Sale70 Sale70w Sale70m Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Bestseller 2016 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ Hier klicken HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimited BundesligaLive longss17

Kundenrezensionen

4,0 von 5 Sternen
541
4,0 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:8,49 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 23. Juli 2000
This is the tragic stroy of Christopher McCandless, a man who was willing to sacrafice everything for a chance at experiencing life as few people ever do. One day Chris, or Alexander Supertramp as he preferred to be called, decided to cut all ties with the modern world and live in absolute freedom. Jon Krakauer beautifully narrates the reader through Alexander's ill-fated adventure that finally ended in an abandoned bus in the wilds of Alaska. Along the way, the reader is introduced to a collection of colorful people who have also sought escape from the trials of daily life. These glimpses help to put Alexander's uncommon desire to break from modern society into its proper perspective. Into the Wild is also a story about one family's love for their son, and the search for understanding and closure concerning his eventual death. In the process the reader is given great insight into the mind, and possible motives for his desire to escape. But, as we find out this is not just the story of one family, but, the story of many people and families that Alexander touched in his odyessy across America. Despite the fact that Alexander's quest cost him his life, I would dare to say that during those four brief months he felt more alive and experienced more than most people do in a entire lifetime. His warm smile on the opening page is a testament to the happiness, and contentment that he experienced in his self-imposed solitude. Finally, this is not merely a book about the tragedy of death, it is instead a celebration of nature and one mans quest to experience it.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 30. August 1998
When I first found out that we would have to read this book for school, I was excited. The story of Chris McCandless's final days promised to be enlightening and a real page-turner. Not so. After the first few chapter of this idiot's journey into the wilderness I was ready to give up. Unfortunately, I had to persevere. First off, the book is in no way organized. Krakauer told the story of not only McCandless but also other morons who went into the wilderness and died (he even related his own near-death experience). Secondly, place-to-place transitions were horrible. One sentence, McCandless would be in the deserts of the southwest and the next he'd be back in college in Georgia repeating an event that also happened two chapters ago. Along with these, there's really no point in telling the story. Who wants to hear about an unprepared, over-eager goober that goes into the wilderness with only a ten-pound bag of rice, a few books, and a gun? I honestly can't recommend this book to anyone.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. Dezember 1997
This book was most definitely one of my favorite reads, once you pick it up it is hard to put back down. Makes you want to throw away the bonds of society and live in a romantic world of man and nature. I am somewhat disheartened by the apparent misreading of the book by some people, I think McCandless' story is misunderstood by people who can't comprehend leaving our materialistic-industrial society for nothing but peace of mind. Three cheers for Krakauer who made us aware of this amazing story, also the author of the incredible "Into Thin Air," a story of the tradgedy of a climb up Mount Everest in 1996.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. April 2000
Into the wild is a story of an intelligent, well-off young man with everything going for him until he decided that money, education and materials are meaningless. The same determination that helped Chris McCandless excel as a high school cross-country star enables him to survive the lifestyle he comes across after college. He rides the rails, canoes to Mexico on impulse and survives it all on nothing more than wits, luck and an ever-present bag of rice. In an increasingly crowded world, it was difficult for McCandless to find the physical isolation he sought, but his inward journey was more important than his external surroundings. Krakauer, a writer for Outside magazine who obviously shares McCandless' wanderlust, explains often-mysterious inclinations in a clear and revealing way. "In coming to Alaska, McCandless yearned to wander uncharted country, to find a blank spot on the map," Krakauer writes. "In 1992, however, there were no more blank spots on the map in Alaska not anywhere. But Chris, with his peculiar logic, came up with an elegant solution to this dilemma: He simply got rid of the map. While McCandless viewed nature and solitude as the keys to fulfillment, he profoundly touched those he encountered on the road prior to his fatal journey to Alaska. He comes across as engaging yet ultimately unapproachable in his brash pursuit of raw, austere experience. Krakauer succeeds in capturing McCandless' unique personality even as he establishes links between his subject and a loose alliance of adventurers who also took to the wild in search of meaning and identity. Over the years, Alaska has been a magnet for intrepid characters that trek into the bush, never to reappear. For example, Gene Rosellini, the son of a wealthy Seattle restaurateur, hoped to return to a natural state by scavenging and hunting game with spears and snares. He endured Alaska's bitter winters clad only in rags and fashioned a windowless hut without benefit of saw or ax. After declaring this experiment a failure, Rosellini made plans to walk around the world, but he never got the chance. He was found lying face down on the floor of his shack in 1991, dead of a self-inflicted knife wound to the heart. Krakauer's own foolhardy, yet determined, attempts to climb "an intrusion of diorite mountain called the Devils Thumb" in Alaska during his youth sheds still further light on McCandless. Based on his own experience, Krakauer convincingly argues that McCandless wasn't suicidal, as many have speculated. Despite his fate, it is difficult to say that McCandless died in vain. Or to deny that his approach to life is an enviable one in many respects. Although McCandless would probably laugh at the notion, he is a profoundly American figure, uncompromising in his approach and thoroughly optimistic about the future. In an age when the idea of "roughing it" is like having a sport-utility vehicle and thousands of dollars in camping equipment, McCandless was in touch with the essential essence of nature. He is also a reminder of what can happen when you take an all-or-nothing approach into the wild. This is truly a story that gives man respect for nature's beauty along with its principal dangers.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. April 2000
When faced with the opportunity to be sprung from prison and escape the death penalty, Socrates told Crito that the really important thing was not to live, but to live well.
As citizens of a wealthy and prosperous nation, most of us have the luxury of free time and can ponder Socrates' essential question: "What is a life well lived?" Many of us try to apply that question to the way we raise our children, to the books we choose to read, to how we choose our friends, and to how we recreate.
Jon Krakauer tells the story in Into the Wild of Chris McCandless, an Emory University graduate, who decided to explore Socrates' question by eschewing all the material luxuries of his life and experience life at its rawest.
I found this story to be the quintessential American story. Chris McCandless wants to be free. He wants to be pure. He wants to live life over the edge. And he does. He travels, first in a car he abandons and then by foot and water over large expanses of the USA, making friends who deeply love him, who can't forget him, who are deeply affected by him, until he decides to live in the wilds of Alaska.
It's in Alaska that the stakes of Chris's life become mortal and the story becomes tragic. Suddenly each choice Chris makes, whether dietary, navigational, or philosophical has consequences that are enlarged by the conditions he lives in. As readers, we begin to see a magnification of our own lives, how our deeds determine us, just as Chris McCandless's determine him and his fate.
Krakauer's research is comprehensive. The story is compelling. Krakauer's inclusion of his own experience as a young man in Alaska deftly parallels McCandless's and helps deepen and reinforce the idea that having the freedom to pursue one's dreams to their ultimate can be exhilirating, painful, and dangerous.
I consider Krakauer one of our country's very finest writers and recommend this book very highly as a first-rate narrative and a probing philosophical exploration written in lucid, taut, accessible prose.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. September 2009
der bergsteiger und journalist j. krakauer schildert im vorliegenden buch einen erschütterneden tatsachenbericht um das verschwinden des jungen chris mccandless in der wildnis alaskas. die meinungen über seinen tod sind sehr unterschiedlich, von anfeindungen wegen seines fahrlässigen, schlecht vorbereiteten "abenteuers" bis hin zur bewunderung seines mutes. krakauer hat seinen roman sehr gut mit hilfe der familie von chris und zahlreichen reisebegenungen recherchiert.

die geschichte ist sehr spannend und fast wie eine dokumetation aufgebaut. krakauer versucht auch nicht eine sympathie oder antipathie für den helden zu polarisieren. es bleibt immer noch dem leser überlassen ob man mccandless handlungen gutheißt oder ihn als dummen jungen abenteurer sieht.

für mich ist das eindringen in die wilde schönheit der natur, die einsamkeit und das überleben in der wildnis ein interessanter gedanke. doch alle handlungen von chris kann ich nicht nachvollziehen, zb warum er sein geld verbrennt - das scheint mir dumm und trotzig.

die verfilmung von sean penn interessiert mich sehr, doch ich wollte zuerst das buch lesen um eigene bilder im kopf entstehen zu lassen. bin also sehr gespannt.

das buch ist auf jedenfall sehr empfehlenswert und erschütternd.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. März 2000
Into the Wild didn't really do anything for me. When I picked it up, I was expecting a detailed accounting of Chris's trek through the wilderness, the mistakes and discoveries he made, more like Into Thin Air or any other of the countless true adventure stories. I should have paid heed to the note on the back cover -- "travel essay."
The suspense in this book isn't about whether or not Chris will die; we know from the front cover that he will. Instead, this is an investigation of his life leading up to his death. But it just isn't that interesting. It seems as if the author wrote this book more because he was obssessed with Chris than because he had a story to tell.
Despite all this, I'm sure that I could have enjoyed it if it had been just the first couple chapters and the last 6. The rest are just a boring, confusing length of the stories of people who in any small way were connected to Chris. It jumps around, providing mundane details which have nothing to do with anything.
Another part of the reason I didn't enjoy this book -- not only were the events not terrible exciting (I didn't expect them to be), but I couldn't relate to Chris at all, and that is an important aspect of a book about a person. The point of the book is to detail how the author thinks he can relate to Chris.
The story isn't in chronological order, and the jumps back and forth, the constand barrage of little anecdotes, hypotheses et cetera, turns into a boring mishmash of events which I quickly found myself not caring about.
This book was well-written and informative, and I've no question that I could have gotten more out of it if I felt I could relate to Chris, but I couldn't and the book turned out to be a waste of time.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Mai 2000
It is difficult, perhaps impossible, to write a review of thisbook without pronouncing judgments. But let me be clear from theoutset that I am not here joining the ongoing debate into thecharacter, motivations or judgment of either Chris McCandless or Jon Krakauer. Such detachment is not easy as this volume is both a biography and autobiography of values, and I have discussed it from that perspective with my own family and friends.
The book is well-written, and Krakauer has performed a neat bit of detective work in piecing together McCandless' story. The subject matter-- a young man's odyssey...-- is compelling. I suspect that the extensive number of reviews reflects just how compelling and contentious the subject of this book is. The paperback suffers from the lack of photgraphs and visual documentation available in the hardcover edition. The stark, essential facts are still here, however.
Krakauer's own bias is clear and admitted. That is to his credit. There is no rule that says an author must be detached. Indeed, Krakauer's involvement in his story strengthens and focuses his prose.
I strongly recommend this book to other parents. If it makes you think and worry, and if it inclines you to ACT by teaching children basic survival skills, so much the better.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. August 2009
First things first: "Into the wild" is not a novel but rather a lengthy reportage in book format. Structure and style are strongly journalistic.

Taking McCandless's vagabond life as a starting point, the author reflects on (as Jack London put it) the call of the wild, the yearning for isolation and loneliness and the will to test one's limits surrounded by a challenging nature. Roughly half of the book tells McCandless's story and how he ended up as a twentysomething leading a vagabond life in America's Southwest till he went to Alaska where he died of starvation. (The book starts with McCandless's death so don't think I spoiled it.) ;-)

The other half deals with other rather famous people who succumbed to the call of the wild, Krakauer being one of them himself - yet unlike others he survived. The author also interviews McCandless's family, friends and acquaintances. He highlights the loss and pain the family suffered.

Ultimately, Krakauer thinks that youth, idealism and a certain unwillingness to forgive other people's mistakes are some of the main reasons why people go into the wild and severe all contact with their families.

On this edition: The Pan/Macmillan edition (ISBN-10: 0330455842, ISBN-13: 978-0330455848) is cheap - and not much else. I don't really like books with the cover of a movie, but this cover includes an especially awful "Now a Major Motion Picture blah blah blah". The font used is rather small (I guess about 10 or 9 points). On the positive side, this edition includes 4 black and white maps (2 Alaska, 2 Colorado River). In conclusion, despite the fact that I loved the book itself, I do not really recommend this particular edition.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Oktober 2011
The true story of a young man who walked in 1992 "Into the wild" is an exciting and well researched book.

Christoper J. McCandless, a young man of twenty-three years walked in 1992 into the wilderness of Alaska, "The trip was to be an odyssey...", he survived more than one hundred days before he died of starvation. "I thought he'd be fine in the end." The journalist and mountaineer Jon Krakauer, best known for his book "Into thin air", which details a disaster that happened in 1996 at climbing Mount Everest, has written an article about the young man for the Outside magazine. He received a lot of mail. People thought McCandless as an unprepared young man, who just wanted to die. "I have no sympathy for him. Such willful ignorance."
Jon Krakauer became more interested in the story and began an research that lasted almost a year. He spoke with family, friends and the people Christopher met on his journey, he read the postcards and the journal Chris has written and created with all this fragments an amazing picture of the young man who died in Alaska and an exciting and very readable book, "Into the wild", which was turned into a major movie in 2007.
The book isn' t written in chronological order. It begins with the day McCandless last saw another human being and ends with the visit of his family members at the abandoned bus, where Christoper died. In between Krakauer gives information about Alaska, the things he thought to be fatal for the young man, but he also tells about other people who died in Alaska or walked on an journey similiar to Chris'. And Krakauer tells about his own life. McCandless reminded him of himself when he was younger and was determined to climb a mountain that was called "The Devils Thumb" in Alaska. He spent three weeks on his own in the wilderness. It was an experience he never forgot, and which helped him to tell Christopher J. McCandless' story, and there were more parallels in their both lives.
The young man was a rebel, like almost every young person is, he was tired of the live that was waiting for him, "...they are conditioned to a life of security", he just wanted to take a break, "...to explore the inner country of his own soul."
Unfortunately he failed to walk back into civilization, although salvation was close. The wilderness, is no longer so wild, as Christoper oder Alexander Supertramp, as he called himself for some time, thought. There are no more blank spots in Alaska. Nearby were some cabins with first-aid supplies and emergency food and two weeks after McCandless died, six people met by chance at the abondened bus and found the corpse.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden