flip flip Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Jetzt informieren Xmas Shop 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusic Fußball wint17

Kundenrezensionen

4,6 von 5 Sternen
256
4,6 von 5 Sternen
The Princess Bride
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:367,99 €+ 3,00 € Versandkosten


am 4. Mai 2000
I saw the movie version of this at a young enough age so that when I came upon the book, I did not remember most of the plot. I am quite glad of this, because it didn't limit my perceptions as much by forcing them into the reality of the movie. (I am not saying that the movie is bad.. FAR FROM IT! Just that I'd suggest reading the book first, THEN seeing the movie..) The little interludes between sections were my favorite parts of the story, and I simply loved the extra background on Fezzik and Inigo. All in all, I would count this book as one of the great works of our time. Perhaps it won't be counted up there by academia, who unfortunately decides which books get taught in most english classes (Dickens? Blech! ) but it is a book that I think will always take up a little corner of our mind... And every so often we will encounter something in life that makes us think: Oh! that's sorta like that bit from The Princess Bride... I love this book =)
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. Juni 2000
Now, don't get me wrong, I love the movie version of this novel, but there is so much humor an wit in the novel that can't be translated in the movie! The way Goldman treats his story as an update of a forgotten classic is so clever, and I loved the way he kept "interrupting" the text to chip in his opinion. I especially like the way the characters are developed more deeply in the novel, and how there are aspects of Buttercup and Westley's relationship that aren't presented in the movie. I think that any age could enjoy this story, although some younger readers might have problems discerning the story from the "editor's comments". This is a great book to read out loud, since it is so enjoyable for all involved.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Juni 2000
This is an awesome book. I only wish we could read stuff like this in school instead of "Lord of the Flies" or "A Separate Peace." Just one thing though, for all you people out there who *still* don't get it--this *is* the original version! Goldman did it to get out of writing all the horrible annoying details, and to have an excuse for the somewhat choppy writing style. Don't worry, though--I didn't understand it myself at first.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Mai 1999
I have read the book The Princess Bride. I could not put it down I thought that is was the best book I have ever read. My favorite character would have to be Buttercup. I usually don't go for the main character. She is my favorite because she is just a charactor everyone will and does love. In the story you could almost feel like you are really there with the charactors through the exitement. I felt like crying when Westley died, and when Buttercup chose Prince Humperdink over her true love. I realy got into everyhting when the fencing went on, and the fighting, and even when the poison part came. I was realy exited at the part when Buttercup foud out that the man that had kidnapped her from her kidnappers was Westley. I realy thought that it was real clever when S. Morgenstern had made some parts in the book sound like they were real, like when a lady booed at the princess I thought that was real but it was just a dream. i like Westly to he is also one of my favorite charactors because I like it how he can never die and when he does die he comes back to life, and he hardly ever feels pain. i also like Fizzik, i like him because he is a giant an dhe is nice and i think that that is ironic, because he is a giant and he is nice and usualy when you here about giants in a fairy tale thay are big mean and ugly, not nice. Inigo is also a great charactor, he is a great fencer, and the way he helped Westley and Buttercup was realy cool. i do not like Prince Humperdink! i think he mean and i did not think that the prince could be so eveil, but, I guess every fairy tale has to have a villin or two. Vizzini is a great villin, he is sneaky and crool. Count Rugen is a good villin to he is also sneaky and crool. I think this book is great for people that like a book filled with adventure and magic and true love, i recomend this book for kids ranging from 14-older.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. August 1998
If you were one of the many to read "The Princess Bride" and believe that William Goldman was dastardly in his heavy "editing" of the book, READ IT AGAIN! You'll love the book all that much more upon rereading with the realization that the "editorials" are all part of the story. Probably the niftiest (and hardest) thing to pull off about the novel was in Goldman writing HIMself into the story! Magical! Also, get yourself a copy of both "Control" and "The Color of Light" (and anything else you can get your paws on!) -- the same shining William Goldman wit, panache, flair, humor and eletrifying skill at manipulating the reader (roar with laughter for 5 pages [and irk everyone around you as you are forced to read lines out loud!], and suddenly weep your eyes out for the next 2 pages, and then 2 pages later climb onto a rollercoaster and scream around all the white-knuckler loop-de-loops!!) (and the incredible thing is, ! I'! m not exaggerating!). If you've never read William Goldman, oh you lucky dawg! Love your movies, Mr. Goldman, but come on, get back to your genius (even if it IS hard work), your first love, and remember, the reader will always appreciate your soul more than the moviegoer (even us odd freaks that adore both!)...
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. März 2000
That "The Princess Bride" has become a classic is obvious. Discussions about whether the book or the movie is better are a matter of taste, but surely without the book there would have been no movie. I watched the movie again last night, perhaps for the 25th time. This is only remarkable because I am neither "into" fantasy nor movies in general, and I like to fashion myself as a mature adult who watches maybe five hours of television in a month. But I am a writer who, when he occasionally stumbles upon a precious gem, likes to hold that gem in his hand, and examine its beauty from various angles and in different lights. Mostly I read nonfiction, and recently discovered another such gem of literature that I found actually alludes at times to "The Princess Bride." This new book is called "Danger Close," by Mike Yon and it seems destined for film. Overall, "Danger Close" is a serious book about a Green Beret who grew up in Florida, but this true story includes in real life many of the elements that occur in the fantasy world of TPB (True Love, fencing, fighting, torture). The comparison is by no means perfect, but at times the author, Mike Yon, actually winks at the readers that he, too, is a "Princess Bride" fan with lines almost straight from TPB. For instance, on page 31 of the 1st edition (there are three editions now so the pagination may have changed), the author described squirrels scampering through the trees as "rodents of unusual agility." [As opposed to ROUS's: Rodents Of Unusual Size.] At first you might think this just a coincidence, but the further you venture into "Danger Close," the more hilarious the secret references to TPB. This is made more remarkable by the fact that Mike Yon, for his creation of "Danger Close," received the very prestigious and rarely bestowed "William A. Gurley" award for creative nonfiction. And so, this is yet another example of how fans, at least one of whom, Mike Yon, is now an author in his own right, are placing "The Princess Bride" with the classics.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Februar 2000
To sum up, I totally agree with the reviewers below who say loud and clear:
THERE IS NO S. MORGENSTERN!
I just thought that I would say it again as many of you doubtlessly lack mouse scroll wheels that make seeing multiple reviews easy.
Back to ranting. I checked the Library of congress, William Goldman is the only listed author. To repeat, there is no other version, this IS the unabridged version. This one is all there is. Anyone who wants to (or claims to have) read the unabridged version should forget it. No more ranting about Goldman gutting Morgenstern's prose or some other psycho chatter.
I mean, if Morgenstern really existed, do you imagine his heirs would put up with the slashing and heckling that Goldman allegedly does to the man's "masterpiece"? Not in out society, that;s for sure.
By the way, this is my favorite book too. Anyone who says otherwise obviously didn't get the whole joke behind the book. Reread it and try again, this time remembering, THERE IS NO S. MORGENSTERN!
Read it.
PS, all those who claim to have read the origional, please present such origional text to a publisher for reprint so the rest of us can enjoy 70 pages of dress descriptions. (snicker snicker)
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. März 2011
Eine lustige Geschichte hat Goldman bzw. Morgenstern hier geschrieben. Und genau dieses "Goldman bzw. Morgenstern" ist es auch, was der Geschichte Schwung verleiht. Der wirkliche Autor ist Goldman, der vorgibt, eine alte Geschichte von S. Morgenstern verkürzt nachzuerzählen. Gleichzeitig verbindet er sein eigenes, wiederum fiktives Leben, mit der Geschichte vom Ursprung der Princess Bride und schafft dadurch eine weitere Erzählebene. So schafft Goldman einerseits Distanz, aus der er humorvoll und ironisch kommentieren kann, andererseits aber auch Nähe durch seine vorgegebene emotionale Involviertheit mit der Geschichte. Zwischen den Ebenen springt er munter herum und schafft auf diese Weise Abwechselung und Tempo. Es kommen 3 Geschichten dabei heraus: 1. Goldmans Vater liest ihm als Kind Morgensterns "Princess Bride" vor. Rührend. 2. Goldman will aus verschiedenen Gründen Morgensterns Geschichte nacherzählen. Großartig. 3. Die Geschichte der Princess Bride selbst. Lustig und abstrus.
Hinzu kommen in meiner Ausgabe zwei Vorworte von Goldman, die wiederum Neues zur Geschichte beitragen, sowie sein Versuch, eine Fortsetzung zu schreiben, gefolgt von dem Anfang dieser Fortsetzung. Ich gebe zu, dass die Erzählung darüber, wie Goldman mit Stephen King zusammentrifft, um ihn davon zu überzeugen, die Fortsetzung selbst schreiben zu dürfen, kaum zu übertreffen ist. Der Beginn der Fortsetzung hingegen ist eher mager.
Ich weiß, das hört sich nun alles sehr verwirrend an. Ich will eigentlich nur sagen, dass es sich loht, "The Princess Bride" zu lesen, weil man dabei viel Spaß hat und etwas sehr Außergewöhnliches in die Hand bekommt. Ein großes Abenteuer.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. März 2000
I am not going to be melodramatic. Honest to goodness. But The Princess Bride... oh man. The Princess Bride has changed my life.
My mother was a PB junkie to begin with. I grew up watching the movie. I loved the setting, storyline, clothes, speech, absolutely everything. But this *isn't* a review for the movie.
When I grew older, the movie hardly quenched my thirst. My mom told me there was a book that the movie originated from. I about died and went to heaven.
The public library didn't have it-- The school library didn't have it-- I didn't have it.
So for awhile, I forgot about it.
Until one day in the 8th grade when my Creative Writing teacher was absent and made us watch the movie. And then it all came back to me.
I went to the public library and rented the movie every Wednesday. I become friends with one of the librarians who had OC-Princess Bride. It was a sad, sad world.
Until Christmas of 9th grade- I got the book!
I read it in 3 hours. Then read it again. I cannot explain to you how much I loved it. It was absoultely perfect. It had everything the movie had plus a little more depth on the history of the characters and what went on during the scenes.
It was heaven. The line delivery- clever. The context- unforgettable. The characters- lifelike. William Goldman created a masterpiece when he wrote this. And the fact that he was "taking" it from S. Morgenstern's "classic" made it all the more enjoyable, and showed he was truly a talented writer.. for awhile I believed it!
For those who wonder why the movie is different from the book, I don't know what to say. William Goldman wrote the book. William Goldman wrote the screenplay for the movie.
If he truly felt that the Pit of Despair would have been more suitable for movie conditions- all the power to him!
Those who pass up the chance of reading this novel are missing something.
They're missing a classic.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Juni 2000
William Goldman has said that he told these stories to his daughters, and was then inclined to collect them in one longer prose work. Only he couldn't get turned on by the parts in between the exciting action. The 'boring' parts, as it were. So what does he do? He eliminates the 'boring' parts altogether, by assembling a fictional 'best parts' version of someone else's tale! What a great idea. Sometimes I reveled in the fact that I didn't have to slog through seventy pages of Morgenstern's views on the socio-political history of Guilder and Florin, or how best to plan a royal wedding. It actually made the 'best' parts that much better.
I love Goldman's authorial voice. His pieces for Premiere magazine on the state of the movie industry have always struck me as very wise, common sensical, and conversational. That same voice is utilized to great effect here. The characters you loved in the move have been fleshed out even more, and even though it sometimes proved a distraction when a scene differed from its twin in the movie, sometimes the change (I know, the book was written first) was for the better.
A caution, though (**spoilers**): my two favourite moments from the movie (Man in black suggests Fezzick "dream of large women" and Westley offering the Dread Pirate Roberts persona to Inigo) aren't here. I guess you can't have all your best ideas at once.
Still, a truly engaging work, and a near perfect piece of storytelling.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden