Jeans Store Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Neuerscheinungen Cloud Drive Photos Learn More designshop Hier klicken Fire Shop Kindle Soolo festival 16

Kundenrezensionen

4,3 von 5 Sternen
11
4,3 von 5 Sternen
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 17. März 2000
This book brings a measure of structure to an otherwise unstructured development arena, and is a harbinger of things to come in computer book publishing. I would expect similar books from Wrox and the other major developer presses. Don't wait for the knock offs. Buy this one and get a jump start on the rest of the world.
Jim's examples are great. Laying out a collection of documents that model his approach to web application modeling was very effective.
I would suggest that future editions assume more in terms of the reader's baseline knowledge (the first part of the book is a great synopsis of web technologies, but is major repeat for most I would think... although perhaps the average Addison Wesley reader is less informed in this regard...?)
Jim should write a book that surveys major process models (UP, MSF, ICONIX, etc.) and applies his proposed discipline of web app modeling in each process model for projects of various sizes. It is clear how one would apply this approach on long projects... I am very keen on seeing an approach that scales down to 3 week to 3 month projects while not completely sacrificing the modeling discpline. As it stands I don't see UP scaling this far down! ICONIX is close... MSF is the closest, bust lacks much in detailed modeling process.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 3. März 2000
It is a tribute to the versatility of the Unified Modeling Language (UML) and a compliment to its authors that it can be used to model web applications. Given the origins of the UML as a tool to model projects using Object-Oriented Programming (OOP), it is easy to believe that that is the only place where it can be used. Web programming is largely done in JavaScript and VBScript, where the first is only somewhat object-oriented and latter nowhere close.
In this book, the author introduces some new notation that can be used to model the construction of web applications, and given the topics of recent journal articles, it is somewhat overdue. I have read some articles recently where the topic is the planning of a company web site. The consensus is that one should plan for several months before the official launch. Translated into real terms, this amount of planning can be summed up in a single phrase, "model it."
The real significance of this book is the introduction of the concept of modeling with regard to web applications and that is what makes it valuable. Without the appropriate terms, it is not possible to properly describe a course of action, and the author introduces the necessary terms. The core of the book details the steps in a typical project:

1) The Process
2) Defining the Architecture
3) Requirements and Use Cases
4) Analysis
5) Design
6) Implementation

applied to the goal of designing, building and maintaining a substantial web presence. With the emphasis on the modeling, very little in the way of HTML and scripting skills are needed and very little code is presented.
If you are in the process of planning a web application, either a replacement or a new one, then it is worth your while to examine this book. For many businesses, a quality web presence is now an absolute necessity for survival. This book will help you achieve that.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 24. Februar 2000
It is a tribute to the versatility of the Unified Modeling Language (UML) and a compliment to the authors that it can be used to model web applications. Given the origins as a tool to model projects using Object-Oriented Programming (OOP), it is easy to believe that that is the only place where it can be used. Web programming is largely done in JavaScript and VBScript, where the first is only somewhat object-oriented and latter nowhere close.
In this book the author introduces some new notation that can be used to model the construction of web applications, and given the topics of some recent journal articles, it is somewhat overdue. I have read some articles recently where the topic is the planning of a company web site. The consensus is that one should plan for several months before the official launch. Translated into real terms, this amount of planning can be summed up in a single phrase, "model it."
The real significance of this book is the introduction of the concept of modeling with regard to web applications and that is what makes it valuable. Without the appropriate terms, it is not possible to properly describe a course of action, and the author introduces the necessary terms.
If you are in the process of planning a web application, either a replacement or a new one, then it is worth your while to examine this book. For many businesses, a quality web presence is now an absolute necessity for survival. This book will help you achieve that.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 19. Juni 2000
Looking at some of the reviews, I might have thought that this book was really hokey, but I bought a copy and read it. I'm glad I did.

Most of the people in my organization are having a tough time getting their requirements together for our next application. Most of them are seasoned domain experts, but this is their first Internet startup. They "get" the web, but have little understanding of how it works or how the engineering department is making their application happen. I *like* this book because it is small enough that I can hand it to a domain expert, tell him or her to read it, and expect afterwards that while the person might be a bit overwhelmed, that they will have more of a clue about how to work with engineering in the future. And for the part of our engineering team, we have been together now for a total of three weeks. I expect that this book will be an easy read to both set the expectations of all the team members of each other; both higher for those with no experience in UML or good OOD, and as an "expectation baseline" for those that do have more formal design experience.

I'm back here to buy a copy for everyone on the team, actually!
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Dezember 2003
Building Web Applications is a very difficult and complex task. Because of the Web's architecture (merging difficulties of client/server programming and distributed computing, stateless HTTP, different client-side technologies (browsers), poor GUI set, etc.) the modelling process of Web Applications is more complex and tough than traditional modelling of software applications.
Conallen's ideas to use UML for the whole modelling to get rid of the complex application architecutre is a good start. It's essential for readers of this book having a brief knowledge of UML. I did some research about other concepts merging hypermedia modelling and traditional application modelling. My conclusion is that Conallen's model is applicable on nearly all scenarious, therefore it's also the most complex one.
Hence, the concepts introduced in this book are most useful for really big and mission-critical Web Applications. The overhead of all the modelling is not efficient (time/cost and benefit) when programming smaller applications, I think.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. März 2000
I really don't like giving this book only three stars but it just doesn't deliver much useful information for experienced developers. It is an easy read and it's explanation of a UML notation for the Web is interesting but it is only a very small part of the book - a whitepaper on the subject would have been more than adequate. The first half of the book gives a good but rudimentary overview of Web application development. If you are new to Web development then you will find this section useful. The second half of the book also gives a good but very simplistic overview of the object-oriented development process. Once again, if you want a nice high level overview of the process then this section is good too. However, I think most people buying this book are going to be looking for more detailed information than this book delivers. Maybe Addison Wesley needs to have a "Beginner" and "Professional" series like Wrox Press does.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. Juni 2000
Jim does a great job of helping the novice developer understand how HTML-based projects can benefit from established methodologies for analysis and design.
If you've already done server-side programming, don't waste your time on this book. However, if you are transitioning from doing static web design to working with developers and database administrators on back-end functionality, this book will help you navigate this new domain.
The book only rates a 3 because is promises value not just to analysts and designers (which it does well), but also to project managers, architects, and web programmers (all of whom would likely be bored to tears with most of this volume).
Another useful aspect to this book is the way that it reviews the landscape of competing technologies in the web development arena. His perspective is unbiased, although his examples are heavily dependent on Microsoft standards.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 23. Juni 2000
Honestly, I'd own this book with only a little conviction. In truth, I now effectively work with UML on web application. In truth, I trust in the Addison Wesley's OO series, but I found to much buzzword in the title to be honest ... But in fact, the book is good ! It's probably too light for UML experts (I pretend to be one of them), it's also probably too light for web experts (I'm not). But, first of all, it's very rare to be the both. Second, the book really makes the connexion between both worlds ! And it makes it in a smart fashion with good and effective ideas, like simple activities and effective traceability. If you know Doug Rosenberg's book, you will be easy with the proposed ideas. OK, it's not the book of the decade (unlike Design Patterns, for example), but it's far from a lost of money, and the book can be red very fast, which is also a very good point.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 21. April 2000
The first half of this book isn't so good. Its a true beginners survey of web technologies and how to do a project. But like most books that want to provide a sweeping overview of all web technologies, it doesn't really explain it very well.
I give the book three stars because of the second half of the book - with the WAE - and the focus on using UML in web apps. The second half of the book is quite good.
This book tries to be all things for all people - books like that are usually only found collecting dust as a decoration on a project managers shelve who wants to show the world he/she really understands this UNL [sic]. Just my 2 cents.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 14. März 2000
You may want to skip the first 80 or so pages of this book if you are already a seasoned web programmer. This section is an introduction to web based programming.
The rest of the book is a very informative, practical guide to the use of UML within a web based project. I also found the book to expand upon and clarify the ideas from 'The Unified Software Development Process' book.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
Benötigen sie kundenservice? Hier klicken