find Öle & Betriebsstoffe für Ihr Auto Jetzt informieren PR CR0917 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Storyteller AlexaundMusic AmazonMusicUnlimited Fußball longSSs17

Kundenrezensionen

4,9 von 5 Sternen
42
4,9 von 5 Sternen
Format: Gebundene Ausgabe|Ändern
Preis:9,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 9. Juli 2000
When I first saw this book as a poster in a gothic store, it had all 26 pictures each with their corresponding line laid out on the poster. I was fascinated by this, these many deaths of children laid out in nursery rhyme format depicting non-graphic death scenes drawn with wonderful skill. I asked my mother about bringing it home, but she said she didn't want to see anything this morbid in her house...but that was then and this is now. I found out it was a book(or made into a book, that I don't know) by finding it in that same store about a year ago. Good thing I remembered the author's name, it was his name that led me to find it here at amazon.com, I have since then purchased this book, and I enjoy reading it occasionally or just looking at the magnificent art. Who knows, I may even let my children read this some day.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Juni 2000
This is the first Gorey I have ever read. I just read it today. Here are my impressions:
As my title indicates, I found it highly amusing. I found myself laughing out loud a few times while reading this very short book.
The illustrations are fantastic as you can gather from most of these reviews. Most of the illustrations are funny but I might note the exception to that in the gruesome image of Kate's corpse after being struck with an ax. I think that's the only illustration taking place after the event. That proved to be an exception though. The book is very amusing and hilarious at times.
It's an anti-children's book for adults. It can be a funny remedy to the insipid and happy-go-lucky kinds of children's books. That doesn't mean this is just for parents or those particularly sick with those children's books. I think anyone with a decent sense of humor, and especially a dark one, would enjoy this.
It's short. I don't know why the information says it's 64 pages because there are only 26 letters in the alphabet. Anyway, my point is that it's just a little humorous diversion.
This hardcover edition is really great. It's high quality and just plain nice...
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. Dezember 2006
Edward Gorey ist hierzulande leider kaum bekannt. Dabei sind die oft morbiden wunderbar-atmosphärischen Stücke dieses grossen Meisters der gezeichneten Lyrik einzigartig und erhellend, komisch und anrührend. Das makabere Kinderalphabet mit seinen grotesken Szenen ist ein Klassiker und ein guter Einstieg in Goreys Welt.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 31. Juli 2010
Herrlich böse, wunderbar gezeichnet und gereimt. Sollte meiner Meinung nach nicht im Grundschul-Englischunterricht fehlen ;) Erinnert mich übrigens immer ein wenig an Lemony Snickets Bücher, für seine Fans auf jeden Fall ein Fest!
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 20. Oktober 2014
Amy stürzt die Treppe hinunter, Desmond fällt vom Schlitten, Ernest erstickt an einem Pfirsich, Kate wird von einer Axt erschlagen, Quentin versinkt im Morast.

Ein Alphabet – 26 Kinder – 26 Tode – 26 Wege ins Jenseits. Im Stile Tim Burtons zeigt Edward Gorey, wie man auf verschiedenen Wegen ins Jenseits befördert werden kann. Dass er dabei Kinder über den Jordan gehen lässt, macht das Buch umso grotesker. Großartige schwarz-weiße Abbildungen runden das Buch ab.

Fazit: Makaber. Böse. Gut. Definitiv kein Büchlein für jedermann.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. November 1999
you should buy it.....i'll probably let my kids read it when i have kids.....it will probably help them learn the alphabet......
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 11. März 2011
sowohl die zeichnungen als auch die simplen reime sind einfach wunderschön. zwar nicht meine erste wahl zum kinder-alphabetisieren (es sei denn sie sind besonders hart gesotten) aber ein bezaubernd morbider tagtraum für jene, die um die schattenseiten der menschheit wissen, und darum, dass es mit uns allen irgendwann einmal zu ende geht. definitiv ein kleiner schatz, den es sich zu bergen lohnt.
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 17. Juni 2000
I own most all of Gorey's titles, and though "The Doubtful Guest" is my sentimental favorite merely because it was my first, "Tinies" never fails to amuse me. For someone who otherwise would never be caught dead using the phrase 'deliciously macabre', you should allow yourself to appreciate Gorey's unabashed deliciousness, for what else can you can this volume? Inspired? Yes! Hysterical? Yes! Yet it's more than an alphabet book for adults--it's good to know in this politically correct era, that it's OK to laugh out loud when Kate is struck by an axe. If your tastes aren't quite that edgy, then you won't be saddened when Gorey's reached the end, with Zelda drinking too much gin. This material strikes a very timeless cord, and though I wouldn't read it to a toddler--unless his was a particularly developed sense of humor, this savvy tot--I would be alarmed by anyone offened by it. Gorey's great with the 'pleasant squirm', and here he's mastered it perfectly.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 28. Dezember 2012
sehr nette grafische illustrationen - wobei ich zugeben muss, dass einige der englischen sprüche mein eigentlich sehr gutes englisch etwas überfordern und ich nicht ganz sicher bin was sie bedeuten! als kleines originelles geschenk aber auf jeden fall super geeignet!
0Kommentar| Eine Person fand diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 9. Mai 2000
Edward Gorey's illustrations, those spindly, dark and often macabre etchings of pen and ink, are instantly evocative - they place you in a dark, vampire-ish Victorian-era place, where behind every curtain lurks another pair of hands with a scarf, ready to choke you. This truly inspired, and hilarious, collection of drawings and their accompanying poem, detail the ghastly deaths of 26 children, one by one, through the alphabet. Whether you are a fan of Gorey's large paperback compilations, or of his spectacular set designs (Dracula), or not, this book is strictly for those with a twisted sense of humor. And if yours is, you will love it. Since I first read this 20 years ago, friends still quote it - "A is for Amy who fell down the stairs...."
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden