Sale Sale Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Xmas Shop 2017 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ Hier klicken HI_PROJECT Mehr dazu Mehr dazu Shop Kindle Rammstein BundesligaLive 20% Extra Rabatt auf ausgewählte Sportartikel

Kundenrezensionen

4,4 von 5 Sternen
77
4,4 von 5 Sternen
Cannery Row (Penguin Modern Classics)
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:6,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime


am 28. Dezember 2012
Wer Steinbeck nicht kennt kann sich wohl kaum vorstellen, mit welcher warmherzigen Genauigkeit er die Dinge sieht und beschreibt. Man ist sofort selbst ein Bewohner der Cannery Row von seinen Charakteren umgeben. Ich kann nur jedem empfehlen, sich ein Buch von Steinbeck zu gönnen. Ich kann seine Büche nicht mehr weglegen, wenn ich erst einmal angefangen habe zu lesen, was bei mir längst nicht bei jedem Autor der Fall ist.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 26. August 2014
Man kann das Buch auch im Zusammenhang mit Steinbecks Hauptwerk "Grapes of Wrath" über den Treck der Farmer aus der Dust Bowl Oklahoma nach Kalifornien sehen. Seine sozialkritischen Anmerkungen sind auch heute noch absolut bemerkenswert.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 29. August 2014
very wonderful book by John Steinbeck poetic heartwarming entertaining funny sad a pure pleasure to read. havent read it for a long time and just rediscovered it after a trip to monterrey
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 20. Februar 2015
Ich kannte das Buch schon aus meiner Schulzeit - es ist immer lesenswert, weil zeitlos auch jetzt in der Rentnerzeit.

Vorbereitung für USA California - Busreise .....
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 16. November 2012
Ein höchst interessantes, sehr lesenswertes Buch von John Steinbeck über das Leben und die Arbeitsbedingungen der Menschen im kalifornischen Monterey Anfang des 20.Jahrhunderts.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 30. Januar 2017
Delightful and often funny 1945 novel about the small Californian boat-building, fishing and fish-canning town of Monterey CA. It highlights a colourful mix of unusual individuals, incl. six men and their dog who live in a former fishmeal storeroom and their interactions, shared values and transactions, which often defy economic sense. Its descriptive and narrative power is awesome. It contains memorable characters, notably saint-like marine biologist Doc, primus inter pares of the gang of 6 Mack and shop owner Lee Chong, along many others. Steinbeck occasionally expands on Monterey’s or an individual’s past, but his cast of misfits never worries about the future. They are untouched by the virus of capitalism. They are happy together...
A ten minute online search shows how deeply autobiographical this book is. But please do so after finishing this fantastic novel full of philosophical and (early) environmental undercurrents. While reading, you can play Doc’s musical favourites via YouTube. Full of tall stories and anecdotes. Compulsive reading stuff and highly recommended.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 20. Juni 2014
Ein Kaleidoskop einer US-amerikanischen Kleinstadt während der Großen Depression der Dreißiger Jahre des XX Jahrhunderts. Wie den anderen Romanen der Schaffensperiode des nobelpreisgekrönten Autors John Steinbeck („Tortillia Flat“ e „Of Men and Mice“) stehen auch hier die der Gesellschaft im Mittelpunkt der Erzählung, wobei Steinbeck ihnen gegenüber unglaublich viel Wohlwollen und beinahe Bewunderung aufbringt: „Our Father who is art in nature, who has given the gift of survival to the coyote, the common brown rat, the English sparrow, the house fly and the moth, must have a great and overwhelming love for no-goods and lots-of-the-town and bums […] Virtues and graces and laziness and zest. Our Father who is art in nature“ (S. 13-14)
Die Helden der zerrütteten Gesellschaft sind eben die Außenseiter, die Sandler und Prostituierten mit ihre begrenzten Bedürfnissen und ihrer Kunst, das Wenige zu schätzen und nicht diejenigen, die ihren Reichtum mit Magengeschwüren und Nervenzusammenbrüchen bezahlen.
Der Roman liefert somit eine Sichtweise, die wohl auf alle Krisenzeiten übertragbar ist und somit unglaublich modern ist ...
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 22. Mai 2000
Cannery Row was, when I first sailed into Monterey Bay on my ketch, the Wild Goose, a real place--much the same as when Steinbeck wrote about it in 1945.

Steinbeck, in his book "Cannery Row," describes it during the period when the sardines were still running, and the canneries were going full blast. He describes the inhabitants, many of whom were drawn from real people ('Doc' Ricketts, for example, whose lab on the 'row' is still maintained as a kind of shrine) and his characterizations are marvelous.

He spins a great yarn.

And the places: The Poppy restaurant is in a different place, now, on Alvarado Street in downtown Monterey, but it still exists.

Steinbeck writes about a time that is no longer, and as everyone knows, you can't go back. But, you can see it through his eyes, and in that way we can, sort of, stop the relentless march of time and enjoy the past as it was.

When I sailed into Monterey for some respite from the sea, I didn't intend to stay long. Our boat was salt-crusted, and needed some repairs. We stayed ten years, and loved every day of it. During that time, we watched sadly as "old Monterey" was torn down and replaced with a Doubletree Inn and a conference center. Time marches on!

When we got there, the canneries were still there, on Cannery Row (which is between Monterey and Pacific Grove, in 'New Monterey'); great, rusted sheet-metal hulks. The sardines had stopped running, but Steinbeck's books had a cult following, and so the row changed into a tourist trap. The canneries were torn down, and bars, cafes and a huge aquarium replaced them. Flora's whorehouse became a pizza joint. The place fourishes, today.

It's all gone. 'Doc' Ricketts was killed when his car was hit at the crossing on the east end of the row by a train. (By the way: he was a married man with a family, some of whom resent Steinbeck's depiction of him as a rake and a drunk.)

Yes, it's all changed--but, through Steinbeck's depiction, you can still enjoy it.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 16. Juli 2000
The only other Steinbeck book I have read was "Of Mice And Men." Although I liked it, I much preferred the much less well-known "Cannery Row."
One thing I like about Steinbeck is that his novels are straightforward. There is none of the stream-of-consciousness experiments or literary time warps & wormholes that you will find in so many other 20th century writers (such as William Faulkner and Hermann Broch). While he is perhaps not in the same league as Earnest Hemingway in writing this style, he is none-theless a very talented author.
"Cannery Row" is about a blue-collar community of people who lead simple lives. However, as Dr. Keating says in "Dead Poets Society," simple does not and need not necessarily = oridinary. I found myself falling in love with many of the characters, with their aww-shucks mentality & sleepy-eyed approach to life.
One thing which differentiates this novels from most other 20th century works is that it is actually, for the most part, an upbeat story. It lacks the morose undertones of the majority of novels written in the past 100-150 years. It is a book about the risks of trying to fulfill one's dreams...and the heartaches and pleasures that this crazy life has to offer. A wonderful book.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden
am 30. Juli 2000
The magic of this story never fails to delight me. Steinbeck doesn't run along to long of a plotline, yet still fills a book with beauty. It's the place that is the magic here, with the scenery taking the role of a character all its own. The mastery is revelaed when you realize that you're soaking in the beauty of what is normally considered ugly: docks and a cannery, the decaying part of a town, the homeless camps... But it all seems like the greatest pllace on earth. Steinbeck makes it seem like it's not where you are, but how you look at it.
0Kommentar| 7 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich? Missbrauch melden


Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken