Jeans Store Hier klicken Strandspielzeug Neuerscheinungen Cloud Drive Photos Learn More saison Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle Soolo Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,7 von 5 Sternen
31
4,7 von 5 Sternen
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe|Ändern
Preis:23,06 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 28. Februar 2011
"Nothing to envy" tells the stories of 5-6 persons from North Korea who ended up escaping to the South. Barbara Demick interviewed people from one city in North Korea and was thereby able to check the narratives making it very likely that the accounts of the people interviewed are as factual as possible. I am very impressed by the approach: too often we go for the dramatic and emotionally touching effect rather than for intersubjectively agreed narratives (aka "the truth"). Demick also makes a point of mentioning that the people who had the courage to escape from a terrible regime were people who are singleminded and that just this singlemindedness can also pose a problem in South Korean (or any other) society: what is heroism in one context can be stubbornness and a resistance to fit in in another. Apart from these more philosophical learnings, I really appreciated how Demick tells the stories of her informants: respectfully, as truthfully as possible and emotionally compelling. When I read "Nothing to Envy", I had actually wanted to read on a train ride just for a bit after a long day of teaching and had already packed a few DVDs to watch in case I get tired of reading. I never stopped turning pages until I had finished "Nothing to Envy".
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. August 2015
This book is giving an insight into the lives of North Koreans which the author came across as a journalist during her time working for the NYT.
There are not a lot of books like that, therefore this read is really interesting. The first chapters are a bit lengthy, and it takes a while to get used to the style of writing. Even though it apparently is a documentary, it reads like novel in the first place. But it's absolutely worth reading this book.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. März 2014
this book gives you a bonechilling view into a ountry without hope , without real friendship, without any hope
a country where your husband ,wife or even your parents can become your enemy with just 1 spoken word
where death and despair are just one conversation with the wrong person away
Nothing to envy is a good title but a heavy understatement
heavy read but absolutly worth it
you think your life is bad , you have no idea what bad is if you have never read anything about north korea
Eyeopening and a devinitive MUST READ for ever youngster in the first world
this book puts a perspective on how good any life in the first world actually is
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. August 2015
Das Buch wurde mir von einer ehemaligen Studentin empfohlen, die unlängst in Asien war.
Nord Korea war ein Land über das ich nicht viel wusste, außer den üblichen Klischees (oder den Nachrichten), doch diese Augenzeugenberichte geben einen erschreckenden Einblick in eine völlig andere Welt.
Die Puzzlestücke der Berichte ergeben ein Gesamtbild, zeigen auf, welche Hoffnungen und Ängste die Bewohner haben, welche Lügen und Bigotterie in der Diktatur inszeniert werden - und wie Auswege gesucht und gefunden werden.

Ein Augenöffner, der den Wissenshunger weckt und der der den Verstand noch lange danach beschäftigt.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. August 2015
As this book is based on stories from North Koreans that has left the country, it provides reliable insights, although strongly biased towards experiences from people that got into conflict with the system and not covering the millions living their usual life. Nevertheless, the book is much much better than all the other books, and news about DPRKorea, that are based on assumptions and imagination, and that make conclusions based on hardly nothing. Thank you for the book. The only exception is the last chapter, that is, as all other books based on opinion of westerners that think they know all, know all better, and have always right ....
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. August 2014
I think almost everybody has heard about complete shutout of everything outside of North Korea in North Korea, and I think almost everyone has heard of famines there. I have read several articles about the atrocities going on there, I have even been to the DMZ between North and South Korea, so I've had a glimpse of what's roughly going on there.

What I didn't know, though, is what that exactly meant for the people living there. I had no imagination of their lives and didn't know what complete shutout or famine might mean in real life. This book gives me that insight which makes me understand really how unreal the world is seen in North Korea and how everything is built lies upon lies, and the people aren't even aware of how they suffer.

Very interesting stories, extremely good to read, I can barely lay it down, fascinating, shocking, intense all the way. A must read for EVERYONE.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Februar 2014
This is the first book I ever read about North Korea and I must say that it was a truly enlightening read. The book follows the life stories of several people living in North Korea - their hardships, the rise and fall of fortunes, and the evolution of daily life in North Korea over decades. I couldn't put it down.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Oktober 2012
Ich denke die Situation in Nordkorea kennt jeder. Aber bei allen Berichten in Radio, Fernsehen und Co vergisst man doch immer wieder, wie extrem die Lage dort eigentlich war und auch ist. Barbara Demick schafft es, dem Leser das Leben in Nordkorea wirklich gut zu schildern. Das Buch besticht durch seinen sachlichen Schreibstil (ursprünglich wurde der Inhalt ja in der Los Angeles Times veröffentlicht) und die authentischen Augenzeugenberichte von Geflohenen. Da dies die Originalfassung ist, die kein Übersetzer interpretiert hat, bekommt man die Information ungefiltert von der Quelle.

Fazit: Wirklich empfehlenswert für jeden, der sich für Nordkorea interessiert. Ein wunderbares Buch.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. August 2013
Buch beschreibt anhand von den Lebensgeschichten von einigen Nordkoreanischen Bürger, das Leben dort. Es ist interessant einen solchen Einblick zu bekommen, unter welche Bedingungen die Menschen dort leben müssen. Interessant zu lesen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Juni 2016
Ich war immer schon von diesem abgeschotteten, eingekapselten Land Nord Korea fasziniert! und habe auch schon andere Bücher dazu gelesen, wobei ich sagen muss dass dieses soweit das aller Beste war! Spannend und fesselnd von Seite 1! Es werden hauptsächlich persönliche Schicksale von Deserteuren behandelt, wobei man in den Nord Koreanischen Alltag eindringt und fast schon das Gefühl hat selbst dort zu leben. Das Hauptaugenmerkt liegt nicht auf Folter und Co (sowie bei Camp 14) sondern vielmehr auf der wandelnden Einstellung zum Heimatland und der Herrscher Kim Il-sung & Kim Jong-il. Währenddessen bekommt man auch viele geschichtliche Infos (z.B. zum Korea Krieg, der Bestatzung Japans & Co.)

Ein absolutes MUST BUY für mich!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden