find Hier klicken Sonderangebote PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle Unlimited AmazonMusicUnlimited Fußball longss17

Kundenrezensionen

3,9 von 5 Sternen
88
3,9 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:8,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 5. Januar 2007
Sobald man aber die ersten Seiten - einige Skizzen und einen wissenschaftlich anmutenden Anriss der Antarktis - "überwunden" hat, geht die Spannungskurve steil bergauf - fast senkrecht, sozusagen. Reilly macht hier fast alles richtig - spannende Story, jede Menge (größtenteils völlig unerwartete) Wendungen, fast schon zu viele Probleme, die eigentlich gar nicht zu überwinden sind und viel Fantasie. Zugegeben, einige von Reillys "Erfindungen" und Aktionen sind sehr unrealistisch, das zerstört ein wenig die Illusion, aber sobald man sich daran gewöhnt hat, die Objekte im Einsatz sind, und die Szenen im Kopf anfangen, sich zu bewegen, fällt das kaum noch auf. Typisch Hollywood eben.

Die Umgebung wird dabei nicht allzu detailliert beschrieben. Reilly beschreibt dafür die Handlung genauer; Die Vorgehensweise von Kampfeinheiten wird genauso plastisch abgebildet wie die Ab-18-Effekte, die häufig das Ende der Charaktere markieren. Gegner werden da auf diverse Arten gesprengt, an allen möglichen Stellen durchbohrt, gefressen, zerbissen und einige werden sogar ganz einfach erschossen. Auch an Sachgegenständen geht von der persönlichen Ausrüstung der Marines über U-Boote, Flugzeugträger bis hin zu ganzen Eisbergen so ziemlich alles kaputt oder verloren, was denkbar ist.

Noch bevor der Protagonist Schofield überhaupt genannt wird, sind schon die ersten Menschen tot und die ersten Gegenstände defekt.

Insgesamt sei allen Thriller-, Action- und Reillyfans geraten: Kaufen und lesen! Was da auf dem Cover steht von wegen "Wer Spannung will, muss kaufen" ist absolut wahr.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. August 2005
Die Logik der Handlung ist zum Teil völlig hanebüchen - aber das stört nicht im geringsten. Das Buch hat Spannung und Action satt von der ersten bis zur letzten Seite. Eigentlich erstaunlich, daß das, was sich da alles in und um eine antarktische Eisstation abspielt, nicht die Polkappen zum Abschmelzen bringt. Noch erstaunlicher, daß der Held das alles überlebt ... und nicht zwischendurch ca. 27mal ins Gras (pardon, Eis) beißt. Das schreit geradezu nach Verfilmung - und zwar so rappelvoll mit Stunts und Special Effects, daß James Bond und Indiana Jones daneben wie provinzielles Laienspieltheater wirken würden.
Einziger Mäkelpunkt: Autor Reilly scheint offenbar ein Faible für Waffen zu haben, und eigentlich mag ich so militär- und waffenverherrlichendes Zeug nicht, aber das Buch hat ein Tempo, das einen einfach mitreißt. "Trash" (altdeutsch "Schundliteratur") in höchster Vollendung!
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Januar 2005
A great read is what I consider Ice Station. Yes, it is one of those books you need to read as a source of escape when you are in the train, plane or any other time consuming movement. Not a story with a great deal of intellectual strength. An action packed thriller that involves lots of explosions, guns, fighting etc. Fast-paced and adrenaline stirring, this gun-blazing, heroic action book is capable of holding any lover of thrillers from beginning to end.
The plot begins with a team of US Marines led by the Shane Schofeild who answers a distress call at a remote Antarctic research station based on the worries of some scientists who found a possibly alien object deep beneath the ice, a discovery that caused the lives of two of their divers .Even before Schofeild and friends start an investigation, they suddenly themselves at risk from everybody. It isn't only the USA that is interested in the discovery. Several other countries are interested in having a stake in the ship, at all cost. That involves killing, and destroying for it. That is where the adrenaline starts flowing in the gun battles that ensued, the hilarious characters, actions and conspiracies.
Reilly captured it all. To show that he's the master of the plot twist, Reilly throws includes a series of gripping narratives and hair spinning encounters that includes a fighter jet that turns invisible, a far-reaching government conspiracy, a hovercraft chase, and a scientist framed for murder. The plot carries no serious moral statement. If you like unusual military thrillers, this is your pick.
Also recommended: TRIPLE AGENT, DOUBLE CROSS, THE CONFESSIONAL, DISCIPLES OF FORTUNE
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Juni 2003
an all-in-all well written book. stunning and exciting story, much action, a fast paced plot and sympathetic heroes... if you'd like action movies and are not scared to take everything literally, read it.
it reads like a movie, but that is exactly my point of critique: it IS a movie. a movie i'd liked to watch, but a movie nonetheless. the plot gets wrapped up in a very predictable way, but only in the end, not very disturbing (depending on ones tastes), but it made me groan... the characters are sometimes a little flat... yes, with surprising changes and relevations, but nothing, that hasn't been done before. once you're in the plot and in the general outline of the meta-plot, it's a "spot-the-cliche". as a movie, i'd say:
Aliens (note the 's'!!!) meets James Bond meets Ice Station Zebra.
the real horrible part was the... uhm... "science". he actually tried to explain the science behind some of the construts he used, but they are sometime just SOOO wrong... but then again, i didn't watch james bond or aliens to learn anything about physics. e.g.: "nitrogen grenades" just don't work in the real world, no matter how good your explanation sounds.
but the science stuff in itself is consistent. once accepted he carries it on an stays there.... i can live with that.
conclusion:
good written popcorn movie, i recommend for lazy summer days under a tree.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. Juli 1999
Well, what to say about this, Mr Reilly isn't bad as such, this is apparently only his second novel so a lot of the problems can be excused. He writes a fantastic action scene, lots of detail but without holding back the action, great descriptive writing and he almost did too much research into the various technical aspects of his subject, but, the main problem is lack of depth in the non-action, plot based sections of the book.(plus the fact that, although the plot is set in Antarctica during the Antarctic winter the characters spend more time in and out of the water than Ricky in Flipper, Haven't these people ever heard of death from exposure?) Some of the later action asks for so great a suspension of disbelief that you are left wondering at the sheer implausibility (could three seperate countries get such large numbers of special forces soldiers to Antarctica in the middle of a blizzard in winter within three days?) He has written a great movie script (even including detailed descriptions of the special effects shots) and this should be read as such, It might be a good idea to wait for the movie then read this as if it were a novelisation.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 12. Juli 2006
This was the book that made me buy ALL of Matthew Reilly's novels. OK - I know he tends to be a little unrealistic, and also writes many "Italics"...

But dudes, it's Fiction - Action - Thriller - Page-turner deluxe!

It keeps making you think "how the hell is Scarecrow gonna get out of this sticky situation?!" or "where does this author get all these ideas from?!"

If you like "James Rollins" or "Child&Preston" or maybe a touch of "Dan Brown" with some "Michael Crichton" science and "James Bond" weapons and escapes - Just get the book and enjoy!!

And if you liked it, don't forget to try "Contest" - Matthew's first novel and a very fast paced read of action and fun!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. April 2008
Reillys zweiter Roman läßt am Anfang viel hoffen, entwickelt sich aber durch die pausenlosen Action-Sequenzen (deren Absurdität manchmal unfreiwillig komisch wirkt) zum literarischen Ego-Shooter ohne Tiefgang.
Reilly kann zwar wie kein zweiter enorme Spannungsbögen aufbauen und die Action gerade dann kippen lassen, wenn seine Helden meinen, sie hätten das Gröbste überstanden-glaubwürdiger wird er dadurch nicht, vielmehr bleiben seine Helden blaß und farblos.

Trotz handwerklichen Könnens also nur drei Punkte. Wem James Rollins, bzw. Douglas Preston/Lincoln Child zu wissenschaftlich einherkommen, ist mit diesem Action-Slapstick jedoch bestens bedient.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Juni 2000
This was without a doubt the worst book I have ever had the displeasure of reading. From the moment you pick it up to the moment you put it down you are continually assaulted by the most unrealistic, poorly researched, dribble you are ever likely to come across. The story struck me as some sort of high school writing assignment fleshed out to become a novel, and I have to wonder why any editor would give it the time of day. The characters have no depth, the action is so unrealistic that it is laughable and the attempts at plot twists leave you with your intelligence well and trully insulted, especially if you have any interest in the military. I found myself wondering if the author had bought himself a book on 'Special Forces of the world' and just plucked names at random without any real understanding of the military, it's weapons or it's people that is so vital in making a story like this work. When I bought this book I had high expectations having heard some favourable reviews on the radio but I'm affraid the only reason I forced myself to finish it was to see just how silly it could get and believe me, in this respect I was not dissapointed. I think Matthew Reilly should read a few novels by real military and science fiction authors and see how it should be done, but until then, please do not waste any more paper, not to mention inocent reader's time with any more books like this one.
0Kommentar| 9 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Juli 2004
Kennen Sie die Szene, in der James Bond, ich glaube es war in Golden Eye, von einer Staumauer einem abstürzenden Flugzeug hinterherspringt? Er landet im Cockpit, fängt das Flugzeug ab, besiegt 90 min. später die Bösewichter und rettet die Welt. Wenn Sie, wie ich, bei der Szene dachten "Das ist doch unmöglich, das geht doch nie!", aber den Film dennoch mochten, dann könnte Ihnen auch Ice Station gefallen.
Nicht unbedingt, dass Shane "Scarecrow" Schofield allzu viel Ähnlichkeit mit dem Agenten im Geheimdienst Ihrer Majestät hat, im Laufe des Buches tötet er sogar eine ganze Menge von deren Jungs. Aber die Situationen, aus denen er mit mehr oder weniger heiler Haut sich und seine Schützlinge herausboxt, sind schon etwas James Bond Like. Etwas mehr unnötige, aber auch nicht richtig störende weil nicht sehr detailierte Brutalität, ein Hauch von Mystik, aber vor allem jede Menge Action. Das ganze noch so erzählt, dass man zwar machmal den Kopf schüttelt, aber das Buch dann doch wieder vor lauter Spannung nicht aus der Hand legen kann.
Sicherlich nichts fürs Literarische Quartett, aber nette Unterhaltung von Fans dieses Genres. Auf Englisch vermeidet man die laut deutschen Rezensionen lausige Übersetzung, und man kommt mit normalen Englischkenntnissen ziemlich gut durch ohne den Faden zu verlieren, wenn einem mal ein paar Vokabeln fehlen.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. Oktober 1999
Wow - this book is dynamite. Terrific, absolutely non-stop action, action, action. Reflecting back on it, I thought I recalled one paragraph in there, along toward the middle, where not much was happening - but thumbing through again I never could find it. Ha! This book was a tremendous amount of fun to read, as I'm sure it was for the author to write. Mr. Reilly sure knows how to keep things perking right along - throwing in just about every conceivable plot twist, cliff-hanger surprise, stomach-churning thrills and spills, death-defying stunts and "risk everything" maneuvers. Our hero and his plucky allies (not all of whom are allies... another great bit of spice for the stew) definitely get put through the wringer. There were plenty of times I came to a new twist and went "Oh, no...." And plenty more times (like, right after the great hovercraft chase across the ice) when I wondered how he'd top what had already happened. "He can't top THIS..." Ha! But he *always* did. I am dismayed at the reviews where people condemn the book for not being a literary masterpiece, not another "War and Peace" or whatever. Come on! This is ENTERTAINMENT, not classic lit! This is the stuff comic books and movie serials used to be made of! This is Saturday Afternoon at the Movies.... but in a book. A really fun fun fun book! Heck, this is one of my top ten favorite reads this year (and yeah, I read a lot). Oh and by the way - I don't know if the "mag-hook" is real or a "sci-fi" invention, but I want one! Sounds like a really useful toy... er, I mean, TOOL! Guess I need to call the hardware store....
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden


Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken