Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Hier klicken Jetzt informieren PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Mehr dazu Hier klicken HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Hier Klicken Jetzt bestellen AmazonMusicUnlimited BundesligaLive longSSs17

Kundenrezensionen

3,9 von 5 Sternen
272
3,9 von 5 Sternen
Inferno (US version): A Novel (Robert Langdon)
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe|Ändern
Preis:19,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime


am 12. Juni 2013
Verstehe nicht was ich mit derart wenig Information anfangen soll. Werde sicher nicht nochmal so dumm sein, mir
Ähnliches zu besorgen.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Juni 2013
Wie auch die Vorgaenger-Buecher, lebt Inferno von den Fakten der Umgebung (Gemaelde, Gebaeude, Geschichten, Fakten Fakten Fakten), Brown selber ist ein bescheidener Autor mit sehr begrenzten schriftstellerischen Talenten. Ich habe das Buch wie alle anderen auch in der Originalsprache Englisch gelesen, um es moeglichst unverfaelscht zu erleben - es war stellenweise grausam. All zu oft wie auch frueher schon diese Kapitelenden, wo es ihm wie Schuppen aus den Haaren faellt, was er vorher noch angezweifelt hat oder fuer unmoeglich hielt. Der Wortschatz erscheint manchmal enorm eingeschraenkt, fast scheint es so, als haette er bei den ersten Buechern fremde Hilfe gehabt und es nun mal alleine versucht..
Als es nach Istanbul geht, ist es auch noch schlecht recherchiert, die Strasse vom Atatuerk Flughafen in die Altstadt als "eine der schoensten Europas" zu bezeichnen tut jeder "Scenic Road" in Europa unrecht, und der Haupteingang fuer Besucher in die Hagia Sofia ist nun mal der Eingang, der frueher dem Sultan vorbehalten war, aber jetzt dem einfachen Volk zur Verfuegugn steht; ich war im Maerz erst selber in Istanbul..
Meine Wertung:
* ich gebe einen Stern fuer die historischen Fakten, die ich einfach gerne lese, so sie denn gut recherchiert sind
* ein weiterer Stern fuer die Motive des Boesewichts und die tatsaechliche Umsetzung
* einen letzten Stern rein dafuer, dass ich nun Lust bekommen habe, wieder einmal nach Florenz und Venedig zu fahren; das Buch hat diesen Stern nicht aufgrund der Handlung verdient

PS: heute war das Zitat des Tages in der Zeitung eine Kritik aus den USA zu Inferno, zugleich habe ich heute das Buch fertig gelesen: "Every page you turn demonstrates his complete lack of talent as a writer. The rash of the three dots that appear throughout the book give the impression that the narrative has measles" - tv critic Clive James on Dan Brown's Inferno.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. Juli 2013
Es gibt Bücher, bei denen man nicht wirklich den Anreiz hat, sie weiterzulesen.

Dan Browns "Inferno" gehört für mich definitiv dazu. Ich habe mich bis zum Ende durchgequält, aber nur, um das Recht zu haben, es in einem abschließenden Urteil zu verdammen, wie es einem Inferno gebührt.

Ich habe versucht zu verstehen, warum so viele Leser sich in ihren Kritiken vor Lob überschlagen, und ich glaube, ich habe die Erklärung gefunden. Für Touristen aus den USA, Südamerika oder Asien haben europäische Kirchen, Museen und Paläste einen besonderen Reiz. Und wer die nicht selbst besichtigen kann, wird Browns Bücher lieben, weil sie zu geschätzten 85% aus Beschreibungen historischer Orte und Ereignisse in Europa (Ausnahme "Das verlorene Symbol", das den US-Bürgern einen leichten Heimvorteil verschafft) oder Wiedergaben bedeutender Literatur bestehen.

Als ich "Illuminati" las, war ich kurz zuvor selbst in Rom gewesen, sah vor meinem inneren Auge die Plätze, Brunnen, Kirchen, die Brown beschrieb. Beim Da-Vinci-Code sah ich Paris vor mir, auch wenn ich nie im Louvre war. Jetzt also Florenz, Venedig und Istanbul. Alles Orte, die ich nicht kenne, über die ich aber, da ich bekanntlich gerne und viel lese, aus Browns ausschweifenden Beschreibungen nichts Neues erfahren konnte. Ich brauche keine 4-seitige Beschreibung, wie man vom Canale Grande zur Piazza San Marco kommt.

Aber zu den restlichen 15% des Buches. Eine wie üblich verworrene, abstruse Abfolge von Verfolgungsjagden mit wechselnden Protagonisten und Fronten. Eine wie üblich völlig irrationale Aneinanderreihung "kryptischer" Problemchen, die allein die Verwicklung der Hauptfigur Robert Langdon ins Geschehen rechtfertigen sollen. Ein bisschen moderne Technologie und Wissenschaft, und zum Abschluss eine Umarmung mit einem keuschen Kuss. Und über allem schwebt ein Harvard-Professor in Tweed-Sakko und Cordhosen.

Nichts Neues also. Oder, um es mit Shakespeare zu sagen: Much ado about nothing. Dante würde vermutlich in seinem Grab rotieren, wüsste er, dass Brown seine Totenmaske für eine seiner kryptischen Spielereien missbraucht hat.
11 Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Juni 2013
Mal ganz abgesehen davon, dass es im Leben des Robert Langdon, Vertreter eines eher als "exotisch" und verschlafen geltenden Zweiges der Wissenschaft, immer wieder zu völlig absurden und unwahrscheinlichen Ereignissen kommt, setzt das letzte Buch von Dan Brown dem Unwahrscheinlichen "die Krone auf". Neben einem haarsträubenden und an eben diesen hergezogenen Plot mit (gottseidank) fiktiven Protagonisten und Organisationen enttäuscht ein banales Ende. Man merkt, dass es Brown langsam schwer fällt, für seinen Helden noch halbwegs reale Abenteuer zu konstruieren ohne gänzlich an Seriosität und Realitätsbezug zu verlieren. Das vorliegende Buch schrammt haarscharf an dieser Grenze vorbei....

Es wird Zeit, dass Langdon einmal einem seiner Abenteuer zum Opfer fällt.

Einzig positiv ist der wie immer wendungsreiche und flüssige Stil in dem das Buch geschrieben ist. Dafür gibt es einen Stern. Mehr aber auch nicht. Schade ums Geld. Wenigstens verstellt mir der Download nicht das Bücherregal.
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. Juli 2013
1.5 stars

I don't know what it's like for other people to read Dan Brown's books but I always feel the intense need to keep hitting myself over the head with them. (Now that I've switched to Kindle, I try to refrain from doing that, but my hardcover edition of "The Lost Symbol" has some tell tale dents in it).

Why, oh why do I keep reading these books?!, I lament, while plodding through the inane plot, being hit over the head with the same stupid pieces of information over and over and over again, as if Mr. Brown believes his readers have the attention span of a guppy.

It's not a miniscule attention span that makes me go back to these books but, I suspects, a probably some deep-seated need for punishment that makes me come back for more.

Is the plot still formulaic and predictable as ever?
Oh, you betcha!

Is Langdon still his old, Harris tweed wearing self, irresistibly charming to whoever the current cardboard cutout female character is? Still endowed with the most perfect hair ever, still wearing his Mickey Mouse watch (it's a collector's item and lends the professor a whimsical aura) and lastly, still, eternally trapped in that well?
Why yes, of course!

It seems with the fourth iteration of "The Amazing Adventures of Professor Know-It-All" I'm finally able to put my finger just on what irks me so with these books (aside from the formula, but lots of writers use a formula, once they realize it's working for them).

I don't like Langdon.

He's not a good character.
Discounting the fact that he never really evolved over the course of four installments, he was never really that interesting to begin with and the cracks are really starting to show.

He knows pretty much everything he needs to know in order to solve the puzzle. He may not know it right from the start, after all there are pages that need to be filled, but he knows it as soon as he sees the clues. He has eidetic memory, for Pete's sake!

Wherever he goes, panties magically melt off. He is oh-so good looking for his age, he has a mellow voice, he has the perfect hair, he is sensitive and whatever else cliched attributes you can come up with - Robert Langdon's your man.

Even his pre-requisite flaw - small spaces are a big no-no, thanks to that ubiquitous childhood well - is no real stumbling stock to him. We get reminded of his fear of enclosed spaces every time Langdon is in, well, an enclosed space, but it's nothing debilitating. It doesn't make things harder for him in any way, don't really slow him down.

In short: Langdon's too perfect!
AH!

Apart from the Teflon-like quality of Langdon's character the book had a lot of problems, most of which jumped at me in the last few pages of the novel.

Bertram Zobrist is a terrorist, plain and simple. He neutered a third of the world's population.
Yet, in the not-so-thrilling conclusion of the book, along comes Sienna, the probably most infuriating and whiny female character Brown has ever written and somehow, in a paragraph of pseudo-moving defense of the dead character, declares him to be a misunderstood and persecuted genius, who went mad because, surprise surprise, people correctly labeled him as the dangerous madman that he is/was.
And the other characters suddenly, magically agree.

Sure, it's a solution to overpopulation. It's still terrorism, for crying out loud!

A fact that, somehow gets completely swept under the carpet, along with all those other morally dubious questions the story raises.

So yes, for the story itself: half a point.
No, just no, on all fronts.

Choices of locations, Florence, Venice and especially Istanbul, the remaining one star.

Maybe Dan Brown should just start writing travel guides.
22 Kommentare| 11 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. August 2013
After relishing A&D (****), TdVC (*****) and TLS (****) I am deeply disappointed with "Inferno" (maybe the name gives away more already than intended by DB...). Although the book brought me back to read some of Dante's masterpiece (one star for that!), it is in large parts an unconnected collection of trivia about Italy and Italian Artists you better look up on Wiki. What I despise even more than the crude story about people who deem themselves being so far above others that they think they can unbidden change their lives and their future is the cheap way of turning and altering the storyline and just leading the reader along a wrong path (e.g. Sinskey victim or acting character, ..2080 being male or female). Also Robert Langdon is stuck in his own skin (if not in his own clothes) and does not develop any more except into a man who cheats friends and colleagues alike. Sorry, but this was no highlight!
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 15. Mai 2013
Another brilliant story by Dan Brown. Inferno kept me hooked until the final chapter brought the whole picture into focus.

I already am a huge fan of Dan Brown's books. I had read his previous books and enjoyed them immensely. This one was no exception. This book was a super read. When I reached the end of it, I was very pleased with all that I had read. What I like about Dan Brown's books is that he uses great characters who are truly alive as well as interesting historical facts to weave his stories. He presents ancient knowledge and myth in a new light and gets you interested in. As well, all of Brown's books stand alone and manage to never be similar or predictable. In my opinion, all of his books are 5-star worthy, but if I have to choose this one is my favorite.

Considering that this is the fourth Robert Langdon series that I have read and that they all follow the same pattern; ancient secrets, mythical world of Masonic secrets as well as of Catholic Church just as spirituality of Dante Alighieri. There again the story is full of mystery and Langdon sets about a mega amount of investigative work. I take it as fiction but there may be enough truth thrown in to make it believable. I actually find the story very inspirational that I intend to keep studying Dantes work.

There in Inferno is also a wonderful sense of some places like Florence where the atmosphere is absolutely beautiful. For Harvard symbol expert Robert Langdon Florence is something special not only because of its sightseeing, but one of his favorite destinations for an art conference in all of Europe. Only this time he doesn't know whay he would be in Florence. He is waking up in a Hospital with wounded head, missing memories for two days, but hallucinating of silver-haired woman and dead bodies. And on top of everything he soon find out that he himself is in danger to life.

The story is fast paced and I found myself drawn in by various twists and turns within I feel as though I am standing next to Langdon as he is moving through the story. Langdon must accept another mystical invitation that takes him into an unimaginable world of Dantes secrets and hidden history. Although Dan Brown revealed the secrets throughout the book, everything unravels in the latter pages and leads to a brilliant twist. Certainly, it continually keeps the reader guessing. Also I often asked myself as soon as Langdon's research starts, whom for heaven's sake he could trust. But, at the end of the story he is saving the day, of course.

Beautifully written, the chapters are hold short as well the book cover of the UK Version is made nicely. An engaging read. Suspense until the last chapter kept the reader gripped and involved.

Great. Well done Dan Brown.
0Kommentar| 15 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
TOP 1000 REZENSENT VINE-PRODUKTTESTERam 15. Juni 2013
A new mystery for Robert Langdon, and - surprise, surprise - it has to do with symbols. Like in the other books by Dan Brown, one is instantly thrown into the story.
Professor Robert Langdon awakes in a hospital bed, without recollection what happened. Furthermore, the hospital is not in Harvard, but in Florence, and he does not have the slightest idea how he got there. And what is this strange object doing in his pocket?
Robert does not have much time to reflect on his situation, for someone tries to kill him. Due to the help of the young (and of course beautiful) doctor Sienna Brooks, he can escape. And his profound knowledge of Florence and its secret passageways helps, too.
Without revealing too much of the story: Robert has to use his expertise of Dantes Inferno to solve yet another mystery and to save mankind from an epidemic.
Yes, this is a typical Dan Brown novel. Fast cuts, short chapters, many cliffhangers, easy to read and fast paced; a printed movie. That Robert suffers from amnesia brings an unusual angle into the story.
But there are just too many coincidences and far too many logical flaws. For example, Sienna has an IQ of 208, is a doctor and speaks several languages – but not Latin? And she does not know what a pest mask is? Highly improbable.
What I really liked in this book were the informations about Florence, like the contract fair and the arts, and interesting facts about Dante I did not know before.
Interesting are also the thoughts about resources and the ethical questions. And there's also some humor in the story, like the differences between fire security in the States and in Italy…
Up to the end there are some nice twists to the story, like the secret of Sienna. The end itself is disturbing.
Unfortunately this book is only a nice read, nothing more. It is not as good as Brown's first books; it is to obviously intended to be turned into a movie and it has too many logical mistakes.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 29. Juli 2013
das war nun definitiv mein leter Dan Brown Roman. Mindestens 50 % des Romans sind nichts anderes als Beschreibungen von Gebäuden, Kunstobjekten gewürzt mit ein paar interessanten Details. Ansonsten hoffnungslos überzogene Fluchtsituationen und Zwangslagen, aus denen ein normaler Mensch ja soiweso niemals gesundheitlich unbeschadet wenn überhaupt herauskommen würde. Wie immer ist jeder Akteuer nicht der der er zu glauben scheint, die Romane von Braun sind wie nach einer Schablone alle gleich aufgebaut - mittlerweile einfach " ausgelutscht".
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Juli 2013
I found this book very annoying to read and ended up not finishing it.

The book is more like a tourist guide of Florence with a story thrown in, the author goes on for pages describing the surroundings so much that you forget what is actually happening in the story. Describing ever statue and painting and giving an in depth historical account about these things, if your studying Italian history or art a good thing, but if you want an exciting story it has the similar effect as driving with the brakes on.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden


Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken