Fashion Sale Hier klicken Strandspielzeug Neuerscheinungen Cloud Drive Photos OLED TVs Learn More saison Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic festival 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,5 von 5 Sternen
58
4,5 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 10. Februar 1999
This book does not mention the 2 year stay at the studio shown in the video,where the video "The Making Of Pump"was created every hit song on "PUMP" was created in that studio, also it was responsible for giving Aerosmith their first Grammy Award, so, how could so much history be left out? This book is not accurate, and thousands of fans Know that, and the band knows that. When you are talking about a huge band like Aerosmith something is wrong when the history of the band which is so important to Fans is not complete. Steven Davis obviously did not do his research, or was controlled by the band. Mr Davis should be reminded that the fans are not stupid he can make his money and keep writing but i hope he learns a lesson that books are history,and that every word is scrutinized. When MTV aired that video "The Making of Pump" worldwide it became an intergal part of the band In other words the book is incomplete, a rip off, not accurate, just a cool editing job, and it is obvious it was edited by the band. There is another book in the works and it will be very honest nothing will be left out. Lets see if you will publish this review? Also please view the video before you dump this review and you will see that leaving years out of "WAlk This Way" is very sad. A slap in the face to all that worked so hard for Aerosmith. The band should be ashamed.But guess what? There not.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Juli 2000
As a big fan of Aerosmith since 1976, I found this book to be VERY informative, although a bit long. To get to the first 150 pages was a chore, simply because: Do I really want to read about the life of management ? OR the disk jockey that first played MAMA KIN in 1973 when Aerosmith was not known ? Not especially.....After that, we start to learn about all the record releases, life on the road, and the troubles with drugs and personalities within the band. VERY good reading. But it takes to long to get to that point. Also, I was so sick of reading WE DID SOME BLOW, WE GOT SOME BLOW, BLOW, BLOW, BLOW...OK ! I know the focal point of the story is the battle with drugs and how they conquered them, but ENOUGH ALREADY !
Ok...With that said....YES - It is an informative book and interesting, it just needed to be edited by about 100 pages.
I would recommend this to any DIE-HARD Aerosmith fan who enjoyed (and knows) their releases of the 70s..BUT, for the fans who only liked them from 1987s PERMANENT VACATION and on, BEWARE...Running at 524 pages long, it discusses THOSE releases starting at page 425 (or so).
A very good book, but not excellent. 3 1/2 stars, to be exact.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 16. Juli 2001
Walk This Way ist für Fans ein absolutes Muß und ein einfach wundervolles Buch, das auch für Nicht-Fans interessant und überaus unterhaltsam sein kann. Allein die erzählte Geschichte der Band ist spannend und aufregend genug und gibt Einblicke (wenn auch teils nur kleine) in einige Bereiche des Musicbusiness, die ansonsten nur selten zugängig sind. Skurrile, lustige und ernste Episoden aus dem Werdegang der Band werden aus der Sicht der Bandmitglieder oder beteiligten Personen dargestellt, was den Tatbestand einer Beweihräucherung der Band auszuschließen versucht. Exzesse verschiedenster Art werden genauso dargestellt wie die kommende Läuterung und Abstinenz der Band. Leider scheint mir der Fokus der Auswahl von Zeitepisoden nicht immer wirklich gelungen, es hätte sich wirklich mehr allein um die Musik drehen können. Wer sich an Drogenbeschreibungen o.ä. stört, sollte dieses Buch warscheinlich besser nicht lesen, aber dies gehört eben zur Band. Alles in allem ein einfach wundervolles Buch mit sehr hohen Unterhaltungswert, das zum Mehrmallesen zwingt.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. Mai 2000
This is essential reading for any Aerosmith fan. Even if you hate reading, I gurantee that once you pick this book up, you will not be able to put it down. I've read it through three times, and plan on reading it again soon. Even if you think you know everything about Aerosmith, you will find out once you read this book that you were very wrong. You'll confirm things you've always suspected, learn many things you didn't know before, including some things you probably wish you didn't know. Speaking of that, people who have said that this book is in bad taste, and that it is wrong for Aerosmith to bare their souls like this and tell what really happened in their lifetime, well, you do not understand this book. This is the AUTOBIOGRAPHY of Aerosmith, UNCENSORED, not some edited kiddie show bullcrap. This is the real deal, don't wanna read about the drugs, women, and all that between tales of how the albums were made, then don't read the damn book! This is a story of human triumph, that should inspire us all, knowing that no matter how bad things get, we can always come out better than we were before. That's not saying that you should smoke dope or whatever because Aerosmith said they did it in this book and then they went out and sold 50 million albums, but apply it to your own situation. Fact is, if you love Aerosmith, then you should own this book!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. März 2000
I can remember just where I was the first time I heard "Pandora's Box" (it was on a jukebox at Willamette University, where I was participating in a forensics tournament, circa 1974). I gouged the grooves out of each album from _Get Your Wings_ through _Rocks_ before moving on to more sophisticated pastures.
This "autobio" employs the fairly interesting ploy of having the band members, their roadies, and colleagues speak in their "own voices" -- that is to say, 99 percent of the text is transcripted commentary and reminiscence. As such, it reads very easily. And it covers most of the story, good and bad.
So there's plenty of debauch and drugs, all of which has a horrid fascination for the reader. For every lovely tale, such as the composition of "Walk This Way" (inspired by the movie "Young Frankenstein," of all things, whereupon Tyler loses his lyrics two or three times before getting it right), there's something you probably rather would not have known -- such as the fact that Steven Tyler acquired legal guardianship of a 14-year-old girl from Portland, Oregon from her parents so she could live with him for three years, have to get an abortion, etc., etc. (Wonder where she is now?)
Although reading this book made me want to drag out my long-unheard Aerosmith LPs and cassettes, knowledge such as this makes it a little harder to enjoy the music quite as much.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 2. März 2000
THE DEFINITIVE BOOK ON AEROSMITH:
Not so much a book, but a series of quotes & interview type responses from all the band members from their very beginnings to their later reclimbing the ladder & making it to the number one slot in the late 90's. Once you get past the first few pages & get into the vibe of the quote style of story telling you get sucked right in. Its all so believable because you are learning all this Beautiful, Sick, & Funny history of their rise & Fall & reclimb up the ladder right from Steven, Joe, Brad, Tom, & Joey's own personal experiences & recollections. If you think you know Aerosmith, think again. You should read this Fantastic & Twisted story, told in their own words, of their drug addictions, songwriting, Tours, & just what it takes to be one of the best American Rock & Roll bands of all time! Overall: Funny, Witty, Insightful, Sarcastic, Introspective, tales of Debauchery from the Boys themselves. Could not have been done any other way. Big book, never a dull moment. At the end you truly feel as if you know the band & were let in on some very private secrets & thoughts from the badboys of New Hampshire & what kind of hell they went through to get where they are today.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. Juni 1999
"We believed anything worth doing was worth overdoing." Those words are spoken from the famous mouth of the ever talkative, ever charismatic Steven Tyler, frontman of the East Coast rock band, Aerosmith. Indeed, that seems to be the underlying current of thought running through the pages of the recently released autobiography, Walk This Way. Overindulgence is an understatement for these Boston Bad Boys. Why then, should their ever faithful "Blue Army" of fans be any different? Aerosmith is a potent drug themselves. They keep you wheedling for more, whether it be a dying thirst for their exciting, blues-influenced brand of rock, to the ache of withdrawal you feel when they're not breezing into your nearest town with one of their awesome live shows. Once you get hooked, you can't even pick up their massive autobiography and be able to put it down, even when going back for seconds.
Walk This Way is a surprising expose from five guys who knew the story best -- Steven Tyler, Joe Perry, Brad Whitford, Tom Hamilton, and Joey Kramer -- the guys who lived through it. To fill in the gaps of consciousness are wives, ex-wives, managers, roadies, friends, and peers from the entertainment field.
The journey of Walk This Way takes you back to Tallahassee, sort to speak. It starts where it should: from the beginning, from the childhood years of all five guys in the band, their family background, and their influences that helped pave the way for their musical direction. It portrays their struggles, their frustrations, their hopes and ambitions, and even their starry-eyed dreams. Even Steven Tyler, as a young lad, had his idols as he sat for hours in front of hotels to meet the members of The Rolling Stones -- much like his fans do today. The journey called Aerosmith is one full of clouds, full of bumps, full of fights, full of brotherhood, full of triumph, and full of ideals and goals. The book takes you through the pages of history when Aerosmith got their first record deal with their self titled album, and through their second, Get Your Wings, as a band trying to make their mark in the rock and roll universe. It takes you through their countless determination in building a following by playing club after club, and being persistent. It takes you through their first big taste of success when their next two albums, Toys In The Attic and Rocks hit the public smack in the head. Suddenly they were somebody and success, money and fame walked right into their door.
Along with that fame and success came a slow destruction that was caused by the excesses of life: drugs, drinking, women, and endless touring and being on the road. The devil of drugs started to play puppet master with the band, causing what appeared to be a slow and imminent death of a band that had the chance to be destined for greatness. This cancer took hold when Draw The Line was made, and escalated during the making of Night In The Ruts. A wedge was finally driven between the two soul brothers of the band, Steven Tyler, and guitarist Joe Perry. Joe left in the middle of recording NITR. The fighting, the drugs, and the band members significant others, pried the band apart, leaving their fans wondering if rock and roll would ever be the same.
Joe Perry branched out on his own, forming the Joe Perry Project, and releasing two cult hit records, Let The Music Do The Talking and I've Got The Rock 'N' Rolls Again. Aerosmith plunged on and started recording Rock In A Hard Place when Brad Whitford decided to leave the fold. The band continued to crash and burn, losing money, cars, their homes, and their relationships.
Aerosmith hit bottom and seemed to be continuing on their path of destruction when the members of the band seemed to get brought together again. Joe Perry and Brad Whitford returned, along with a new manager, Tim Collins. Trying to clean up their act, they recorded their next album, Done With Mirrors, which didn't make as much noise as it should have.
It wasn't until the release of Permanent Vacation and a commitment to a sober lifestyle by all parties involved that caused Aerosmith to rise from the ashes. They were back with a vengeance with the biggest album of their career, and continued thereafter to hit the concert trails and reach even higher numbers on the charts with the release of their next two albums, Pump and Get A Grip. There was a new Aerosmith on the rise, and they were going to steamroll anyone who got in their way. The born-again Boston Bad Boys were newly sober and loving life, and the world embraced them. The last chapter winds up at the present, with their current tour and release of Nine Lives, as they continue their successful jaunt.
This book is more than a book about the drugs and the women. It is more than a book about the fame, the money, and losing it all. It digs deeper than the tantrums, the in-fighting, the "business" part of the entertainment field, and the distrust. This book covers all of that, but it has a deeper message. The pain, the struggle, the love for music that brought these five very different personalities together like brothers, and the inspirations that drove them first to the top of the world, and then to the bottom of hell, then back up to an even higher plateau . . . all of that is here in black and white. It's a frank, honest, sometimes amusing, and sometimes painful story about how each member thinks and what makes each of them tick. It is written in such a way that their personalities burn through each page. It lets you peek in on their hopes and dreams. Most of all, it is a book about survival. Aerosmith survived when others didn't. While they indeed fell as many of their peers had, it wasn't a final fall for them, and they got back up. Today, they are still standing, while others didn't get a second chance once they fell. That, I believe, is the crux of what makes Aerosmith tick. Not many lived through what they have and still be around to tell their story. With a nod of thanks in having nine lives, these five men are still on their journey, meeting their destinations a little at a time, but never stopping too long to miss the train. May they continue down that road of magic called music for a long time to come, continuing to win the smiles of millions along the way who have felt some happiness because of them.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Dezember 1998
Having been a fan of Aerosmith for many years, I eagerly awaited the release of this book and was not disappointed. I have read it twice, once over a year ago and again less than a month ago. When it comes out in February in paperback, I will certainly add it to my collection (am hoping it will be updated to include '97 & '98). It is incredibly engaging and engrossing and at times, embarrassing. While I adore this band and Steven Tyler in particular, I found myself at times cringing for him as he relives some of the more sordid details of his remarkable 50 years. This book is not for the squeamish because the consequences of the drug use and sexual obsession are pretty graphic but in the end it is so uplifting because these five guys basically crawled out of the ashes and rebuilt their lives and their careers when many would have ended up dead or subject of a VH1 Where Are They Now. There are no saints portrayed here, just five extremely talented yet flawed human beings who fight, love, and live to the very fullest (and make better music than bands half their age). Having "grown up" with Aerosmith and the music that influenced their sound, I found myself with an almost "deja vu" feeling about much of their recollections of their individual early years. I would recommend this book for all Aerosmith fans (but probably don't need to) and to anyone interested in a warts-and-all account of drugs, sex, and rock-and-roll!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Juli 1998
I had pretty much given up on rock bios after reading David Lee Roth's "Crazy From the Heat". My wife said it was a great book and that I would like it. She was right. I read it in three nights and I'm a pretty slow reader! From the start we get an entertaining and revealing insight of the boys, especially Steven. They truly are the Bad Boys from Boston ( their adopted home town). It's amazing to learn of the shady management that ran their lives up until just recently. Of course, the drug and sexual addictions that are all to common of occurences with bands of this stature will leave you whipped and hung-over from reading about it. And just when you think Steven couldn't suprise us any more, he does. It's simple incredible that he and Joe are still walking the earth. The book could have revealed more about Tom, Brad and Joey but I'm sure their stories would have paled in comparison to the Toxic Twins. Thankfully, Stephen Davis barely touches on the Rick Dufay and Jimmy Crespo years (NO ONE could replace Joe). One also believes Leber and Krebs (Aerosmith's first managers) are the antichrist by the end of this book. Criteria for a great (auto)biography: Even if this book had been about a fictional band it would have been extremely entertaining. Davis has also authored "Hammer of the Gods" the well-known Zeppelin bio, so you can imagine he knows how to write about the biggest names in rock. I can promise the reader this: you will not look at or listen to these guys the same way! One Steven Tyler quote sums up the lives of this group: "We believed that anything worth doing was worth overdoing." Bro, you sure did!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. März 2000
As a big fan of Aerosmith since 1976, I found this book to be VERY informative, although a bit long. To get to the first 150 pages was a chore, simply because: Do I really want to read about the life of management ? OR the disk jockey that first played MAMA KIN in 1973 when Aerosmith was not known ? Not especially.....After that, we start to learn about all the record releases, life on the road, and the troubles with drugs and personalities within the band. VERY good reading. But it takes to long to get to that point.
Also, I was so sick of reading WE DID SOME BLOW, WE GOT SOME BLOW, BLOW, BLOW, BLOW...OK ! I know the focal point of the story is the battle with drugs and how they conquered them, but ENOUGH ALREADY !
Ok...With that said....YES - It is an informative book and interesting, it just needed to be edited by about 100 pages.
I would recommend this to any DIE-HARD Aerosmith fan who enjoyed (and knows) their releases of the 70s..BUT, for the fans who only liked them from 1987s PERMANENT VACATION and on, BEWARE...Running at 524 pages long, it discusses THOSE releases starting at page 425 (or so).
A very good book, but not excellent. 3 1/2 stars, to be exact.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Benötigen sie kundenservice? Hier klicken