Fashion Sale Hier klicken reduziertemalbuecher Cloud Drive Photos Alles für die Schule Learn More Hier klicken HI_PROJECT Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,4 von 5 Sternen
115
4,4 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:12,35 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 31. Juli 2000
First of all let me say that I absolutely loved The Red Tent. It's based on a character, Dinah, who is mentioned in passing in the old testament. Diamant has created a wonderful story about the women of biblical times, our fore-mothers Rebecca, Sarah, Rachel, and Leah, from Dinah's point of view.
You do not have to be familiar with the bible to enjoy this novel, although if you are, you'll certainly recognize stories and characters. It's about the strength of women, their roles in a male dominated religious society, and their all important relationships.
Although I was eager to read this book, I didn't expect it to have such an impact on me, nor did I expect to love it as much as I did. Highly recommended.
0Kommentar| 6 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Juli 2000
If you have a strong interest in the feminine side of Judiasm, or just feminism in general, this book is for you. This was the kind of book that I could not put down. I began it on the plane and read it straight through. It is definately on my top ten list. The author takes a small story from the Hebrew Bible and expands it into a novel from the women's point of view. The story includes characters such as Rebekah, Rachel, Leah. Some more conservative readers might find portions of the book blasphemous (especially the implied Asherah worship), but I think the book accurately reflects the practice of the times. A most compelling read!
0Kommentar| 5 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Juli 2000
But not this one. I read this in two gulps and could hardly tear myself away from it. Being pregnant, some of the birth scenes were a little intense for me but this is one of the best books I've ever read. I despair of ever writing such amazing characters!
0Kommentar| 4 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. Februar 2014
Das Buch ist einfach toll! Habe es schon oft verschenkt und werde es noch einmal lesen! Leider habe ich es in englischer Sprache bestellt, so dass ich es nicht wirklich lesen kann. Aber ich kenne es und werde es noch einmal in deutscher Sprache bestellen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. März 2014
Es ist schön zu lesen, dass es in diesen Zeiten noch Übergangsriten gab und die Männer wussten, wie sie den sich hingebenden Frsuen dienen konnten, um dadurch selbst zu empfangen! Eine starke Lrbensgeschichte einer starken Frau
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. August 2014
I loved this book ... full of extremely interesting background details. Personally, I was expecting the authoress to add more about Joseph and how he is reunited with his brothers but Anita Diamant hardly touches this account. In fairness, the book is about Dinah so I understand this somewhat. I will certainly read more by this author.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. August 2012
Dieses Buch ist wirklich lesenswert ! Ich hatte den Tip von einer Hebammenschülerin bekommen und war erst etwas kritisch wegen dem biblischen Background. Aber dieses Buch sollten alle Frauen lesen, es ist ein wunderschönes Buch, das das Leben der Frauen zu der damaligen Zeit und die Verbundenheit mit der Natur und dem Frausein wunderbar wiederspiegelt.

The book was a recommendation of a midwifescholar. Don't be bothered about the biblic background, it has nothing to do with the institution of the church, just with stories of the bible and in froma a very womanly point of view ;D
This book is a great reflection of how life has been for women to that time... It reflects the connection to nature and to beeing a womam, what in my eyes is getting lost more and more in todays world. A great book for people who like to feel emotions and see beauty through letters ....
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Juli 2000
I thoroughly enjoyed this book. I read it in two days as I was fascinated by this culture of "the red tent". This story is earthy and sensual, as I'm sure it was intended to be. And it truly celebrates women as lifebearers and healers and mothers rather than workaholics who have no more ambition that getting paid the same to do a man's job. In a time where women disdain being mothers or they choose to work instead of raise their children and run their home in a healthy way, this book is an inspiring detour into the old world.
The story, however much it deviates from the true Biblical account, (and I'll get to that in a minute), captivated me. The Bible uplifts women and gives them a higher place in its story that any other literature of its time, but not much is said about Dinah because her story is not the primary reason that Moses recounts the tale of Jacob and his sons.
And here is where I have a little beef with Diamant. Her bio says she's written plenty of books on Judaism, but you'd never know she was Jewish by her emphasis on the absolutely pagan practices of Jacob's family in this book. On this level, Diamant's story is wholly untrue for Jacob and his sons never worshipped any God but the one true God, "El" as he is referred to in this novel. Jacob's wives, at least once they left Laban's care, also worshipped this God and all that stuff about sacrificing to the Queen of Heaven and what not is pure fiction. I did not mind that, at many points in the story, Diamant deviates from the Biblical account (i.e. Dinah's in Shechem or the switch LABAN pulled on Jacob when he was supposed to be marrying Rachel). Its dramatic license and she does not claim to be writing new Scripture or anything... but when it comes to their pagan practices, I was really disturbed. I don't know what my point it... I just wish, on this point, she had stuck with the true story. Its ironic because I enjoyed the first section of this book most of all and that was the most pagan! I just threw off the fact that Diamant was retelling a Bible story and pretended it was entirely fiction.
In short, I highly recommend this book to every woman, especially if anyone feels the need to feel uplifted in her femininity. Feminists need to read this book- hopefully they will come to realize that there is equal value in being a housewife and a mother than there is in being a CEO or a lawyer (and having the homelife be the center of your life)- you might not get paid, but the spiritual significance, the absolutely vital importance of these roles in the life of the world cannot be matched by any job. I believe this may be what Diamant is saying, in the end. This is what I got out of it, at least.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 5. Juli 2000
This is one of the best books I have ever read! Technically, it's the story of Dinah, the daughter of Jacob and Leah. The story is based on the old Testament, but it's fictionalized, told from Dinah's perspective. It's a fascinating story about families, love, and life, and it's completely relevant to the present as well. I can't describe how much I enjoyed reading this book, and how I hated to reach the end!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. März 2000
Having read other excellent nonfiction works by Anita Diamant, I looked forward to this novel. Unfortunately, I found The Red Tent to be filled with cardboard characters many of whom appeared to have escaped from various romance novels. The male characters in particular were two-dimensional. It's one thing to dymythologize biblical heroes but shrinking them to cartoon size is overdoing it.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

6,41 €
21,54 €
15,95 €