht. Ich kaufte das Buch blind. Ich hatte keine Ahnung, was mich erwartete und das gefiel mir. Ich fand es spannend, mich kopfüber in einen Klassiker zu stürzen, ohne durch äußere Einflüsse vorbelastet zu sein. Ich wagte das Abenteuer und nahm einfach an, dass ein Buch, das 1961 den Pulitzer-Preis gewann und niemals aus dem Druck verschwand, nicht allzu enttäuschend sein konnte.

Fragte man Scout Finch heute, wie es dazu kam, dass sich ihr vier Jahre älterer Bruder Jem kurz vor seinem 13. Geburtstag den Arm brach, würde sie ohne zu zögern antworten, dass die Ewells dafür verantwortlich waren. Jem hingegen ist überzeugt, dass es viel eher begann. Es begann mit ihrem Freund Dill und der fixen Idee, ihren zurückgezogen lebenden Nachbarn Boo Radley aus seinem Haus zu locken. Es begann mit den Stunden bei der sterbenden Mrs. Dubose, den Schlägereien auf dem Schulhof und dem tollwütigen Hund. Es begann mit den an ihren Vater Atticus gerichteten Beleidigungen, weil er Tom Robinson vor Gericht vertrat. Es begann, als die Einwohner_innen der Südstaatenkleinstadt Maycomb die Unschuld der Geschwister auf dem Altar der Tradition opferten. Es begann harmlos – und doch zwangen die Ereignisse Scout und Jem, erwachsen zu werden. Manchmal treffen auch gute Menschen schlechte Entscheidungen.

Wusstet ihr, dass „To Kill a Mockingbird“ erstaunlich selten Gegenstand literarischer Analysen seitens der Fachwelt ist? Wenn ich ehrlich bin, überrascht mich das nicht. Diesem Buch ist einfach nichts hinzuzufügen. Es ist alles gesagt. Die Geschichte steht für sich selbst, sie bedarf keiner Erklärungen. Ich verstehe voll und ganz, warum dieser Klassiker, der diese Bezeichnung übrigens wirklich verdient, regelmäßig als Schullektüre ausgewählt wird. Harper Lee verarbeitet anspruchsvolle Themen behutsam und nachvollziehbar, sodass sie auch von Kindern und Jugendlichen verstanden werden können. Sie schlüpft in Scouts Perspektive, schildert die Ereignisse als erwachsene Frau, die sich an ihre Kindheit in einem verschlafenen Südstaatennest Mitte der 1930er Jahre erinnert. Die Erzählweise ist durch eine großartige Mischung kindlicher Emotionalität und erwachsener, reflektierter Distanz geprägt. Diese Herangehensweise nimmt den dargestellten Rassen-, Klassen- und Geschlechterkonflikten die beklemmende Schwere. Es ist leicht, sich in die 8-jährige Scout hineinzuversetzen und nachzuempfinden, wie sich der Horror einer Gerichtsverhandlung, die sie kaum versteht, langsam in ihr Leben schleicht, wächst, mutiert und alles vereinnahmt. Sie hat eine unnachahmliche Sicht auf die Dinge, die zwar kindlich, aber überraschend scharfsinnig ist und viel Raum für zwanglosen Witz und Ironie zulässt. Ihr Vater Atticus verleiht ihren Beobachtungen und Erkenntnissen über das Wesen der Menschen in Maycomb Gewicht und positioniert sie. Er ist der unumstrittene moralische Anker der Geschichte, der das rassistische, engstirnige Verhalten seiner Nachbarn ins richtige Verhältnis setzt. Als Humanist ist er stets bemüht, das Gesamtbild zu betrachten und sich nicht von der aufgepeitschten Stimmung in der Stadt beeinflussen zu lassen. Indem er seine Kinder auffordert, sich in andere Menschen hineinzuversetzen und ein paar Schritte in ihren metaphorischen Schuhen zu gehen, bevor sie urteilen, erzieht er sie zu Toleranz, Verständnis und Mitgefühl. Er setzt keine unrealistischen Erwartungen in sie; er stört sich nicht daran, dass Scout nicht dem Frauenideal der Südstaaten entspricht und begleitet Jem aktiv auf seiner Reise vom Jungen zum Teenager. Ihm ist wichtig, dass sie zu anständigen Menschen heranreifen. Es ist unmöglich, keinen Respekt für Atticus zu empfinden, denn er beweist, dass man immer eine Wahl hat, sich nicht von einschnürenden Traditionen definieren lassen muss und primär dem eigenen Gewissen verpflichtet ist. Ich bewundere den selbstverständlichen Mut, mit dem er für seine Überzeugungen eintritt, obwohl er weiß, dass er nicht gewinnen kann und auf diese Weise (fast) die ganze Stadt gegen sich aufbringt. Er ist ein beeindruckendes Vorbild, weil er nicht den einfachen, sondern den richtigen Weg geht. Auf diesem Weg nimmt er Tochter und Sohn an die Hand, führt sie, leitet sie und versucht, so gut er kann, sie vor Schaden zu bewahren. Unglücklicherweise kann jedoch auch Atticus nicht verhindern, dass Tom Robinsons Fall Spuren auf ihren Seelen hinterlässt. Der Titel des Buches „To Kill a Mockingbird“ ist meiner Ansicht nach eine Metapher: sie steht für den Tod der Unschuld.

„To Kill a Mockingbird“ ist ein gut verständlicher Klassiker, der sich leicht liest und trotzdem eine deutliche Botschaft vermittelt. Mir gefiel das Buch sehr gut, weil es unaufdringlich und nicht zu bedeutungsschwer ernsthafte Themen anspricht, die bedauerlicherweise bis heute aktuell sind. Ich glaube nicht, dass man es unbedingt gelesen haben muss, doch ich finde durchaus, dass es sich um eine lohnens- und empfehlenswerte Leseerfahrung handelt und Harper Lee den Pulitzer-Preis zurecht gewann. Als Schullektüre ist es sicherlich hervorragend geeignet, denn es enthält einige außerordentlich starke Szenen und bringt Kindern bzw. Jugendlichen gesellschaftliche Problematiken wie Rassismus und Diskriminierung sorgsam näher. Ich bedauere ein wenig, dass es nicht auf dem Lehrplan meiner Schule stand. Der Mut der Finchs ist wahrhaft inspirierend und hätte mich bereits in jungen Jahren tief berührt.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. Januar 2017
"To kill a mockingbird" by Harper Lee is an extraordinary novel which examines/represents the cruel times in the South of America back then. I have to admit that it seems boring during the first chapters, but it's worth to keep reading. Furthermore, Harper Lee faces not only racsim, other problems like prejudices concerning gender are pointed out. Another special feature is the style of writing - especially the perspective Harper Lee has used is an outstanding one. Although, this novel can't be read fastly and you have to force yourself to keep reading sometimes, it's definitely a novel that is worth reading.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 13. September 2015
Harper Lee was encouraged to write some of her childhood memories. What in the beginning seems like the story of three childhood friends in depression era Macomb, Alabama, turns out to be packed with insights to the makeup of human kind.
This story is intriguing on many levels from the history of the area to the stereotyping of people. Most of all every turn was a surprise as told in the first person from the view of Scout Finch. And instead of telling the story in a six year old vocabulary she uses an exceptionally large repertoire to describe the people and events. This story is not as slow passed as one may guess from first glance as every remark and every action will be needed for a future action.
A major controversial part of the story is the trial of Tom Robinson. Hoverer this is just a catalyst to help Scout understand the nature of people including her father Atticus and you will find that as important as it is it is just a part of the story with other major characters such as Arthur "Boo" Radley.
Even thought it appears that Scout is the recipient of the insights, I believe we the reader is the real recipient.
I can truly say that this book has changed my outlook in life.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Mai 2017
"To kill a mocking bird" is a novel written by Harper Lee in 1960. It's set in the thirtees and is about the trial of a black man who is charged with the rape of a white girl. The protagonists are the lawyer Atticus and his young daughter Scout. The whole story is written out of her perspective. I think that this fact makes the novel even more interesting. To experience a story through the eyes of an 8-year-old, that still has to learn so much, but also has this refreshing innocence, is something special.
When you read the novel you really get the feeling that you travelled back in time. The characters are very round and carefully thought about. You just have to like them!
What I really appreciate about this book is the realism. Lee didn't write about any unlogical and happy happenings just to please her readers. She just went on with it, which wans't a mistake at all.
The reason why I don't give five stars is that to me sometimes it was getting too boring, but I'm just the kind of person who always needs action.
So, this is the book for anyone who likes a good story and realism in a book. You won't be disappointed!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Mai 2017
"To kill a mockingbird" was written by Harper Lee in 1960 and is a fictional novel set in the 40s.

The major topic of the novel is the relation between blacks and whites. How they live together in one community.
Next point is that the narrator is also the protagonist which is a young white girl. In fact that the narrator
is a young girl the readers just see the story like she sees. She has a childish way of speaking. But that is
quite obvious because she is a child. The novel gives a big insight in the life of a small communitiy in the southern state Alabama.
How blacks and whites lived together where arised conflicts and how they solved them. What I didnt like while reading the novel was
that like every white person looks a bad person and every black human seems poor without any chances against whites.
But on the other hand I liked to read the novel because I could see how a young girl understood the relation between blacks and whites.
It was really interesting to know her opinion about it. So read this novel! It is worth it!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. April 2000
Certainly not much can be added to the accolades already given to "To Kill a Mockingbird," the Pulitzer Prize-winning novel which has become a classic of modern American literature. This is the powerfully told story of a family's struggle for justice in a small Alabama town in the 1930s, written from the perspective of the young daughter of a lawyer defending a black man charged with the rape of a white girl. With wit and honesty, the book examines the racial and class attitudes prevalent in the Deep South in the years leading up to the Civil Rights era.
I recently finished reading "To Kill a Mockingbird" for only the second time (the first was in 1963, when I was 12 years old.) I found it to be just as wonderful a reading experience 37 years later! The characters and the setting come to life like no other novel I've ever read. The book made me laugh some, cry some, and get angry some. But, the most important thing it did for me was to make me evaluate once again my own attitudes and actions toward other people. And for that...thank you, Harper Lee.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden