Fashion Sale Hier klicken studentsignup Cloud Drive Photos Erste Wahl Learn More designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle PrimeMusic Autorip Summer Sale 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,5 von 5 Sternen
75
4,5 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:6,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 21. Juni 2000
Stephen King once again writes another classic horror collection. Night Shift is a an anthology of short stories of about 5 to 40 pages long. I was a bit dissapointed because I enjoyed the poems in Skeleton Crew, another of his collections. Night Shift didn't have any poems, but still great terrifing stories.
The first story, Jerusalems Lot, is kinda weird at first, it is in the form of only written letters, the kind in the mail, to and from the main characters. It is a version of the longer story, 'Salem's Lot.
A couple after that you get to the Mangler, I though that one was good, and quite gory. It is about a laudry ironer and folder, that is cursed.
The Boogyman is definately a must read, and maybe the scariest one in the collection. It will become a horror classic for sure.
The lawnmower man is a chilling one that will get you thinking a lot, or at least it did for me. This one is about a man who needs to hire a someone to cut his lawn, and gets what he asked for, and a bit more.
I liked the ones I told you about the best, but they are all good, and will give you sleepless nights. It is definately a true King book, not one of his weird ones. The Ledge, Graveyard Shift, Trucks, Sometimes They Come Back, and I Know What You Need were also very good.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 8. April 1998
I just love King's short stories, and this brilliant book contains 20 of the really good ones. His foreword is pretty interesting, but the stories-WOW! Mostly, I'm a guy for the supernatural stuff, but King really makes some unforgettable psychological tales, too. My favorites in this book are Jerusalem's Lot (creepy epistolary Lovecraft/Poe pastiche), The Mangler (the movie version didn't treat the story very well), Children of the Corn (again, the movie version was a bit out of control), Gray Matter, Sometimes They Come Back (faithful and good movie version, except for the sweet-son stuff), The Lawnmower Man (not faithful to King's story, but watchable), Quitters, Inc. and One for the Road. I like all the stories and if anyone out there haven't read King yet, I say: Read this book first, then all his novels!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Juni 2000
There were many good stories in this book. The Ledge, Quitters Inc., and Jerusalems' Lot were the best. Stephen King is great at writing, and he always will be. Also recommended is The Stand and The Talisman
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. Juni 2000
Stephen King is one of my favorite authors. This is only the second book of short stories that I've read by him. The other is NIGHTMARES & DREAMSCAPES. This one was much better. In King's novels, he takes a long time to set up the story and build the characters. In his short stories, he doesn't have that luxury, but he still manages to do both beautifully. The characters are vivid and the stories progress smoothly, just pulling you in. My favorites were JERUSALEM'S LOT, TRUCKS, CHILDREN OF THE CORN, and ONE FOR THE ROAD. Then there was QUITTERS, INC. which was quite Hitchcockian...totally unexpected stuff. Even the ones that I didn't care for too much were well done. This is a must read for any King fan and I also recommend it to anybody looking for a good scare.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. Mai 2000
Though not a work of genius like "Skeleton Crew", "Night Shift" is still a great and spooky collection of stories with only a few clunkers. The author's preface proves King's true genius, offering a perfect summary of fear and its effects on all of our lives. From there, there's something for everyone among the stories in the book: from gothic horror ("Jerusalem's Lot") to dark humor (maybe I'm the only one who saw something funny about the ending of "The Boogeyman", but I think it was meant to be blackly comic) to poignant drama ("The Last Rung on the Ladder", "The Woman in the Room") to fast-paced suspense ("The Ledge", "Quitters Inc.") to good old-fashioned supernatural chillers ("Gray Matter", "The Mangler", and most of the others). One of my favorite stories in the book was "I Know What You Need"; although not too scary, it was suspenseful and made a very good point about love and other things that can be mistaken for it. And although I don't see how they managed to make a fairly normal science fiction thriller out of the beyond twisted little story "The Lawnmower Man", it was still an enjoyable (but WEIRD) read. All in all, a great book for any Stephen King fan, horror lover, or just anyone who likes really good short fiction.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. April 2000
...I read this. This was the (third?) Stephen King book I have ever bought. I began reading it on the day I got it, about a year ago, and I read "The Boogeyman" first. This was an extremely creepy experience. In time (up until today, 4/28/00) I read the following: Graveyard Shift (a very dark, gory, and spooky breathtaker of the underground world). Night Surf (a grim look at how people survive in stressful situations). I Am The Doorway (a gruesome "what-if" story of what a space mission's penalties can be like). The Mangler (because of this story of a Hadley-Watson Model 6 Steam Ironer and Folder, I'm never going to look at a laundry factory the same way again...). The Boogeyman (in addition to what I've already said about this dark memoir-like story, I am scared of closets in dark rooms now). Gray Matter (no comment, though I have to admit I never really *was* fond of beer...). Battleground (a tale of the bizarre possibilities of life, toys, and death). Trucks (a very scary tale about automobiles--what if it could happen?). Sometimes They Come Back (an unforgettable story of time and its victims... and allies... should have even been a novel!). Strawberry Spring (read it and find out how good this plain "wow"-zer is). The Ledge (an acrophobic tale that rendered me afraid of heights...). The Lawnmower Man (the movie has NOTHING to do with this super twisted and scary story of the bizarre). Quitters, Inc. (a story of a great way to quit smoking--I never have smoked, and now I never will...). I Know What You Need (a story that makes you wonder more than once if you can *really* trust just anybody). Children of the Corn (a tale of an abandoned town... or is it *really* abandoned?--don't see any of the movies). The Man Who Loved Flowers (another "wow"-zer--also a mystery). All in all, the book was extremely spooky and chilling. The amount of sleepless nights it has given me is more than I care to explain, but you know what I mean... If you want genuine scares, read this book. If you want the supernatural, science fiction, mystery, gorefest, and/or any other forms of genuine horror, read this book. Horror is working the Night Shift now, but gore is running the Graveyard Shift. ENJOY!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. April 2000
...I read this. This was the (third?) Stephen King book I have ever bought. I began reading it on the day I got it, about a year ago, and I read "The Boogeyman" first. This was an extremely creepy experience. In time (up until today, 4/28/00) I read the following: Graveyard Shift (a very dark, gory, and spooky breathtaker of the underground world). Night Surf (a grim look at how people survive in stressful situations). I Am The Doorway (a gruesome "what-if" story of what a space mission's penalties can be like). The Mangler (because of this story of a Hadley-Watson Model 6 Steam Ironer and Folder, I'm never going to look at a laundry factory the same way again...). The Boogeyman (in addition to what I've already said about this dark memoir-like story, I am scared of closets in dark rooms now). Gray Matter (no comment, though I have to admit I never really *was* fond of beer...). Battleground (a tale of the bizarre possibilities of life, toys, and death). Trucks (a very scary tale about automobiles--what if it could happen?). Sometimes They Come Back (an unforgettable story of time and its victims... and allies... should have even been a novel!). Strawberry Spring (read it and find out how good this plain "wow"-zer is). The Ledge (an acrophobic tale that rendered me afraid of heights...). The Lawnmower Man (the movie has NOTHING to do with this super twisted and scary story of the bizarre). Quitters, Inc. (a story of a great way to quit smoking--I never have smoked, and now I never will...). I Know What You Need (a story that makes you wonder more than once if you can *really* trust just anybody). Children of the Corn (a tale of an abandoned town... or is it *really* abandoned?--don't see any of the movies). The Man Who Loved Flowers (another "wow"-zer--also a mystery). All in all, the book was extremely spooky and chilling. The amount of sleepless nights it has given me is more than I care to explain, but you know what I mean... If you want genuine scares, read this book. If you want the supernatural, science fiction, mystery, gorefest, and/or any other forms of genuine horror, read this book. Horror is working the Night Shift now, but gore is running the Graveyard Shift. ENJOY!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Februar 2000
Night Shift was the first collection of short stories by Stephen King that I have read. I was immediately impressed with the diversity of horror ideas and his style of writing. From the first story to the twentieth, I was captivated and wanted to read more (so I am now reading Skeleton Crew, another short story collection).
In my opinion, the best stories in Night Shift are "Jerusalem's Lot", "Sometimes They Come Back", and "Quitters, Inc." They are terrific examples of King's literature and how he can turn a simple idea into an interesting horror story. After I read "Jerusalem's Lot", the first story in Night Shift, I was hooked.
On the other end of the spectrum, some of the stories were not very good. In particular, I found "Night Surf" and "The Woman In The Room" particularly boring and not up to par with the other short stories. Those two stories seemed to lack any real suspense and I quickly breezed through them.
Although there are some good stories and some not-so-good stories in Night Shift, overall the good outnumber the bad. The collection was quite enjoyable and I hope his other short story collections (Skeleton Crew and Nightmares & Dreamscapes) will be just as good, if not better. I will have to read them to find out. If you are interested in Night Shift, I recommend reading it -- you will not be disappointed.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. Dezember 1999
I'd read a Stephen King novel before this (Insomnia) and it was very good so i decided to check this one out of the library. The are many stories in here which were made into movies, and i recommend that you read the stories before you see the movies, it spoils them. If you read Salems' Lot, than there are two stories in here, "Jerusalems Lot" and "One for the Road" that you might like. My favorites were, "Gray Matter" "The Boogeyman" "I am the Doorway" "Battleground" "Strawberry Spring" "The Ledge" and "The Mangler"
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 1. Mai 2000
For anyone who has read other books and short stories of Stephen King, this is a great read. Night Shift includes great stories such as Strawberry Spring, Gray Matter, and my personal favorite, Jerusalem's Lot. Contrary to other people's opinions, Jerusalem's Lot is an excellent story in a very unique form. The story takes form through a series of letters written by the main character. For those who read carefully enough, they would have noticed the implications of what the Worm really is. King followers should easily spot the reference of what it is. This little tid-bit has been a sort of calling-card of King's, alluding to various other short stories and novels that he has written. This also shows up in Night Surf, which is an obvious allusion to The Stand, one of his greatest works. All in all, this collection has a great number of horror stories, most of them including an ironic, but horrific, twist at the end that is typical of King. There were some stories that I skipped past the first time over, but having read every inch of that anthology, I am thoroughly pleased with the worlds King creates in each of them.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

6,99 €
6,99 €