Hier klicken Amazon-Fashion Amazon-Fashion Amazon-Fashion Hier klicken Jetzt informieren Bestseller 2016 Cloud Drive Photos UHD TVs Learn More TDZ Badaccessoires Hier klicken Mehr dazu Fire Shop Kindle AmazonMusicUnlimited Autorip GC HW16

Kundenrezensionen

4,1 von 5 Sternen
71
4,1 von 5 Sternen
Format: Taschenbuch|Ändern
Preis:9,99 €+ Kostenfreie Lieferung mit Amazon Prime
Ihre Bewertung(Löschen)Ihre Bewertung


Derzeit tritt ein Problem beim Filtern der Rezensionen auf. Bitte versuchen Sie es später noch einmal.

am 9. April 2001
For a first issue at age 25, this book is quite remarkable. Considering how much I myself love to write, I would never be able to do something like this.
The plot is hilariously funny, tragic and sad at times, but slips away in the end, when less would have been more, and pages just go on and on.
Nevertheless, this is highly recommended if you're into multi-culti, superethnic London. You will build a movie in your head shortly, with the picturesque language Zadie Smith uses. If she keeps her style, but refines a bit, she'll be a gift to us in five years' time.
0Kommentar| 9 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 22. April 2002
I loved this book and was very surprised by the two German-language reviews which both gave 1 star. Perhaps you have to know England/London fairly well to appreciate it. I haven't lived in England for 20 years but I still recognised the characters and enjoyed the humour very much. Definitely worth a read!
0Kommentar| 14 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 26. März 2001
Serious themes, seriously meant and you just can't stop laughing.
That is, when you have a teeny weeny bit of insight into how it is for the first and second generation immigrants. If you have no idea what it's like, or take things too seriously (like our reader in Germany below) then I can't say for sure if you're going to get all of the perspectives right in this one, which undoubtedly leads to missing all of the best jokes.
It's like being the fly on the wall as the wonderfully developed characters shuffle through the confusion of who they really are.
0Kommentar| 8 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Juli 2005
Zadie Smith ist mit "White Teeth" ein mitreissendes Debüt gelungen. Ironisch, mit Biss und dennoch liebe- und respektvoll beschreibt sie die Werdegänge von Aussenseitern, Migranten, Sonderlingen. Beizeiten will Smith ein wenig zu viel und verzettelt sich in Ausführungen, die zu "gewollt klug" sind. Auch zum Ende hin wird die Geschichte etwas straff und konstruiert. Das sind allerdings nur zwei kleine kritische Anmerkungen zu einem Erstlinswerk, das mich ansonsten voll und ganz mitgerissen hat.
0Kommentar| 11 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 15. September 2004
"White Teeth" is a modern variation on the dreaded "sweeping family epic," but adds a large dollop of eccentric humour and a multi-cultural family background. Sometimes the book feels too long, but don't the "sweeping family epics" always feel too long? I think I would have enjoyed the book more than I actually did if my expectations had not been inflated by the publicity surrounding this book on its appearance. Far too much hype here, no-one could live up to it. I'm giving the book 3 stars due to its (for me) unwieldy feel, but will follow Zadie Smith with interest. Verdict: worth reading, but not a must.
0Kommentar| 13 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 6. März 2004
White Teeth veranschaulicht sehr gut das Problem,wie es ist, fremd zu sein, zwischen zwei Kulturen aufzuwachsen, ohne zu wissen, wo man jetzt eigentlich hingehört.Die Autorin Zadie Smith machte diese Erfahrung selbst, denn sie ist die Tochter einer Jamaikanerin und eines Engländers.
Gerade in Großbritannien haben Immigranten und Ausländer jeden Tag mit neuen Problemen zu kämpfen: Diskriminierung, Vorurteile von anderen und ein eigenes Identitätsproblem. Dieser Roman beschreibt das Schicksal zweier Familien, den Joneses ( aus England und Jamaica) und den Iqbals ( aus Bangladesh) über eine Zeitspanne von 25 Jahren. Vor allem die Jugendlichen haben große Probleme, in zwei Kulturen aufzuwachsen.
White Teeth ist mit einer Doku-Soap aus dem Fernsehen zu vergleichen und hat auch heute keineswegs an Aktualität verloren. Anspruchsvoll und sehr nah an der Wirklichkeit erlebt der Leser die Handlung der Hauptfiguren. Ein etwas anderes Genre von Roman, aber unbedingt empfehlenswert!
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 4. Juni 2003
Die Geschicht verschiedener Immigranten in London. Ihr Backround, ihre Geschicht, sowie die Ihrer direkten Vorfahren werden zwischen dem täglichen Leben der ersten und zweiten Generation erzählt. Der Wunsch sowie die Abneigung sich in einer fremden Kultur anzupassen werden vermischt mit unterschiedlichen Ansichten über Religion & Wissenschaft und Tradition & Fortschritt. Auch der Generationskonflikt bezüglich all dieser Elemente ist wunderbar beschrieben. Diese Mischung vielfältiger Themen sowie der erfrischende, neue Schreibstil von Zadie Smith machen das Buch absolut lesenswert.
0Kommentar| 3 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 10. Juni 2000
I can't remember when I read a book that made me laugh so hard I cried. And--not in just one place but over and over from the beginning to the last page. If this book doesn't win the Booker and every other award in England...well let's give it a Pulitzer in the U.S. And Oprah..I sure hope you can endorse books written by citizens of the U.K.
It's too easy to call this book zany. And, having read Simone de Beauvoir's writing, I can understand how a 24-year old can be brilliant. "White Teeth" is a masterpiece: complex, confounding, existential, and hilarious. Smith takes a wry look at social relationships, including friendships, marriages, parent-child connections, young lovers, gangs, cultural groups, religious cults, intellectual circles, and guys who hang aroung greasy pubs. She meticulously attends to what she observes and deftly records all the nuances of character and behaviour. She is the Jane Austin of the Age of Aquarius. She is the Coraghassan Boyle of Britain.
Smith accurately reflects and humorously depicts the times we live in--a world where individuals are struggling to define the meaning of existence via psychiatry, religion, science, and personal relationships. A world where cultural imperatives are not nearly as critical as "who made me" and "why do I exist."
This is a story of generations and generatonal warfare. Of children who don't understand parents, of parents who don't understand children or each other. Of children who think someone else's parents are superior. Of grandparents who are Jehovah's witnesses and ride motorbikes with former boyfriends who have "seen the light" and great-grandparents who start mutinies but fail to pull the trigger.
Every thread of the narrative is woven into a seamless tale--there are NO loose ends. "What goes around comes around" until the end of time. What is set in motion affects the life that set it in motion. Is this fate? Is it the result of rational thought and action? Is it the will of Allah, God, Jehovah?
How is the Nazi Herr Ferret, with the bleeding tear ducts, Archie Jones and Samid Iqbal encounter in WWII Romania tied to the creation of the SuperMouse by Marcus Chalfen (alias Chalpinski a Jewish emigree from Poland via Germany).
How do the genes of Englishman Captain Charlie Durham ("damn fool bwoy") who sacrificed a thousand Jamaican people for a woman he never knew come to reside in Hortense, Clara and Irie of Jamaican descent. How does Clara loose her teeth, loose Ryan, and manage to fall for another Englishman of dubious intelligence?
How does the identical DNA in Magid and Millat Iqbal coincide with such different personalities. Samid sends Magid to Bangladesh to be raised in the Muslim culture--but he becomes more English than the English and, in spite of his father's protests, returns to England become patent lawyer involved in Marcus Chalfin's SuperMouse project.
Millat, the twin who Samid cannot afford to send to Bangladesh grows up in North London, smokes and sells Marijuana, has a zillion girfriends and loves gangster movies. His heroes are de Niro, Liotta, Pacino. He attempts to renounce these devilish pursuits when he encounters the green-bowtie wearing militant Muslin gang known as KEVIN (yes,they know they have an acronym problem). KEVIN seeks the destruction of all ungodly behavior, including Marcus Chalfin's ungodly experiments with mice. Millat's affinity with gangsters seems convenient ("As far back as I can remember, I always wanted to be a gangster" becomes "As far back as I can remember, I always wanted to be a Muslim.")
Marcus's son Joshua grows a Jewfro and joins FATE, an animal rights group living in a Victorian mansion trashed by Australian illegal immigrants. FATE is the violent arm of Greenpeace that targets the inhumane treatment of animals--including mice raised for nefarious purposes.
Suddenly, it's New Year's Eve and all the characters are headed for Trafalgar Square. FATE travels in it's liberation bus borrowed from a social worker. KEVIN and Sam and Archie and their wives, and Meena the lesbian "niece of shame" travel via subway. Hortense and Ryan follow the Jehovah's Witness bus on their motorscooter. Is it the END OF THE WORLD?
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 27. April 2003
Der Debüt-Roman der 28jährigen Zadie Smith, vor drei Jahren erschienen, hat eingeschlagen in der britischen Literatur-Szene.
Mannigfaltige Handlungsstränge, bunt schillernde Charaktere, wechselnde Zeitebenen - dennoch ist "White Teeth" keineswegs schwierig zu lesen. Smith schreibt klar, schaut den Leuten auf die Schnauze und verzichtet auf manirierte Prosa. Um was es geht? Um zwei Immigranten-Familien in London und deren Kinder. Die zweite Generation enttäuscht die Eltern, sie verlieren den "wahren" Glauben (den des Islams [Magid] bzw. den der Zeugen Jehovahs[Irie]) und werden westlich, allzu westlich - oder sie verfechten den Glauben fanatisch [Millat]). Beide Elternpaare und die Kinder sind durch zahlreiche schicksalhafte Ereignisse miteinander verbunden, die Handlung treibt zu einem unguten Finale hin (so glaubt man), das wird spätestens im zweiten Teil des Buches klar, im Kampf für oder gegen die gentechnisch veränderte FutureMouse, ein Forschungsprodukt von Marcus Chalfen, einem Bekannter der Kinder beider Familien. Manchmal erscheint mir das Ganze ein bisschen zu geschickt verwoben, die literarischen Zufälligkeiten sind eines Thomas Hardy würdig. Nichtsdestotrotz: ein lesenswertes, lebendiges, abwechslungsreiches Buch, mit Humor und Verstand geschrieben.
0Kommentar| 2 Personen fanden diese Informationen hilfreich. War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden
am 18. November 2016
White Teeth fully qualifies as a refreshing novel. The characters are lively, identifiable and rich. I also found the dialogue to be rich, one of the reasons that kept the book interesting throughout the read. I was entranced as to what is coming next and kept on reading and reading until the last page.I also recommend Disciples of Fortune, The No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency, The Line of Beauty,The Usurper and others for their depth among other things.
0Kommentar|War diese Rezension für Sie hilfreich?JaNeinMissbrauch melden

Haben sich auch diese Artikel angesehen

12,99 €
8,99 €
6,99 €

Brauchen Sie weitere HilfeHier klicken